CTNF 18/834,850 CTNF 78941 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-8, 12-14, 18-20, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a(1) as being anticipated by Pajukoski et al. (US 8,320,395) . Referring to Claim 1, Pajukoski teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a wireless device, comprising: dividing a frequency band into a plurality of subbands for closed loop power control (CLPC) (see claim 1 which shows the dividing of a frequency band into a plurality of sub blocks and col. 5, lines 35-41 which shows the CLPC); obtaining a transmit power out measurement for each subband of the plurality of subbands (see claim 1 which shows the receiving of the transmit power out measurements of multiple user terminals each of which are allocated to a sub block); averaging the transmit power out measurements of the plurality of subbands to obtain a transmit power out correction as part of the CLPC (see claim 1 which shows the average receiving power of the transmissions of the user terminals); and transmitting a communication based at least in part on the transmit power out correction, wherein the transmit power out correction is applied to a transmit power out for each subband (see claim 1 which shows a communication which controls the transmission power of the user terminals). Claims 7, 13, and 19 have similar limitations as claim 1. Referring to Claims 2, 8, 14, and 20, Pajukoski also teaches the transmit power out correction the same for each subband of the plurality of subbands (see col. 6, line 60 to col. 7, line 10 which shows the user terminals have the same modulation and coding schemes and col. 7, lines 24-27 which shows the controlling of transmission power based on modulation and coding schemes of the user terminals which means the controlling of transmission power is the same for the user terminals which have the same modulation and coding schemes). Referring to Claims 6, 12, 18, and 24, Pajukoski also teaches performing frequency hopping, wherein a transmit power out for each hop is adjusted using the correction (see col. 7, lines 41-59 which shows frequency hopping using a modulation and coding scheme which determines the adjusted transmission power) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4, 5, 10, 11, 16, 17, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pajukoski in view of Shahar (US 2011/0044231) . Referring to Claims 4, 10, 16, and 22, Pajukoski does not teach a quantity of the plurality of subbands based at least in part on a capability of the apparatus. Shahar teaches a quantity of the plurality of subbands based at least in part on a capability of the apparatus (see paragraph 105 which shows the number of subcarriers based on frequency spacing which is dependent on speed, distance, and multipath conditions which are the capabilities). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Shahar to the device of Pajukoski in order to conserve power by properly allocating use of frequency subcarriers. Referring to Claims 5, 11, 17, and 23, Shahar also teaches a quantity of the plurality of subbands based at least in part on a size of the frequency band (see paragraphs 76 and 77 which shows the number of subchannels and subcarriers based on channel size). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Shahar to the device of Pajukoski in order to conserve power by properly allocating use of frequency subcarriers . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3, 9, 15, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pajukoski in view of Morita et al. (US 2015/0011229) . Referring to Claims 3, 9, 15, and 21, Pajukoski does not teach the transmit power out correction as a negative of an average of the transmit power out measurements of the polarity of subbands. Morita teaches the transmit power out correction as a negative of an average of the transmit power out measurements of the polarity of subbands (see paragraph 45 which shows the transmission power negatively affect by being reduced and paragraph 48 which shows the average transmission power). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Morita to the device of Pajukoski in order to reduce interference while maintaining proper user of power. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to EUGENE YUN whose telephone number is (571)272-7860. The examiner can normally be reached 9am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Wesley Kim can be reached at 5712727867. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /EUGENE YUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/834,850 Page 2 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/834,850 Page 3 Art Unit: 2648