CTFR 18/834,685 CTFR 96566 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Status This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 03/23/2026. The abstract objection is withdrawn. Claims 1-14 remain pending for consideration on the merits. Specification 06-31 AIA The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-2, 4-6, 8, 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doi et al (US 11391472 B2, hereinafter Doi) in view of Takeuchi (JP 6486476 B2, hereinafter Takeuchi) . Regarding claim 1 , Doi teaches an air conditioner outdoor unit (heat exchange unit 10), comprising: a box-shaped casing (structure 20) formed of a first metal (iron, col 3 line 49); a heat exchanger (heat exchanger 40) at least partly formed of a second metal (aluminum, col 5 line 60) different in natural potential from the first metal, and capacitance connection sheet metal (connection member 60) formed of the first metal (iron, col 7 line 7) or a third metal that does not cause dissimilar metal corrosion with the first metal, the capacitance connection sheet metal being disposed in the casing, the capacitance connection sheet metal (connection member 60) being fixed to the casing (as shown on figure 8) and electrically connected to the casing, the capacitance connection sheet metal being disposed with a space (via seal member 65, figure 9) between the heat exchanger (heat exchanger 40) and the capacitance connection sheet metal (connection member 60) and electrically connected to the heat exchanger (connected to heat exchanger 40, figure 9) through capacitance generated between the heat exchanger (heat exchanger 40) and the capacitance connection sheet metal (connection member 60). Doi teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach the heat exchanger being disposed in the casing and fixed to the casing with a non-conductive member interposed between the heat exchanger and the casing. However, Takeuchi teaches the heat exchanger (heat exchanger 200) being disposed in the casing (as shown on figure 2) and fixed to the casing (via support parts 201, figure 8) with a non-conductive member (insulating sheet 310) interposed between the heat exchanger (heat exchanger 200) and the casing (casing 100). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the unit in the teachings of Doi to include the heat exchanger being disposed in the casing and fixed to the casing with a non-conductive member interposed between the heat exchanger and the casing in view of the teachings of Takeuchi in order to yield the predictable result of covering the bottom surface of the support component. Regarding claim 2 , the combined teachings teach wherein the casing (casing 100 of Takeuchi) includes a casing floor panel (bottom plate 300 of Takeuchi) and a casing top panel (top plate 101 of Takeuchi) disposed above the casing floor panel (figures 1-2 of Takeuchi), and a casing front panel (front plate 102 of Takeuchi), a casing rear panel (figures 1-2 of Takeuchi), and casing side panels (side plate 103 of Takeuchi) connecting the casing floor panel and the casing top panel (figure 1 of Takeuchi), and the capacitance connection sheet metal (connection member 60 of Doi) is fixed to at least one of the casing floor panel (bottom plate 202 of Doi), the casing top panel, the casing front panel, the casing rear panel, and the casing side panels. Regarding claims 4 and 10 , the combined teachings teach wherein the first metal (iron, col 3 line 49 of Doi) is one of iron (iron, col 3 line 49 of Doi) and an iron alloy, the third metal is the other of iron and an iron alloy, and the second metal (aluminum, col 5 line 60 of Doi) is aluminum (aluminum, col 5 line 60 of Doi) or an aluminum alloy. Regarding claims 5 and 11 , the combined teachings teach wherein the heat exchanger (heat exchanger 40 of Doi) includes a planar heat exchanger side end (end portion of 40, figure 9 of Doi) extending in a vertical direction (figures 6-9 of Doi), and the capacitance connection sheet metal (connection member 60 of Doi) includes a sheet metal facing wall (connection portion 62 of Doi) disposed with the space (towards seal member 65, figure 9 of Doi) between the heat exchanger side end (figure 9 of Doi) and the sheet metal facing wall (figure 9 of Doi). Regarding claims 6 and 12 , the combined teachings teach wherein the heat exchanger (heat exchanger 40 of Doi) includes a pair of heat exchanger side surfaces (side portion of heat exchanger 40, figure 6 of Doi) extending in a direction away from the sheet metal facing wall (as shown on figures 7 and 9 of Doi) from both edges of the heat exchanger side end in a direction perpendicular to the vertical direction (as shown on figures 6-9 of Doi), the capacitance connection sheet metal (connection member 60 of Doi) includes a sheet metal side wall (folded portion 61b of Doi) extending toward the heat exchanger side surface (as shown on figure 9) from one edge or both edges of the sheet metal facing wall (figure 9) in the direction perpendicular to the vertical direction (figures 6-9 of Doi), the sheet metal side wall (folded portion 61b of Doi) being disposed with a space between the heat exchanger side surface (as shown on figure 9 of Doi) and the sheet metal side wall (figure 9 of Doi), and the space formed between the heat exchanger side end and the sheet metal facing wall and the space formed between the heat exchanger side surface(s) and the sheet metal side wall(s) communicate with each other (as shown on figure 9 of Doi). Regarding claims 8 and 14 , the combined teachings teach wherein a portion of the casing (structure 20 of Doi) and a portion of the heat exchanger (of heat exchanger 40, figure 4 of Doi) are in contact with each other (as shown on figure 4 of Doi), and a contact portion between the casing (of structure 20, figure 4 of Doi) and the heat exchanger (heat exchanger 40 of Doi) is covered with a covering member (covering member 64 of Doi) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doi as modified by Takeuchi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Petrenko (CN 101120217 B, hereinafter Petrenko) . Regarding claims 3 and 9 , the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein a dielectric is inserted into the space formed between the heat exchanger and the capacitance connection sheet metal. However, Petrenko teaches wherein a dielectric (dielectric material, paragraph 0052) is inserted into the space formed between the heat exchanger (interpreted as coolant tubes 4, corresponding to heat exchanger 40 of Doi) and the capacitance connection sheet metal (cooling sheet 2, corresponding to connection member 60 of Doi). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the unit in the combined teachings to include wherein a dielectric is inserted into the space formed between the heat exchanger and the capacitance connection sheet metal in view of the teachings of Petrenko in order to yield the predictable result of providing electrical insulation . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doi as modified by Takeuchi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dashu et al (JP 6673377 B2, hereinafter Dashu) . Regarding claims 7 and 13 , the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the capacitance connection sheet metal includes a cutout portion formed by cutting out a portion of the capacitance connection sheet metal. However, Dashu teaches wherein the capacitance connection sheet metal (heat exchanger connecting member 14) includes a cutout portion (as shown on figure 14) formed by cutting out a portion of the capacitance connection sheet metal (as shown on figure 14). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the unit in the combined teachings to include wherein the capacitance connection sheet metal includes a cutout portion formed by cutting out a portion of the capacitance connection sheet metal in view of the teachings of Dashu in order to yield the predictable result of securing the connecting member to the heat exchanger . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 03/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to the Applicant’s argument that “Doi does not teach or suggest an air conditioner outdoor unit that includes a capacitance connection sheet metal formed of a first metal that is the same as the first metal of the casing and arranged in and fixed to the casing and is further arranged with a space between itself and the heat exchanger such that the capacitance connection sheet metal is electrically connected to the heat exchanger through capacitance generated in the space between the heat exchanger and the capacitance connection sheet metal”, the Examiner disagrees. For clarity, Doi teaches a structure supporting the heat exchanger, an insulating member electrically insulating the heat exchanger from the structure, a compressor electrically connected to the heat exchanger and the structure, and a connection member attached to the heat exchanger. The connection member electrically connects the heat exchanger and the structure. The connection member is provided separately from a first conductive path that electrically connects the compressor and the heat exchanger, and a second conductive path that electrically connects the compressor and the structure (as described in the abstract). Further, it is disclosed in Doi that the connection member 60 is connected to the heat exchanger 40 (as shown on figure 8) and the capacitor includes capacitance (as described in col 8 line 65 to col 9 line 6). Therefore, the Applicant’s argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained. In response to the Applicant’s argument that “In addition, there is no teaching, express or implied, in either Doi or Takeuchi that would have motivated one skilled in the art to combine any insulating elements from Takeuchi with the heat exchanger, connection member, and structure arrangement in Doi since such a combination would defeat the purpose of Doi”, the Examiner disagrees. For clarity, Takeuchi is used in the rejection as a secondary reference to teach the heat exchanger (heat exchanger 200) being disposed in the casing (as shown on figure 2) and fixed to the casing (via support parts 201, figure 8) with a non-conductive member (insulating sheet 310) interposed between the heat exchanger (heat exchanger 200) and the casing (casing 100) in which modifies the heat exchanger 40, structure 20 and connection member 60 of Doi. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would determine that a heat exchanger 200 being fixed to the casing via support parts 201 with insulating sheet 310 would provide the predictable result of covering the bottom surface of the support component. Therefore, the Applicant’s argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DARIO DELEON whose telephone number is (571)272-8687. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00am-5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jerry Daryl Fletcher can be reached at 571-270-5054. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DARIO ANTONIO DELEON/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/834,685 Page 2 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/834,685 Page 3 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/834,685 Page 4 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/834,685 Page 5 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/834,685 Page 6 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/834,685 Page 7 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/834,685 Page 8 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/834,685 Page 9 Art Unit: 3763