DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi (JP 2-281102 A) in view of Yasuto (JP 2000-161901).
Regarding claim 1, Hiroshi discloses:
A displacement detection device (see FIG 2), comprising:
a stylus (tip 74 and rod connected to tip);
a rotating member 72 that supports the stylus and rotates with a fulcrum as a base point when the stylus contacts a measurement target;
a shaft 76 on which a scale 79 is provided;
an actuation conversion mechanism 71, 71a, 75 and 77 that converts the rotation of the rotating member upon contact of the stylus with the measurement target into axial motion of the shaft; and
a sensor 78 that detects displacement of the scale.
However, Hiroshi does not disclose a detachable stylus as claimed. Yasuto discloses a detachable stylus 8 that may be replaced in accordance with what is being measured (see [0012] of translation provided by the Applicant). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use a replaceable stylus as taught by Yasuto in combination with the device of Hiroshi for the purpose of customizing the combined device for different applications.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, these features are also disclosed in FIG 2 of Hiroshi.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi and Yasuto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hideji (JP 2021-71376).
Hiroshi and Yasuto disclose the invention substantially as claimed. However, neither Hiroshi nor Yasuto disclose the scale with a pattern as claimed or the arch-shaped support portion as claimed. Hideji discloses a scale 320 with a pattern for the purpose of detecting the displacement of a stylus. Hideji further discloses an arch-shaped support 200, 210 for the purpose of supporting a stylus. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the features taught by Hideji in conjunction with the devices of Hiroshi and Yasuto for the purpose of customizing the combined device based on manufacturer and/or end-user preferences.
Conclusion
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GEORGE B BENNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855
gbb
22 JUL 2026