DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application was filed 07/31/2024 and is a 371 of PCT/US2023/012145 (02/01/2023) which has PRO 63/305668 (02/01/022). Claims 1, 3, 7, 10,12-13, 14, 20-21, 24, 26, 34-35, 37, 42, 44, 52, 56 59 and 60 are before the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 7 depends on claim 2, which has been cancelled. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 44 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention. Specifically, the claims depict structures of compounds that are being claimed. However, the structures have errant markings that make the structures unclear. Specifically, page 49 last line structures #1 & 2; page 50 structures # 1, 2, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8 and 11; and page 71 last compound. There might be more structures with the same problems, so it is recommended that applicant check the claims for other problems.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10, 12, 13, 17, 20, 21, 24, 26, 56, 59 and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by USPGPub 20240108654 Kugler. Kugler teaches the following: claims 1&3: form (III) page 4 and (IIIa) page 4; claim 7 page 4 R10=CN (iii); claim 10 page 4 R2=Me; claim 12 n=0, m=1 R4=Me; claim 13 R2=CN or H; claim 17 R15= alkyl substituent with aryl being optionally substituted; claim 20 is page 4 #2; claim 21 page 4 #2 alkyl; claim 24 page 4 #5 or (iv) R25=halogen; claim 26 where R20=Me page 4; claim 56 the compound treats cancer therefore the must be a pharmaceutical composition; claims 59&60 claim 48 claims treatment of cancer. These claims are anticipated by Kugler.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10, 12, 13, 17, 20, 21, 24, 26, 37, 56, 59 and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO2021258010. WO teaches compounds #23 and 24 on page 32 of 197 that anticipate the instant claims as a treatment for cancer and as a pharmaceutical composition.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10, 12, 13, 17, 20, 21, 24, 26, 56, 59 and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 11866430 Chupak. Chupak teaches the treatment of cancer with a compound of formula (I) on col 3
that anticipates the instant claims. The definitions for the various variables follow.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10, 12, 13, 17, 20, 21, 24, 26, 37, 56, 59 and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 11713316 Velaparthi. Velaparthi teaches
compounds #17 (col 114) (col 1139) that anticipate the instant claims as a treatment for cancer and as a pharmaceutical composition.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10, 12, 13, 17, 20, 21, 24, 26, 34, 35, 37, 56, 59 and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 11964973 Gentles. Gentles teaches compounds such as C19 line 1
as well as exaple 49 and example 1 as a pharmaceutical composition that treats cancer. This anticiaptes the isntant claims.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10, 12, 13, 17, 20, 21, 24, 26, 37, 42, 56, 59 and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 12077538 Lu. Lu teaches
and compounds #8 and 9 column 60 that anticipate the instant claims as a treatment for cancer and as a pharmaceutical composition.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/D MARGARET M SEAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625