DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on July 30, 2024 is acknowledged. The application will be examined accordingly.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 30, 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 19 is indefinite because it is unclear what it intends to convey. Specifically, it is unclear what the verb “configures” intends to convey (the system has a configurative effect on a single device?).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wojnowski et al. (“Wojnowski”) “Portable Electronic Nose Based on Electrochemical Sensors for Food Quality Assessment”.
With respect to claim 1, Wojnowski discloses a food product spoilage determination method comprising:
trapping a volatile component released from a food product (see Fig. 1 illustrating a sample chamber connected to a series of sensor chambers; see also section 2.2);
acquiring, by using a detector (e-nose array), detection data on a plurality of components included in the volatile component (see sections 2.2 and 2.3); and
when the food product is spoiled, determining, based on the detection data, a degree of spoilage of the food product (see section 2.3 and abstract).
With respect to claim 2, the detection data includes information according to an amount of the plurality of components included in the volatile component (see section 2.3 disclosing calculation of concentration values of volatile compounds).
With respect to claims 9 and 10, the detector comprises a gas sensor array including a plurality of sensor elements having sensitivity characteristics different from each other (see Table 1 and section 2.1 disclosing use of sensor arrays).
With respect to claim 11, Wojnowski discloses another method, comprising (see section 4.1 directed to using gas chromatography to determine spoilage of meat):
trapping a volatile component released from a food product (a gas chromatograph comprises a chamber);
acquiring, by using a gas chromatograph, detection data on a plurality of components included in the volatile component; and
when the food product is spoiled, determining, based on the detection data, a degree of spoilage of the food product.
With respect to claim 12, the determining is performed using a learned model (see abstract disclosing use of SVM; see p. 8 disclosing that SVM was trained).
With respect to claim 13, the method is carried out using a system comprising:
a detector configured to detect a volatile component released from a food product to output an output signal (see Fig. 1); and
a processor, the processor including (see section 2):
an acquirer (main board) configured to acquire the output signal and generate, from the output signal, detection data on a plurality of components included in the volatile component; and
a determining unit (personal computer with analysis software) configured to use the detection data to determine a degree of spoilage of the food product.
With respect to claim 14, the determining unit is configured to make the determination using a learned model (see abstract disclosing use of SVM; see p. 8 disclosing that SVM was trained).
With respect to claims 16 and 17, the detector comprises a gas sensor array including a plurality of sensor elements having sensitivity characteristics different from each other (see Table 1).
With respect to claim 18, the system comprises a display unit configured to display a result of the determination (see section 2).
With respect to claim 19, the spoilage determination system configures a single device (i.e. the e-nose illustrated in Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 20, the system further comprises a blower configured to produce a current of air which transports the volatile component to the detector (see section 2.2), wherein the rate of the current is 1 dm3/min (i.e. 1000 mL/min) (see section 3), which falls within the claimed range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wojnowski in view of Koren et al. (“Koren”) (CA 3074183 A1).
With respect to claims 3, 4 and 7, while Wojnowski discloses that the food product includes pork and chicken (see section 3), Wojnowski does not disclose detection of any of the claimed volatile components. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the detector to detect any volatile component associated with spoilage of pork and/or chicken, for example 2-heptanone (see p. 23 of Koren disclosing 2-heptanone is associated with bacterial spoilage of food). By utilizing more data points, the modification would improve the accuracy of the method.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wojnowski in view of Cachelin et al. (“Cachelin”) (US 2022/0026389 A1).
With respect to claims 5-7, while Wojnowski discloses that the food product includes pork and chicken (see section 3), Wojnowski does not disclose detection of any of the claimed volatile components. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the detector to detect any volatile component associated with spoilage of pork and/or chicken, for example styrene (see [0005] of Cachelin disclosing styrene is associated with rotting food). By utilizing more data points, the modification would improve the accuracy of the method.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wojnowski in view of Koren and Cachelin.
With respect to claim 8, while Wojnowski discloses that the food product includes pork and chicken (see section 3), Wojnowski does not disclose detection of any of the claimed volatile components. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the detector to detect any and all volatile components associated with spoilage of pork and/or chicken, for example 2-heptanone and styrene (see p. 23 of Korean and [0005] of Cachelin disclosing 2-heptanone and styrene are associated with rotting food). By utilizing more data points, the modification would improve the accuracy of the method.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wojnowski in view of Potyrailo et al. (“Potyrailo”) (US 2012/0235690 A1).
With respect to claim 15, while Wojnowski discloses that its system utilizes SVM (see rejection of claim 14 above), which is a type of a learned model, Wojnowski does not disclose the use of discriminant analysis. However, instead of using SVM, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the system to utilize another algorithm suitable for training artificial intelligence to identify analytes based on chemical signatures, for example discriminant analysis (see [0083] of Potyrailo disclosing that SVM and discriminant analysis are analogous algorithms for training artificial intelligence for the purpose of identifying analytes based on chemical signatures). The modification constitutes substitution of one element for an equivalent for the same purpose, which is considered obvious.
Conclusion
/PAUL S HYUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796