DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, corresponding to claims 20-26 in the reply filed on August 7th, 2026, is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 27-37 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
More specifically, the term “small” in claim 24 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “small” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prohaska et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0218791).
Prohaska discloses a device comprising:
At least one UV radiation source (51 and/or “UV radiator unit”) configured to emit radiation in a range of ultraviolet wavelengths (paragraphs 94 & 112); and
A beam-shaping and collimating optics (54/55) configured to shape the radiation to a UV beam at least approximately collimated in at least one dimension, wherein a beam angle, defined as an angle to an optical axis of the UV beam produces a collimated beam (paragraphs 95-102). Prohaska does not appear to disclose whether or not the beam angle includes 99% of a radiant flux being smaller than 2°; but readily notes that the angles outside of the collimated region are screened and removed, and the thickness and materials utilized to create (the ultimately beam angle or lack thereof) disclosed are preferred values and based off economic and ergonomic considerations that one of ordinary skill would optimize (paragraphs 95 & 96). As such, the Courts have held that "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456,105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). Therefore, it would have been well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to provide 99% of the radiant flux of the beam angle to be smaller than 2° in order to produce an appropriate collimated beam that focuses said radiation to produce the desired intensity in order to ensure contaminants do not pass through and are killed by the disclosed UV decontaminating wall between two different areas for a particular application and particular setting; as such is considered a result effective variable to one of ordinary skill that would be optimized during routine experimentation. Only the expected results would be attained.
Thus, claim 20 is not patentable over Prohaska.
Regarding claims 21 & 22, Prohaska continues to disclose that the UV radiation source (51 and/or “UV radiator unit”) and the beam-shaping and collimating optics (54/55) are further configured to at least approximately collimate the radiation in a first direction of space (i.e., thickness) perpendicular to a main direction of the UV beam (i.e., length), and at least approximately collimate the radiation in a second direction (i.e., width) of space perpendicular to the first direction of space (i.e., width) to the main direction of the UV beam (i.e., length) as set forth in paragraphs 21, 92, 96, 114 & 117.
With respect to claim 23, the reference further discloses that the UV radiation source (51 and/or “UV radiator unit”) and the beam-shaping and collimating optics (54/55) are further configured to shape the UV beam to have a wide-angle distribution with respect to a second direction of space (i.e., width), perpendicular to the first direction of space (i.e., thickness) and to the main direction of the UV beam (i.e., length) as set forth in paragraphs 21, 32 and 114.
Concerning claim 24, Prohaska discloses that the UV radiation source is a source that has a small etendue (Figures 3-5, 8-11 and 13-15).
Regarding claim 25, Prohaska also discloses that the geometrical dimensions of an emitting area of the UV radiation source is smaller than 2 mm in at least one direction (paragraph 92).
With respect to claim 26, Prohaska continues to disclose that the beam shaping and collimating optics comprises at least one reflector (paragraphs 95 & 96).
Conclusion
/KEVIN JOYNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799