DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on March 4, 2026 in response to the previous Office Action (12/10/2025) is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claims 1 – 9 and 20 – 29 are currently pending.
Claims 10 – 19 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that He does not disclose, teach, or suggest a combination including displaying, by the first electronic device, “a second image that replaces the first image in the preview area” and displaying, by the electronic device, “a third image that replaces the second image in the preview area” (see Remarks, p.13).
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
He teaches displaying an image from the second electronic device on the first electronic device, wherein the default live mode is picture-in-picture mode, the picture-in-picture mode is respectively larger first area and a smaller second area respectively the display video image. However, the interface 404A on the display user can select the play mode list 3104A the play mode list 3104A a transverse double-picture, a vertical double-picture, picture-in-picture, single picture (¶102-103), which is shown in 4-4A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3 and 20 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by He (CN 114466131A machine translation) .
Regarding claim 20, He discloses an electronic device, comprising: a memory, a processor (¶47), and a touch control screen, wherein the touch control screen is configured to display content (¶88: touch operation on display screen 194); the memory is configured to store a computer program (¶47), and the computer program comprises program instructions; and the processor is configured to invoke the program instructions, so that the electronic device performs the following operations:
displaying, by the first electronic device, a first interface, wherein the first interface comprises a preview area and a switching control, the preview area displays a first image, the first image is an image acquired by a first camera, the first camera is a camera of the first electronic device, and the first image is acquired by the first camera based on a parameter value of an image acquisition parameter (¶93: As shown in FIG. 3-1A , when the user selects option 3105 on the interface 301 shown in FIG. 3-1 , the first electronic device displays an application interface 301A, and the interface 301A displays an image 3001 captured by the rear camera A20 of the first electronic device."; fig. 3-1A; it is considered as implicitly disclosed that a value of an image acquisition parameter (e.g exposure time, gain, frame rate ... ) is used to acquire the first image);
switching, by the first electronic device, a camera for image acquisition to a second camera at a first moment in response to a first input operation, wherein the second camera is a camera of a second electronic device (¶97-98: As shown in FIG4-1, after the user selects the "Select Camera" option 3102 on the interface 301 shown in FIG3-1, the first electronic device displays an application interface 401, and the interface 401 displays a device list 3102A that the user can select, and the device list 3102A includes the front camera A19 of the A mobile phone (the first electronic device), the rear camera A19 of the A mobile phone (the first electronic device), the front camera B16 of the B mobile phone (the second electronic device), the rear camera B17 of the B mobile phone (the second electronic device), and the C camera (the third device). As shown in FIG. 4-2 , a display interface 402 is shown in which a user selects the front camera A19 of mobile phone A (first electronic device) and the front camera B16 of mobile phone B (second electronic device) on the interface 401 shown in FIG. 4-1", figs. 4.1-4.2);
displaying, by the first electronic device, a second image that replaces the first image in the preview area at a second moment, wherein the second image is an image acquired by the second camera (¶102: "as shown in the figure, video image 4021 is displayed in the first area 4001 and video image 4022 is displayed in the second area, the video image 4021 is the image taken by the front camera A19 of mobile phone A, and the video image 4022 is the image taken by the front camera B16 of mobile phone B", fig. 4-4A; § [0109]:"single screen"), and during image acquisition by the second camera, a data frame cached in a buffer carries the image acquisition parameter (¶155, 156: obtains capture parameters during imaging);
responding to a second input operation performed on the switching control at a third moment (¶155, 156); and
displaying, by the first electronic device, a third image that replaces the second image in the preview area at a fourth moment, wherein the third image is an image acquired by a third camera, and the third camera is a camera of the second electronic device (¶155-156: B17 is third camera of second device).
Regarding claim 21, He discloses the limitations of claim 20. He also teaches wherein the image acquisition parameter comprises at least one of the following: a maximum frame rate, an exposure compensation value, and a coding scheme that are of an acquired image (¶161, 163: maximum frame rate supported by the current resolution).
Regarding claim 22, He discloses the limitations of claim 20. He also teaches wherein the second electronic device is an electronic device that establishes a multi-screen collaboration connection to the first electronic device (fig. 4-4).
Claims 1 – 3 are rejected as applied to claims 20 – 22 above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of He.
Claims 29 rejected as applied to claim 20 above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of He.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 – 9 and 23 – 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639