DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 04/17/2026. As indicated by the amendment: claims 1-6, have been amended, claim 2 has been cancelled, and new claim 7 has been added. In response to the filing of replacement drawing sheet, the objection to the drawings has been withdrawn. In response to the cancellation of claim 2, its rejections under 35 U.S.C. §101 and 35 U.S.C. §112(b), or 35 U.S.C. §112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is rendered moot. The Examiner notes that the subject matter of dependent claim 2 has been incorporated into amended independent claim 1. Applicant amended the subject matter of claim 2 to overcome the 35 U.S.C. §101 and 35 U.S.C. §112(b), or 35 U.S.C. §112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, rejections. In response to the amendment of claim 5, its rejection under 35 U.S.C. §112(b), or 35 U.S.C. §112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, has been withdrawn. Claims 1 and 3-7 are presently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Independent claims 1 and 6 have been amended to recites “wherein the portable terminal provides instructions corresponding to the initial orientation of the imaging unit to instruct the user to adjust the imaging unit to the initial orientation” and “providing instructions via a portable terminal to instruct a user to adjust the imaging unit to an initial orientation”, respectively. It is not clear how the portable terminal “instructs” – does it provide audible, pictorial, textual, or some other graphical instructions? Regarding the instructions, the specification discloses: “[i]n other words, portable terminal 70 may instruct the user to achieve the above state, and the state used in the initial orientation may be the orientation of intraoral camera 10 achieved by the user in accordance with the instruction.” As is clear, the specification does not disclose how the portable terminal instructs the user. As such, the metes and bounds of the claims are unclear and indefinite. Accordingly, claims 1 and 3-6 are rendered indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adachi (US 20140199651 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Adachi discloses an intraoral camera system comprising: an imaging unit (1; Fig. 2; par. [0047]) that includes a handle (2; Fig. 2; par. [0047]), a head (3; Fig. 2; par. [0058]), and a neck (4; Fig. 2; par. [0058]) and generates image data by capturing an image of a tooth inside a mouth, the head (3) including an image sensor (401; Fig. 2; par. [0055]-[0056]) for generating the image data, the neck (4) connecting the handle (2) and the head (3); a sensor (15; Figs. 3 and 6; par. [0052]-[0053] and [0075]) that detects an orientation of the imaging unit; a signal processor (120; Figs. 1 and 6; par. [0052], [0075], [0093] and [0097]) that performs signal processing using the orientation of the imaging unit detected by the sensor (15); and a portable terminal including (110; Fig. 4; par. [0051] and [0159]) a display (111; Fig. 1; par. [0051] and [0159]) that displays the image data, wherein the signal processor (120) obtains an initial orientation of the imaging unit which is a predetermined orientation of the imaging unit (Fig. 4; par. [0052]), and performs the signal processing by treating a first direction from the handle (2) toward the head (3) in the initial orientation as a second direction that is a vertically upward direction parallel to a vertical axis (par. [0102] and [0115]); wherein in the predetermined orientation of the imaging unit, the orientation of the imaging unit has a predetermined relationship with a predefined reference a posture corresponding to a user posture (when user stands during brushing; see Fig. 17), and wherein the portable terminal provides instructions corresponding to the initial orientation of the imaging unit to instruct the user to adjust the imagining unit to the initial orientation (if the estimated brushing area has not been brushed enough, the portable terminal instructs the user to return to the original orientation of the brushing areas by displaying the brushing area that needs more attention; when the system determines that the imaging unit at the predetermined orientation, it notifies the user by displaying blinking on the display; see par. [0093] and [0145]-[0148]; Fig. 22).
Regarding claim 3, Adachi discloses the intraoral camera system according to claim 2, wherein when the imaging unit is adjusted to the initial orientation, an imaging plane of the imaging unit is parallel to a frontal plane of the [[user]] predefined reference posture, and the first direction and a vertical axis of the [[user]] predefined reference posture match or are orthogonal to each other when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the imaging plane (when user stands during brushing and imaging unit is parallel or perpendicular to its longitudinal axis; see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 4, Adachi discloses the intraoral camera system according to claim 2, wherein when the imagining unit is adjusted to the initial orientation, an imaging plane of the imaging unit is parallel to and faces a predetermined tooth corresponding to the predefined reference posture (Fig. 17B), and the first direction and a height direction of the predetermined tooth corresponding to the predefined reference posture match or are orthogonal to each other when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the imaging plane (Fig. 17B).
Regarding claim 5, Adachi discloses the intraoral camera system according to claim 1, wherein the signal processor identifies the orientation of the imaging unit based on a reference angle corresponding to
Regarding claim 6, Adachi discloses a signal processing method comprising: capturing an image of a tooth inside a mouth and generating image data by an imaging unit that includes a handle (2; Fig. 2; par. [0047]), a head (3; Fig. 2; par. [0058]) including an image sensor (401; Fig. 2; par. [0055]-[0056]) for generating the image data, and a neck (4; Fig. 2; par. [0058]) connecting the handle (2) and the head (3); detecting an orientation of the imaging unit (via 15; Figs. 3 and 6; par. [0052]-[0053] and [0075]); performing signal processing using the orientation of the imaging unit detected (via 120; Figs. 1 and 6; par. [0052], [0075], [0093] and [0097]); and displaying the image data (via 110/111; Fig. 1; par. [0051] and [0159])[[,]]; and providing instructions via a portable terminal to instruct a user to adjust the imaging unit to an initial orientation (if the estimated brushing area has not been brushed enough, the portable terminal instructs the user to return to the original orientation of the brushing areas by displaying the brushing area that needs more attention; when the system determines that the imaging unit at the predetermined orientation, it notifies the user by displaying blinking on the display; see par. [0093] and [0145]-[0148]; Fig. 22), wherein the signal processing includes: obtaining an initial orientation of the imaging unit which is a predetermined orientation of the imaging unit (Fig. 4; par. [0052]), and performing the signal processing by treating a first direction from the handle (2) toward the head (3) in the initial orientation as a second direction that is a vertically upward direction parallel to a vertical axis (par. [0102] and [0115]).
Regarding claim 7, Adachi discloses an intraoral camera system comprising: an imaging unit (1; Fig. 2; par. [0047]) that includes a handle (2; Fig. 2; par. [0047]), a head (3; Fig. 2; par. [0058]), and a neck (4; Fig. 2; par. [0058]) and generates image data by capturing an image of a tooth inside a mouth, the head (3) including an image sensor (401; Fig. 2; par. [0055]-[0056]) for generating the image data, the neck (4) connecting the handle (2) and the head (3); a sensor (15; Figs. 3 and 6; par. [0052]-[0053] and [0075]) that detects an orientation of the imaging unit; a signal processor (120; Figs. 1 and 6; par. [0052], [0075], [0093] and [0097]) that performs signal processing using the orientation of the imaging unit detected by the sensor (15); and a display (111; Fig. 1; par. [0051] and [0159]) that displays the image data, wherein the signal processor (120) obtains an initial orientation of the imaging unit which is a predetermined orientation of the imaging unit (Fig. 4; par. [0052]), and performs the signal processing by treating a first direction from the handle (2) toward the head (3) in the initial orientation as a second direction that is a vertically upward direction parallel to a vertical axis (par. [0102] and [0115]), and wherein the signal processor identifies the orientation of the imaging unit based on a reference angle corresponding to a back of a chair intended to be sat on by a user (when the user is sitting upright in an upright chair, the reference angle between the user and the chair is zero, such that the initial orientation of the imaging unit is the same).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant contends that Adachi does not disclose the newly recited limitation “the portable terminal provides instructions corresponding to the initial orientation of the imaging unit to instruct a user to adjust the imaging unit to an initial orientation” (see Remarks at pages 6-7). The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed above, Adachi teaches that if the estimated brushing area has not been brushed enough, the portable terminal instructs the user to return to the original orientation of the brushing areas by displaying the brushing area that needs more attention (see par. [0093] and [0145]-[0146]; Fig. 22). When the system determines that the imaging unit at the predetermined orientation, it notifies the user by displaying blinking on the display (see par. [0093] and [0145]-[0148]; Fig. 22). As is clear, Adachi teaches the above-mentioned limitation. Applicant also contends that Adachi does not disclose “the signal processor identifies the orientation of the imaging unit based on a reference angle corresponding to a back of a chair intended to be sat on by a user” (see Remarks at page 8). The Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts that when the user is sitting upright in an upright chair, the reference angle between the user and the chair is zero, such that the initial orientation of the imaging unit is the same. The rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYNAE E BOLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANHTUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
7/1/26