DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant's amendment filed on September 1, 2026. Claims 1, 2, 4-11 and 13 are amended. Claim 3 has been canceled.
Claims 1, 2, 4-11 and 13 are currently pending consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1-11 and 13 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2023/0039425 A1).
4. Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE), first information for configuring a control resource set (CORESET) for both a first cast type and a second cast type (Paragraph [0087] CORESET identifier for unicast and multicast transmission);
receiving, by the UE, second information, which is related to the first cast type, indicating the CORESET and a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state
identifier (ID) to be used for the CORESET (Paragraphs [0087] one or more default TCI states for unicast transmission); and
receiving, by the UE first downlink control information (DCI) for the first cast type on the CORESET based on a TCI state corresponding to the TCI state ID (Fig. 4 Paragraphs [0086] and [0087] DCI transmission for control signaling)
wherein, for reception of second DCI for the second cast type on the CORESET, the UE does not apply the TCI state (Fig. 4 Paragraphs [0086] and [0087] separate DCI indicating TCI states).
5. Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches wherein the first cast type corresponds to a cast type for unicast service and the second cast type corresponds to a cast type for a multicast broadcast service (MBS) (Paragraphs [0087] and [0095] unicast transmission, multicast transmission; MBS).
6. Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches, wherein the first DCI corresponds to a UE-specific DCI format based on scrambling by C-RNTI (Paragraphs [0082], [0098], and [0115] C-RNTI), and
wherein the second DCI corresponds to a group common DCI format based on
scrambling by the G-RNTI (Paragraphs [0083], 0096], and [0115] G-RNTI).
7. Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches,
wherein the first information includes a first physical downlink control channel
(PDCCH) configuration for the first DCI and a second PDCCH configuration for the second DCI (Paragraphs [0090] and [0091] unicast PDDCH and multicast GC-PDCCH).
8. Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches, wherein the second information is received through a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) for a TCI state indication for a PDCCH monitored for reception of the first DCI (Paragraph [0081] MAC-CE; PDCCH TCI state).
9. Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches, wherein the second information is applied for reception of the first DCI after a predefined time interval based on a transmission timing of hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information for the MAC-CE (Paragraph [0076] MAC layer; HARQ feedback in a subsequent slot or according to some other time interval).
10. Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches, wherein reception of the second DCI on the CORESET is performed by applying a TCI state configured through higher layer signaling prior to receiving the second information (Paragraphs [0086], [0087], [0115] and [0116] CORESET, DCI configuration, RRC signaling).
11. Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches wherein whether to apply the TCI state corresponding to the TCI state ID to reception of the second DCI is configured through a higher layer message (Paragraphs [0086], [0087], [0115] and [0116] RRC signaling to utilize one or more TCI states).
12. Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches, wherein whether to apply the TCI state corresponding to the TCI state ID to reception of the second DCI is configured based on at least one of whether a specific indicator is included in the higher layer message or the value of a specific indicator included in the higher layer (Paragraphs [0086], [0087], [0115] and [0116] RRC signaling to utilize one or more TCI states; DCI configuration).
13. Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches an apparatus for a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 12), the apparatus comprising:
at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal; and
at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver,
wherein the at least one processor configured to:
receive first information for configuring a control resource set (CORESET) for both a first cast type and a second cast type (Paragraph [0087] CORESET identifier for unicast and multicast transmission);
receive second information, which is related to the first cast type, indicating the CORESET and a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state
identifier (ID) to be used for the CORESET (Paragraphs [0087] one or more default TCI states for unicast transmission); and
receive first downlink control information (DCI) for the first cast type on the CORESET based on a TCI state corresponding to the TCI state ID (Fig. 4 Paragraphs [0086] and [0087] DCI transmission for control signaling)
wherein, for reception of second DCI for the second cast type on the CORESET, the UE does not apply the TCI state (Fig. 4 Paragraphs [0086] and [0087] separate DCI indicating TCI states).
14. Regarding claim 13, Liu teaches an apparatus for a base station, the apparatus (Fig. 12) comprising:
at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal; and
at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver,
wherein the at least one processor configured to:
transmit first information for configuring a control resource set (CORESET) for both a first cast type and a second cast type (Paragraph [0087] CORESET identifier for unicast and multicast transmission);
transmit second information, which is related to the first cast type, indicating the CORESET and a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state
identifier (ID) to be used for the CORESET (Paragraphs [0087] one or more default TCI states for unicast transmission); and
transmit first downlink control information (DCI) for the first cast type on the CORESET based on a TCI state corresponding to the TCI state ID (Fig. 4 Paragraphs [0086] and [0087] DCI transmission for control signaling)
wherein, the TCI state is not applied by a user equipment to reception of second DCI for the second cast type on the CORESET (Fig. 4 Paragraphs [0086] and [0087] separate DCI indicating TCI states).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466