CTNF 18/834,745 CTNF 88159 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This is response to Application 18/834,745 filed on 07/31/2024 in which claims 1-11 and 13 are presented for examination. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2022/0046690 A1) . 1. Regarding claim 1 , Lee teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system ( Fig. 5 ), the method comprising: receiving configuration information for a control resource set (CORESET); receiving information indicating a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state identifier (ID) for the CORESET ( Paragraphs [0088], [0097], and [0098] CORESET configuration sent to UE; indicates whether a TCI field is included in DL-related DCI ); and receiving first downlink control information (DCI) on the CORESET based on a TCI state corresponding to the TCI state ID ( Paragraphs [0088], [0097], [0101] and [0107] Table 4 CORESET configuration sent to UE; indicates whether a TCI field is included in DL-related DCI ), wherein, based on the CORESET being configured for a specific cast type, the TCIstate corresponding to the TCI state ID is not applied to reception of a second DCI on the CORESET (Paragraph [0150] to [0163]). 2. Regarding claim 2 , Lee teaches wherein the specific cast type corresponds to a multicast broadcast service (MBS) related cast type ( Paragraph [0136] to [0163] MBMS ). 3. Regarding claim 3 , Lee teaches wherein the first DCI is based on a cast type other than the specific cast type, and wherein the second DCI is based on the specific cast type ( Paragraph [0086], [0110]-[0112] different DCI configuration on PDCCH delivered for PTP service ). 4. Regarding claim 4 , Lee teaches, wherein the first DCI corresponds to a UE-specific DCI format based on scrambling by C-RNTI ( Paragraph [0086], [0110]-[0112] different DCI configuration on PDCCH delivered for PTP service ), and wherein the second DCI corresponds to a group common DCI format based on scrambling by the G-RNTI ( Paragraphs [0142], [0146], [0160]-[0163] G-RNTI ). 5. Regarding claim 5 , Lee teaches, wherein the CORESET is configured for a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration for the first DCI and a second PDCCH configuration for the second DCI, respectively ( Paragraph [0086], [0110]-[0112] different DCI configuration on PDCCH delivered for PTP service) . 6. Regarding claim 6 , Lee teaches, wherein the information is received through a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) for indicating a TCI state for a PDCCH monitored for reception of the first DCI ( Paragraph [0232] MAC CE element ). 7. Regarding claim 7 , Lee teaches, wherein the information is applied after a predefined time interval based on the transmission timing of hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information for the MAC-CE, for reception of the first DCI ( Paragraph [0205] to [0214] and [0272]-[0279] DCI may indicate HARQ feedback ). 8. Regarding claim 8 , Lee teaches, wherein reception of the second DCI in the CORESET is performed by applying a TCI state configured through higher layer signaling prior to receiving the information ( Paragraphs [0086], [0088], [0110]-[0112] different DCI configuration on PDCCH, higher layer signaling) . 9. Regarding claim 9 , Lee teaches wherein whether to apply the TCI state corresponding to the TCI state ID to reception of the second DCI is configured through a higher layer message ( Paragraphs [0086], [0088], [0110]-[0112] different DCI configuration on PDCCH, higher layer signaling) . 10. Regarding claim 10 , Lee teaches, wherein whether to apply the TCI state corresponding to the TCI state ID to reception of the second DCI is configured based on at least one of whether a specific indicator is included in the higher layer message or the value of a specific indicator included in the higher layer message ( Paragraphs [0086], [0088], [0110]-[0112] different DCI configuration on PDCCH, higher layer signaling) . 11. Regarding claim 11 , Lee teaches a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 5) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal; and at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor configured to: receive configuration information for a control resource set (CORESET); receive information indicating a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state identifier (ID) for the CORESET ( Paragraphs [0088], [0097], and [0098] CORESET configuration sent to UE; indicates whether a TCI field is included in DL-related DCI ); and receive first downlink control information (DCI) on the CORESET based on a TCI state corresponding to the TCI state ID ( Paragraphs [0088], [0097], [0101] and [0107] Table 4 CORESET configuration sent to UE; indicates whether a TCI field is included in DL-related DCI ), wherein, based on the CORESET being configured for a specific cast type, the TCIstate corresponding to the TCI state ID is not applied to reception of a second DCI on the CORESET (Paragraph [0150] to [0163]). 12. Regarding claim 13 , Lee teaches a base station in a wireless communication system (Fig. 5), the base station comprising: at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal; and at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor configured to: transmit configuration information for a control resource set (CORESET); transmit information indicating a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state identifier (ID) for the CORESET ( Paragraphs [0088], [0097], and [0098] CORESET configuration sent to UE; indicates whether a TCI field is included in DL-related DCI ); and transmit first downlink control information (DCI) on the CORESET based on a TCI state corresponding to the TCI state ID ( Paragraphs [0088], [0097], [0101] and [0107] Table 4 CORESET configuration sent to UE; indicates whether a TCI field is included in DL-related DCI ), wherein, based on the CORESET being configured for a specific cast type, the TCIstate corresponding to the TCI state ID is not applied to reception of a second DCI on the CORESET (Paragraph [0150] to [0163]) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure : Bagheri et al. (US 2020/0053757 A1) Paragraph [0087] Bai et al. (US 2022/0132543 A1) Paragraph [0169] Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DIANE LEE LO whose telephone number is (571)270-1952. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8 am - 5 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached at (571)272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/834,745 Page 2 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/834,745 Page 3 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/834,745 Page 4 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/834,745 Page 5 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/834,745 Page 6 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/834,745 Page 7 Art Unit: 2466