DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed on September 19, 2025. As directed by the amendment, claims 1-2 and 13-14 have been amended.
Claims 1-14 remain pending.
The amendment to claims 13-14 are sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C § 112(b) rejections from the previous Office action. Those rejections are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a memory coupled to a processor which when executed, causes the processor to perform personal authentication of the user based on the image captured in claim 13 is a computer implemented mean-plus-function, see MPEP 2181(II)B, the corresponding structure is disclosed in [0054] and [0058] of instant specification as filed.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The term or phrase “costume-like” and “the external member is integrated with the robot body” each lack antecedence basis in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 3-14, claim 1 as amended, introduces the word or terminology “costume-like”. As noted in the objection to the specification above, this term/phrase finds no counterpart in the specification, much less, an Applicant defined definition. As such, this word or phrase takes the full breadth of its ordinary meaning, for example, “a set of clothes you wear when you want to dress up like another person” https://www.vocabulary.com/dictionary/costume. The most relevant section of the specification as filed is page 5, first paragraph in regards to “soft cloth and the like” in reference to external member 10. A costume is not limited to soft cloth, as such, the amendment to claims 1 and 3-14 goes beyond the original disclosure and fails to convey to those of ordinary skill in the art that the Applicant was in possession of the invention now claimed.
Regarding claim 2, the amendment in the last line to recite that “the entire external member is integrated with the robot body” fails to meet the written description requirement. The most relevant section of the disclosure as filed in specification [0018] that discusses integration of external members of the torso and arm, there is no disclosure of external member being integrated with a robot body. If examiner is mistaken, Applicant is respectfully requested to cite specific section of the original disclosure that provide written description for the limitations in question.
Claims 1 and 3-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recite in part, costume-like exterior. The scope of the phrase “costume-like” is unclear considering the phrase is not defined in the specification as filed. Claims 3-14 are likewise rejected, because they inherit the deficiency of base claim 1.
Claim 13 recite in part, “a memory coupled to the processor which when executed causes the processor to….”. However, memory as best understood by those of ordinary skill in the art, is the thing or element that stores the thing or element that is usually executed by a processor. This is consistent with instant specification as filed , page 17, first paragraph and page 18 first full paragraph. For this reason, claim 13 is rejected, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: the thing or element that is stored in the memory, to be executed by the processor.
Claim 14 is rejected under this Statue for substantially similar rationale as claim 13, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: the thing or element that is stored in the memory, to be executed by the processor. For examination purposes only, for claims 13 and 14, it will be presumed that the claims recite the memory storing one or more programs, which are executed by the processor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Hayashi et al., US 20200030707 A1 hereinafter "Hayashi" in view of previously cited Ouchi US 20060217612 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi discloses a robot (“100”), comprising: an external member, wherein the external member is a costume-like exterior ([0039] “… The robot 100 may be clothed. By the body 104, which is rounded, soft, and pleasant to touch”; [0057] “The outer skin 314 is formed of urethane sponge, and covers the main body frame 310 from an outer side”; and [0133] “the outer skin 314 is configured by a base material 520 having elasticity being housed in a fabric bag 522, and is formed of a soft material that feels good to touch all over. The fabric bag 522 is such that a fabric material smooth to the touch, such as polyester, is sewn into a bag form, and a non-woven fabric (non-woven fabric) is provided on an inner side of a face that forms an outer side when mounted on the robot 100” - see the 35 USC § 112 rejections above, robot 100 is clothed, hence costume-like under broadest reasonable interpretation, see definition noted above. Moreover, external member disclosed by Hayashi is also substantially similar, if not the same as the external member disclosed in Application specification as filed in page 5, first paragraph, as such external member of Hayashi is taken to read on recited “costume-like exterior”, see also MPEP 2112.01 (I) Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)); and
an electromagnetic wave sensor that is provided internally of the external member ([0079]”The internal sensor 128 is a collection of various kinds of sensor incorporated in the robot 100. Specifically, the internal sensor 128 is… a distance measuring sensor (infrared sensor)”).
Hayashi does not explicitly disclose that the internal sensor is configured to obtain biological information of a user by using electromagnetic waves.
Ouchi discloses a biological information monitoring apparatus ([abstract], [0001]) comprising an electromagnetic sensor configured to obtain biological information of a user by using electromagnetic waves ([0006]) wherein the sensor may be arranged underneath a surface ([0042]) because the electromagnetic waves can be transmitted through back cushion, cloth and wear of a subject ([0043]). Ouchi expressly suggest incorporating the sensors into a robot, “so as to operate as remote sensing and feedback means so that people can be positively assisted by the robot on the basis the biological information of the people acquired by the system” ([0049]). In view of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to have modified the robot of Hayashi to include an electromagnetic wave sensor underneath the external member (outer skin 314) of Hayashi, as suggested by Ouchi, so as to operate as remote sensing and feedback means so that people can be positively assisted by the robot on the basis the biological information of the people acquired by the system” while maintaining the external appearance of the robot.
Regarding claims 3-8, Hayashi in view of Ouchi discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above, Hayashi further discloses wherein the outer skin 314 is formed of a soft material having elasticity [0039] - [claim 3], urethane sponge [0057], fabric bag such as polyester sewed into a bag form and a non-woven fabric provided on an inner side [0134], rubber sponge [0177] or resin material will have a hardness as claimed by virtue of the materials disclosed by Hayashi being the same as the claimed materials, see MPEP 2112.01 (I) Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) [claim 4]; and will have a soft portion externally of the electromagnetic wave sensor by virtue of the sensor being underneath the outer skin 314 as modified by Ouchi [claim 5]. The robot as disclosed by Hayashi comprise a robot body “104” see e.g., Figs. 1A-1B, wherein the body includes the soft portion [claim 6]; the robot body can be described as including a torso (part of body 104 that excludes the head, neck, arms and legs) and the torso includes the soft portion [claim 7]; and the torso includes an abdomen, and the abdomen includes the soft portion [claim 8].
Regarding claims 9-10, Hayashi in view of Ouchi discloses the invention of claim 3 as discussed above, as modified by Ouchi, the external member will have a transmittance greater than 1% with respect to electromagnetic waves having a frequency greater 300 MHz and lower than 300 GHz in view of teachings of Ouchi in [0043] that the electromagnetic waves can be transmitted through back cushion, cloth and wear of a subject [claim 9], also note: the electromagnetic wave sensor of Hayashi as modified by Ouchi and the external member are similar to the claimed elements and are expected to have the same properties, MPEP 2112.01 (I) section noted in preceding paragraph is also applicable here.
As to claim 10, the thickness of the external member of Hayashi will have a thickness that falls in the claimed range, in any event, Hayashi teaches in [0181] that a thickness of the base material is variable to achieve an intended elasticity. Since the particular parameter of the thickness range affects elasticity, it is a matter of optimization as being result effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to use the particular parameter of the thickness range in order to achieve a suitable elasticity of the external member, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233(MPEP 2144.05 (II-A)).
Regarding claims 11-12, Hayashi in view of Ouchi discloses the invention of claim 3 as discussed above, the robot of Hayashi comprise a robot body (“104”) see illustration Figs. 1A-1B, and a driven body that includes an arm (“106”) that is displaceable relative to the robot body ([0061] “A drive mechanism for driving the arm 106…”).
Regarding claim 13, Hayashi in view of Ouchi discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above, further comprising: a camera, configured to capture an image of the user; a processor and a memory a coupled to the processor ([0083]), which when executed, cause the processor to send a signal to the camera to capture the image of the user and perform personal authentication of the user based on the image captured ( see Fig. 7, data processing unit 136[0099] “… person recognizing unit 214 determines what person a filmed user corresponds to by comparing a feature vector extracted from an image filmed by the camera incorporated in the robot 100 and a feature vector of a user (cluster) registered in advance in the individual data storage unit 218 (a user identification process)” person recognizing unit 214 is an equivalent thereof controller 13 that achieves functions of authentication unit 104 disclosed in [0054] and [0058] of the instant specification as filed).
Regarding claim 2, Hayashi discloses a robot (“100”), comprising: a robot body “104” see e.g., Figs. 1A-1B, an external member, wherein the external member includes an organic material ([0057] “The outer skin 314 is formed of urethane sponge, and covers the main body frame 310 from an outer side”; and [0133] “the outer skin 314 is configured by a base material 520 having elasticity being housed in a fabric bag 522, and is formed of a soft material that feels good to touch all over. The fabric bag 522 is such that a fabric material smooth to the touch, such as polyester, is sewn into a bag form, and a non-woven fabric (non-woven fabric) is provided on an inner side of a face that forms an outer side when mounted on the robot 100” - each portion of external member (outer skin 314) noted above is an organic material; an electromagnetic wave sensor that is provided internally of the external member ([0079]”The internal sensor 128 is a collection of various kinds of sensor incorporated in the robot 100. Specifically, the internal sensor 128 is… a distance measuring sensor (infrared sensor)”).
Hayashi does not explicitly disclose that the internal sensor is configured to obtain biological information of a user by using electromagnetic waves.
Ouchi discloses a biological information monitoring apparatus ([abstract], [0001]) comprising an electromagnetic sensor configured to obtain biological information of a user by using electromagnetic waves ([0006]) wherein the sensor may be arranged underneath a surface ([0042]) because the electromagnetic waves can be transmitted through back cushion, cloth and wear of a subject ([0043]). Ouchi expressly suggest incorporating the sensors into a robot, “so as to operate as remote sensing and feedback means so that people can be positively assisted by the robot on the basis the biological information of the people acquired by the system” ([0049]). In view of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to have modified the robot of Hayashi to include an electromagnetic wave sensor underneath the external member (outer skin 314) of Hayashi, as suggested by Ouchi, so as to operate as remote sensing and feedback means so that people can be positively assisted by the robot on the basis the biological information of the people acquired by the system” while maintaining the external appearance of the robot.
To continue, the external member above the electromagnetic wave sensor in modified Hayashi would have a thickness, although Hayashi does not specify a thickness, Hayashi teaches in [0181] that a thickness of the base material is variable to achieve an intended elasticity. Since the particular parameter of the thickness range affects elasticity, it is a matter of optimization as being result effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to use the particular parameter of the thickness range in order to achieve a suitable elasticity of the external member, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233(MPEP 2144.05 (II-A)).
Hayashi further discloses wherein the outer skin 314 includes a soft portion ([0039]) and is made of urethane sponge [0057], fabric bag such as polyester sewed into a bag form and a non-woven fabric provided on an inner side [0134], rubber sponge [0177] or resin material will have a hardness as claimed by virtue of the materials disclosed by Hayashi being the same as the claimed materials, see MPEP 2112.01 (I) Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)
In regards to the entire external member being integrated with the robot body, see the 35 U.S.C 112(a) rejections above, examiner notes Figs. 11A-11B of Hayashi that depict an external member 314 that is integrated consistent with the disclosure as filed. In regards to the recitation in the claim, Hayashi discloses the external member and the robot body as separate, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to have integrated the entire external member of Hayashi with the robot body, because it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993)( : MPEP 2144.04 (V-B)). IN view of these,
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi in view of Ouchi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chiang et al., US 20130141306 A1 hereinafter “Chiang”.
Regarding claim 14, Hayashi in view of Ouchi discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above, further comprising a processor and a memory storing one or more programs ([0083]), however, Hayashi does not explicitly disclose a tactile sensor or capacitive sensor configured to detect contact or proximity of the user to the robot and cause the electromagnetic wave sensor to start obtainment of the biological information based on a detection result obtained.
However, Ouchi teaches in [0021] “The distance good for remote sensing is typically not longer than 1 m. A heat sensor 20 adapted to detect an approaching person may be arranged in the wash basin or the like for the purpose of turning on and off the switch of the monitoring apparatus. Instead of a heat sensor 20, a camera may be arranged to check if a person is standing in front of the wash basin or not and identify the person standing in front of the wash basin and the site of the body to be sensed by the bio monitor” . Accordingly, Ouchi teaches use of proximity sensors to detect proximity of a person, to activate the electromagnetic wave sensor.
Chiang in the same problem solving area of activating an electromagnetic wave generating circuit of a sensor, discloses a mixed antenna system consisting of a control integrated circuit which switches the antenna to a capacitive proximity sensor for enabling the capacitive proximity sensor to sense an approaching external object, and then switches the antenna away the capacitive proximity sensor to an electromagnetic wave generating circuit of a sensor, thus saving energy and reducing heat ([abstract], [0002]).
In view of the combined teachings of Ouchi and Chiang, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to have modified Hayashi to include a proximity sensor and electromagnetic wave sensor in a single antenna and a control integrated circuit that switches the antenna to a capacitive proximity sensor for enabling the capacitive proximity sensor to sense an approaching person to the robot, and then switches the antenna away the capacitive proximity sensor to an electromagnetic wave generating circuit to collect biological information of the user, because Ouchi teaches in [0021] that distance good for remote sensing is typically not longer than 1 m, and activating the electromagnetic wave sensor to collect biological information after detecting a user is less than 1 m from the robot would increase accuracy in collecting the biological information and in view of the teachings of Chiang, the modified system would save electrical energy and reduce heat.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 19, 2025 have been fully considered and are each addressed as follows:
In regards to claim interpretation of claim 13, examiner notes that recitation of “a memory coupled to the processor” does not recite sufficient structure for performing the function “perform personal authentication of the user based on the image captured”, because this function is directed towards an algorithm. As such, in the current form, the claim language invokes claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C 112(f) - see MPEP 2181 (II) B. Computer implemented means=plus-function limitations.
In response to arguments directed to the prior art rejections, Applicant refers to [0005] of Hayashi, however, examiner notes that [0006] of Hayashi is geared towards overcoming the effects of costumes that causes an oddity to occur in an external appearance of the robot, such as a wrinkle. As noted in the rejection section, the costume-like recitations raises 35 U.S.C 112(a) issues as noted above, moreover, as noted in the rejection section, the external member of Hayashi is substantially similar, if not the same as the external member disclosed in instant specification as filed in page 5, first paragraph, as such external member of Hayashi is taken to read on recited external member “costume-like exterior”, see also MPEP 2112.01 (I) Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
In arguments directed to claim 2, examiner notes that similar limitations were previously addressed in previously presented claims 3-10, because Applicant does not point out disagreements with the examiner' s contentions, explaining how the claims avoid the references or distinguish from them, Applicant’s arguments directed to claim 2 are deemed not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BONIFACE N NGANGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797