DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 14 August 2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-17 and 19-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection to the claims previously set forth in the Office Action mailed 14 May 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, and 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davis (US20200222672 A1) [first embodiment].
Regarding claim 1, Davis teaches an intravascular device (guidewire 200, Fig 3; paragraph 0006, 0033—intravascular devices such as guidewires), comprising:
a core (core 203, Fig 3; paragraph 0034) comprising a proximal section (see left portion of 203, Fig 3) and a distal section (see right portion of 203, Fig 3);
an outer tube (outer tube 204, Fig 3) coupled to the core such that the distal section of the core passes into and is encompassed by the outer tube (outer tube 204 is coupled to 203 such that the right portion of core 203 passes into and is encompassed by the outer tube 204, Fig 3; paragraph 0034—core 203 disposed within an outer tube 204), the outer tube and the core defining an annular space between an inner surface of the outer tube and an outer surface of the core (see annular space between an inner surface of outer tube 204 and an outer surface of core 203 at the distal portion of outer tube 204, Fig 3); and
a set of alignment washers spaced from one another and disposed in the annular space (Paragraph 0041--some embodiments may therefore utilize one or more additional centering coils and/or one or more alternative features (such as a braid, tube, polymer filler, set of stacked rings, coil with a tapering inner diameter, or microfabricated tube) to fill the annular space and provide centering; Note: as the amount of space from one another is not claimed, the broadest reasonable interpretation encompasses any amount of spacing, such as that included in a set of stacked rings. Furthermore, as the centering coil shown in Figs. 3-4 exemplifies centering using elements which are spaced apart such as each loop of a coil, it may be seen that a stack of rings may include a similar amount of spacing while fulfilling the desired function of preventing undesirable effects of misalignment), each alignment washer including a slot through which the distal section of the core passes (Paragraph 0041—set of stacked rings; it is noted that ‘rings’ would include a central slot/aperture to provide centering as the distal section of the core passes through).
Regarding claim 2, Davis teaches the device of claim 1. Davis additionally teaches wherein each alignment washer is a centering washer, wherein the slot of each washer is substantially centered in the centering washer such that the portion of the core passing through the centering washer is maintained in a substantially radially centered position relative to the outer tube (Paragraph 0041-- centering coils and/or one or more alternative features…stacked rings… to fill the annular space and provide centering).
Regarding claim 4, Davis discloses the device of claim 1. Davis additionally discloses further comprising a radiopaque marker coil (marker coil 212, Fig 3; paragraph 0034-- distal marker coil 212 formed from one or more radiopaque materials).
Regarding claim 5, Davis discloses the device of claim 4. Davis additionally discloses wherein the radiopaque marker coil is disposed around the distal section of the core and is encompassed by the outer tube (distal marker coil 212 is disposed around the distal section of core 203 and is encompassed by outer tube 204, Fig 3; paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 6, Davis discloses the device of claim 1. Davis additionally discloses further comprising one or more alignment coils (centering coil 214, Fig 3; Paragraph 0036--centering coil 212 to serve a centering function; Paragraph 0041-- some embodiments may therefore utilize one or more additional centering coils and/or one or more alternative features (such as a braid, tube, polymer filler, set of stacked rings, coil with a tapering inner diameter, or microfabricated tube) to fill the annular space and provide centering such that the set of stacked rings may be used in addition to the centering coil 214).
Regarding claim 7, Davis discloses the device of claim 6. Davis additionally discloses wherein the one or more alignment coils are non-radiopaque (paragraph 0036-0038-- centering coil 214 is separate from the marker coil 212. In theory, the marker coil 212 could be extended and/or enlarged to fill more of the annular space 208 and thereby serve a centering function. However, materials that function well as radiopaque markers (e.g., platinum) are relatively expensive…centering coil 214 may be formed from a suitable metal or metal alloy, such as nitinol or stainless steel).
Regarding claim 10, Davis discloses the device of claim 1. Davis additionally discloses wherein the outer tube includes a cut pattern (similar outer tube 104 including cuts 106, Fig 1; paragraph 0028--outer tube 104 may include a cut pattern that forms fenestrations 106; paragraph 0033-- Some embodiments may incorporate and combine components from one or more of the disclosed embodiments. The following embodiments may incorporate features of the guidewire device 100 described above) which forms a plurality of axially extending beams coupling a plurality of circumferentially extending rings (paragraph 0028-- Examples of cut patterns and other guidewire device features that may be utilized in the guidewire devices described herein are provided in detail in United States Patent Application Publication Nos. 2018/0193607 and 2018/0071496, and in Patent Cooperation Treaty Application No. PCT/US2018/034756, the entireties of each of which are incorporated herein by this reference; paragraph 0052 and Fig. 5 of US 2018/0193607 to Davis, incorporated by reference and reproduced below, demonstrates a cut pattern which comprises plurality of axial beams and circumferentially extending rings, see cuts in outer tube 204 comprising axial beams 234 and circumferential rings 240).
Fig. 5 of US 2018/0193607 to Davis
Regarding claim 11, Davis discloses the device of claim 10. Davis additionally discloses wherein the outer tube comprises one or more of a three-beam section, two-beam section (paragraph 0028--examples of cut patterns are described in US 2018/0193607; Fig. 5 and paragraph 0052 of incorporated reference US 20180193607--the cut pattern comprises a two-beam cut pattern, see two beams 234 formed between each ring 240), or one-beam section.
Regarding claim 12, Davis discloses the device of claim 10. Davis additionally discloses wherein the beams extend in a direction parallel to a longitudinal axis of the outer tube, and wherein the rings of the outer tube form fully enclosed rings (paragraph 0028-- Examples of cut patterns and other guidewire device features that may be utilized in the guidewire devices described herein are provided in detail in United States Patent Application Publication Nos. 2018/0193607 and 2018/0071496, and in Patent Cooperation Treaty Application No. PCT/US2018/034756, the entireties of each of which are incorporated herein by this reference; paragraph 0052 and Fig. 5 of US 2018/0193607 to Davis, incorporated by reference and reproduced below, demonstrates a cut pattern which comprises plurality of axial beams and circumferentially extending rings, see cuts in outer tube 204 comprising axial beams 234 extending parallel to a longitudinal axis of the tube and enclosed circumferential rings 240).
Regarding claim 13, Davis discloses the device of claim 1. Davis additionally discloses wherein at least a portion of the distal section of the core comprises a flat ribbon (far right portion of 203, Fig 3; see similar core 102 with distal portion 103, Fig 1; paragraph 0025-- the most distal section of the core 102 may be flattened into a ribbon-like shape with a flat, rectangular, or oblong cross section; paragraph 0033-- Some embodiments may incorporate and combine components from one or more of the disclosed embodiments. The following embodiments may incorporate features of the guidewire device 100 described above).
Regarding claim 14, Davis discloses the device of claim 1. Davis additionally discloses wherein the outer tube comprises a superelastic material (see similar outer tube 104, Fig 1; paragraph 0033-- Some embodiments may incorporate and combine components from one or more of the disclosed embodiments. The following embodiments may incorporate features of the guidewire device 100 described above; Paragraph 0008-0009, 0026--tube 104 is preferably formed from a relatively flexible and elastic material such as nitinol).
Regarding claim 15, Davis discloses the device of claim 14. Davis additionally discloses wherein the outer tube comprises nitinol (see similar outer tube 104, Fig 1; paragraph 0033-- Some embodiments may incorporate and combine components from one or more of the disclosed embodiments. The following embodiments may incorporate features of the guidewire device 100 described above; Paragraph 0008-0009, 0026--tube 104 is preferably formed from a relatively flexible and elastic material such as nitinol).
Regarding claim 16, Davis discloses the device of claim 1. Davis additionally discloses wherein the core comprises stainless steel (see similar core 102, Fig 1; paragraph 0033-- Some embodiments may incorporate and combine components from one or more of the disclosed embodiments. The following embodiments may incorporate features of the guidewire device 100 described above; Paragraph 0008-0009, 0026--the core 102 may be formed from a relatively less flexible and elastic material such as stainless steel).
Regarding claim 17, Davis discloses the device of claim 1. Davis additionally discloses wherein the intravascular device is a guidewire (guidewire 200; paragraph 0034).
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davis (US20200222672 A1) [second embodiment].
Regarding claim 1, Davis teaches an intravascular device (guidewire 1100, Fig 12, paragraph 0006-- intravascular devices such as guidewires) comprising:
a core (core 1103, Fig 12; paragraph 0064) having a proximal section (see left portion of 1103, Fig 12) and a distal section (see right portion of 1103, Fig 12);
an outer tube (outer tube 1104, Fig 12; paragraph 0064) coupled to the core such that the distal section of the core passes into and is encompassed by the outer tube (outer tube 1104 is coupled to core 1103 such that the right portion of core 1103 passes into and is encompassed by outer tube 1104, Fig 12), the outer tube and the core defining an annular space between an inner surface of the outer tube and an outer surface of the core (see annular space between an inner surface of outer tube 1104 and an outer surface of core 1103, Fig 12); and
a set of alignment washers spaced from one another and disposed in the annular space (centering coil 1104 which alternatively is replaced by a set of stacked rings per paragraph 0041 and 0070, Fig 12; paragraph 0064--centering coil 1104 with tapering inner diameter and any centering coil described may be formed in this manner; Paragraph 0041, 0070-- The centering mechanism may be any one of those described herein or combination thereof, such as a coil, tube (e.g., metal or polymer hypotube or metal or polymer microfabricated tube, braid, or set of stacked rings); Note: as the amount of space from one another is not claimed, the broadest reasonable interpretation encompasses any amount of spacing, such as that included in a set of stacked rings. Furthermore, as the centering coil shown in Figs. 3-4 exemplifies centering using elements which are spaced apart such as each loop of a coil, it may be seen that a stack of rings may include a similar amount of spacing while fulfilling the desired function of preventing undesirable effects of misalignment), each alignment washer including a slot through which the distal section of the core passes (Paragraph 0041, 0070--stacked rings; it is noted that stacked rings would include a central slot/aperture to provide centering through which the distal portion of the core passes).
Regarding claim 2, Davis teaches the device of claim 1. Davis additionally teaches wherein each alignment washer is a centering washer (Paragraph 0041, 0070--stacked rings), wherein the slot is substantially centered in the centering washer such that the portion of the core passing through the centering washer is maintained in a substantially radially centered position relative to the outer tube (Paragraph 0033, 0041, 0064, 0070-- intravascular catheters including an outer tube and an inner member where enhanced centering of the inner member would be beneficial… centering coil 1114 …This type of structure beneficially fills the annular space between the core 1103 and the tube 1104 even though the core 1103 tapers. Any of the other centering coils described herein may be formed, in whole or in part, in this manner in order to better conform to diameter discontinuities in the core 1103… The centering mechanism may be any one of those described herein or combination thereof, such as a coil, tube (e.g., metal or polymer hypotube or metal or polymer microfabricated tube), braid, or set of stacked rings).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis [first embodiment].
Regarding claim 8, Davis discloses the device of claim 1. However, Davis does not explicitly teach wherein the slots of the alignment washers have a rectangular shape. Davis additionally teaches wherein the distal section of the core tapers into a rectangular shape (far right portion of 203, Fig 3; see similar core 102 with distal portion 103, Fig 1; paragraph 0025-- the most distal section of the core 102 may be flattened into a ribbon-like shape with a flat, rectangular, or oblong cross section; paragraph 0033-- Some embodiments may incorporate and combine components from one or more of the disclosed embodiments. The following embodiments may incorporate features of the guidewire device 100 described above) and other centering features may be included such as a centering coil with a tapering inner diameter (paragraph 0041) in order to better match the distal section of the core (paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify a distal most alignment washer of the stack of rings taught by Davis such that the slot has a rectangular shape as motivated by additional teachings of Davis in order to predictably improve the centering of the device by providing a better match the shape of the distal section of the core and thus preventing undesired movement of the core.
Regarding claim 9, Davis teaches the device of claim 8. Davis additionally teaches wherein the portion of the core passing through the slots has a rectangular cross-sectional shape (far right portion of 203 comprises a flat ribbon, Fig 3; see similar core 102 with distal portion 103, Fig 1; paragraph 0025-- the most distal section of the core 102 may be flattened into a ribbon-like shape with a flat, rectangular, or oblong cross section; paragraph 0033-- Some embodiments may incorporate and combine components from one or more of the disclosed embodiments. The following embodiments may incorporate features of the guidewire device 100 described above).
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tremulis (US 4953553A) in view of Davis.
Regarding claim 1, Tremulis teaches an intravascular device (Col. 1, Line 8-10--guiding member for within vascular system), comprising:
a core (tubular extension 62 serves as a core, Fig 5; Col. 5, Line 35-36) comprising a proximal section (left portion of tubular extension 62, Fig 5) and a distal section (right portion of tubular extension 62, Fig 5);
an outer tube (coil 64 constitutes an outer tube, Fig 5; Col. 5, Line 38) coupled to the core such that the distal section of the core passes into and is encompassed by the outer tube (coil 64 is coupled to tubular extension 62 such that the right portion of tubular extension 62 passes into and is encompassed by coil 64, Fig 5), the outer tube and the core defining an annular space between an inner surface of the outer tube and an outer surface of the core (annular space between an inner surface of coil 64 and an outer surface of tubular extension 62, Fig 5).
Tremulis teaches wherein the distal section of the core is maintained along a particular axis within the outer tube (right portion of tubular extension 62 is joined with 64 at 63 such that the distal portion is offset relative to a central axis, Fig 5; Col. 5, Line 35-38-- tubular extension 62 is secured within the distal end of the tubular shaft 60 and extends distally to location 63 where it is soldered or otherwise joined to coil 64; Col. 5, line 42-44-- distal portion of extension 62 is offset from the main axis of the guidewire to accommodate core member 67).
However, Tremulis does not explicitly teach a set of alignment washers disposed in the annular space, each alignment washer including a slot through which the distal section of the core passes.
Davis, in the same field of endeavor of an intravascular device having a core and an outer tube, teaches a core (core 102, Fig 1; paragraph 0025), an outer tube (outer tube 104, Fig 1; paragraph 0025) coupled to the core such that a distal section of the core passes into and is encompassed by the outer tube (outer tube 104 is coupled to core 102 such that distal section 103 of the core passes into and is encompassed by outer tube 104, Fig 1, Fig 2A; paragraph 0025-- distal section (referred to herein as distal core 103) that extends into the outer tube 104), the outer tube and the core defining an annular space between an inner surface of the outer tube and an outer surface of the core (annular space between an inner surface of outer tube 104 and an outer surface of distal core 103, Fig 2A; paragraph 0031--annular spaces 108), wherein a set of alignment washers spaced from one another and each comprising a slot is disposed in the annular space (paragraph 0041--stacked rings, it is noted that such rings would comprise a slot and are used to fill the annular space between the core and outer tube; Note: as the amount of space from one another is not claimed, the broadest reasonable interpretation encompasses any amount of spacing, such as that included in a set of stacked rings. Furthermore, as the centering coil shown in Figs. 3-4 exemplifies centering using elements which are spaced apart such as each loop of a coil, it may be seen that a stack of rings may include a similar amount of spacing while fulfilling the desired function of preventing undesirable effects of misalignment) to prevent undesirable misalignment of the distal core section relative to the outer tube (Paragraph 0031, 0033, 0041--core centering/alignment features to eliminate undesirable misalignment between the distal core and the outer tube).
it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of Tremulis to include a set of alignment washers disposed in the annular space, each alignment washer including a slot through which the distal section of the core passes as taught by Davis in order to join the distal section of the core and outer tube and prevent undesirable movement of the distal core relative to the outer tube.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Tremulis and Davis teaches the device of claim 1. Tremulis further teaches wherein the core is aligned in an offset manner, where the core is offset from the radial center of the outer tube such that a portion of the core is maintained closer to one side of the outer tube than an opposing side (right portion of tubular extension 62 is joined with coil 64 at location 63 such that the distal portion is offset relative to a central axis, Fig 5; Col. 5, Line 35-38-- tubular extension 62 is secured within the distal end of the tubular shaft 60 and extends distally to location 63 where it is soldered or otherwise joined to coil 64; Col. 5, line 42-44-- distal portion of extension 62 is offset from the main axis of the guidewire to accommodate core member 67).
Davis teaches the use of a set of washer having a slot to maintain the alignment of the core (paragraph 0041--stacked rings, it is noted that such rings would comprise a slot and are used to fill the annular space between the core and outer tube).
As noted above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of Tremulis to include a set of alignment washers disposed in the annular space, each alignment washer including a slot through which the distal section of the core passes as taught by Davis in order to join the distal section of the core and outer tube and prevent undesirable movement of the distal core relative to the outer tube, wherein the configuration of Tremulis would necessitate that the slot of the washer of Davis would be positioned offset relative to a radial center of the washer, such that the core would be maintained closer to one side of the outer tube than an opposing side.
Regarding claim 20, Tremulis teaches an intravascular device (Col. 1, Line 8-10--guiding member for within vascular system), comprising:
a core (tubular extension 62 serves as a core, Fig 5; Col. 5, Line 35-36) comprising a proximal section (left portion of tubular extension 62, Fig 5) and a distal section (right portion of tubular extension 62, Fig 5), the core being contiguous between the proximal section and the distal section (Fig. 5);
an outer tube (coil 64 constitutes an outer tube, Fig 5; Col. 5, Line 38) coupled to the core such that the proximal section of the core extends proximally from a proximal end of the outer tube and the distal section of the core passes into and is encompassed by the outer tube (coil 64 is coupled to tubular extension 62 such that the left portion of the tubular extension 62 extends proximally from a proximal end of the outer tube 64 and the right portion of tubular extension 62 passes into and is encompassed by coil 64, Fig 5), the outer tube and the core defining an annular space between an inner surface of the outer tube and an outer surface of the core (annular space between an inner surface of coil 64 and an outer surface of tubular extension 62, Fig 5).
Tremulis further teaches wherein the core is aligned in an offset manner, where the core is offset from the radial center of the outer tube such that a portion of the core is maintained closer to one side of the outer tube than an opposing side (right portion of tubular extension 62 is joined with coil 64 at location 63 such that the distal portion is offset relative to a central axis, Fig 5; Col. 5, Line 35-38-- tubular extension 62 is secured within the distal end of the tubular shaft 60 and extends distally to location 63 where it is soldered or otherwise joined to coil 64; Col. 5, line 42-44-- distal portion of extension 62 is offset from the main axis of the guidewire to accommodate core member 67).
However, Tremulis does not explicitly teach an offset washer disposed in the annular space, the alignment washer including a slot through which the distal section of the core passes wherein the slot is offset from the radial center of the offset washer such that the portion of the core passing through the offset washer is maintained closer to one side of the outer tube than an opposing side.
Tremulis additionally does not explicitly disclose wherein the slot of the offset washer has a rectangular shape and the portion of the core passing through the slot has a corresponding rectangular cross-sectional shape.
Davis, in the same field of endeavor of an intravascular device having a core and an outer tube, teaches a core (core 102, Fig 1; paragraph 0025), an outer tube (outer tube 104, Fig 1; paragraph 0025) coupled to the core such that a distal section of the core passes into and is encompassed by the outer tube (outer tube 104 is coupled to core 102 such that distal section 103 of the core passes into and is encompassed by outer tube 104, Fig 1, Fig 2A; paragraph 0025-- distal section (referred to herein as distal core 103) that extends into the outer tube 104), the outer tube and the core defining an annular space between an inner surface of the outer tube and an outer surface of the core (annular space between an inner surface of outer tube 104 and an outer surface of distal core 103, Fig 2A; paragraph 0031--annular spaces 108), wherein an alignment washer comprising a slot is disposed in the annular space (paragraph 0041--stacked rings, it is noted that such rings would comprise a slot and are used to fill the annular space between the core and outer tube) to prevent undesirable misalignment of the distal core section relative to the outer tube (Paragraph 0031, 0033, 0041--core centering/alignment features to eliminate undesirable misalignment between the distal core and the outer tube).
Davis additionally teaches the portion of the core passing through the slot has a rectangular cross-sectional shape (far right portion of 203 comprises a flat ribbon, Fig 3; see similar core 102 with distal portion 103, Fig 1; paragraph 0025-- the most distal section of the core 102 may be flattened into a ribbon-like shape with a flat, rectangular, or oblong cross section; paragraph 0033-- Some embodiments may incorporate and combine components from one or more of the disclosed embodiments. The following embodiments may incorporate features of the guidewire device 100 described above).
As noted above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of Tremulis to include an alignment washer disposed in the annular space, the alignment washer including a slot through which the distal section of the core passes as taught by Davis in order to join the distal section of the core and outer tube and prevent undesirable movement of the distal core relative to the outer tube, wherein the configuration of Tremulis would necessitate that the slot of the washer of Davis would be positioned offset relative to a radial center of the washer, such that the core would be maintained closer to one side of the outer tube than an opposing side.
However, Davis does not explicitly teach wherein the slot of the alignment washer has a rectangular shape. Davis additionally teaches wherein the distal section of the core tapers into a rectangular shape (far right portion of 203, Fig 3; see similar core 102 with distal portion 103, Fig 1; paragraph 0025-- the most distal section of the core 102 may be flattened into a ribbon-like shape with a flat, rectangular, or oblong cross section; paragraph 0033-- Some embodiments may incorporate and combine components from one or more of the disclosed embodiments. The following embodiments may incorporate features of the guidewire device 100 described above) and other centering features may be included such as a centering coil with a tapering inner diameter (paragraph 0041) in order to better match the distal section of the core (paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined Tremulis and Davis to utilize a core having a distal portion with a rectangular cross-sectional shape as disclosed by Davis in order to predictably improve the bending flexibility of the core to improve maneuverability of the device through tortuous passages, and to additionally modify a washer as taught by Davis such that the slot has a rectangular shape as motivated by additional teachings of Davis in order to predictably improve the centering of the device by providing a better match the shape of the distal section of the core and thus preventing undesired movement of the core.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrba (US 8556914 B2) in view of Davis [first embodiment].
Regarding claim 19, Vrba teaches an intravascular device (Col. 1, line 14-51—intravascular device), comprising:
a core having a proximal section and a distal section (Core member 30 including distal section 40 and also extending in a proximal direction opposite section 40, Fig. 2);
an outer tube (Tubular member 20) coupled to the core such that the distal section of the core passes into and is encompassed by the outer tube (See Fig. 2, the distal section 40 passes into and is encompassed by the tubular member 20), the outer tube and the core defining an annular space between an inner surface of the outer tube and an outer surface of the core (Annular space between the outer surface of the core 30/distal section 40 and the inner surface of the tubular member 20, Fig. 2); and
a single centering washer disposed in the annular space, the centering washer including a slot through which the distal section of the core passes ,wherein the slot is substantially centered in the centering washer such that the portion of the core passing through the centering washer is maintained in a substantially radially centered position relative to the outer tube (Col. 12, line 21-35--other structures that may be used in the guidewire 10 include… centering structures for centering the core wire within the tubular member, such as a centering ring…; Note that a centering ring would necessarily include a slot in a substantially centered position as part of centering the core wire within the tubular member).
Vrba additionally teaches that the core may have a rectangular cross-sectional shape (Col. 10, line 56-Col. 11, line 10--core member 30, or portions thereof, can be made of rounded wire, flattened ribbon, or other such structures having various cross-sectional geometries…the cross-sectional shape of core member 30 may be oval, rectangular, square, polygonal, and the like, or any suitable shape. Additionally, the core member 30 may include one or more tapered portions, for example, to provide for desired flexibility characteristics…).
However, Vrba does not explicitly disclose wherein the slot of the centering washer has a rectangular shape and the portion of the core passing through the slot has a corresponding rectangular cross-sectional shape.
Davis, in the same field of endeavor of an intravascular device (guidewire 200, Fig 3; paragraph 0006, 0033—intravascular devices such as guidewires) including an alignment element (Paragraph 0041--some embodiments may therefore utilize one or more additional centering coils and/or one or more alternative features (such as a braid, tube, polymer filler, set of stacked rings, coil with a tapering inner diameter, or microfabricated tube) to fill the annular space and provide centering), discloses the alignment element can have a shape (paragraph 0035, 0041-- centering coil(s) may be edge-wound and/or may have a ribbon, rectangular, oblong, or other non-circular shaped cross-sectional shape…) to match the distal section of the core (paragraph 0035, 0046) and a portion of the core passing through a slot of the alignment element has a rectangular cross-sectional shape (far right portion of 203 comprises a flat ribbon, Fig 3; see similar core 102 with distal portion 103, Fig 1; paragraph 0025-- the most distal section of the core 102 may be flattened into a ribbon-like shape with a flat, rectangular, or oblong cross section; paragraph 0033-- Some embodiments may incorporate and combine components from one or more of the disclosed embodiments. The following embodiments may incorporate features of the guidewire device 100 described above).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify a slot of the alignment washer taught by Vrba to have a rectangular shape and the portion of the core passing through the slot to have a corresponding rectangular cross-sectional shape as suggested by Davis in order to predictably improve the centering of the device by providing an alignment slot which matches the shape of the core and thus preventing undesired movement of the core which may take place if the slot includes excess space caused by a mismatched shape between the slot and the core.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1-2, 5-7, and 10-18, the applicant argues that Davis fails to recite a set of alignment washers spaced from one another.
However, as the amount of space from one another is not claimed, the broadest reasonable interpretation encompasses any amount of spacing, such as that included in any set of stacked rings. Furthermore, as the centering coil shown in Figs. 3-4 exemplifies centering using elements which are spaced apart such as each loop of a coil, it may be seen that a stack of rings may include a similar amount of spacing while fulfilling the desired function of preventing undesirable effects of misalignment. This response is additionally relevant to applicant’s argument regarding claim 20 and the recitation of a set of alignment washers spaced from one another in that claim.
Regarding claim 20, the applicant argues that the combination of Tremulis and Davis would not arrive at the claimed invention. Specifically, the applicant argues that the stacked rings of Davis which are described as providing a centering function would not be incorporated into the device of Tremulis which demonstrates an offset core.
However, as described above, Tremulis is relied upon to disclose a core having an offset position while Davis is relied upon to disclose a set of alignment washers which maintains a core member in a desired alignment. While the configuration in Davis describes a centered alignment of a core member, one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Tremulis, already including an offset position, to include an alignment member such as the set of alignment washers described by Davis, with an offset slot in order to maintain the offset positioning which is already present in Tremulis, whereby the modification is to include some set of washers having a slot which maintains a desired alignment, rather than to specifically include a set of washers having a centrally aligned slot.
The applicant additionally argues regarding claim 20 that Tremulis fails to disclose that the core is “contiguous between the proximal section and the distal section” and that “the proximal section and proximal end extend proximally beyond the proximal end of the tube”, wherein Fig. 5 of Tremulis shows “core 67 is entirely disposed within the outer coil 64 with a tubular extension 62 extending further proximally”. The applicant further argues that the combined core 67 and tubular extension 62, when interpreted as the core, are not “contiguous between the proximal section and the distal section” based on the description of Tremulis of “the distal portion of extension 62 is offset from the main axis of the guide wire to accommodate the core member 67 which is secured at location 63 beside the distal end of extension 62”.
However, “core 67” was never relied upon in the office action to teach the core and has only been referenced to describe how the core as interpreted is offset to accommodate the inclusion of element 67, as the core as claimed does not require any particular features of the distal end of the core which would prevent the end of the extension at port 66 from serving as the distal end. Instead, as described above, tubular extension 62 serves as a core, which comprises a proximal section (left portion of tubular extension 62, Fig 5) and a distal section (right portion of tubular extension 62, Fig 5) which are contiguous, where the proximal section and proximal end extend proximally beyond the end of the tube (Coil 64). See annotated Fig. 5 below.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Vrba has been newly relied upon to disclose a single centering washer disposed in the annular space.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA ROBERTS/Examiner, Art Unit 3791