DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this Office action, the Office respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Office in prosecuting this application.
The Office has cited particular figures, elements, paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the Office.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/20/2025 and 02/11/2026 are considered by the Examiner.
Disposition of the Claims
3. The instant application was effectively filed on October 30, 2023, wherein claims 7, 11, 15, 17 and 25 are cancelled and claims 1-6, 8-10, 12-14, 16, and 18-24 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 12-14, 16, and 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation ….“the first light emitting control terminal”…. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation …. “the second light emitting control terminal” …., There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation …. “the second light emitting control terminal”, …. “the second light emitting control signal”; There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation …. “the second voltage signal”…. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation …“the third node” … “the scanning terminal”, …. “the data line”,… “the data voltage”,…. “the scanning signal”,… “the first reset control terminal”,… “the first initial voltage terminal” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation …“the second reset control terminal”…, “the second initial voltage terminal”…., “the second initial voltage”…., “the second reset control signal”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation … “the first reset control terminal”… There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation ….“the second voltage signal”…. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 24, the phrase " the metal layer" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the claimed metal layer corresponds to the previously claimed plurality of metal layers or is it a different metal layer. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. US PG-PUB 20230343287 A1 (hereinafter Cheng).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng teaches A pixel circuit (Fig. 1; pixel circuitry 100), comprising a driving circuit (Fig. 1; drive circuit 110), a first light emitting control circuit and a light emitting element (Fig. 1; second light emission control circuit 170 and light emitting device 200); wherein
a control terminal of the driving circuit is electrically connected to a first node (See Fig. 1; node N1), a first terminal of the driving circuit is electrically connected to a second node (Fig. 1; node N2), a second terminal of the driving circuit is electrically connected to a first voltage line (Fig. 1; voltage VDD), and the driving circuit is configured to control to generate a driving current under the control of a potential of the first node (Fig. 1 and Para. [0045]; drive current I.sub.DS);
a first electrode of the light emitting element is electrically connected to a second voltage line through the first light emitting control circuit (Fig. 1; voltage VSS), and a second electrode of the light emitting element is electrically connected to the second node (See Fig. 1; connected to node N2), the first light emitting control circuit is configured to control to connect or disconnect the first electrode of the light emitting element and the second voltage line under the control of a first light emitting control signal provided by the first light emitting control terminal (Fig. 1 and Para.[0052]; the second light emission control circuit 170 can control to provide the drive current I.sub.DS to the light emitting device 200 according to the second light emission control signal from the second light emission control signal terminal EM2. That is, the second light emission control circuit 170 can control the connection/disconnection between the drive circuit 110 and the light emitting device 200 according to the second light emission control signal, thereby preventing the light emitting device 200 from emitting light by mistake, and effectively isolating effect of capacitance of the light emitting device 200 itself on the drive current I.sub.DS);
Examiner Notes regarding claim 1: Patentable weight is not given since an “OR” statement is presented where all of the claimed limitation does not have to be met, although Examiner further states the alternative rejection below details alternative rejection for claimed “OR” statement “the first electrode of the light emitting element is electrically connected to the second voltage line, and the second electrode of the light emitting element is electrically connected to the second node through the first light emitting control circuit, the first light emitting control circuit is configured to control to connect or disconnect the second electrode of the light emitting element and the second node under the control of the first light emitting control signal”.
Regarding claim 22, Cheng teaches A pixel driving method, applied to the pixel circuit according to claim l, wherein the pixel driving method includes: controlling, by the driving circuit, to generate the driving current under the control of the potential of the first node (Fig. 1 and Para. [0045]; drive current I.sub.DS); controlling, by the first light emitting control circuit, to connect or disconnect the first electrode of the light emitting element and the second voltage line under the control of the first light emitting control signal (Fig. 1 and Para.[0052]; the second light emission control circuit 170 can control to provide the drive current I.sub.DS to the light emitting device 200 according to the second light emission control signal from the second light emission control signal terminal EM2. That is, the second light emission control circuit 170 can control the connection/disconnection between the drive circuit 110 and the light emitting device 200 according to the second light emission control signal, thereby preventing the light emitting device 200 from emitting light by mistake, and effectively isolating effect of capacitance of the light emitting device 200 itself on the drive current I.sub.DS);
Examiner Notes regarding claim 22: Patentable weight is not given since an “OR” statement is presented where all of the claimed limitation does not have to be met, although Examiner further states the alternative rejection below details alternative rejection for claimed “OR” statement “controlling, by the first light emitting control circuit, to connect or disconnect the second electrode of the light emitting element and the second node under the control of the first light emitting control signal”.
Regarding claim 23, Cheng teaches A display device (Para. [0042]; OLED display device), comprising a base substrate and the pixel circuit according to claim 1 arranged on the base substrate (See Fig. 11; array substrate 1100).
Alternative rejections
Claim(s) 1 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. US PG-PUB 20220293038 A1 (hereinafter Zhao).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches A pixel circuit (Fig. 1-3), comprising a driving circuit (Fig. 1-3; driving circuit 110), a first light emitting control circuit and a light emitting element (Fig. 1-3; elements 12 and D1); wherein
a control terminal of the driving circuit is electrically connected to a first node (See Fig. 3; node A), a first terminal of the driving circuit is electrically connected to a second node (Fig. 3; node between transistor T3 and T0), a second terminal of the driving circuit is electrically connected to a first voltage line (Fig. 3; voltage Vss), and the driving circuit is configured to control to generate a driving current under the control of a potential of the first node (Fig. 1-3 and Para. [0047]; generates driving current);
the first electrode of the light emitting element is electrically connected to the second voltage line (Fig. 3; VDD), and the second electrode of the light emitting element is electrically connected to the second node through the first light emitting control circuit (Fig. 3; connected through element 12), the first light emitting control circuit is configured to control to connect or disconnect the second electrode of the light emitting element and the second node under the control of the first light emitting control signal (Fig. 1-3 and Para. [0044]; The light-emitting control circuit 12 is configured to, control conduction between the first terminal of the to-be-driven element D1 and the first terminal of the driving circuit 10 under control of a first control signal provided by the first control terminal EM1);
Regarding claim 22, Zhao teaches A pixel driving method, applied to the pixel circuit according to claim l (See abstract; pixel driving method), wherein the pixel driving method includes: controlling, by the driving circuit, to generate the driving current under the control of the potential of the first node (Fig. 1-3 and Para. [0047]; generates driving current); controlling, by the first light emitting control circuit, to connect or disconnect the second electrode of the light emitting element and the second node under the control of the first light emitting control signal (Fig. 1-3 and Para. [0044]; The light-emitting control circuit 12 is configured to, control conduction between the first terminal of the to-be-driven element D1 and the first terminal of the driving circuit 10 under control of a first control signal provided by the first control terminal EM1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 8-10, 12-14, 16, 18-21 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as overcoming rejection under 35 USC 112b as detailed above.
Regarding claim 2, none of the references cited either alone or in any obvious combination teaches “the second light emitting control circuit is electrically connected to the second light emitting control terminal, and is configured to control to connect or disconnect the second terminal of the driving circuit and the first voltage line under the control of a second light emitting control signal provided by the second light emitting control terminal”.
Regarding claim 3, none of the references cited either alone or in any obvious combination teaches “wherein the second terminal of the driving circuit is directly electrically connected to a third node; a first terminal of the first energy storage circuit is electrically connected to the third node, a second terminal of the first energy storage circuit is electrically connected to a fourth node, a first terminal of the second energy storage circuit is electrically connected to the fourth node, a second terminal of the second energy storage circuit is electrically connected to a fifth node, and the first energy storage circuit and the second energy storage circuit are configured to store electric energy; the data writing-in circuit is electrically connected to a scanning terminal, a data line and the fifth node respectively, and is configured to write a data voltage provided by the data line into the fifth node under the control of a scanning signal provided by the scanning terminal; the on-off control circuit is electrically connected to the second light emitting control terminal, the first node and the fifth node respectively, and is configured to control to connect or disconnect the first node and the fifth node under the control of the second light emitting control signal”
Regarding claim 13, none of the references cited either alone or in any obvious combination teaches “a first terminal of the first energy storage circuit is electrically connected to the first node (), and a second terminal of the first energy storage circuit is electrically connected to the third node, and the first energy storage circuit is configured to store electric energy; the first initial voltage terminal and the first node respectively, and is configured to write the first initial voltage provided by the first initial voltage terminal into the first node under the control of the first reset control signal provided by the first reset control terminal”
Regarding claim 24, none of the references cited either alone or in any obvious combination teaches “at least part of the first voltage line is formed on the metal layer wherein the display device further includes a first electrode layer, a light emitting material layer and a second electrode layer; wherein the first electrode layer, the light emitting material layer and the second electrode layer are arranged in sequence along a direction in which the metal layer is away from the base substrate; the first electrode of the light emitting element is formed in the second electrode layer, and the second electrode of the light emitting element is formed in the first electrode layer; a part of the first voltage line is formed in the first electrode layer”.
Conclusion
/AMY ONYEKABA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628