CTNF 18/834,859 CTNF 81709 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-6 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awada et al. (Awada), U.S. Publication No. 2023/0319669 . Regarding Claim 1, Awada discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: initiating a transmission of failure information for the cell group based on detecting a failure on the cell group, wherein the TA timer for the cell group expires based on the transmission of the failure information being initiated (i.e., The UE 10 that is configured with a specific timer (referred to as timer T316) and with split Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB) 1 or SRB3 initiates the procedure to report MCG failure when neither MCG nor Secondary Cell Group (SCG) transmission is suspended; see paragraph [0112]) ; transmitting the failure information for the cell group (i.e., the UE 10 starts timer T316 and initiates the transmission of the MCG Failure Information containing the failure type (for example, expiry of timer T310 or random access problem, or maximum number of retransmissions has been reached), measurement results for MCG and SCG to the SN via SRB1-split bearer or SRB3; see paragraph [0113]) ; receiving a configuration for failure recovery of the failure on the cell group after transmitting the failure information (i.e., Then the UE 10 waits for an RRC reconfiguration information (e.g. either RRC Release or the RRC Reconfiguration (Reconfiguration with sync/HO command)) from the MN1 (i.e. gNB 20); see paragraph [0114]) . Although Awada does not disclose receiving a time alignment (TA) configuration, starting a TA timer related to the TA configuration for a cell group and restarting the TA timer related to the TA configuration for the cell group based on receiving the configuration for failure recovery as in the exact order as presented in the claims and as referenced to Awada’s figure 1, however Awada does disclose receiving a time alignment (TA) configuration (i.e., the MN1, i.e. the source PCell provides the UE 10 with RRC configuration information, including a value to be used for timer T316; see paragraph [0158]) and starting a TA timer related to the TA configuration for a cell group (i.e., an RLF is detected at source PCell. In S620, UE 10 starts timer T316 for MCG Failure Recovery; see paragraph [0159]) in figure 6. Further, Awada discloses restarting the TA timer related to the TA configuration for the cell group based on receiving the configuration for failure recovery (i.e., in S481, the UE 10 starts a new timer Tx, when it sends MCG failure information to the target cell PSCell in S483… the value of the new timer TX in S481 is the same as that of the timer T316. That is, timer T316 is actually restarted upon initiating MCG Failure Information to the target PSCell.; see paragraphs [0139] and [0142]) in figure 4. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Awada’s invention for properly establishing and handling communications during a failure recovery procedure as described throughout Awada. Regarding Claim 14, Awada discloses a user equipment (UE) (i.e., UE 10; see figure 10) adapted to operate in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: at least one transceiver (i.e., I/O units 102 & 103; see figure 10) ; at least processor (i.e., processor 101; see figure 10) ; and at least one computer memory (i.e., memory 104; see figure 10) operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations comprising: initiating a transmission of failure information for the cell group based on detecting a failure on the cell group, wherein the TA timer for the cell group expires based on the transmission of the failure information being initiated (i.e., The UE 10 that is configured with a specific timer (referred to as timer T316) and with split Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB) 1 or SRB3 initiates the procedure to report MCG failure when neither MCG nor Secondary Cell Group (SCG) transmission is suspended; see paragraph [0112]) ; transmitting the failure information for the cell group (i.e., the UE 10 starts timer T316 and initiates the transmission of the MCG Failure Information containing the failure type (for example, expiry of timer T310 or random access problem, or maximum number of retransmissions has been reached), measurement results for MCG and SCG to the SN via SRB1-split bearer or SRB3; see paragraph [0113]) ; receiving a configuration for failure recovery of the failure on the cell group after transmitting the failure information (i.e., Then the UE 10 waits for an RRC reconfiguration information (e.g. either RRC Release or the RRC Reconfiguration (Reconfiguration with sync/HO command)) from the MN1 (i.e. gNB 20); see paragraph [0114]) . Although Awada does not disclose receiving a time alignment (TA) configuration, starting a TA timer related to the TA configuration for a cell group and restarting the TA timer related to the TA configuration for the cell group based on receiving the configuration for failure recovery as in the exact order as presented in the claims and as referenced to Awada’s figure 1, however Awada does disclose receiving a time alignment (TA) configuration (i.e., the MN1, i.e. the source PCell provides the UE 10 with RRC configuration information, including a value to be used for timer T316; see paragraph [0158]) and starting a TA timer related to the TA configuration for a cell group (i.e., an RLF is detected at source PCell. In S620, UE 10 starts timer T316 for MCG Failure Recovery; see paragraph [0159]) in figure 6. Further, Awada discloses restarting the TA timer related to the TA configuration for the cell group based on receiving the configuration for failure recovery (i.e., in S481, the UE 10 starts a new timer Tx, when it sends MCG failure information to the target cell PSCell in S483… the value of the new timer TX in S481 is the same as that of the timer T316. That is, timer T316 is actually restarted upon initiating MCG Failure Information to the target PSCell.; see paragraphs [0139] and [0142]) in figure 4. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Awada’s invention for properly establishing and handling communications during a failure recovery procedure as described throughout Awada. Regarding Claim 15, Awada discloses a network node (i.e., a communication network control element or function acting as a control element of function, such as gNB1 20 or gNB2 30; see paragraph [0239] and figure 14) adapted to operate in a wireless communication system, the network node comprising: at least one transceiver (i.e., I/O units 202 & 203; see figure 14) ; at least processor (i.e., processor 201; see figure 14) ; and at least one computer memory (i.e., memory 204; see figure 14) operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations comprising: receiving, from the UE, failure information for a cell group on which a failure is detected (i.e., the UE 10 starts timer T316 and initiates the transmission of the MCG Failure Information containing the failure type (for example, expiry of timer T310 or random access problem, or maximum number of retransmissions has been reached), measurement results for MCG and SCG to the SN via SRB1-split bearer or SRB3; see paragraph [0113]) ; and transmitting, to the UE, a configuration for failure recovery of the failure on the cell group after receiving the failure information (i.e., Then the UE 10 waits for an RRC reconfiguration information (e.g. either RRC Release or the RRC Reconfiguration (Reconfiguration with sync/HO command)) from the MN1 (i.e. gNB 20); see paragraph [0114]) , wherein a TA timer related to the TA configuration for the cell group expires based on a transmission of the failure information being initiated by the UE (i.e., The UE 10 that is configured with a specific timer (referred to as timer T316) and with split Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB) 1 or SRB3 initiates the procedure to report MCG failure when neither MCG nor Secondary Cell Group (SCG) transmission is suspended; see paragraph [0112]) . Although Awada does not disclose transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a time alignment (TA) configuration and wherein the TA timer related to the TA configuration for the cell group is restarted based on the configuration for failure recovery being received by the UE as in the exact order as presented in the claims and as referenced to Awada’s figure 1, however Awada does disclose transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a time alignment (TA) configuration (i.e., the MN1, i.e. the source PCell provides the UE 10 with RRC configuration information, including a value to be used for timer T316; see paragraph [0158]) in figure 6. Further, Awada discloses wherein the TA timer related to the TA configuration for the cell group is restarted based on the configuration for failure recovery being received by the UE (i.e., in S481, the UE 10 starts a new timer Tx, when it sends MCG failure information to the target cell PSCell in S483… the value of the new timer TX in S481 is the same as that of the timer T316. That is, timer T316 is actually restarted upon initiating MCG Failure Information to the target PSCell.; see paragraphs [0139] and [0142]) in figure 4. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Awada’s invention for properly establishing and handling communications during a failure recovery procedure as described throughout Awada. Regarding Claim 2, Awada discloses wherein the restarting of the TA timer comprises restarting the TA timer related to the TA configuration for the cell group upon a reception of the configuration for failure recovery (see paragraphs [0139] and [0142]) . Regarding Claim 3, Awada discloses wherein the TA timer has a time duration, and wherein the restarting of the TA timer comprises restarting the TA timer related to the TA configuration for the cell group, based on receiving the configuration for failure recovery within the time duration from when the TA timer is started (see paragraphs [0139] and [0142]) . Regarding Claim 4, Awada discloses wherein the restarted TA timer runs for a rest time period of the time duration, wherein the rest time period is the time duration minus a time period from when the TA timer is started to a time point, and wherein the time point comprises at least one of: a time point when the configuration for failure recovery is received; or a time point when the TA timer is restarted (see paragraphs [0139]-[0141]) . Regarding Claim 5, Awada discloses wherein the TA configuration is received before the configuration for failure recovery is received (S605, S630, S683; see figure 6) . Regarding Claim 6, Awada discloses further comprising: determining that the failure on the cell group is recovered based on receiving the configuration for failure recovery (see paragraph [0140]) . Regarding Claim 12, Awada discloses wherein the cell group comprises a secondary cell group (SCG) including a primary secondary cell (PSCell) (see paragraph [0185]) . Regarding Claim 13, Awada discloses wherein the UE is in communication with at least one of a mobile device, a network (see figure 4) , or autonomous vehicles other than the UE . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awada in view of Da Silva et al. (Da Silva), U.S. Publication No. 2023/0337020 . Regarding Claim 7, Awada discloses the method as described above. Awada fails to disclose further comprising: deactivating the cell group; and while the cell group is deactivated: performing a link monitoring on the cell group; and detecting the failure on the cell group based on the link monitoring, wherein the initiating of the transmission of the failure information comprises while the SCG is deactivated, initiating the transmission of the failure information for the cell group based on detecting the failure on the cell group. Da Silva discloses further comprising: deactivating the cell group (see paragraph [0249]) ; and while the cell group is deactivated (see paragraph [0249]) : performing a link monitoring on the cell group (see paragraph [0249]) ; and detecting the failure on the cell group based on the link monitoring (see paragraph [0249]) , wherein the initiating of the transmission of the failure information comprises while the SCG is deactivated, initiating the transmission of the failure information for the cell group based on detecting the failure on the cell group (see paragraph [0252]) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Da Silva’s invention with Awada’s invention to improve network energy efficiency and battery life for UEs as described throughout Da Silva. Regarding Claim 8, Awada discloses the method as described above. Awada fails to disclose wherein the link monitoring comprises at least one of a radio link monitoring (RLM) or a beam failure detection (BFD), and wherein the failure comprises at least one of a radio link failure (RLF) related to the RLM or a beam failure (BF) related to the BFD. Da Silva discloses wherein the link monitoring comprises at least one of a radio link monitoring (RLM) or a beam failure detection (BFD) (see paragraph [0249]) , and wherein the failure comprises at least one of a radio link failure (RLF) related to the RLM or a beam failure (BF) related to the BFD (see paragraph [0212]) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Da Silva’s invention with Awada’s invention to improve network energy efficiency and battery life for UEs as described throughout Da Silva. Regarding Claim 9, Awada discloses the method as described above. Awada fails to disclose further comprising: activating the cell group without performing a random access to the cell group, while the TA timer is running after restarting the TA timer. Da Silva discloses further comprising: activating the cell group without performing a random access to the cell group, while the TA timer is running after restarting the TA timer (see paragraph [0038]) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Da Silva’s invention with Awada’s invention to improve network energy efficiency and battery life for UEs as described throughout Da Silva. Regarding Claim 10, Awada discloses the method as described above. Awada fails to disclose wherein the activating of the cell group without performing a random access to the cell group comprises performing a random access channel (RACH)-less activation of the cell group based on at least one of conditions being met, and wherein the conditions comprise: a condition that a radio link failure (RLF) is not detected or RLF is recovered; a condition that a beam failure (BF) is not detected or BF is recovered; a condition that the TA timer does not expire or is running; and a condition that an indication to perform the RACH-less activation is received from a network. Da Silva discloses wherein the activating of the cell group without performing a random access to the cell group comprises performing a random access channel (RACH)-less activation of the cell group based on at least one of conditions being met, and wherein the conditions comprise: a condition that a radio link failure (RLF) is not detected or RLF is recovered; a condition that a beam failure (BF) is not detected or BF is recovered; a condition that the TA timer does not expire or is running; and a condition that an indication to perform the RACH-less activation is received from a network (see paragraph [0156]) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Da Silva’s invention with Awada’s invention to improve network energy efficiency and battery life for UEs as described throughout Da Silva. Regarding Claim 11, Awada discloses the method as described above. Awada fails to disclose further comprising: activating the cell group by performing a random access to the cell group, after the TA timer expires. Da Silva disclose further comprising: activating the cell group by performing a random access to the cell group, after the TA timer expires (see paragraphs [0503]-[0504]) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Da Silva’s invention with Awada’s invention to improve network energy efficiency and battery life for UEs as described throughout Da Silva. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHANTELL LAKETA HEIBER whose telephone number is (571)272-0886. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F from 9am to 5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Anthony Addy, can be reached at telephone number 571-272-7795. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from Patent Center. Status information for published applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Patent Center for authorized users only. Should you have questions about access to Patent Center, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) Form at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated- interview-request-air-form. /SHANTELL L HEIBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 June 11, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/834,859 Page 2 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/834,859 Page 3 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/834,859 Page 4 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/834,859 Page 5 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/834,859 Page 6 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/834,859 Page 7 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/834,859 Page 8 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/834,859 Page 9 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/834,859 Page 10 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/834,859 Page 11 Art Unit: 2645