Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,5,15,35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al (PG Pub 2019/0035859 A1) and Jung et al (PG Pub 2019/0165061 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches a display panel, comprising: a substrate (10, fig. 5); a first electrode layer disposed on a side of the substrate, wherein the first electrode layer includes a plurality of first electrode blocks (31F, fig. 4) and a plurality of second electrode blocks (31G), and an area of a first electrode block is greater (paragraphs [0107][0053][0055]) than an area of a second electrode block; the plurality of first electrode blocks are arranged in an array of rows and columns, each row includes first electrode blocks arranged in a first direction, and each column includes first electrode blocks arranged in a second direction, the first direction being substantially perpendicular to the second direction; each second electrode block is located between four adjacent first electrode blocks arranged in two rows and two columns (fig. 4); and a light-emitting definition layer (15, paragraph [0102]) disposed on a side of the first electrode layer away from the substrate, wherein the light-emitting definition layer has a plurality of first light- transmitting holes (fig. 5), at least a part of each first electrode block is exposed by a first light-transmitting hole, and at least a part of each second electrode block is exposed (pixels SPX1 to SPX3 formed by holes in 15, figs. 1 and 5 of Kang and figs. 3 and 4,paragraph [0074] of Jung) by a first light-transmitting hole; and at least part of a boundary of at least one first light-transmitting hole is curved (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Kang teaches the display panel according to 1, wherein the plurality of first light-transmitting holes include a plurality of first light- transmitting sub-holes, a plurality of second light-transmitting sub-holes and a plurality of third light-transmitting sub-holes; an area of a first light-transmitting sub-hole (SPX2, fig. 1) is greater than an area of a third light-transmitting sub-hole (SPX1, paragraph [0056]); the area of the third light-transmitting sub-hole is greater than an area of a second light-transmitting sub-hole (SPX3, paragraph [0055]); each of the first light-transmitting sub-hole and the third light-transmitting sub-hole exposes at least a part of a respective first electrode block, and the second light-transmitting sub- hole exposes at least a part of a second electrode block; and at least part of a boundary of at least one of the first light-transmitting sub-hole, the second light-transmitting sub-hole and the third light-transmitting sub-hole is curved (figs. 5 and 1).
Regarding claim 15, Kang teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the light-emitting definition layer further has a plurality of second light- transmitting holes (SPX1, figs. 1 and 5); and an orthogonal projection, on the substrate, of each second light-transmitting hole is located between orthogonal projections, on the substrate, of adjacent second electrode blocks (SPX3, figs. 1 and 5) in the second direction.
Regarding claim 35, Kang teaches a display device, comprising the display panel according to claim 1 (paragraph [0199], figs 1-5).
Claim(s) 1 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (PG Pub 2019/0165061 A1), Kim et al (PG Pub 2019/0074329 A1), and Ito et al (PG Pub 2004/0021413 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches a display panel, comprising: a substrate (110, fig. 3); a first electrode layer disposed on a side of the substrate, wherein the first electrode layer includes a plurality of first electrode blocks (211 under B, figs. 3 and 4) and a plurality of second electrode blocks (211 under G), and an area of a first electrode block is greater (paragraph [0076]) than an area of a second electrode block; the plurality of first electrode blocks are arranged in an array of rows and columns, each row includes first electrode blocks arranged in a first direction (D1, see fig. 4 attached), and each column includes first electrode blocks arranged in a second direction (D2), the first direction being substantially perpendicular to the second direction; each second electrode block is located between four adjacent first electrode blocks arranged in two rows and two columns (fig. 4); and a light-emitting definition layer (190, fig. 3) disposed on a side of the first electrode layer away from the substrate, wherein the light-emitting definition layer has a plurality of first light- transmitting holes (195, figs. 3 and 4, paragraph [0073]), at least a part of each first electrode block is exposed by a first light-transmitting hole, at least a part of each second electrode block is exposed by a first light-transmitting hole.
Jung does not teach at least part of a boundary of at least one first light-transmitting hole is curved.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches at least part of a boundary of at least one first light-transmitting hole is curved (OP1/OP2, fig. 8) for the benefit of achieving depositing EL of uniform thickness (paragraph [0142] of Ito).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make at least part of a boundary of at least one first light-transmitting hole curved for the benefit of achieving depositing EL of uniform thickness.
Regarding claim 18, Jung teaches the display panel according to wherein the first electrode layer further includes a plurality of first connection strips (see 1st CS, fig. 4 above) and a plurality of second connection strips (2nd CS, fig. 4 above), each first connection strip is electrically connected to a first electrode block, and each second connection strip is electrically connected to a second electrode block; in the second direction, a single first connection strip and a single second connection strip are arranged between each two adjacent first electrode blocks (211 under B, fig. 4).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (PG Pub 2019/0165061 A1), Kim et al (PG Pub 2019/0074329 A1), and Ito et al (PG Pub 2004/0021413 A1) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Yang et al (WO 2021/017840 A1), English translation is found in US PG Pub 2022/0051627 A1.
Regarding claim 19, the previous combination remains as applied in claim 18.
Jung further teaches the display panel according to claim 18, further comprising: a first planarization layer (146, fig. 3) in contact with a surface of the first electrode layer proximate to the substrate, wherein the first planarization layer is provided therein with connection holes (filled by the via in 146), wherein a minimum distance between an orthogonal projection of a boundary of a connection hole on the substrate and an orthogonal projection of a boundary of the first light- transmitting hole on the substrate is greater than or equal to a second preset value (inherent: since “a second preset value” is not specified).
Jung does not teach each first connection strip extends into a corresponding connection hole, and each second connection strip extends into a corresponding connection hole.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches each first connection strip (Ce3/Ce4, fig. 13) extends into a corresponding connection hole (h3/h4), and each second connection strip (Ce1) extends into a corresponding connection hole (h1), for the benefit of connecting the pixels to control circuits (paragraphs [0162][0164]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make each first connection strip extend into a corresponding connection hole, and each second connection strip extend into a corresponding connection hole for the benefit of connecting the pixels to control circuits.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al (PG Pub 2019/0035859 A1) and Jung et al (PG Pub 2019/0165061 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hu et al (WO 2022/052192 A1), English translation is found in US PG Pub 2022/0310710 A1.
Regarding claim 10, the previous combination remains as applied in claim 1.
The previous combination does not teach an outer contour of at least one first light-transmitting hole includes a first straight border, a second straight border and a third curved border; the first straight border and the second straight border are connected to form a polyline-shaped border; two ends of the third curved border are respectively connected to two ends of the polyline-shaped border; and two connection points connecting the two ends of the third curved border to the polyline-shaped border are a third connection point and a fourth connection point; a line connecting the third connection point and the fourth connection point is a second line segment, a length of the second line segment is a maximum dimension of the first light-transmitting hole, and the second line segment divides the first light-transmitting hole into a third sub-portion including the first straight border and the second straight border and a fourth sub- portion including the third curved border; and an area of the third sub-portion is greater than an area of the fourth sub-portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Hu teaches an outer contour of at least one first light-transmitting hole includes a first straight border (D1, fig. 8A below), a second straight border (D2) and a third curved border (B31 to B33); the first straight border and the second straight border are connected to form a polyline-shaped border; two ends of the third curved border are respectively connected to two ends of the polyline-shaped border; and two connection points connecting the two ends of the third curved border to the polyline-shaped border are a third connection point and a fourth connection point; a line connecting (M2) the third connection point and the fourth connection point is a second line segment, a length of the second line segment is a maximum dimension of the first light-transmitting hole, and the second line segment divides the first light-transmitting hole into a third sub-portion including the first straight border and the second straight border and a fourth sub- portion including the third curved border; and an area of the third sub-portion (left of M2) is greater (the solid lines form a rectangle, paragraph [0131], the dotted line divides it in halves, the right portion has a missing part, dotted oval) and the than an area of the fourth sub-portion (right of M2).
Regarding claim 11, Hu teaches the display panel according to claim 10, wherein the third curved border includes a first straight sub-line segment (B31, fig. 6 attached above), a first curved sub-line segment (B32) and a second straight sub-line segment (B33) connected in sequence, the first straight sub-line segment is connected to the first straight border, and the second straight sub-line segment is connected to the second straight border; the first straight sub-line segment is substantially parallel to the second straight border (rectangle, paragraph [0131]), and the second straight sub-line segment is substantially parallel to the first straight border (rectangle, paragraph [0131]).
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al (PG Pub 2019/0035859 A1) and Jung et al (PG Pub 2019/0165061 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al (PG Pub 2023/0050385 A1).
Regarding claim 33, the previous combination remains as applied in claim 1.
The previous combination does not teach a color filter.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches a color filter (CF/321/322, figs. 7 and 8) disposed on a side of the light-emitting definition layer (PDL) away from the substrate (110), wherein the color filter includes a plurality of first filter portions and a plurality of second filter portions; an area of a first filter portion (CF on R, fig. 7) is greater than an area of a second filter portion (CF on G); an orthogonal projection of a boundary of each first electrode block (AE1) on the substrate is located within an orthogonal projection of a boundary of a first filter portion (CF/321/322, figs. 7 and 8) on the substrate; and an orthogonal projection of a boundary of each second electrode block on the substrate is located within an orthogonal projection of a boundary of a second filter portion (CF/321/322, figs. 7 and 8) on the substrate, for the benefit of enhancing color purity (paragraph [0113]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include color filters disposed as claimed for the benefit of enhancing color purity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4,6,20-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art does not teach
“a line connecting centers of adjacent first light-transmitting sub-hole and third light- transmitting sub-hole is a first connection line, and a line connecting centers of two first electrode blocks corresponding to the adjacent first light-transmitting sub-hole and third light-transmitting sub-hole is a second connection line; and at least one first connection line is not parallel to a corresponding second connection line” (claim 2);
“an outer contour of at least one first light-transmitting hole includes a first curved border and a second curved border, two ends of the first curved border are respectively connected to two ends of the second curved border, and two connection points of the first curved border and the second curved border are a first connection point and a second connection point; a line connecting the first connection point and the second connection point is a first line segment, a length of the first line segment is a maximum dimension of the first light- transmitting hole, and the first line segment divides the first light-transmitting hole into a first sub- portion including the first curved border and a second sub-portion including the second curved border; and an area of the first sub-portion is greater than an area of the second sub-portion” (claim 6);
“a region where an orthogonal projection of a first electrode block overlaps with an orthogonal projection of a first power signal line < on the substrate is symmetrical with respect to a median line of the first electrode block in the second direction” (claim 20).
Conclusion
/FEIFEI YEUNG LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899