DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 9/11/2025.
Claim(s) 1-9 has/have been cancelled.
Claims(s) 10-14 has/have been added.
Claims(s) 10-14 is/are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 7/30/2024 and 4/15/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
An English translation for Non-Patent Literature Documents citation #3, listed on IDS dated 2024-07-30, entitled “Written Opinion issued in corresponding International Application No. PCT/JP2022/004295, mailed on September 13, 2022” was not found in the file wrapper. The Examiner has included the reference on the PTO-892.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7/30/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 11, 12, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelghaffar et al. US 20250240142 in view of Jacobsson et al. US 20250056556.
As to claim 10:
Abdelghaffar et al. discloses:
A terminal comprising:
a receiver that receives a configuration of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) using a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) having a length of 4, for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); and
(“For example, a UE 115 of the wireless communications system 100 may receive control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC-CE signaling, DCI signaling) which indicates an FD-OCC sequence length value for wireless communications with the network. The FD-OCC sequence length value may be 4, 6, 8, etc. (e.g., N=4, 6, 8). The UE may then receive an indication of an antenna port field value, and may determine which one or more orthogonal DMRS ports are to be used for transmitting DMRSs based on the indicated FD-OCC sequence length value and the antenna port value. In some aspects, the UE 115 may be configured to identify a set of cyclic shift (CS) sequence values, a Walsh sequence, or both, based on the indicated antenna port field value and the indicated sequence length value, and may determine one or more DMRS ports at the UE 115 which are to be used based on the identified CS values and/or Walsh sequence. In some aspects, a quantity of CS values within the set of CS sequence values and/or the length of the Walsh sequence may be based on the sequence length.”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0133)
(“…For example, the UE 115 may transmit uplink signals, such as uplink control signals or uplink data signals (e.g., physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions), to the base station 105 using the communication link 205 and the base station 105 may transmit downlink signals, such as downlink control signals or downlink data signals, to the UE 115 using the communication link 205.”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0087)
(“…The wireless communications system 200 may enable techniques for increasing a sequence length of FD-OCCs supported by the wireless communications system, thereby increasing a quantity of available orthogonal DMRS ports for supporting a higher number of spatial layers for uplink transmissions. In particular, the wireless communications system 100 may support techniques for signaling higher-order FD-OCCs (e.g., having a sequence length N>2), and configurations for indicating antenna port values for higher-quantities of supported DMRS ports.”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0132)
(where
See FIG. 9 for “receiver”
“a UE 115 of the wireless communications system 100 may receive control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC-CE signaling, DCI signaling) which indicates an FD-OCC sequence length value for wireless communications with the network. The FD-OCC sequence length value may be 4, 6, 8, etc. (e.g., N=4, 6, 8). The UE may then receive an indication of an antenna port field value, and may determine which one or more orthogonal DMRS ports are to be used for transmitting DMRSs based on the indicated FD-OCC sequence length value and the antenna port value. In some aspects, the UE 115 may be configured to identify a set of cyclic shift (CS) sequence values, a Walsh sequence, or both, based on the indicated antenna port field value and the indicated sequence length value, and may determine one or more DMRS ports at the UE 115 which are to be used based on the identified CS values”/” the UE 115 may transmit uplink signals, such as uplink control signals or uplink data signals (e.g., physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions)”/”The wireless communications system 200 may enable techniques for increasing a sequence length of FD-OCCs supported by the wireless communications system, thereby increasing a quantity of available orthogonal DMRS ports for supporting a higher number of spatial layers for uplink transmissions. In particular, the wireless communications system 100 may support techniques for signaling higher-order FD-OCCs (e.g., having a sequence length N>2” maps to “A terminal comprising: … receives a configuration of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) using a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) having a length of 4”, where “UE” maps to “terminal”, “receive” maps to “receives”, “RRC”/”MAC”/”DCI”/”may be configured” maps to “a configuration”, “transmitting DMRSs” maps to “of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS)”, “FD-OCC” maps to “FD-OCC)”, “length value may be 4” maps to “having a length of 4”, “PUSCH”/”uplink transmissions” maps to “for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”
a processor that controls, based on the configuration, transmission of the DMRS, using an association corresponding to a port of the DMRS,
(“The DMRS port mapping configuration 300 for a single symbol for CS-based sequence length four (e.g., N=4), type-1 (8 DMRS ports in total) may be illustrated via the phase shift configuration 305 and the DMRS pattern 310. Referring to the DMRS pattern 310, the first four ports/columns (e.g., ports/columns 0-3) may be the same as the legacy port mapping for FD-OCC length two (e.g., same for N=2). As such, techniques described herein may enable new port mappings which are illustrated in the last four ports/columns (e.g., ports/columns 8-11) of the DMRS pattern 310. Moreover, the DMRS pattern 310 may be scalable to any N.”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0148)
(where
See FIG. 9 for “processor that controls”
“may be configured”/“DMRS port mapping configuration”/“DMRS pattern 310”/FIG. 3 maps to “based on the configuration, transmission of the DMRS, using an association corresponding to a port of the DMRS”, where “may be configured” maps to “based on the configuration”, “DMRS pattern 310”/FIG. 3 maps to “transmission of the DMRS”, “DMRS port mapping” maps to “using an association corresponding to a port of the DMRS”
wherein the FD-OCC … for a first sequence element of the FD-OCC.
(“Techniques described herein for increasing FD-OCC length (e.g., increasing N) may be scalable to any arbitrary N, as will be described in further detail herein. The rows of Table 20 above (e.g., the respective phase shift values a.sub.i) may correspond to the following Walsh sequences: α.sub.i = …”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0156)
(where
“The FD-OCC sequence length value may be 4, 6, 8, etc. (e.g., N=4, 6, 8)”/”Walsh sequences: α.sub.i =” maps to “wherein the FD-OCC … for a first sequence element of the FD-OCC”, where “FD-OCC” maps to “FD-OCC”, “sequence” maps to “first sequence”, “Walsh sequences: α.sub.i =” maps to “element of the FD-OCC”
Abdelghaffar et al. teaches configuring a UE for FD-OCC with sequence length value of 4 and configuring DMRS ports for transmitting DMRSs based on the configured sequence length value, where the UE is configured with DMRS port mapping associated with a DMRS pattern where the FD-OCC is associated with Walsh sequences.
Abdelghaffar et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
However, Jacobsson et al. further teaches a FD-OCC complex-code/cyclic shifts capability which includes:
(“In particular embodiments, the FD-OCC comprises a real-valued code (e.g., Hadamard) or a complex-valued code (e.g., cyclic shifts).”; Jacobsson et al.; 0031)
(“In some embodiments, the FD-OCC code is of length 8 or longer. In particular embodiments, the FD-OCC contains codewords that correspond to cyclic shifts that are integer multiples of 360°/L.sub.C, where L.sub.C is the length of the FD-OCC.”; Jacobsson et al.; 0079)
(where
“FD-OCC comprises…complex-valued code (e.g. cyclic shifts)” maps to “, “cyclic shifts that are integer multiples of 360°/L.sub.C, where L.sub.C is the length of the FD-OCC” maps to “using a cyclic shift {0, π, π/2, 3π/2}”
Jacobsson et al. teaches a FD-OCC comprising complex-valued code associated with cyclic shifts, where the FD-OCC contains codewords with cyclic shifts that are integer multiples of 360 degrees divided by the length of the FD-OCC.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the FD-OCC complex-code/cyclic shifts capability of Jacobsson et al. into Abdelghaffar et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Abdelghaffar et al. to include the FD-OCC complex-code/cyclic shifts capability as taught by the processing/communications of Jacobsson et al., the benefits of improved communication (Abdelghaffar et al.; 0005) with improved OTT (Jacobsson et al.; 0190) are achieved.
As to claim 11:
Abdelghaffar et al. discloses:
further comprising a transmitter that transmits capability information indicating whether to support the DMRS for both of a first DMRS mapping type and a second DMRS mapping type.
(“Some aspects of the present disclosure are further directed to UE capability signaling which may be used by UEs 115 to indicate a capability (or lack thereof) to support communications performed in accordance with DMRS port mapping configurations described herein. In such cases, new antenna port-to-DMRS port mapping configurations (e.g., DMRS port mapping configurations) may be applied or implemented only in cases in which UEs 115 indicate a capability to support such DMRS port mapping configurations.”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0108)
(“TABLE-US-00006 TABLE 6 Antenna Port to DMRS Port Mapping for DMRS Type 1 for Two Codewords # of Antenna DMRS CDM # of Layers/ # of Layers/ # of Port Group(s) Total DMRS port(s)/ DMRS port(s)/ front- Field Without # of CDM Group for CDM Group for loaded Value Data Layers Codeword 0 Codeword 1 symbols 0 2 5 2/(0, 1)/(2, 3)/(1, 1) 3/(2, 3, 4)/(0, 1, 4)/(0, 0, 0) 2 1 2 6 3/(0, 1, 2)/(0, 1, 4)/(0, 0, 0) 3/(3, 4, 5)/(2, 3, 6)/(1, 1, 1) 2 2 2 7 3/(0, 1, 2)/(2, 3, 6)/(1, 1, 1) 4/(3, 4, 5, 6)/(0, 1, 4, 5)/ 2 (0, 0, 0, 0) 3 2 8 4/(0, 1, 2, 3)/(0, 1, 4, 5)/ 4/(4, 5, 6, 7)/(2, 3, 6, 7)/ 2 (0, 0, 0, 0) (1, 1, 1, 1) 4-31 Reserved Reserved Reserved Reserved Reserved”)
(“TABLE-US-00007 TABLE 7 Antenna Port to DMRS Port Mapping for DMRS Type 2 for Two Codewords # of DMRS Antenna CDM # of Layers/ # of Layers/ # of Port Group(s) Total DMRS port(s)/ DMRS port(s)/ front- Field Without # of CDM Group for CDM Group for loaded Value Data Layers Codeword 0 Codeword 1 symbols 0 3 5 2/(0, 1)/(0, 1)/(0, 0) 3/(2, 3, 4)/(2, 3, 4)/(1, 1, 2) 1 custom-character custom-character custom-character custom-character custom-character custom-character 2 2 5 2/(0, 1)/(2, 3)/(1, 1) 3/(2, 3, 4)/(0, 1, 6)/(0, 0, 0) 2 3 2 6 3/(0, 1, 2)/(0, 1, 6)/(0, 0, 0) 4/(3, 4, 5)/(2, 3, 8)/(1, 1, 1) 2 4 2 7 3/(0, 1, 2)/(2, 3, 8)/(1, 1, 1) 4/(3, 4, 5, 6)/(0, 1, 6, 7)/(0, 0, 0, 0) 2 5 2 8 4/(0, 1, 2, 3)/(0, 1, 6, 7)/(0, 0, 0, 0) 4/(4, 5, 6, 7)/(2, 3, 6, 7)/(1, 1, 1, 1) 2 6-63 Reserved Reserved Reserved Reserved Reserved”)
(“The UE 115 and the base station 105 of the wireless communications system 200 may be configured to communicate in accordance with the DMRS port mapping configurations illustrated in Tables 6 and 7 above. Table 6 above illustrates an example DMRS port mapping configuration of the present disclosure for DMRS Type 1 for two codewords, where Table 7 above illustrates an example DMRS port mapping configuration of the present disclosure for DMRS Type 2 for two codewords. In some aspects, Tables 6 and 7 may be reflected in new DMRS port mapping tables which may be added in addition to the legacy DMRS port mapping tables reflected in Tables 4 and 5 above. Additionally, or alternatively, the DMRS port mapping configurations illustrated in Tables 6 and 7 may be implemented using unused/reserved antenna port field values in Tables 4 and 5 above.”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0110)
As to claim 12:
Abdelghaffar et al. discloses:
A radio communication method for a terminal, comprising:
receiving a configuration of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) using a frequency
domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) having a length of 4, for a physical uplink
shared channel (PUSCH); and
(“For example, a UE 115 of the wireless communications system 100 may receive control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC-CE signaling, DCI signaling) which indicates an FD-OCC sequence length value for wireless communications with the network. The FD-OCC sequence length value may be 4, 6, 8, etc. (e.g., N=4, 6, 8). The UE may then receive an indication of an antenna port field value, and may determine which one or more orthogonal DMRS ports are to be used for transmitting DMRSs based on the indicated FD-OCC sequence length value and the antenna port value. In some aspects, the UE 115 may be configured to identify a set of cyclic shift (CS) sequence values, a Walsh sequence, or both, based on the indicated antenna port field value and the indicated sequence length value, and may determine one or more DMRS ports at the UE 115 which are to be used based on the identified CS values and/or Walsh sequence. In some aspects, a quantity of CS values within the set of CS sequence values and/or the length of the Walsh sequence may be based on the sequence length.”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0133)
(“…For example, the UE 115 may transmit uplink signals, such as uplink control signals or uplink data signals (e.g., physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions), to the base station 105 using the communication link 205 and the base station 105 may transmit downlink signals, such as downlink control signals or downlink data signals, to the UE 115 using the communication link 205.”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0087)
(“…The wireless communications system 200 may enable techniques for increasing a sequence length of FD-OCCs supported by the wireless communications system, thereby increasing a quantity of available orthogonal DMRS ports for supporting a higher number of spatial layers for uplink transmissions. In particular, the wireless communications system 100 may support techniques for signaling higher-order FD-OCCs (e.g., having a sequence length N>2), and configurations for indicating antenna port values for higher-quantities of supported DMRS ports.”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0132)
(where
See FIG. 9 for “receiver”
“a UE 115 of the wireless communications system 100 may receive control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC-CE signaling, DCI signaling) which indicates an FD-OCC sequence length value for wireless communications with the network. The FD-OCC sequence length value may be 4, 6, 8, etc. (e.g., N=4, 6, 8). The UE may then receive an indication of an antenna port field value, and may determine which one or more orthogonal DMRS ports are to be used for transmitting DMRSs based on the indicated FD-OCC sequence length value and the antenna port value. In some aspects, the UE 115 may be configured to identify a set of cyclic shift (CS) sequence values, a Walsh sequence, or both, based on the indicated antenna port field value and the indicated sequence length value, and may determine one or more DMRS ports at the UE 115 which are to be used based on the identified CS values”/” the UE 115 may transmit uplink signals, such as uplink control signals or uplink data signals (e.g., physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions)”/”The wireless communications system 200 may enable techniques for increasing a sequence length of FD-OCCs supported by the wireless communications system, thereby increasing a quantity of available orthogonal DMRS ports for supporting a higher number of spatial layers for uplink transmissions. In particular, the wireless communications system 100 may support techniques for signaling higher-order FD-OCCs (e.g., having a sequence length N>2” maps to “A terminal comprising: … receives a configuration of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) using a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) having a length of 4”, where “UE” maps to “terminal”, “receive” maps to “receives”, “RRC”/”MAC”/”DCI”/”may be configured” maps to “a configuration”, “transmitting DMRSs” maps to “of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS)”, “FD-OCC” maps to “FD-OCC)”, “length value may be 4” maps to “having a length of 4”, “PUSCH”/”uplink transmissions” maps to “for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”
controlling, based on the configuration, transmission of the DMRS, using an association
corresponding to a port of the DMRS,
(“The DMRS port mapping configuration 300 for a single symbol for CS-based sequence length four (e.g., N=4), type-1 (8 DMRS ports in total) may be illustrated via the phase shift configuration 305 and the DMRS pattern 310. Referring to the DMRS pattern 310, the first four ports/columns (e.g., ports/columns 0-3) may be the same as the legacy port mapping for FD-OCC length two (e.g., same for N=2). As such, techniques described herein may enable new port mappings which are illustrated in the last four ports/columns (e.g., ports/columns 8-11) of the DMRS pattern 310. Moreover, the DMRS pattern 310 may be scalable to any N.”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0148)
(where
See FIG. 9 for “processor that controls”
“may be configured”/“DMRS port mapping configuration”/“DMRS pattern 310”/FIG. 3 maps to “based on the configuration, transmission of the DMRS, using an association corresponding to a port of the DMRS”, where “may be configured” maps to “based on the configuration”, “DMRS pattern 310”/FIG. 3 maps to “transmission of the DMRS”, “DMRS port mapping” maps to “using an association corresponding to a port of the DMRS”
wherein the FD-OCC … for a first sequence element of the FD-OCC.
(“Techniques described herein for increasing FD-OCC length (e.g., increasing N) may be scalable to any arbitrary N, as will be described in further detail herein. The rows of Table 20 above (e.g., the respective phase shift values a.sub.i) may correspond to the following Walsh sequences: α.sub.i = …”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0156)
(where
“The FD-OCC sequence length value may be 4, 6, 8, etc. (e.g., N=4, 6, 8)”/”Walsh sequences: α.sub.i =” maps to “wherein the FD-OCC … for a first sequence element of the FD-OCC”, where “FD-OCC” maps to “FD-OCC”, “sequence” maps to “first sequence”, “Walsh sequences: α.sub.i =” maps to “element of the FD-OCC”
Abdelghaffar et al. teaches configuring a UE for FD-OCC with sequence length value of 4 and configuring DMRS ports for transmitting DMRSs based on the configured sequence length value, where the UE is configured with DMRS port mapping associated with a DMRS pattern where the FD-OCC is associated with Walsh sequences.
Abdelghaffar et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
However, Jacobsson et al. further teaches a FD-OCC complex-code/cyclic shifts capability which includes:
(“In particular embodiments, the FD-OCC comprises a real-valued code (e.g., Hadamard) or a complex-valued code (e.g., cyclic shifts).”; Jacobsson et al.; 0031)
(“In some embodiments, the FD-OCC code is of length 8 or longer. In particular embodiments, the FD-OCC contains codewords that correspond to cyclic shifts that are integer multiples of 360°/L.sub.C, where L.sub.C is the length of the FD-OCC.”; Jacobsson et al.; 0079)
(where
“FD-OCC comprises…complex-valued code (e.g. cyclic shifts)” maps to “, “cyclic shifts that are integer multiples of 360°/L.sub.C, where L.sub.C is the length of the FD-OCC” maps to “using a cyclic shift {0, π, π/2, 3π/2}”
Jacobsson et al. teaches a FD-OCC comprising complex-valued code associated with cyclic shifts, where the FD-OCC contains codewords with cyclic shifts that are integer multiples of 360 degrees divided by the length of the FD-OCC.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the FD-OCC complex-code/cyclic shifts capability of Jacobsson et al. into Abdelghaffar et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Abdelghaffar et al. to include the FD-OCC complex-code/cyclic shifts capability as taught by the processing/communications of Jacobsson et al., the benefits of improved communication (Abdelghaffar et al.; 0005) with improved OTT (Jacobsson et al.; 0190) are achieved.
As to claim 13:
Abdelghaffar et al. discloses:
base station comprising:
a transmitter that transmits, to a terminal, a configuration of a demodulation reference signal
(DMRS) using a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) having a length
of 4, for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); and
(“For example, a UE 115 of the wireless communications system 100 may receive control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC-CE signaling, DCI signaling) which indicates an FD-OCC sequence length value for wireless communications with the network. The FD-OCC sequence length value may be 4, 6, 8, etc. (e.g., N=4, 6, 8). The UE may then receive an indication of an antenna port field value, and may determine which one or more orthogonal DMRS ports are to be used for transmitting DMRSs based on the indicated FD-OCC sequence length value and the antenna port value. In some aspects, the UE 115 may be configured to identify a set of cyclic shift (CS) sequence values, a Walsh sequence, or both, based on the indicated antenna port field value and the indicated sequence length value, and may determine one or more DMRS ports at the UE 115 which are to be used based on the identified CS values and/or Walsh sequence. In some aspects, a quantity of CS values within the set of CS sequence values and/or the length of the Walsh sequence may be based on the sequence length.”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0133)
(“…For example, the UE 115 may transmit uplink signals, such as uplink control signals or uplink data signals (e.g., physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions), to the base station 105 using the communication link 205 and the base station 105 may transmit downlink signals, such as downlink control signals or downlink data signals, to the UE 115 using the communication link 205.”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0087)
(“…The wireless communications system 200 may enable techniques for increasing a sequence length of FD-OCCs supported by the wireless communications system, thereby increasing a quantity of available orthogonal DMRS ports for supporting a higher number of spatial layers for uplink transmissions. In particular, the wireless communications system 100 may support techniques for signaling higher-order FD-OCCs (e.g., having a sequence length N>2), and configurations for indicating antenna port values for higher-quantities of supported DMRS ports.”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0132)
(where
See FIG. 9 for “receiver”
“a UE 115 of the wireless communications system 100 may receive control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC-CE signaling, DCI signaling) which indicates an FD-OCC sequence length value for wireless communications with the network. The FD-OCC sequence length value may be 4, 6, 8, etc. (e.g., N=4, 6, 8). The UE may then receive an indication of an antenna port field value, and may determine which one or more orthogonal DMRS ports are to be used for transmitting DMRSs based on the indicated FD-OCC sequence length value and the antenna port value. In some aspects, the UE 115 may be configured to identify a set of cyclic shift (CS) sequence values, a Walsh sequence, or both, based on the indicated antenna port field value and the indicated sequence length value, and may determine one or more DMRS ports at the UE 115 which are to be used based on the identified CS values”/” the UE 115 may transmit uplink signals, such as uplink control signals or uplink data signals (e.g., physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions)”/”The wireless communications system 200 may enable techniques for increasing a sequence length of FD-OCCs supported by the wireless communications system, thereby increasing a quantity of available orthogonal DMRS ports for supporting a higher number of spatial layers for uplink transmissions. In particular, the wireless communications system 100 may support techniques for signaling higher-order FD-OCCs (e.g., having a sequence length N>2” maps to “A terminal comprising: … receives a configuration of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) using a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) having a length of 4”, where “UE” maps to “terminal”, “receive” maps to “receives”, “RRC”/”MAC”/”DCI”/”may be configured” maps to “a configuration”, “transmitting DMRSs” maps to “of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS)”, “FD-OCC” maps to “FD-OCC)”, “length value may be 4” maps to “having a length of 4”, “PUSCH”/”uplink transmissions” maps to “for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”
a processor that controls, based on the configuration, reception of the DMRS, using an
association corresponding to a port of the DMRS,
(“The DMRS port mapping configuration 300 for a single symbol for CS-based sequence length four (e.g., N=4), type-1 (8 DMRS ports in total) may be illustrated via the phase shift configuration 305 and the DMRS pattern 310. Referring to the DMRS pattern 310, the first four ports/columns (e.g., ports/columns 0-3) may be the same as the legacy port mapping for FD-OCC length two (e.g., same for N=2). As such, techniques described herein may enable new port mappings which are illustrated in the last four ports/columns (e.g., ports/columns 8-11) of the DMRS pattern 310. Moreover, the DMRS pattern 310 may be scalable to any N.”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0148)
(where
See FIG. 9 for “processor that controls”
“may be configured”/“DMRS port mapping configuration”/“DMRS pattern 310”/FIG. 3 maps to “based on the configuration, transmission of the DMRS, using an association corresponding to a port of the DMRS”, where “may be configured” maps to “based on the configuration”, “DMRS pattern 310”/FIG. 3 maps to “transmission of the DMRS”, “DMRS port mapping” maps to “using an association corresponding to a port of the DMRS”
wherein the FD-OCC … for a first sequence element of the FD-OCC.
(“Techniques described herein for increasing FD-OCC length (e.g., increasing N) may be scalable to any arbitrary N, as will be described in further detail herein. The rows of Table 20 above (e.g., the respective phase shift values a.sub.i) may correspond to the following Walsh sequences: α.sub.i = …”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0156)
(where
“The FD-OCC sequence length value may be 4, 6, 8, etc. (e.g., N=4, 6, 8)”/”Walsh sequences: α.sub.i =” maps to “wherein the FD-OCC … for a first sequence element of the FD-OCC”, where “FD-OCC” maps to “FD-OCC”, “sequence” maps to “first sequence”, “Walsh sequences: α.sub.i =” maps to “element of the FD-OCC”
Abdelghaffar et al. teaches configuring a UE for FD-OCC with sequence length value of 4 and configuring DMRS ports for transmitting DMRSs based on the configured sequence length value, where the UE is configured with DMRS port mapping associated with a DMRS pattern where the FD-OCC is associated with Walsh sequences.
Abdelghaffar et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
However, Jacobsson et al. further teaches a FD-OCC complex-code/cyclic shifts capability which includes:
(“In particular embodiments, the FD-OCC comprises a real-valued code (e.g., Hadamard) or a complex-valued code (e.g., cyclic shifts).”; Jacobsson et al.; 0031)
(“In some embodiments, the FD-OCC code is of length 8 or longer. In particular embodiments, the FD-OCC contains codewords that correspond to cyclic shifts that are integer multiples of 360°/L.sub.C, where L.sub.C is the length of the FD-OCC.”; Jacobsson et al.; 0079)
(where
“FD-OCC comprises…complex-valued code (e.g. cyclic shifts)” maps to “, “cyclic shifts that are integer multiples of 360°/L.sub.C, where L.sub.C is the length of the FD-OCC” maps to “using a cyclic shift {0, π, π/2, 3π/2}”
Jacobsson et al. teaches a FD-OCC comprising complex-valued code associated with cyclic shifts, where the FD-OCC contains codewords with cyclic shifts that are integer multiples of 360 degrees divided by the length of the FD-OCC.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the FD-OCC complex-code/cyclic shifts capability of Jacobsson et al. into Abdelghaffar et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Abdelghaffar et al. to include the FD-OCC complex-code/cyclic shifts capability as taught by the processing/communications of Jacobsson et al., the benefits of improved communication (Abdelghaffar et al.; 0005) with improved OTT (Jacobsson et al.; 0190) are achieved.
As to claim 14:
Abdelghaffar et al. discloses:
A system comprising a terminal and a base station, wherein
the terminal comprises:
a receiver that receives a configuration of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS)
using a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) having a length of 4, for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); and
a transmitter that transmits the configuration to the terminal; and
(“For example, a UE 115 of the wireless communications system 100 may receive control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC-CE signaling, DCI signaling) which indicates an FD-OCC sequence length value for wireless communications with the network. The FD-OCC sequence length value may be 4, 6, 8, etc. (e.g., N=4, 6, 8). The UE may then receive an indication of an antenna port field value, and may determine which one or more orthogonal DMRS ports are to be used for transmitting DMRSs based on the indicated FD-OCC sequence length value and the antenna port value. In some aspects, the UE 115 may be configured to identify a set of cyclic shift (CS) sequence values, a Walsh sequence, or both, based on the indicated antenna port field value and the indicated sequence length value, and may determine one or more DMRS ports at the UE 115 which are to be used based on the identified CS values and/or Walsh sequence. In some aspects, a quantity of CS values within the set of CS sequence values and/or the length of the Walsh sequence may be based on the sequence length.”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0133)
(“…For example, the UE 115 may transmit uplink signals, such as uplink control signals or uplink data signals (e.g., physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions), to the base station 105 using the communication link 205 and the base station 105 may transmit downlink signals, such as downlink control signals or downlink data signals, to the UE 115 using the communication link 205.”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0087)
(“…The wireless communications system 200 may enable techniques for increasing a sequence length of FD-OCCs supported by the wireless communications system, thereby increasing a quantity of available orthogonal DMRS ports for supporting a higher number of spatial layers for uplink transmissions. In particular, the wireless communications system 100 may support techniques for signaling higher-order FD-OCCs (e.g., having a sequence length N>2), and configurations for indicating antenna port values for higher-quantities of supported DMRS ports.”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0132)
(where
See FIG. 9 for “receiver”
“a UE 115 of the wireless communications system 100 may receive control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, MAC-CE signaling, DCI signaling) which indicates an FD-OCC sequence length value for wireless communications with the network. The FD-OCC sequence length value may be 4, 6, 8, etc. (e.g., N=4, 6, 8). The UE may then receive an indication of an antenna port field value, and may determine which one or more orthogonal DMRS ports are to be used for transmitting DMRSs based on the indicated FD-OCC sequence length value and the antenna port value. In some aspects, the UE 115 may be configured to identify a set of cyclic shift (CS) sequence values, a Walsh sequence, or both, based on the indicated antenna port field value and the indicated sequence length value, and may determine one or more DMRS ports at the UE 115 which are to be used based on the identified CS values”/” the UE 115 may transmit uplink signals, such as uplink control signals or uplink data signals (e.g., physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions)”/”The wireless communications system 200 may enable techniques for increasing a sequence length of FD-OCCs supported by the wireless communications system, thereby increasing a quantity of available orthogonal DMRS ports for supporting a higher number of spatial layers for uplink transmissions. In particular, the wireless communications system 100 may support techniques for signaling higher-order FD-OCCs (e.g., having a sequence length N>2” maps to “A terminal comprising: … receives a configuration of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) using a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) having a length of 4”, where “UE” maps to “terminal”, “receive” maps to “receives”, “RRC”/”MAC”/”DCI”/”may be configured” maps to “a configuration”, “transmitting DMRSs” maps to “of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS)”, “FD-OCC” maps to “FD-OCC)”, “length value may be 4” maps to “having a length of 4”, “PUSCH”/”uplink transmissions” maps to “for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”
the base station comprises:
a processor that controls, based on the configuration, reception of the DMRS,
(“The DMRS port mapping configuration 300 for a single symbol for CS-based sequence length four (e.g., N=4), type-1 (8 DMRS ports in total) may be illustrated via the phase shift configuration 305 and the DMRS pattern 310. Referring to the DMRS pattern 310, the first four ports/columns (e.g., ports/columns 0-3) may be the same as the legacy port mapping for FD-OCC length two (e.g., same for N=2). As such, techniques described herein may enable new port mappings which are illustrated in the last four ports/columns (e.g., ports/columns 8-11) of the DMRS pattern 310. Moreover, the DMRS pattern 310 may be scalable to any N.”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0148)
(where
See FIG. 9 for “processor that controls”
“may be configured”/“DMRS port mapping configuration”/“DMRS pattern 310”/FIG. 3 maps to “based on the configuration, transmission of the DMRS, using an association corresponding to a port of the DMRS”, where “may be configured” maps to “based on the configuration”, “DMRS pattern 310”/FIG. 3 maps to “transmission of the DMRS”, “DMRS port mapping” maps to “using an association corresponding to a port of the DMRS”
wherein the FD-OCC … for a first sequence element of the FD-OCC.
(“Techniques described herein for increasing FD-OCC length (e.g., increasing N) may be scalable to any arbitrary N, as will be described in further detail herein. The rows of Table 20 above (e.g., the respective phase shift values a.sub.i) may correspond to the following Walsh sequences: α.sub.i = …”; Abdelghaffar et al.; 0156)
(where
“The FD-OCC sequence length value may be 4, 6, 8, etc. (e.g., N=4, 6, 8)”/”Walsh sequences: α.sub.i =” maps to “wherein the FD-OCC … for a first sequence element of the FD-OCC”, where “FD-OCC” maps to “FD-OCC”, “sequence” maps to “first sequence”, “Walsh sequences: α.sub.i =” maps to “element of the FD-OCC”
Abdelghaffar et al. teaches configuring a UE for FD-OCC with sequence length value of 4 and configuring DMRS ports for transmitting DMRSs based on the configured sequence length value, where the UE is configured with DMRS port mapping associated with a DMRS pattern where the FD-OCC is associated with Walsh sequences.
Abdelghaffar et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
However, Jacobsson et al. further teaches a FD-OCC complex-code/cyclic shifts capability which includes:
(“In particular embodiments, the FD-OCC comprises a real-valued code (e.g., Hadamard) or a complex-valued code (e.g., cyclic shifts).”; Jacobsson et al.; 0031)
(“In some embodiments, the FD-OCC code is of length 8 or longer. In particular embodiments, the FD-OCC contains codewords that correspond to cyclic shifts that are integer multiples of 360°/L.sub.C, where L.sub.C is the length of the FD-OCC.”; Jacobsson et al.; 0079)
(where
“FD-OCC comprises…complex-valued code (e.g. cyclic shifts)” maps to “, “cyclic shifts that are integer multiples of 360°/L.sub.C, where L.sub.C is the length of the FD-OCC” maps to “using a cyclic shift {0, π, π/2, 3π/2}”
Jacobsson et al. teaches a FD-OCC comprising complex-valued code associated with cyclic shifts, where the FD-OCC contains codewords with cyclic shifts that are integer multiples of 360 degrees divided by the length of the FD-OCC.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the FD-OCC complex-code/cyclic shifts capability of Jacobsson et al. into Abdelghaffar et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Abdelghaffar et al. to include the FD-OCC complex-code/cyclic shifts capability as taught by the processing/communications of Jacobsson et al., the benefits of improved communication (Abdelghaffar et al.; 0005) with improved OTT (Jacobsson et al.; 0190) are achieved.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20210044372 – teaches a PTRS generated as a Gold sequence associated with different phases (see para. 0082).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
MICHAEL K. PHILLIPS
Examiner
Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464