DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to the Response to Restriction Requirement filed 08/20/2025.
The status of the Claims is as follows:
Claims 10-13, 17, and 22 have been cancelled;
Claims 1 has been amended;
Claims 1-9, 14-16, 18-21 and 23-25 are pending and have been examined.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-9, 14-16, 18-21) in the reply filed on 08/20/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 23-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/31/2024 was filed after the mailing date of the Application on 07/31/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112 include:
Article translation device: conveyor (not shown)
Opposed side members: folding walls of exterior tool (118, 120)
Carrier preforming device: interior tool , exterior tool (10, 110)
Interior tool /Internal mold: carrier mandrel/forming tool (10)
External applicator/ Exterior tool: carrier folding tool (110)
Carrier retention device: barb or detent (CL1, CL2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Joyce (EP 0031992).
Regarding Claim 1 Joyce discloses an apparatus for packaging articles in an article carrier, the apparatus comprising
an article translation device (Fig. 17) for moving a group of articles in a downstream direction through an application section, and
a carrier-preforming device (Fig. 1) for folding a carrier blank (Fig. 8) into a preformed top-engaging carrier (Fig. 10) and conveying the top-engaging carrier (Fig. 10) in a downstream direction to the application section where the top engaging carrier (Fig. 10) is applied to the group of articles. (par 18, 21, 35 Espacenet translation)
Regarding Claim 2 Joyce teaches the invention as described above. Joyce further discloses the carrier-preforming device (Fig. 1) comprises an internal mold (2) and an external applicator (11) to effect folding of the carrier blank (Fig. 8) about the internal mold (2).
Regarding Claim 3 Joyce teaches the invention as described above. Joyce further discloses the external applicator (11) comprises at least one carrier retention device (6) for retaining the preformed top-engaging carrier (Fig. 10) whilst conveying the top-engaging carrier (Fig. 10) in a downstream direction to the application section.
Regarding Claim 5 Joyce teaches the invention as described above. Joyce further discloses the external applicator (11) comprises an opening (annotated Fig. 1) at least one end thereof to accommodate an end portion of the internal mold (2).
Regarding Claim 9 Joyce teaches the invention as described above. Joyce further discloses the external applicator (11) comprises at least one aperture (opening; annotated Fig. 1) for receiving a portion of an article during application of the top engaging carrier to the group of articles. (Fig. 4)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-8, 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 4 the Prior Art does not teach the internal mold comprises a groove for receiving at least a portion of the at least one carrier retention device to allow the external applicator to slide with respect to the internal mold.
Regarding Claim 6 the Prior Art does not teach the external applicator comprises a pair of opposed side walls each comprising a recess in an end edge thereof, the recesses being aligned to receive a static panel folding guide.
Regarding Claim 8 the Prior Art does not teach the external applicator comprises a pair of opposed side walls each comprising a chamfered lower edge for engaging with a panel of the article carrier to effect folding thereof.
Regarding Claim 14 the Prior Art does not teach the interior tool comprises a plurality of mandrel surfaces which include a pair of opposed side surfaces and at least one end surface for supporting at least two end closure flaps of a carrier in an overlapping arrangement with an end closure panel of the carrier, wherein the exterior tool is structured and dimensioned such that when the side members bring the side panels of the carrier into the folded positions, the at least one end surface of the interior tool is offset outwardly from adjacent ends of the side members of the exterior tool.
Claims 15, 16 and 18-21 are allowed.
Regarding Claim 15 The Prior Art does not teach folding opposed side panels of a carrier into downwardly folded positions along an exterior of the interior tool, at least one of the side members of the exterior tool comprising an engaging ledge for engaging the carrier, in which the ledge is disposed within the interior of the exterior tool, and a yielding position, in which the ledge is disposed outside the interior of the exterior tool, wherein the ledge is biased towards the engaging position when disposed in the yielding position.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument: Joyce does not teach any structure that corresponds to the claimed “carrier preforming device” or that is even capable of performing the claimed function of “folding a carrier blank into a preformed top-engaging carrier”
Examiner’s Response: Joyce teaches at par 18, 21, 35 (Espacenet translation) “support member 3…second members 2 exert pressure over the upper wall 21 and the folds 7a, 7b with folds 26 of the holder to apply the force from second member 2 (par 18) “the blank when folded into a holder must necessarily be straight with straight longitudinal lines of fold (par 35);
Applicant’s Argument: Support 3 does not participate in conveying the alleged top-engaging carrier.
Examiner’s Response: Figs. 4-7 of Joyce discloses the support member 3, conveys the holder onto the bottles 32.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHINYERE J RUSHING-TUCKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3731