DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Preliminary Amendment that was filed on 09/11/2025 is entered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/30/2024, 04/15/2026 have been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 10/14 recite i.e. “… … an entry corresponding to a port index of the first DMRS is added to an entry corresponding to a port index of a second DMRS using an FD-OCC having a length of 2” (Emphasis added) .
However, there is no support in the specification and drawings for this feature. The applicant’s specification, Matsumura et al. (US 20250158771 A1) paragraphs [0179]-[0187] shows as below;
“Embodiment #1-1
[0179] This embodiment relates to a DMRS port table (association between DMRS parameter, DMRS port, and parameter.
[0180] The UE may select a new table (DMRS port table) for DMRS port decision based on a higher layer configuration. In a case that the higher layer configures new DMRS ports (the number of which is more than the number of existing DMRS ports), the UE may select the new DMRS port table.
[0181] A new DMRS port table for the DMRS configuration type 1 and a new DMRS port table for the DMRS configuration type 2 may be defined. In a case that the DMRS configuration type 1 and a higher layer parameter for the new DMRS port are configured, the UE may use the new DMRS port table for the DMRS configuration type 1, or in a case that the DMRS configuration type 1 is configured and a higher layer parameter for the new DMRS port is not configured, the UE may use the existing DMRS port table for the DMRS configuration type 1 (DMRS port table defined in Rel. 15). In a case that the DMRS configuration type 2 and a higher layer parameter for the new DMRS port are configured, the UE may use the new DMRS port table for the DMRS configuration type 2, or in a case that the DMRS configuration type 2 is configured and a higher layer parameter for the new DMRS port is not configured, the UE may use the existing DMRS port table for the DMRS configuration type 2 (DMRS port table defined in Rel. 15).
[0182] The new DMRS port table may comply with any of tables 1 and 2 descried below.
[Table 1]
[0183] FIG. 17 shows an example of the table 1 for the DMRS configuration type 1. FIG. 18 shows an example of the table 1 for the DMRS configuration type 2. In the new DMRS port table, an entry (including at least one of the CDM group, Δ, the FD OCC, and the TD OCC) for an existing DMRS port index (1000 to 1007 for the DMRS configuration type 1, and 1000 to 1011 for the DMRS configuration type 2) is not changed. In the new DMRS port table, an entry for a new DMRS port index is added.
[0184] According to this new DMRS port table, the specification and UE/base station implementation can be simplified.
[Table 2]
[0185] In the new DMRS port table, the entry (including at least one of the CDM group, A, the FD OCC, and the TD OCC) for the existing DMRS port index (1000 to 1007 for the DMRS configuration type 1, and 1000 to 1011 for the DMRS configuration type 2) is changed. The number of more continuous DMRS port indices can be assigned to the same CDM group. A plurality of DMRS ports in the same CDM group can be assigned to one UE in the MU-MIMO.
[0186] FIGS. 19 and 20 show examples of the table 2 for the DMRS configuration type 1. In this new DMRS port table, the entries corresponding to the DMRS port indices 1000 to 1003 and 1012 to 1015 are same as those in the existing DMRS port table, and the entries corresponding to the DMRS port indices 1004 to 1011 are different from those in the existing DMRS port table. In the new DMRS port table in FIG. 19, the TD OCC for the DMRS port indices 1004 to 1007 are same as the TD OCC for the DMRS port indices 1000 to 1003. The order of the entries in this new DMRS port table is TD OCC, CDM group, and FD OCC, similar to the order of the entries in the existing new DMRS port table. In the new DMRS port table in FIG. 20, the CDM group for the DMRS port indices 1004 to 1007 are same as the CDM group for the DMRS port indices 1000 to 1003. In this new DMRS port table, the entry for one CDM group is continuous.
[0187] FIGS. 21 and 22 show examples of the table 2 for the DMRS configuration type 2. In this new DMRS port table, the entries corresponding to the DMRS port indices and 1000 to 1003 are same as those in the existing DMRS port table, and the entries corresponding to the DMRS port indices 1004 to 1023 are different from those in the existing DMRS port table. In the new DMRS port table in FIG. 21, the TD OCC for the DMRS port indices 1004 to 1011 are different from the TD OCC for the DMRS port indices 1000 to 1003. The order of the entries in this new DMRS port table is TD OCC, CDM group, and FD OCC, similar to the order of the entries in the existing new DMRS port table. In the new DMRS port table in FIG. 22, the CDM group for the DMRS port indices 1004 to 1011 are same as the CDM group for the DMRS port indices 1000 to 1003. In this new DMRS port table, the entry for one CDM group is continuous.”
Without identifying claim limitation “ … an entry corresponding to a port index of the first DMRS is added to an entry corresponding to a port index of a second DMRS using an FD-OCC having a length of 2”, it is uncertain and unclear how it is supported in the specification. MPEP 2163.01.
Thus, Applicant does not appear to be in possession of the claimed subject matter.
As such, the examiner has taken broadest reasonable interpretation, in light of the above specification, to reject the independent claims with respect to “… an entry corresponding to a port index of the first DMRS is added to an entry corresponding to a port index of a second DMRS using an FD-OCC having a length of 2.”
Applicant is welcome to point out where in the specification the Examiner can find written description for the above-mentioned limitations if Applicant believes otherwise.
All dependent claims, which depend on the above rejected independent claims are also interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for their respective independent claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, which draws to (all emphases below added by examiner)
“Claims 10/ 14 recite i.e. “… … an entry corresponding to a port index of the first DMRS is added to an entry corresponding to a port index of a second DMRS …..” (Emphasis added) .
This part of the claim has two indefiniteness issues:
(1) regarding “an entry corresponding to a port index” (line 7) and “an entry corresponding to a port index” (line 8), it is unclear and thus indefinite, to one of ordinary skill in the art that. Under Broad Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) and within the claim context, the examiner believes that, it should read as “an entry corresponding to a port index” (line 7) and “the entry corresponding to a port index” (line 8),. If the applicant believe otherwise, the applicant must clarify this. For the examination purpose, this limitation will be interested as best understood by the examiner.
All dependent claims, which depend on the above rejected independent claims are also interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for their respective independent claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JACOBSSON et al. (US 20250056556 A1; hereinafter as “JACOBSSON”, which has priority date August 30, 2021) in view of ZHANG et al. (US 20240275653 A1; hereinafter as “ZHANG”, which has priority date January 28, 2022).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to JACOBSSON unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 10, JACOBSSON teaches,
A terminal (Fig. 7 : UE 110C or 110b or wireless device 110 ) comprising:
a receiver (Fig. 8 UE with processor along with receiver ) that receives a configuration of a first demodulation reference signal (DMRS) using a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) having a length of more than 2, for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see fig. 9 element 912 where aforesaid UE (==wireless device 110 ) receives/obtains DMRS from eNB “wireless device (e.g., wireless device 110) obtains an indication that a DMRS is based on a FD-OCC of length greater than two (e.g., 4, 6, or 8)”: [0153]; DMRS ports used for PUSCH transmission : [0019]; “Particular embodiments include updated RRC configuration for DMRS, including a new field for specifying a longer (e.g., length-4 or length-6) FD-OCC (or a number (larger than 2) of cyclic shifts). A gNB may signal dynamically (e.g., via downlink control information (DCI)) to the UE that an enhanced frequency-domain code is in use, which enables the UE to, e.g., correctly transmit DMRS for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in the uplink (e.g., how to map DMRS ports to transmission layers) and correctly receive DMRS for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in the downlink (e.g., how to combine the received DMRS signal and demodulate PDSCH)”: [0061]); “ performed by a wireless device comprises obtaining an indication that a DMRS is based on a FD-OCC of length greater than two (e.g., 4, 6, or 8) and transmitting or receiving a number of DMRS based on the frequency domain coding.”: [0030]; and
a processor (==Fig. 8 UE with processor along with receiver ) that controls, based on the configuration, transmission of the first DMRS, using an association corresponding to a port of the first DMRS (see fig. 9 element 914 “ the wireless device transmits (e.g., uplink) … a number of DMRS based on the frequency domain coding. The wireless device may transmit or receive the DMRS according to any of the embodiments and examples described herein.”: [0159] ; “ For single-symbol DMRS, there exist 4 and 6 orthogonal DMRS ports (2 DMRS ports per CDM group, separated using a length-2 FD-OCC) for type 1 and type 2, respectively. For double-symbol DM-RS, there exist 8 and 12 orthogonal DM-RS ports (4 DM-RS ports per CDM group, separated using a length-2 FD-OCC combined with a length-2 TD-OCC) for type 1 and type 2, respectively. “: [0012]; “ Table 1 and Table 2 show port-specific parameters for DMRS type 1 and type 2. Here, w.sub.f(k′), where k′∈{0,1}, is the FD-OCC and w.sub.t(l′), where l′=0 for single-symbol DMRS and l′∈{0,1} for double-symbol DMRS, is the TD-OCC. DMRS ports in different CDM groups are separated by different offsets and DMRS ports within the same CDM group are separated through coding”: [0018]; “ updated DMRS physical-resource mapping and port-specific parameters to support an increased number of DMRS ports”: [0063]; “ performed by a wireless device comprises obtaining an indication that a DMRS is based on a FD-OCC of length greater than two (e.g., 4, 6, or 8) and transmitting or receiving a number of DMRS based on the frequency domain coding.”: [0030]).
While JACOBSSON teaches, “a processor that controls, based on the configuration, transmission of the first DMRS, using an association corresponding to a port of the first DMRS” ; JACOBSSON does not expressively disclose:
wherein the association is defined so that an entry corresponding to a port index of the first DMRS is added to an entry corresponding to a port index of a second DMRS using an FD-OCC having a length of 2.
ZHANG, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the association is defined so that an entry corresponding to a port index of the first DMRS is added to an entry corresponding to a port index of a second DMRS using an FD-OCC having a length of 2
( “ the plurality of categories of DMRS ports includes a first category DMRS port with a first FD-OCC of length 2, and a second category DMRS port with a second FD-OCC of length L, where L is 3, 6 or 4]”: “ In some embodiments, for one CDM group, at least one of: the first category DMRS port with the first FD-OCC and the second category DMRS port with the second FD-OCC share a same DMRS port index; if the first DMRS table is for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), the first category DMRS port with the first FD-OCC and the second category DMRS port with the second FD-OCC would share a same DMRS port index; …;”: [0023]; [abstract] ; [0033]; [0250]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of JACOBSSON to include the above recited limitations as taught by ZHANG. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide improved and adequate radio coverage for intended users : (ZHANG; [0090]).
Regarding claim 11, JACOBSSON in view of ZHANG teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, JACOBSSON teaches, The terminal according to claim 10, further comprising a transmitter that transmits capability information indicating whether to support the first DMRS for both of a first DMRS mapping type and a second DMRS mapping type (see fig. 3-5 where UE provide capability; “ FIG. 3, there are more orthogonal DMRS ports in FIG. 5, which provides increased spatial-multiplexing capabilities. However, the spacing between DMRS is reduced, which results in reduced robustness towards channel delay spread.”: [0078]; [0111] ).
Regarding claim 12, JACOBSSON teaches,
A radio communication method for a terminal (Fig. 7 : UE 110C or 110b or wireless device 110 ), comprising:
receiving a configuration of a first demodulation reference signal (DMRS) using a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) having a length of more than 2, for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ((see fig. 9 element 912 where aforesaid UE (==wireless device 110 ) receives/obtains DMRS from eNB “wireless device (e.g., wireless device 110) obtains an indication that a DMRS is based on a FD-OCC of length greater than two (e.g., 4, 6, or 8)”: [0153]; DMRS ports used for PUSCH transmission : [0019]; “Particular embodiments include updated RRC configuration for DMRS, including a new field for specifying a longer (e.g., length-4 or length-6) FD-OCC (or a number (larger than 2) of cyclic shifts). A gNB may signal dynamically (e.g., via downlink control information (DCI)) to the UE that an enhanced frequency-domain code is in use, which enables the UE to, e.g., correctly transmit DMRS for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in the uplink (e.g., how to map DMRS ports to transmission layers) and correctly receive DMRS for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in the downlink (e.g., how to combine the received DMRS signal and demodulate PDSCH)”: [0061]); “ performed by a wireless device comprises obtaining an indication that a DMRS is based on a FD-OCC of length greater than two (e.g., 4, 6, or 8) and transmitting or receiving a number of DMRS based on the frequency domain coding.”: [0030];; and
controlling, based on the configuration, transmission of the first DMRS, using an association corresponding to a port of the first DMRS
(see fig. 9 element 914 “ the wireless device transmits (e.g., uplink) … a number of DMRS based on the frequency domain coding. The wireless device may transmit or receive the DMRS according to any of the embodiments and examples described herein.”: [0159] ; “ For single-symbol DMRS, there exist 4 and 6 orthogonal DMRS ports (2 DMRS ports per CDM group, separated using a length-2 FD-OCC) for type 1 and type 2, respectively. For double-symbol DM-RS, there exist 8 and 12 orthogonal DM-RS ports (4 DM-RS ports per CDM group, separated using a length-2 FD-OCC combined with a length-2 TD-OCC) for type 1 and type 2, respectively. “: [0012]; “ Table 1 and Table 2 show port-specific parameters for DMRS type 1 and type 2. Here, w.sub.f(k′), where k′∈{0,1}, is the FD-OCC and w.sub.t(l′), where l′=0 for single-symbol DMRS and l′∈{0,1} for double-symbol DMRS, is the TD-OCC. DMRS ports in different CDM groups are separated by different offsets and DMRS ports within the same CDM group are separated through coding”: [0018]; “ updated DMRS physical-resource mapping and port-specific parameters to support an increased number of DMRS ports”: [0063]; “ performed by a wireless device comprises obtaining an indication that a DMRS is based on a FD-OCC of length greater than two (e.g., 4, 6, or 8) and transmitting or receiving a number of DMRS based on the frequency domain coding.”: [0030]).
While JACOBSSON teaches, “controlling, based on the configuration, transmission of the first DMRS, using an association corresponding to a port of the first DMRS” ; JACOBSSON does not expressively disclose:
wherein the association is defined so that an entry corresponding to a port index of the first DMRS is added to an entry corresponding to a port index of a second DMRS using an FD-OCC having a length of 2.
ZHANG, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the association is defined so that an entry corresponding to a port index of the first DMRS is added to an entry corresponding to a port index of a second DMRS using an FD-OCC having a length of 2
( “ the plurality of categories of DMRS ports includes a first category DMRS port with a first FD-OCC of length 2, and a second category DMRS port with a second FD-OCC of length L, where L is 3, 6 or 4]”: “ In some embodiments, for one CDM group, at least one of: the first category DMRS port with the first FD-OCC and the second category DMRS port with the second FD-OCC share a same DMRS port index; if the first DMRS table is for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), the first category DMRS port with the first FD-OCC and the second category DMRS port with the second FD-OCC would share a same DMRS port index; …;”: [0023]; [abstract] ; [0033]; [0250]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of JACOBSSON to include the above recited limitations as taught by ZHANG. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide improved and adequate radio coverage for intended users : (ZHANG; [0090]).
Regarding claim 13, JACOBSSON teaches,
A base station (see fig. 7 : network node 160 : [0098]; fig. 14: Base Station 520) comprising:
a transmitter that transmits, to a terminal (==UE or wireless device in fig. 14, fig. 7 ), a configuration of a first demodulation reference signal (DMRS) using a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) having a length of more than 2, for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see fig. 9 element 912 where aforesaid UE (==wireless device 110 ) receives/obtains DMRS from eNB “wireless device (e.g., wireless device 110) obtains an indication that a DMRS is based on a FD-OCC of length greater than two (e.g., 4, 6, or 8)”: [0153]; DMRS ports used for PUSCH transmission : [0019]; “Particular embodiments include updated RRC configuration for DMRS, including a new field for specifying a longer (e.g., length-4 or length-6) FD-OCC (or a number (larger than 2) of cyclic shifts). A gNB may signal dynamically (e.g., via downlink control information (DCI)) to the UE that an enhanced frequency-domain code is in use, which enables the UE to, e.g., correctly transmit DMRS for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in the uplink (e.g., how to map DMRS ports to transmission layers) and correctly receive DMRS for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in the downlink (e.g., how to combine the received DMRS signal and demodulate PDSCH)”: [0061]); “ performed by a wireless device comprises obtaining an indication that a DMRS is based on a FD-OCC of length greater than two (e.g., 4, 6, or 8) and transmitting or receiving a number of DMRS based on the frequency domain coding.”: [0030]; and
a processor that controls, based on the configuration, reception of the first DMRS, using an association corresponding to a port of the first DMRS (see fig. 9 element 914 “ the wireless device transmits (e.g., uplink) … a number of DMRS based on the frequency domain coding. The wireless device may transmit or receive the DMRS according to any of the embodiments and examples described herein.”: [0159] ; “ For single-symbol DMRS, there exist 4 and 6 orthogonal DMRS ports (2 DMRS ports per CDM group, separated using a length-2 FD-OCC) for type 1 and type 2, respectively. For double-symbol DM-RS, there exist 8 and 12 orthogonal DM-RS ports (4 DM-RS ports per CDM group, separated using a length-2 FD-OCC combined with a length-2 TD-OCC) for type 1 and type 2, respectively. “: [0012]; “ performed by a wireless device comprises obtaining an indication that a DMRS is based on a FD-OCC of length greater than two (e.g., 4, 6, or 8) and transmitting or receiving a number of DMRS based on the frequency domain coding.”: [0030]).
While JACOBSSON teaches, “a processor that controls, based on the configuration, reception of the first DMRS, using an association corresponding to a port of the first DMRS” ; JACOBSSON does not expressively disclose:
wherein the association is defined so that an entry corresponding to a port index of the first DMRS is added to an entry corresponding to a port index of a second DMRS using an FD-OCC having a length of 2.
ZHANG, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the association is defined so that an entry corresponding to a port index of the first DMRS is added to an entry corresponding to a port index of a second DMRS using an FD-OCC having a length of ( “ the plurality of categories of DMRS ports includes a first category DMRS port with a first FD-OCC of length 2, and a second category DMRS port with a second FD-OCC of length L, where L is 3, 6 or 4]”: “ In some embodiments, for one CDM group, at least one of: the first category DMRS port with the first FD-OCC and the second category DMRS port with the second FD-OCC share a same DMRS port index; if the first DMRS table is for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), the first category DMRS port with the first FD-OCC and the second category DMRS port with the second FD-OCC would share a same DMRS port index; …;”: [0023]; [abstract] ; [0033]; [0250]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of JACOBSSON to include the above recited limitations as taught by ZHANG. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide improved and adequate radio coverage for intended users : (ZHANG; [0090]).
Regarding claim 14, JACOBSSON teaches,
A system comprising a terminal and a base station (see fig. 7 , fig. 14 where UE/Wireless Device is in wireless commucnation with Base Station ),
wherein the terminal (Fig. 7 : UE 110C or 110b or wireless device 110 ) comprises:
a receiver that receives a configuration of a first demodulation reference signal (DMRS) using a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) having a length of more than 2, for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see fig. 9 element 912 where aforesaid UE (==wireless device 110 ) receives/obtains DMRS from eNB “wireless device (e.g., wireless device 110) obtains an indication that a DMRS is based on a FD-OCC of length greater than two (e.g., 4, 6, or 8)”: [0153]; DMRS ports used for PUSCH transmission : [0019]; “Particular embodiments include updated RRC configuration for DMRS, including a new field for specifying a longer (e.g., length-4 or length-6) FD-OCC (or a number (larger than 2) of cyclic shifts). A gNB may signal dynamically (e.g., via downlink control information (DCI)) to the UE that an enhanced frequency-domain code is in use, which enables the UE to, e.g., correctly transmit DMRS for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in the uplink (e.g., how to map DMRS ports to transmission layers) and correctly receive DMRS for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in the downlink (e.g., how to combine the received DMRS signal and demodulate PDSCH)”: [0061]); “ performed by a wireless device comprises obtaining an indication that a DMRS is based on a FD-OCC of length greater than two (e.g., 4, 6, or 8) and transmitting or receiving a number of DMRS based on the frequency domain coding.”: [0030]; and
a processor that controls, based on the configuration, transmission of the first DMRS, using an association corresponding to a port of the first DMRS (see fig. 9 element 914 “ the wireless device transmits (e.g., uplink) … a number of DMRS based on the frequency domain coding. The wireless device may transmit or receive the DMRS according to any of the embodiments and examples described herein.”: [0159] ; “ For single-symbol DMRS, there exist 4 and 6 orthogonal DMRS ports (2 DMRS ports per CDM group, separated using a length-2 FD-OCC) for type 1 and type 2, respectively. For double-symbol DM-RS, there exist 8 and 12 orthogonal DM-RS ports (4 DM-RS ports per CDM group, separated using a length-2 FD-OCC combined with a length-2 TD-OCC) for type 1 and type 2, respectively. “: [0012]; “ performed by a wireless device comprises obtaining an indication that a DMRS is based on a FD-OCC of length greater than two (e.g., 4, 6, or 8) and transmitting or receiving a number of DMRS based on the frequency domain coding.”: [0030]), and
the base station (see fig. 7 , Fig. 14: network node/base station ) comprises:
a transmitter that transmits the configuration to the terminal ) (see fig. 9 element 912 where aforesaid UE (==wireless device 110 ) receives/obtains DMRS from eNB “wireless device (e.g., wireless device 110) obtains an indication that a DMRS is based on a FD-OCC of length greater than two (e.g., 4, 6, or 8)”: [0153]; DMRS ports used for PUSCH transmission : [0019]; “Particular embodiments include updated RRC configuration for DMRS, including a new field for specifying a longer (e.g., length-4 or length-6) FD-OCC (or a number (larger than 2) of cyclic shifts). A gNB may signal dynamically (e.g., via downlink control information (DCI)) to the UE that an enhanced frequency-domain code is in use, which enables the UE to, e.g., correctly transmit DMRS for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in the uplink (e.g., how to map DMRS ports to transmission layers) and correctly receive DMRS for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in the downlink (e.g., how to combine the received DMRS signal and demodulate PDSCH)”: [0061]); “ performed by a wireless device comprises obtaining an indication that a DMRS is based on a FD-OCC of length greater than two (e.g., 4, 6, or 8) and transmitting or receiving a number of DMRS based on the frequency domain coding.”: [0030] ; and
a processor that controls, based on the configuration, reception of the first DMRS,
first DMRS is added to an entry corresponding to a port index of a second DMRS using an FD-OCC having a length of 2 (see fig. 9 element 914 “ the wireless device transmits (e.g., uplink) … a number of DMRS based on the frequency domain coding. The wireless device may transmit or receive the DMRS according to any of the embodiments and examples described herein.”: [0159] ; “ For single-symbol DMRS, there exist 4 and 6 orthogonal DMRS ports (2 DMRS ports per CDM group, separated using a length-2 FD-OCC) for type 1 and type 2, respectively. For double-symbol DM-RS, there exist 8 and 12 orthogonal DM-RS ports (4 DM-RS ports per CDM group, separated using a length-2 FD-OCC combined with a length-2 TD-OCC) for type 1 and type 2, respectively. “: [0012]; “ performed by a wireless device comprises obtaining an indication that a DMRS is based on a FD-OCC of length greater than two (e.g., 4, 6, or 8) and transmitting or receiving a number of DMRS based on the frequency domain coding.”: [0030]).
While JACOBSSON teaches, “first DMRS is added to an entry corresponding to a port index of a second DMRS using an FD-OCC having a length of 2” ; JACOBSSON does not expressively disclose:
wherein the association is defined so that an entry corresponding to a port index of the first DMRS is added to an entry corresponding to a port index of a second DMRS using an FD-OCC having a length of 2.
ZHANG, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the association is defined so that an entry corresponding to a port index of the first DMRS is added to an entry corresponding to a port index of a second DMRS using an FD-OCC having a length of 2 ( “ the plurality of categories of DMRS ports includes a first category DMRS port with a first FD-OCC of length 2, and a second category DMRS port with a second FD-OCC of length L, where L is 3, 6 or 4]”: “ In some embodiments, for one CDM group, at least one of: the first category DMRS port with the first FD-OCC and the second category DMRS port with the second FD-OCC share a same DMRS port index; if the first DMRS table is for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), the first category DMRS port with the first FD-OCC and the second category DMRS port with the second FD-OCC would share a same DMRS port index; …;”: [0023]; [abstract] ; [0033]; [0250]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of JACOBSSON to include the above recited limitations as taught by ZHANG. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide improved and adequate radio coverage for intended users : (ZHANG; [0090]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See PTO 892.
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411