DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind, such as evaluation, comparison, and decision making) and abstract. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims directed to the mental process and abstract. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these additional elements are generic, well understood, routine, and conventional in the network communication systems. Below is the analysis:
Claim 1 recited “A traffic control apparatus comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform operations comprising: estimating an emission amount of a vehicle at a target point; and executing processing for controlling traffic of a target vehicle by use of the estimated emission amount.”.
Step 2A prong one: Yes, the claim is abstract idea for the following limitation:
. “A traffic control apparatus comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform operations comprising: estimating an emission amount of a vehicle at a target point” is the step for evaluating and determining the value which is directed to mental process and abstract.
. “and executing processing for controlling traffic of a target vehicle by use of the estimated emission amount.” is the step of executing command base on the determining value which is directed to mental process and abstract.
Step 2A prong two: Yes, the claim is abstract idea because the claim do not recite any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claims is using a generic processor and memory and they are well understood, routine, and conventional in the art.
Regarding claims 2-13 are further depend on claim 1 and the limitation do not recited any significantly more than the abstract idea as cited above for claim 1, therefore claims 2-13 are also reject for the same reason.
Claim 2 cited “The traffic control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes controlling the traffic of the target vehicle by at least one of controlling one or a plurality of traffic lights and performing route guidance for the target vehicle by use of the estimated emission amount.” is directed to abstract idea and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 3 cited “The traffic control apparatus according to claim 2, the operations further comprising granting a benefit to the target vehicle when traveling according to the route guidance, in a case where traffic of the target vehicle is controlled by performing the route guidance.” is directed to abstract idea and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 4 cited “The traffic control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes controlling the traffic of the target vehicle by use of the estimated emission amount in such a way that a velocity change amount of the target vehicle becomes small.” is directed to abstract idea and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 5 cited “The traffic control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes controlling the traffic of the target vehicle in such a way as to decrease a traffic volume at the target point when the estimated emission amount exceeds a previously determined criterion value.” is directed to abstract idea and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 6 cited “ The traffic control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein there are a plurality of the target points, and the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes controlling the traffic of the target vehicle in such a way as to pass through a target point where the estimated emission amount is small, with priority over another target point.” is directed to abstract idea and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 7 cited “The traffic control apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes controlling the traffic of the target vehicle in such a way as to pass through a target point where the estimated emission amount is smaller than a criterion value, with priority over another target point.” is directed to abstract idea and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 8 cited “The traffic control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes performing, when controlling traffic of the target vehicle by performing the route guidance, route guidance for the target vehicle by use of the estimated emission amount and a kind of the target vehicle.” is directed to abstract idea and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 9 cited “The traffic control apparatus according to claim 7, wherein, the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes performing, when the target vehicle is a previously determined first kind of a vehicle, route guidance in such a way as to pass through a target point where the estimated emission amount is large.” is directed to abstract idea and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 10 cited “The traffic control apparatus according to claim 7, wherein, the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes performing, when the target vehicle is a previously determined second kind of a vehicle, route guidance in such a way as to pass through a target point where the estimated emission amount is small.” is directed to abstract idea and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 11 cited “The traffic control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes deriving a prediction amount of an emission amount from the vehicle, and executing processing for controlling traffic of the target vehicle at the target point by use of the estimated emission amount and the prediction amount.” is directed to abstract idea and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 12 cited “The traffic control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes acquiring information relating to a CO2 absorber, and performing route guidance for the vehicle by use of the estimated emission amount and information relating to the CO2 absorber.” is directed to abstract idea and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 13 cited “A traffic control system comprising: the traffic control apparatus according to claim 1; a piece of sensor equipment that detects a physical amount for estimating an emission amount at the target point; and at least one of a traffic light and an in-vehicle apparatus.” is directed to abstract idea and a pieces of sensor is a generic component is routine and well know in the art. It does not add any technological improvement.
Claim 14 recited “A traffic control method comprising, by a computer: estimating an emission amount of a vehicle passing through a target point; and executing processing for controlling traffic of a target vehicle by use of the estimated emission amount.”
Step 2A prong one: Yes, the claim is abstract idea for the following limitation:
. “A traffic control method comprising, by a computer: estimating an emission amount of a vehicle passing through a target point;” is the step for evaluating and determining the value which is directed to mental process and abstract.
. “and executing processing for controlling traffic of a target vehicle by use of the estimated emission amount.” is the step of executing command base on the determining value which is directed to mental process and abstract.
Step 2A prong two: Yes, the claim is abstract idea because the claim do not recite any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claims is using a generic computer and it is well understood, routine, and conventional in the art.
Claim 15 recited “A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute: estimating an emission amount of a vehicle passing through a target point; and executing processing for controlling traffic of a target vehicle by use of the estimated emission amount.”
Step 2A prong one: Yes, the claim is abstract idea for the following limitation:
. “A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute: estimating an emission amount of a vehicle passing through a target point;” is the step for evaluating and determining the value which is directed to mental process and abstract.
. “and executing processing for controlling traffic of a target vehicle by use of the estimated emission amount.” is the step of executing command base on the determining value which is directed to mental process and abstract.
Step 2A prong two: Yes, the claim is abstract idea because the claim do not recite any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claims is using a generic computer and storage medium and they are well understood, routine, and conventional in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Naito Joji JP 2005004425.
Regarding claim 1, Naito Joji discloses A traffic control apparatus comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform operations comprising: estimating an emission amount of a vehicle at a target point; and executing processing for controlling traffic of a target vehicle by use of the estimated emission amount. (Naito Joji JP 2005004425 paragraphs [0011]- [0018]; [0020]-[0026]; [0036]-[0046];)
With this configuration, as described above, the total amount of air pollutants emitted from vehicles traveling on a road within a certain period of time can be accurately estimated, allowing traffic lights on surrounding roads to be controlled appropriately and traffic pollution to be sufficiently reduced (Naito Joji par. 20). In FIG. 1, 1 is a traffic pollution reduction device. This traffic pollution reduction device 1 estimates the amount of air pollutants emitted from each vehicle that travels on the road between intersection A and intersection B, and calculates the total amount. Reference numerals 2a to 2d denote signal control devices that control traffic lights installed at intersections A to D, respectively. 3 is a guide display installed upstream of intersection A. The guide display 3 displays traffic congestion information and detour route guidance to the driver (Naito Joji par. 21).
Regarding claim 2, Naito Joji discloses The traffic control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes controlling the traffic of the target vehicle by at least one of controlling one or a plurality of traffic lights and performing route guidance for the target vehicle by use of the estimated emission amount.
With this configuration, as described above, the total amount of air pollutants emitted from vehicles traveling on a road within a certain period of time can be accurately estimated, allowing traffic lights on surrounding roads to be controlled appropriately and traffic pollution to be sufficiently reduced (Naito Joji par. 20). In FIG. 1, 1 is a traffic pollution reduction device. This traffic pollution reduction device 1 estimates the amount of air pollutants emitted from each vehicle that travels on the road between intersection A and intersection B, and calculates the total amount. Reference numerals 2a to 2d denote signal control devices that control traffic lights installed at intersections A to D, respectively. 3 is a guide display installed upstream of intersection A. The guide display 3 displays traffic congestion information and detour route guidance to the driver (Naito Joji par. 21).
Regarding claim 3, Naito Joji discloses The traffic control apparatus according to claim 2, the operations further comprising granting a benefit to the target vehicle when traveling according to the route guidance, in a case where traffic of the target vehicle is controlled by performing the route guidance.
Another object of the present invention is to provide a traffic pollution reduction device that can properly control traffic lights on surrounding roads to reduce traffic pollution and properly display detour route guidance to drivers, thereby sufficiently suppressing the occurrence of traffic pollution (Natio Joji par. 11).
According to the cited passages and figure, examiner interprets reduce traffic pollution as a benefit for guidance the driver to another route.
Regarding claim 5, Naito Joji discloses The traffic control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes controlling the traffic of the target vehicle in such a way as to decrease a traffic volume at the target point when the estimated emission amount exceeds a previously determined criterion value.
Furthermore, the traffic pollution reduction device 1 executes the vehicle inflow adjustment process shown in FIG. 7 at predetermined time intervals (here, every five minutes). This vehicle inflow adjustment process is a process that reduces the number of vehicles entering the road between intersections A and B when the amount of air pollutants emitted by vehicles traveling on the road between intersections A and B exceeds a predetermined threshold and it is predicted that traffic pollution will occur between intersections A and B (Naito Joji par. 40).
Regarding claim 8, Naito Joji discloses The traffic control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes performing, when controlling traffic of the target vehicle by performing the route guidance, route guidance for the target vehicle by use of the estimated emission amount and a kind of the target vehicle.
With this configuration, as described above, the total amount of air pollutants emitted from vehicles traveling on a road within a certain period of time can be accurately estimated, allowing traffic lights on surrounding roads to be controlled appropriately and traffic pollution to be sufficiently reduced (Naito Joji par. 20). In FIG. 1, 1 is a traffic pollution reduction device. This traffic pollution reduction device 1 estimates the amount of air pollutants emitted from each vehicle that travels on the road between intersection A and intersection B, and calculates the total amount. Reference numerals 2a to 2d denote signal control devices that control traffic lights installed at intersections A to D, respectively. 3 is a guide display installed upstream of intersection A. The guide display 3 displays traffic congestion information and detour route guidance to the driver (Naito Joji par. 21).
Regarding claim 11, Naito Joji discloses The traffic control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes deriving a prediction amount of an emission amount from the vehicle, and executing processing for controlling traffic of the target vehicle at the target point by use of the estimated emission amount and the prediction amount.
With this configuration, as described above, the total amount of air pollutants emitted from vehicles traveling on a road within a certain period of time can be accurately estimated, allowing traffic lights on surrounding roads to be controlled appropriately and traffic pollution to be sufficiently reduced (Naito Joji par. 20). In FIG. 1, 1 is a traffic pollution reduction device. This traffic pollution reduction device 1 estimates the amount of air pollutants emitted from each vehicle that travels on the road between intersection A and intersection B, and calculates the total amount. Reference numerals 2a to 2d denote signal control devices that control traffic lights installed at intersections A to D, respectively. 3 is a guide display installed upstream of intersection A. The guide display 3 displays traffic congestion information and detour route guidance to the driver (Naito Joji par. 21).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. US 20160042234.
Regarding claim 14, Chen et al. disclose A traffic control method comprising, by a computer: estimating an emission amount of a vehicle passing through a target point; and executing processing for controlling traffic of a target vehicle by use of the estimated emission amount. (Chen et al. US 20160042234 abstract; paragraphs [0004]; [0025]-[0034]; [0039]; [0044]-[0053]; [0062]-[0063]; [0067]; [0085]-[0088]; [0099]; [0108]; Claim 21; figures 1-15;)
The computing device may estimate vehicle emissions for the vehicles in the video frame based on the vehicle count. The computing device may include a lookup table in memory that associates vehicle count with emission levels. The lookup table may incorporate other factors such as historic traffic levels, recent weather patterns, time of day, day of the year, or geographic area. The computing device generates a message based on the emissions result from the lookup table. The message may identify the road segment or a geographic location depicted in the video frame (Chen et al. par. 49). FIG. 6B illustrates a map view 172 incorporated with an exhaust emission indicator 171. The exhaust emission indicator may be overlaid on the map. For example, the paths or road segments may be colored, shaded or highlighted to represent various emission estimations. The example in FIG. 6B includes a darkly shaded region 174 that indicates high emission levels and a lightly shaded region 173 that indicates low emission levels. The exhaust emission indicator 171 may be updated in real time (e.g., continuous) or substantially real time. Substantially real time refers to periodic updates occurring in response to changes in the exhaust emission indicator 171 or every predetermined time period. In other words, images collected by the video camera 124 may be immediately analyzed to determine real time emission conditions, which are displayed in map view 172 or any other the other views described herein (Chen et al par. 63).
Regarding claim 15, Chen et al. disclose A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute: estimating an emission amount of a vehicle passing through a target point; and executing processing for controlling traffic of a target vehicle by use of the estimated emission amount. (Chen et al. US 20160042234 abstract; paragraphs [0004]; [0025]-[0034]; [0039]; [0044]-[0053]; [0062]-[0063]; [0067]; [0085]-[0088]; [0099]; [0108]; Claim 21; figures 1-15;)
The computing device may estimate vehicle emissions for the vehicles in the video frame based on the vehicle count. The computing device may include a lookup table in memory that associates vehicle count with emission levels. The lookup table may incorporate other factors such as historic traffic levels, recent weather patterns, time of day, day of the year, or geographic area. The computing device generates a message based on the emissions result from the lookup table. The message may identify the road segment or a geographic location depicted in the video frame (Chen et al. par. 49). FIG. 6B illustrates a map view 172 incorporated with an exhaust emission indicator 171. The exhaust emission indicator may be overlaid on the map. For example, the paths or road segments may be colored, shaded or highlighted to represent various emission estimations. The example in FIG. 6B includes a darkly shaded region 174 that indicates high emission levels and a lightly shaded region 173 that indicates low emission levels. The exhaust emission indicator 171 may be updated in real time (e.g., continuous) or substantially real time. Substantially real time refers to periodic updates occurring in response to changes in the exhaust emission indicator 171 or every predetermined time period. In other words, images collected by the video camera 124 may be immediately analyzed to determine real time emission conditions, which are displayed in map view 172 or any other the other views described herein (Chen et al par. 63). While the non-transitory computer-readable medium is shown to be a single medium, the term “computer-readable medium” includes a single medium or multiple media, such as a centralized or distributed database, and/or associated caches and servers that store one or more sets of instructions. The term “computer-readable medium” shall also include any medium that is capable of storing, encoding or carrying a set of instructions for execution by a processor or that cause a computer system to perform any one or more of the methods or operations disclosed herein (Chen et al. par. 99).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito Joji JP 2005004425 in view of Raamot US 20160027300.
Regarding claim 4, Naito Joji teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
Naito Joji does not explicitly teach The traffic control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes controlling the traffic of the target vehicle by use of the estimated emission amount in such a way that a velocity change amount of the target vehicle becomes small.
Raamot teach The traffic control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes controlling the traffic of the target vehicle by use of the estimated emission amount in such a way that a velocity change amount of the target vehicle becomes small. (Raamot US 20160027300 abstract; paragraphs [0346]-[0350]; figures 1-13)
The traffic controller 210 calculates the gross emissions component within the objective function in one embodiment by measuring the emissions of each vehicle using a lookup table according to the following equation:
[00007]emissionsvehicle=.Math.initial.Math..Math.decelerationreturn.Math..Math.to.Math..Math.FreeFlowSpeed.Math..Math.TF.Math.{COv->,a->vehicle}
The equation above provides the gross emissions of a vehicle through its trajectory where delay is encountered. The amount of emissions that would be generated from a vehicle that travels through the intersection without any delay (constant speed) is subtracted from this trajectory-modeled emissions above so that the net increase of emissions is processed by the objective function. This gross emissions for all vehicles can be logged for offline reporting and analysis within the ATMS (Raamot par. 348).
According to the cited passages and figure above, examiner interpret the vehicle travels through the intersection without any delay as a constant speed is same as the constant velocity. Therefore, the velocity change amount of the vehicle will be zero or near zero which is considered a small changing amount.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute the amount of emission that vehicle travel through the intersection without any delay for constant speed as taught by Raamot reference into Naito Joji reference and the result would be predictable for determining the amount of emissions.
Claims 6-7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito Joji JP 2005004425 in view of Ellis US 10147320.
Regarding claim 6, Naito Joji teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
Naito Joji does not explicitly teach The traffic control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein there are a plurality of the target points, and the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes controlling the traffic of the target vehicle in such a way as to pass through a target point where the estimated emission amount is small, with priority over another target point.
Ellis teaches The traffic control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein there are a plurality of the target points, and the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes controlling the traffic of the target vehicle in such a way as to pass through a target point where the estimated emission amount is small, with priority over another target point. (Ellis US 10147320 abstract; col. 1 lines 41-50; col. 2 lines 3-8; 26-64; col. 5 lines 56-61; col. 12 lines 4-34; col. 16 lines 42-67; col. 17 lines 1-6; figures 1-14;)
Another object of the present invention is to provide dynamic vehicle counts and emissions detecting mechanisms to sense, identify and classify types and levels of emissions from each vehicle, having data relating to undesirable emissions levels, and having data relating the number of vehicles to such undesirable emissions levels (Ellis col. 2 lines 3-8). Another object of the present invention is to employ lidar to enable traffic control light mechanisms to recognize vehicles and pedestrians, so as to provide safety and vehicle control, regulated and prioritized traffic, and reduced vehicle emissions (Ellis col. 2 lines 31-35). The self-driving vehicles safety system 10 of the lidar system 48 further includes an automatic vehicle count and emissions detection and mitigation mechanism 30, wherein the self-driving vehicles safety system 10 includes: a) a continuous-wave radar system portion that can be used to illuminate and detect vehicles by techniques employing semiconductor tracer-diode surveillance utilizing one or two carrier frequencies and looking for reflections of the third harmonic; b) a vehicle count and emissions detection mechanism system portion that processes information on a number of vehicles and levels of emissions for a given location and time period to determine if dynamic traffic assignment will be executed to preempt traffic control lights 16 to regulate the flow of vehicles 12; c) a mitigating vehicle emissions system portion that automatically adjusts stop light timing to speed up or reroute vehicle movement and that uses in-vehicle displays and in-vehicle interactive voice communications to relieve congestion; d) a traffic control light mechanism system portion that determines if dynamic traffic assignment is to be executed and that executes predetermined rerouting instructions, based on real or predicted traffic conditions, as measured by automatic vehicle counts; and e) an automatic, dynamic vehicle count system portion having an infrastructure emissions sensor system portion that senses, identifies and classifies types and levels of emissions in each vehicle 12 to provide safety and vehicle control, to regulate and prioritize traffic, and to reduce vehicle emissions (Ellis col. 12 lines 4-34).
According to the cite passages and figure, examiner interprets the system prioritize particular traffic pass by an intersection to keep the vehicle emission low in the area.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute the process of sense, identify, classify types and levels of emissions from each vehicle as taught by Ellis reference into Naito Joji reference and the result would be predictable for provide safety and vehicle control and prioritized traffic and reduced vehicle emissions.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Naito Joji and Ellis disclose The traffic control apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes controlling the traffic of the target vehicle in such a way as to pass through a target point where the estimated emission amount is smaller than a criterion value, with priority over another target point.
Another object of the present invention is to provide dynamic vehicle counts and emissions detecting mechanisms to sense, identify and classify types and levels of emissions from each vehicle, having data relating to undesirable emissions levels, and having data relating the number of vehicles to such undesirable emissions levels (Ellis col. 2 lines 3-8). Another object of the present invention is to employ lidar to enable traffic control light mechanisms to recognize vehicles and pedestrians, so as to provide safety and vehicle control, regulated and prioritized traffic, and reduced vehicle emissions (Ellis col. 2 lines 31-35). The self-driving vehicles safety system 10 of the lidar system 48 further includes an automatic vehicle count and emissions detection and mitigation mechanism 30, wherein the self-driving vehicles safety system 10 includes: a) a continuous-wave radar system portion that can be used to illuminate and detect vehicles by techniques employing semiconductor tracer-diode surveillance utilizing one or two carrier frequencies and looking for reflections of the third harmonic; b) a vehicle count and emissions detection mechanism system portion that processes information on a number of vehicles and levels of emissions for a given location and time period to determine if dynamic traffic assignment will be executed to preempt traffic control lights 16 to regulate the flow of vehicles 12; c) a mitigating vehicle emissions system portion that automatically adjusts stop light timing to speed up or reroute vehicle movement and that uses in-vehicle displays and in-vehicle interactive voice communications to relieve congestion; d) a traffic control light mechanism system portion that determines if dynamic traffic assignment is to be executed and that executes predetermined rerouting instructions, based on real or predicted traffic conditions, as measured by automatic vehicle counts; and e) an automatic, dynamic vehicle count system portion having an infrastructure emissions sensor system portion that senses, identifies and classifies types and levels of emissions in each vehicle 12 to provide safety and vehicle control, to regulate and prioritize traffic, and to reduce vehicle emissions (Ellis col. 12 lines 4-34).
According to the cite passages and figure, examiner interprets the system prioritize particular traffic pass by an intersection to keep the vehicle emission low in the area
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Naito Joji and Ellis disclose A traffic control system comprising: the traffic control apparatus according to claim 1; a piece of sensor equipment that detects a physical amount for estimating an emission amount at the target point; and at least one of a traffic light and an in-vehicle apparatus. (Ellis US 10147320 abstract; col. 1 lines 41-50; col. 2 lines 3-8; 26-64; col. 5 lines 56-61; col. 12 lines 4-34; col. 16 lines 42-67; col. 17 lines 1-6; figures 1-14;)
Another object of the present invention is to provide dynamic vehicle counts and emissions detecting mechanisms to sense, identify and classify types and levels of emissions from each vehicle, having data relating to undesirable emissions levels, and having data relating the number of vehicles to such undesirable emissions levels (Ellis col. 2 lines 3-8). Another object of the present invention is to employ lidar to enable traffic control light mechanisms to recognize vehicles and pedestrians, so as to provide safety and vehicle control, regulated and prioritized traffic, and reduced vehicle emissions (Ellis col. 2 lines 31-35). The self-driving vehicles safety system 10 of the lidar system 48 further includes an automatic vehicle count and emissions detection and mitigation mechanism 30, wherein the self-driving vehicles safety system 10 includes: a) a continuous-wave radar system portion that can be used to illuminate and detect vehicles by techniques employing semiconductor tracer-diode surveillance utilizing one or two carrier frequencies and looking for reflections of the third harmonic; b) a vehicle count and emissions detection mechanism system portion that processes information on a number of vehicles and levels of emissions for a given location and time period to determine if dynamic traffic assignment will be executed to preempt traffic control lights 16 to regulate the flow of vehicles 12; c) a mitigating vehicle emissions system portion that automatically adjusts stop light timing to speed up or reroute vehicle movement and that uses in-vehicle displays and in-vehicle interactive voice communications to relieve congestion; d) a traffic control light mechanism system portion that determines if dynamic traffic assignment is to be executed and that executes predetermined rerouting instructions, based on real or predicted traffic conditions, as measured by automatic vehicle counts; and e) an automatic, dynamic vehicle count system portion having an infrastructure emissions sensor system portion that senses, identifies and classifies types and levels of emissions in each vehicle 12 to provide safety and vehicle control, to regulate and prioritize traffic, and to reduce vehicle emissions (Ellis col. 12 lines 4-34).
According to the cite passages and figure, examiner interprets an infrastructure emissions sensor system as a piece sensor equipment to detect a level of emissions in each vehicle 12 pass through an intersection that regulate by a traffic light as mention above.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito Joji JP 2005004425, in view of Ellis US 10147320 in view of Witt et al. US 20170301233 and further in view of Chen et al. US 20160042234.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Naito Joji and Ellis teach all the limitation in the claim 7.
The combination of Naito Joji and Ellis do not explicitly teach The traffic control apparatus according to claim 7, wherein, the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes performing, when the target vehicle is a previously determined first kind of a vehicle, route guidance in such a way as to pass through a target point where the estimated emission amount is large.
Witt et al. teach The traffic control apparatus according to claim 7, wherein, the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes performing, when the target vehicle is a previously determined first kind of a vehicle, (Witt et al. US 20170301233 abstract; paragraphs [0004]-[0011]; [0037]-[0046] figures 1-5)
The communication device 102 may send characteristics received from the vehicles 2 to the central controller 104. The central controller 104 may comprise a processor 104a and a memory 104b. The memory 104b may comprise information defining the traffic management policy being enacted by the system 100. The processor 104a may apply the characteristics of each of the vehicles 2 to the policy in order to determine priorities of each of the vehicles 2. The priorities may be defined such that the movement of vehicles 2 having a higher priority may be prioritized over vehicles having a lower priority in order for the policy to be enacted. For example, if the policy is to limit the production of emissions, e.g. CO.sub.2 or NO.sub.X, within the system 100, older vehicles 2, vehicles 2 without hybrid or electric powertrains, and/or vehicles with a higher emissions category may be given a higher priority, such that the vehicles 2 are able to move more quickly through the system 100, minimizing the amount of emissions generated within the system 100. Alternatively, if the policy is to promote the use of electric vehicles 2, vehicles 2 having an electric powertrain may be given a higher priority. Alternatively, if the policy is to promote vehicle sharing, vehicles 2 having a higher occupancy may be given a higher priority than vehicles 2 having a lower occupancy. Alternatively, any other traffic management policy may be applied to determine the priorities of the vehicles 2 (Witt et al. par. 44).
According to the cited passages and figure, examiner interprets the system classify priority type for vehicle type as kind of the vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute the process of determine priorities vehicle as taught by Witt et al. reference into the modify system of Naito Joji and Ellis reference and the result would be predictable for classify type of vehicle with priority.
The combination of Naito Joji, Ellis and Witt et al. do not explicitly teach route guidance in such a way as to pass through a target point where the estimated emission amount is large.
Chen et al. teach route guidance in such a way as to pass through a target point where the estimated emission amount is large. (Chen et al. US 20160042234 abstract; paragraphs [0004]; [0025]-[0034]; [0039]; [0044]-[0053]; [0062]-[0063]; [0067]; [0085]-[0088]; [0099]; [0108]; Claim 21; figures 1-15;)
The computing device may estimate vehicle emissions for the vehicles in the video frame based on the vehicle count. The computing device may include a lookup table in memory that associates vehicle count with emission levels. The lookup table may incorporate other factors such as historic traffic levels, recent weather patterns, time of day, day of the year, or geographic area. The computing device generates a message based on the emissions result from the lookup table. The message may identify the road segment or a geographic location depicted in the video frame (Chen et al. par. 49). FIG. 6B illustrates a map view 172 incorporated with an exhaust emission indicator 171. The exhaust emission indicator may be overlaid on the map. For example, the paths or road segments may be colored, shaded or highlighted to represent various emission estimations. The example in FIG. 6B includes a darkly shaded region 174 that indicates high emission levels and a lightly shaded region 173 that indicates low emission levels. The exhaust emission indicator 171 may be updated in real time (e.g., continuous) or substantially real time. Substantially real time refers to periodic updates occurring in response to changes in the exhaust emission indicator 171 or every predetermined time period. In other words, images collected by the video camera 124 may be immediately analyzed to determine real time emission conditions, which are displayed in map view 172 or any other the other views described herein (Chen et al par. 63). The traffic levels and/or exhaust levels may also be used for autonomous driving. An autonomous vehicle is self-driving and may be referred to as a robot vehicle or an automated vehicle. The autonomous vehicle may include passengers but no driver is necessary. The mobile device 122 or another computer system in communication with the mobile device 122 may include instructions for routing the vehicle or operating the vehicle. An estimated travel time may be calculated based on the traffic values. The estimated travel times for possible routes and exhaust levels encountered on the routes may be displayed and a route may be chosen by a user based on the estimate travel time and the exhaust levels (Chen et al. par. 86).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the system or the driver can choose a route relative to the exhaust levels (i.e. high emission, medium emission or low emission).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the exhaust levels encountered on the routes and display to the user for user selecting taught by Chen et al. reference into the modify system of Naito Joji, Ellis and Witt et al. reference and the result would be predictable for user to choose a suitable route for them.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Naito Joji, Ellis, Witt et al. and Chen et al. disclose The traffic control apparatus according to claim 7, wherein, the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes performing, when the target vehicle is a previously determined second kind of a vehicle, (Witt et al. US 20170301233 abstract; paragraphs [0004]-[0011]; [0037]-[0046] figures 1-5)
The communication device 102 may send characteristics received from the vehicles 2 to the central controller 104. The central controller 104 may comprise a processor 104a and a memory 104b. The memory 104b may comprise information defining the traffic management policy being enacted by the system 100. The processor 104a may apply the characteristics of each of the vehicles 2 to the policy in order to determine priorities of each of the vehicles 2. The priorities may be defined such that the movement of vehicles 2 having a higher priority may be prioritized over vehicles having a lower priority in order for the policy to be enacted. For example, if the policy is to limit the production of emissions, e.g. CO.sub.2 or NO.sub.X, within the system 100, older vehicles 2, vehicles 2 without hybrid or electric powertrains, and/or vehicles with a higher emissions category may be given a higher priority, such that the vehicles 2 are able to move more quickly through the system 100, minimizing the amount of emissions generated within the system 100. Alternatively, if the policy is to promote the use of electric vehicles 2, vehicles 2 having an electric powertrain may be given a higher priority. Alternatively, if the policy is to promote vehicle sharing, vehicles 2 having a higher occupancy may be given a higher priority than vehicles 2 having a lower occupancy. Alternatively, any other traffic management policy may be applied to determine the priorities of the vehicles 2 (Witt et al. par. 44).
According to the cited passages and figure, examiner interprets the system classify priority type for vehicle type as kind of the vehicle.
route guidance in such a way as to pass through a target point where the estimated emission amount is small. (Chen et al. US 20160042234 abstract; paragraphs [0004]; [0025]-[0034]; [0039]; [0044]-[0053]; [0062]-[0063]; [0067]; [0085]-[0088]; [0099]; [0108]; Claim 21; figures 1-15;)
The computing device may estimate vehicle emissions for the vehicles in the video frame based on the vehicle count. The computing device may include a lookup table in memory that associates vehicle count with emission levels. The lookup table may incorporate other factors such as historic traffic levels, recent weather patterns, time of day, day of the year, or geographic area. The computing device generates a message based on the emissions result from the lookup table. The message may identify the road segment or a geographic location depicted in the video frame (Chen et al. par. 49). FIG. 6B illustrates a map view 172 incorporated with an exhaust emission indicator 171. The exhaust emission indicator may be overlaid on the map. For example, the paths or road segments may be colored, shaded or highlighted to represent various emission estimations. The example in FIG. 6B includes a darkly shaded region 174 that indicates high emission levels and a lightly shaded region 173 that indicates low emission levels. The exhaust emission indicator 171 may be updated in real time (e.g., continuous) or substantially real time. Substantially real time refers to periodic updates occurring in response to changes in the exhaust emission indicator 171 or every predetermined time period. In other words, images collected by the video camera 124 may be immediately analyzed to determine real time emission conditions, which are displayed in map view 172 or any other the other views described herein (Chen et al par. 63). The traffic levels and/or exhaust levels may also be used for autonomous driving. An autonomous vehicle is self-driving and may be referred to as a robot vehicle or an automated vehicle. The autonomous vehicle may include passengers but no driver is necessary. The mobile device 122 or another computer system in communication with the mobile device 122 may include instructions for routing the vehicle or operating the vehicle. An estimated travel time may be calculated based on the traffic values. The estimated travel times for possible routes and exhaust levels encountered on the routes may be displayed and a route may be chosen by a user based on the estimate travel time and the exhaust levels (Chen et al. par. 86).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the system or the driver can choose a route relative to the exhaust levels (i.e. high emission, medium emission or low emission).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 12, Naito Joji JP 2005004425, Chen et al. US 20160042234, Raamot US 20160027300, Ellis US 10147320, Witt et al. US 20170301233, Murahashi et al. US 20230054661, Dudar US 20200102904, Althen et al. US 20110208414, Mantalvanos US 20130099942 and Gao et al. US 9633560 are the closest art. They are teaching every limitation of claim 12 except for this limitation cited “The traffic control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes acquiring information relating to a CO2 absorber, and performing route guidance for the vehicle by use of the estimated emission amount and information relating to the CO2 absorber.”.
After update search, there are none of the prior arts of record singularly or combination, teaches or fairly suggest the features present in the claim 12 “The traffic control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes acquiring information relating to a CO2 absorber, and performing route guidance for the vehicle by use of the estimated emission amount and information relating to the CO2 absorber.”.
Prior arts of record fail to disclose “The traffic control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing for controlling the traffic of the target vehicle includes acquiring information relating to a CO2 absorber, and performing route guidance for the vehicle by use of the estimated emission amount and information relating to the CO2 absorber.”. However, upon consideration of the claim invention, there is no reasoning to combine the applied references to arrive in the context of the claim invention.
Conclusion
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686