DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8-12, 22-25, 27 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US PGPub 2025/0118238) in view of Pickard et al. (US PGPub 2022/0404667) and Soler et al. (US PGPub 2019/0267356).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a method for screen display (fig. 5), comprising:
obtaining spectral information of a plurality of sub-color lights in an original color light color gamut of a screen display picture separately ([0092], “According to an embodiment, in operation 510, the electronic device may generate first color information based on the first wavelength distribution. In an embodiment, the electronic device may generate first color information based on the first wavelength distribution identified in operation 330 of FIG. 4. In an embodiment, the color information may include color information predefined according to a wavelength distribution (e.g., the wavelength distribution 421, the wavelength distribution 423, and the wavelength distribution 425).”);
calculating ([0094], “In an embodiment, the color information may include information about a ratio for each color included in the corresponding wavelength distribution”); and
eliminating, from the original color light, sub-color light having ([0086], “According to an embodiment, in operation 350, the electronic device may generate first correction information based on the first RGB output setting, in response to determining the first RGB output setting. In an embodiment, when the electronic device controls the LED power output unit according to the first wavelength distribution identified in operation 330, the target color space (e.g., DCI color volume 100%) of the TV may not be met. In order to address the issue with the color space that may occur during the implementation process, it is possible to minimize the viewer's inconvenience of the viewing image quality by adjusting the image quality such as color temperature, white balance, etc.”), and displaying the updated color light in the screen ([0090], “in operation 360, the electronic device may control the display based on the first RGB output setting and the first correction information. For example, the electronic device may determine the first RGB output setting according to the wavelength distribution 421 in the sixth interval 411, and may generate correction information according to the determination of the first RGB output setting. By displaying a screen based on the first RGB output setting and the first correction information, the electronic device may output the wavelength where the user's biological rhythm of the electronic device is enhanced, and thereby enhance the degradation of image quality”),
While Park teaches it is necessary to control the blue light emitted from electronic devices according to the biological rhythm ([0003]), it has been known that a melanopic lux per photopic lux ration can be determined to the effects of blue light. In a similar field of endeavor of improving display devices, Pickard discloses wherein the information is a melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio ([0006], “One measure of a spectrum's circadian stimulation effect is its, melanopic lux or its melanopic ratio. (Melanopic ratio is the melanopic lux divided by the photopic lux.)”) and wherein the preset melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio standard is a standard set based on a goal of reducing melatonin inhibition ([0006], “One measure of a spectrum's circadian stimulation effect is its, melanopic lux or its melanopic ratio. (Melanopic ratio is the melanopic lux divided by the photopic lux.) These measures are well known and are calculated by multiplying the spectrum by either the melanopic or photopic spectrum and then integrating across all wavelengths. In terms of sleep and wake thresholds, a melanopic lux (m-lux) greater than 300 m-lux for day time is preferred for a wake threshold, and less than 1.5 m-lux for night time is preferred for a sleep threshold.”).
In view of the teachings of Park and Pickard it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use melanopic ratio, as taught by Pickard, as the standard measurement of Park, for the purpose of controlling monitors to moderate circadian effects but not at the expense of light quality (Pickard, [0007]).
While the combination of Park and Pickard discloses controlling the blue light emitted from electronic devices according to the biological rhythm (Park: [0003]), it has been known to update a color of light by eliminating any sub-color among the plurality of sub-color lights . In a similar field of endeavor of light control, Soler discloses eliminating, any sub-color light among the plurality of sub-color lights having a predetermined melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio, to obtain an updated color light ([0051], “the ratio of the emission intensities of the two LEDs is tuned such that the combined light appears white, and has a sufficient amount of melanopic light (e.g., the ratio of melanopic lux to total photopic lux in the combined light greater than 0.7). In some embodiments, the ratio of the emission intensities of the two LEDs is tuned such that the combined light contains more melanopic light than the traditional white LED. In some embodiments, the ratio of the emission intensities of the two LEDs is tuned such that the combined light contains more melanopic light than a traditional white LED with a CCT that is 2 or 3 ANSI Bins higher than the traditional LED used to create the combined light. For example, a traditional white LED with emission in the 4000 K ANSI Bin can be combined with a supplemental LED containing melanopic light (e.g., with spectrum 220 in FIG. 2A), and the spectrum of the combined light will have a higher melanopic light intensity than a traditional white LED with a 5700 K CCT or a 6500 K CCT”).
In view of the teachings of Park, Pickard and Soler, it would have been obvious to tune the light, as taught by Soler, within the system of Park and Pickard, for the purpose of providing light emitting diodes (LEDs) with melanopic emission spectra that have improved visual aesthetic qualities compared to conventional circadian LED systems (Soler: [0027]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Park, Pickard and Soler further discloses wherein when the preset melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio standard is a melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio threshold, the eliminating, from the original color light, sub-color light having a melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio that exceeds a preset melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio standard, so that the screen displays updated color light comprises:
eliminating, from the original color light, the sub-color light having a melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio that exceeds the melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio threshold, so that the screen displays the updated color light (Pickard: [0051], “For example, the long-blue set may be turned on during daytime hours to keep a user alert with melatonin suppression to maintain healthy circadian rhythms. The long-blue set may be turned off and the violet set may be turned on in the evening or nighttime hours to encourage melatonin production to encourage a transition to bedtime to maintain healthy circadian rhythms. In one embodiment, both the long-blue and the violet sets may be turned on together, for example, to increase the color gamut of the computer display or to transition between the two sets”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Park, Pickard and Soler further discloses wherein a step for determining the preset melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio standard comprises:
determining the preset melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio standard based on a usage mode,
wherein the usage mode represents a user's usage scenario (Park: [0004], “The display device may analyze the user's device use history and set a screen mode with frequently used image quality, or set a screen mode with optimized image quality according to the type of content to be displayed on the display device (e.g., movies, learning, natural images), thereby alleviating eye fatigue of the user watching the display device”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Park, Pickard and Soler further discloses wherein the method further comprises:
adjusting the preset melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio standard when an average melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio corresponding to the updated color light is higher than a preset average melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio standard, to obtain an adjusted preset melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio standard (Pickard: [0006], “One measure of a spectrum's circadian stimulation effect is its, melanopic lux or its melanopic ratio. (Melanopic ratio is the melanopic lux divided by the photopic lux.) These measures are well known and are calculated by multiplying the spectrum by either the melanopic or photopic spectrum and then integrating across all wavelengths. In terms of sleep and wake thresholds, a melanopic lux (m-lux) greater than 300 m-lux for day time is preferred for a wake threshold, and less than 1.5 m-lux for night time is preferred for a sleep threshold”); and
eliminating, from the updated color light, sub-color light having a melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio that exceeds the adjusted preset melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio standard, obtaining an adjusted color light, and displaying the adjusted color light in the screen, wherein an average melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio corresponding to the adjusted color light is lower than or equal to the preset average melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio standard (Pickard: [0007], “While current efforts are focused on controlling monitors to moderate circadian effects, Applicant recognizes that such control cannot come at the expense of light quality. More specifically, regardless of the circadian stimulation of the display, the gamut of the display should be good”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Park, Pickard and Soler further discloses wherein the calculating a melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio of the light of the sub-colors based on the spectral information of the light of the sub-colors comprises:
calculating, based on the spectral information of the light of the sub-colors, melanopic equivalent daylight illuminance and brightness corresponding to the light of the sub-colors (Pickard: [0006], “a melanopic lux (m-lux) greater than 300 m-lux for day time is preferred for a wake threshold”); and
obtaining, based on a ratio of the melanopic equivalent daylight illuminance to the brightness, the melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio corresponding to the light of the sub-colors (Pickard: [0007], “While current efforts are focused on controlling monitors to moderate circadian effects, Applicant recognizes that such control cannot come at the expense of light quality. More specifically, regardless of the circadian stimulation of the display, the gamut of the display should be good”).
Regarding claim 10, Park, Pickard and Soler further discloses a device for screen display comprising a processor, and a memory (Park: [0009], “a display; at least one memory comprising a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor operably connected to the at least one memory and configured to execute the instructions”) coupled to the processor to store instructions, which when executed by the processor cause the device to perform the method of claim 1 and is therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Park, Pickard and Soler further discloses a computer device, wherein the computer device comprises a processor and a memory; the memory is configured to store program code and transmit the program code to the processor; and the processor is configured to perform, based on instructions in the program code, steps of the screen display method (Park: [0040], “the processor 110 may control at least one other component of the electronic device 100 and/or execute computation or data processing regarding communication by executing at least one instruction 121 stored in the memory 120”) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Park, Pickard and Soler further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program and when the computer program is executed by a processor (Park: [0040], “the processor 110 may control at least one other component of the electronic device 100 and/or execute computation or data processing regarding communication by executing at least one instruction 121 stored in the memory 120. The processor 110 may include at least one of a central processing unit (CPU), a graphic processing unit (GPU), a micro controller unit (MCU), a sensor hub, a supplementary processor, a communication processor, an application processor, an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), or field programmable gate arrays (FPGA) and may have multiple cores”), steps of the screen display method according to claim 1 are implemented.
Claim 22 and 23 are within the scope of claims 8 and 9 respectively and are therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Regarding claim 24, Park discloses a method for screen display (figs. 3 and 5), comprising:
obtaining spectral information of a plurality of sub-color lights in an original color light color gamut of a screen display picture ([0092], “According to an embodiment, in operation 510, the electronic device may generate first color information based on the first wavelength distribution. In an embodiment, the electronic device may generate first color information based on the first wavelength distribution identified in operation 330 of FIG. 4. In an embodiment, the color information may include color information predefined according to a wavelength distribution (e.g., the wavelength distribution 421, the wavelength distribution 423, and the wavelength distribution 425).”);
calculating a ([0050], “the spectrum determination unit 220 may determine an optimal spectrum combination to be displayed on the display 140 of the electronic device 100 according to the state determined by the state determination unit 210. The spectrum combination may mean a wavelength distribution. For example, the spectrum combination may mean a distribution based on the length of the wavelength and the intensity of the corresponding wavelength”);
determining a to-be-eliminated color ([0086], “According to an embodiment, in operation 350, the electronic device may generate first correction information based on the first RGB output setting, in response to determining the first RGB output setting. In an embodiment, when the electronic device controls the LED power output unit according to the first wavelength distribution identified in operation 330, the target color space (e.g., DCI color volume 100%) of the TV may not be met. In order to address the issue with the color space that may occur during the implementation process, it is possible to minimize the viewer's inconvenience of the viewing image quality by adjusting the image quality such as color temperature, white balance, etc.”); and
eliminating the sub-color light (0090], “in operation 360, the electronic device may control the display based on the first RGB output setting and the first correction information. For example, the electronic device may determine the first RGB output setting according to the wavelength distribution 421 in the sixth interval 411, and may generate correction information according to the determination of the first RGB output setting. By displaying a screen based on the first RGB output setting and the first correction information, the electronic device may output the wavelength where the user's biological rhythm of the electronic device is enhanced, and thereby enhance the degradation of image quality”).
While Park teaches it is necessary to control the blue light emitted from electronic devices according to the biological rhythm ([0003]), it has been known that a melanopic lux per photopic lux ration can be determined to the effects of blue light. In a similar field of endeavor of improving display devices, Pickard discloses wherein the information is a melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio ([0006], “One measure of a spectrum's circadian stimulation effect is its, melanopic lux or its melanopic ratio. (Melanopic ratio is the melanopic lux divided by the photopic lux.)”) and the preset melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio standard ([0006], “One measure of a spectrum's circadian stimulation effect is its, melanopic lux or its melanopic ratio. (Melanopic ratio is the melanopic lux divided by the photopic lux.) These measures are well known and are calculated by multiplying the spectrum by either the melanopic or photopic spectrum and then integrating across all wavelengths. In terms of sleep and wake thresholds, a melanopic lux (m-lux) greater than 300 m-lux for day time is preferred for a wake threshold, and less than 1.5 m-lux for night time is preferred for a sleep threshold.”), and color gamut coordinate values of three vertices of the original color light color gamut (fig. 5 and [0009], “Throughout this disclosure, the quality of the display gamut is quantified in terms of its coverage of a standard gamut. For example, a display gamut which covers 85% or so of the sRGB gamut would be considered good, and, obviously, as the percentage goes up, the quality of the gamut goes up. Likewise, as a percentage goes down, the quality of the gamut goes down. For example, returning to the example above, the conventional backlight, using a blue-LED with phosphor, has the following gamut coverages: sRGB Coverage: 92.5%; DCIP3 Coverage: 82.1%; and Rec2020 Coverage: 62.8%”).
In view of the teachings of Park and Pickard it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use melanopic ratio, as taught by Pickard, as the standard measurement of Park, for the purpose of controlling monitors to moderate circadian effects but not at the expense of light quality (Pickard, [0007]).
While the combination of Park and Pickard discloses controlling the blue light emitted from electronic devices according to the biological rhythm (Park: [0003]), it has been known to update a color of light by eliminating any sub-color among the plurality of sub-color lights . In a similar field of endeavor of light control, Soler discloses eliminating, any sub-color light among the plurality of sub-color lights within the to-be-eliminated color gamut range, to obtain an updated color light ([0051], “the ratio of the emission intensities of the two LEDs is tuned such that the combined light appears white, and has a sufficient amount of melanopic light (e.g., the ratio of melanopic lux to total photopic lux in the combined light greater than 0.7). In some embodiments, the ratio of the emission intensities of the two LEDs is tuned such that the combined light contains more melanopic light than the traditional white LED. In some embodiments, the ratio of the emission intensities of the two LEDs is tuned such that the combined light contains more melanopic light than a traditional white LED with a CCT that is 2 or 3 ANSI Bins higher than the traditional LED used to create the combined light. For example, a traditional white LED with emission in the 4000 K ANSI Bin can be combined with a supplemental LED containing melanopic light (e.g., with spectrum 220 in FIG. 2A), and the spectrum of the combined light will have a higher melanopic light intensity than a traditional white LED with a 5700 K CCT or a 6500 K CCT”).
In view of the teachings of Park, Pickard and Soler, it would have been obvious to tune the light, as taught by Soler, within the system of Park and Pickard, for the purpose of providing light emitting diodes (LEDs) with melanopic emission spectra that have improved visual aesthetic qualities compared to conventional circadian LED systems (Soler: [0027]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Park, Pickard and Soler further discloses wherein determining a to-be-eliminated color gamut range based on the melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio standard and color gamut coordinate values of three vertices of the original color light color gamut comprises:
selecting a first sub-color light from sub-color lights having a melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio that is equal to the preset melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio standard
determining a range of color gamut to be eliminated based on a gamut coordinate values of the first sub-color light and color gamut coordinate values of the three vertices of the original color light color gamut (Pickard: [0008], “As used herein, the term “gamut” refers to a portion of the color space in the CIE 1931 chromaticity diagram that can be reproduced. There are number of different standards for evaluating gamut.”).
Claims 27 and 29-31 are within the scope of claims 6, 8, 9 and 8 respectively and are therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Claims 5, 7, 26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, Pickard and Soler further in view of Petluri et al. (US PGPub 2022/0323785)
Regarding claim 5, while the combination of Park, Pickard and Soler discloses determining an optimal spectrum combination to be displayed on a display according to a state of a user, including a state before sleep, a state of waking up and preparing to go to work, a state of studying etc. (Park: [0049]-[0050]), it has been known that other factors could be used for determining an optimal spectrum such as current time or geographic location. In a similar field of endeavor of display devices with optimal spectrum combination, Petluri discloses wherein a step for determining the preset melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio standard comprises:
determining the preset melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio standard based on a time period and a geographical location ([0064], “display 70 may be controlled by processor 20, which can communicate various lighting levels, timing, and configuration, e.g., to achieve the desired bioactive lighting. Such display properties may vary based on one or more of a determined time of day, a determined geolocation of display 70 at this time, an intended effect of the lighting, an estimated body clock of the user, individual preferences, capabilities of the underlying device, a feedback mechanism, sensor input, and/or another factor”).
In view of the teachings of Park, Pickard, Soler and Petluri, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the variation based on time of day and geolocation of display, as taught by Petluri, in the system of Park, Pickard and Soler, for the purpose of improving a user’s experience with a display device by reducing the effect of blue light based on specific factors.
Regarding claim 7, while the combination of Park, Pickard and Soler discloses determining an optimal spectrum combination to be displayed on a display according to a state of a user, including a state before sleep, a state of waking up and preparing to go to work, a state of studying etc. (Park: [0049]-[0050]), it has been known that other factors could be used for determining an optimal spectrum such as current time or geographic location. In a similar field of endeavor of display devices with optimal spectrum combination, Petluri discloses wherein a step for determining the preset melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio standard comprises:
determining the preset melanopic lux per photopic lux ratio standard based on a time period, a geographical location, and a usage mode, wherein the usage mode represents a user's usage scenario ([0064], “display 70 may be controlled by processor 20, which can communicate various lighting levels, timing, and configuration, e.g., to achieve the desired bioactive lighting. Such display properties may vary based on one or more of a determined time of day, a determined geolocation of display 70 at this time, an intended effect of the lighting, an estimated body clock of the user, individual preferences, capabilities of the underlying device, a feedback mechanism, sensor input, and/or another factor”).
In view of the teachings of Park, Pickard, Soler and Petluri, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the variation based on time of day, geolocation of display and individual preferences, as taught by Petluri, in the system of Park, Pickard and Soler, for the purpose of improving a user’s experience with a display device by reducing the effect of blue light based on specific factors.
Claims 26 and 28 are within the scope of claim 5 and 7 respectively and are therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, 12 and 24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EJF/
/BENJAMIN C LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2629