DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 25, the term “close” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim; and the specification does not provide a standard for measuring the scope of the term or ascertaining the requisite degree. Hence one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. See MPEP 2173.05(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24-35 & 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung (KR101928046).
Regarding claim 24, Jung teaches a portable work table (1) comprising: a carrier structure (11-12, 31-33) with a table leg arrangement (32-33) with which the portable work table can be placed on a stand surface (Fig. 10), a rest (50) which extends along a longitudinal direction and a width direction (Fig. 10), wherein the rest comprises a first rest (50) which is fixed to the carrier structure (Figs. 5, 7, 10); wherein the carrier structure can be brought into a first working configuration for use of the portable work table as a table (Fig. 10), wherein the portable work table can be brought into a transport configuration in which the portable work table can be manually brought into a tilt position and be moved relative to the stand surface, for the transport of the portable work table (i.e., when the table (1) is configured as shown in Fig. 1, but with the second rest (20) raised as in Fig. 4), wherein the portable work table comprises a second rest (20) which can be selectively brought into a first rest position (Fig. 6) or into a second rest position (Figs. 4).
Regarding claim 25, Jung teaches a carrier structure (11-12, 31-33) that can be brought into a second working configuration for the use of the portable work table (1) as a base surface at a height close to the ground (i.e., when the table (1) is configured as shown in Fig. 1, but positioned horizontally).
Regarding claim 26, Jung teaches a carrier structure (11-12, 31-33) that further comprises a stand foot arrangement (A in Fig. 3 Annotated) and/or the portable work table comprises wheels (113) which are arranged on the carrier structure and/or a handle (122) for transporting the portable work table (par. 54).
Regarding claim 27, Jung teaches a stand foot arrangement (A) and/or the handle (122) in the longitudinal direction is/are arranged on one side of the carrier structure (11-12, 31-33) and/or of the rest (50), and the wheels (113) in the longitudinal direction are arranged on the other side of the carrier structure and/or of the rest (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 28, Jung teaches a portable work table (1) that in the first working configuration (Fig. 10) can be placed with the table leg arrangement (32-33) on the stand surface and the first rest (50) can be aligned parallel to the stand surface (Fig. 10), and/or the portable work table in the second working configuration (i.e., when the table (1) is configured as shown in Fig. 1, but positioned horizontally) can be placed with the stand foot arrangement (A) and/or the wheels (113) on the stand surface and the first rest (50) can be aligned parallel to the stand surface (implied by Fig. 3, wherein the stand foot arrangement (A) & the wheels (113) both extend the same distance away from the carrier structure (11-12, 31-33)), and/or in the transport configuration (i.e., when the table (1) is configured as shown in Fig. 1, but with the second rest (20) raised as in Fig. 4), the first rest (50) is aligned essentially perpendicularly to the second rest (as in Fig. 4) and the portable work table is at least partly supported by the wheels (as in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 29, Jung teaches a portable work table (1) that can be brought into the transport configuration (i.e., when the table (1) is configured as shown in Fig. 1, but with the second rest (20) raised as in Fig. 4) by way of the table leg arrangement being received in a table leg receiving volume (i.e., space between 11-13 & 113) below the rest (50), the second rest (20) being brought into the second rest position (as in Fig. 4) and the portable work table being brought into an essentially vertical position (as in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 30, Jung teaches a table leg receiving volume (i.e., space between 11-13 & 113) limited (Fig. 3) by the stand foot arrangement (A) and/or the wheels (113).
Regarding claim 31, Jung teaches a carrier structure (11-13 & 31-33) that further comprises table leg receivers (B) and a rest carrier (11-12), wherein the table leg arrangement (32-33) is connected onto the rest carrier by way of the table leg receivers and/or the table leg arrangement is mounted on the table leg receivers in a manner such that the table leg arrangement can be brought from a working configuration position (Fig. 1) into a transport configuration position (i.e., when the table (1) is configured as shown in Fig. 1, but with the second rest (20) raised as in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 32, Jung teaches a second rest (20) that can be brought from a first rest position (Fig. 6) into a second rest position (Fig. 4) by way of a translatory movement (i.e., via rotation about a hinge - see par. 70-71).
Regarding claim 33, Jung teaches a portable work table (1) in the transport configuration (i.e., when the table (1) is configured as shown in Fig. 1, but with the second rest (20) raised as in Fig. 4) that forms a sack barrow with a ledge (20) and/or the portable work table in the first working configuration (Fig. 10) or a second working configuration (i.e., when the table (1) is configured as shown in Fig. 1, but positioned horizontally) forms a sub-frame for a semi-stationary electrical tool (note that an appropriately-sized electrical tool could be positioned upon the portable work table (1) when it is in either of these configurations - see Figs. 1 & 10).
Regarding claim 34, Jung teaches a portable work table (1) in the transport configuration (i.e., when the table (1) is configured as shown in Fig. 1, but with the second rest (20) raised as in Fig. 4) hat forms a sack barrow with a ledge (20) and the second rest (20) in the transport configuration of the portable work table forms a ledge (20) of the sack barrow, wherein the ledge with its upper side forms a placement surface (i.e., surface of 20 facing 50) for receiving a transport box (implied by Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 35, Jung teaches a placement surface (i.e., surface of 20 facing 50) that comprises coupling receivers (C in Fig. 6 Annotated) for receiving coupling means (e.g., bungee cords) of the transport box.
Regarding claim 43, Jung teaches a method for operating a portable work table (1), comprising the step: bringing (par. 70-71) the second rest (20) into a first rest position (Fig. 6) or into a second rest position (Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 24-27, 32-35, & 38-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cole (3669031).
Regarding claim 24, Cole teaches a portable work table (10) comprising: a carrier structure (12, 16a-b, 18a-b, 22) with a table leg arrangement (16a-b, 18a-b) with which the portable work table can be placed on a stand surface (Fig. 1), a rest (14) which extends along a longitudinal direction and a width direction (Figs. 1-2), wherein the rest comprises a first rest (14) which is fixed to the carrier structure (Figs. 1-2); wherein the carrier structure can be brought into a first working configuration for use of the portable work table as a table (Fig. 1), wherein the portable work table can be brought into a transport configuration in which the portable work table can be manually brought into a tilt position and be moved relative to the stand surface, for the transport of the portable work table (i.e., when the table (10) is in the configuration shown in Fig. 4, but tilted at an angle), wherein the portable work table comprises a second rest (30a-b, 32) which can be selectively brought into a first rest position (Fig. 4) or into a second rest position (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 25, Cole teaches a carrier structure (12, 16a-b, 18a-b, 22) that can be brought into a second working configuration (Fig. 4) for the use of the portable work table as a base surface at a height close to the ground (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 26, Cole teaches a carrier structure (12, 16a-b, 18a-b, 22) that further comprises a stand foot arrangement (49a-b) and/or the portable work table comprises wheels (27a-b) which are arranged on the carrier structure and/or a handle (56) for transporting the portable work table.
Regarding claim 27, Cole teaches a stand foot arrangement (49a-b) and/or the handle (56) in the longitudinal direction is/are arranged on one side of the carrier structure (12, 16a-b, 18a-b, 22) and/or of the rest (14), and the wheels (27a-b) in the longitudinal direction are arranged on the other side of the carrier structure and/or of the rest (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 32, Cole teaches a second rest (30a-b, 32) that can be brought from a first rest position (Fig. 4) into the second rest position (Fig. 1) by way of a translatory movement (Figs. 1 & 4 and col. 2, lines 18-30).
Regarding claim 33, Cole teaches a portable work table (10) in the transport configuration (i.e., when the table (10) is in the configuration shown in Fig. 4, but tilted at an angle) that forms a sack barrow with a ledge (30a-b) and/or the portable work table in the first working configuration (Fig. 1) or a second working configuration (Fig. 4) forms a sub-frame for a semi-stationary electrical tool (20 - see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 34, Cole teaches a portable work table (10) in the transport configuration (i.e., when the table (10) is in the configuration shown in Fig. 4, but tilted at an angle) that forms a sack barrow with a ledge (30a-b) and the second rest (30a-b, 32) in the transport configuration of the portable work table forms a ledge of the sack barrow (Figs. 1 & 4), wherein the ledge with its upper side forms a placement surface (i.e., surface of 30a-b facing 14) for receiving a transport box (Figs. 1 & 3-4).
Regarding claim 35, Cole teaches a placement surface (i.e., surface of 30a-b facing 14) that comprises coupling receivers (37, 38) for receiving coupling means (e.g., bungee cords) of the transport box.
Regarding claim 38, Cole teaches a machining unit (Fig. 1) comprising a portable work table (10) and a semi-stationary electric tool (20), wherein the portable work table in the first working configuration (Fig. 1) or a second working configuration (Fig. 4) forms a sub-frame for the semi-stationary electrical tool (Fig. 1), wherein the electrical tool comprises at least one workpiece rest (D in Fig. 1 Annotated) and a saw blade (E) for the cutting machining of a workpiece (35) which can be placed on the workpiece rest.
Regarding claim 39, Cole teaches a workpiece rest (D) and the second rest (30a-b, 32) that are arranged to one another such that a side (G) of the second rest and a side (H) the workpiece rest have the same distance to a rest surface (F) which is formed by the first rest (14). See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 40, Cole teaches a side (G) of the second rest (30a-b, 32) that faces away from the carrier structure (12, 16a-b, 18a-b, 22).
Regarding claim 41, Cole teaches a plane workpiece (35) which is placed onto the workpiece rest (D) in a two-dimensional manner that is also supported or supportable (Fig. 1) by the second rest (30a-b, 32).
Regarding claim 42, Cole teaches a plane workpiece (35) placed onto the workpiece rest (D) in the two-dimensional manner that is supported or supportable (Fig. 1) by a side (G) of the second rest (30a-b, 32) which side is facing away (Fig. 1) from the carrier structure (12, 16a-b, 18a-b, 22).
Regarding claim 43, Cole teaches a method for operating a portable work table (10), comprising the step: bringing (Figs. 1 & 4 and col. 2, lines 18-30) the second rest (30a-b, 32) into a first rest position (Fig. 4) or into a second rest position (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole (3669031) in view of Brazell (20050093258). Cole teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including a rest (14) having a side (F) facing away from a carrier structure (12, 16a-b, 18a-b, 22), and a semi-stationary electric tool (20) secured to the side by unspecified securing means; but fail(s) to teach a hole structure. However, Brazell teaches securing means (60 & J in Fig. 2 Annotated) comprising a hole structure (J) that is formed on a side (K) of a rest (52), said side facing away from a carrier structure (62, 64), wherein the hole structure is designed to form a coupling interface (Fig. 2 & par. 27) for a semi-stationary electric tool (12). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute securing means, as taught by Brazell, for the unspecified securing means of Cole, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to selectively secure the semi-stationary electric tool to the rest, and because such an outcome would have been a predictable result of such a substitution of one known securing means for another.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW ING whose telephone number is (571)272-6536. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Daniel Troy can be reached at (571) 270-3742. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MATTHEW W ING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637