Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-13, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEN (US 2021/0209739)in view of LEE (KR 10-2021-0038143 English Translation).
As to claim 1, WEN discloses a battery defect detection apparatus, comprising:
a communication module (Fig. 6, para. 0058);
a processor (Fig. 6, para. 0058); and
a memory configured to store a first artificial intelligence model, a second artificial intelligence model (para. 0024, 0058), and instructions,
wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions by the battery defect detection apparatus (para. 0041), to perform operations comprising:
obtaining an image of a subject product by using the communication module (para. 0042);
inputting the image of the subject product to the first artificial intelligence model to classify the subject product (para. 0045, 0050).
WEN is silent regarding inputting the image of the subject product to the second artificial intelligence model to determine whether the image of the subject product corresponds to first data for classifying the subject product as normal among learning data of the first artificial intelligence model, when the subject product is classified as normal.
LEE teaches inputting the image of the subject product to the second artificial intelligence model to determine whether the image of the subject product corresponds to first data for classifying the subject product as normal among learning data of the first artificial intelligence model, when the subject product is classified as normal (para. 27, “According to an embodiment, the classification unit 102 systematically classifies the defect data and the normal data based on a first classification model provided by the data learning unit 104, and systematically classifies the defect data and the normal data based on the second classification model when the first classification model is changed to the second classification model due to discovery of a new defect or the like. In this case, in the first classification model, an image determined as a normal image or an image that has not been determined as a new defect may be determined as a defect image in the second classification model”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate LEE’s teachings into WEN since doing so would merely combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, and improve performance.
As to claim 2, the combination of WEN and LEE discloses the battery defect detection apparatus of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: re-classifying the subject product as defective when the image does not correspond to the first data (KR, para. 27, “According to an embodiment, the classification unit 102 systematically classifies the defect data and the normal data based on a first classification model provided by the data learning unit 104, and systematically classifies the defect data and the normal data based on the second classification model when the first classification model is changed to the second classification model due to discovery of a new defect or the like. In this case, in the first classification model, an image determined as a normal image or an image that has not been determined as a new defect may be determined as a defect image in the second classification model”).
As to claim 3, the combination of WEN and LEE discloses the battery defect detection apparatus of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: determining the image as second data for classifying the subject product as defective, when the image does not correspond to the first data (WEN, para. 0030, 0050).
As to claim 4, the combination of WEN and LEE discloses the battery defect detection apparatus of claim 3, wherein the operations further comprise: training the first artificial intelligence model based on the second data (WEN, para. 0030, 0045, 0050).
As to claim 5, the combination of WEN and LEE discloses the battery defect detection apparatus of claim 1, wherein the image of the subject product is obtained by an image obtaining device through multiple channels (WEN, para. 0022, 0024).
As to claims 9-13, 17, these claims recite features similar to those discussed above. Therefore, they are rejected for reasons similar to those discussed above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art discloses the claim limitations discussed above, but fails to disclose the combined features required by each of dependent claims 6, 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ge et al. disclose a defect detection system that can automatically select an AI model (e.g., a deep learning model) from a plurality of AI models based on the type of inspection to be performed (e.g., determination of the presence of a defect, identification of a defect type, determination of a defect characteristic, etc.). The plurality of AI models can be pre-trained and can be included in an AI model library. The various AI models can be trained to detect defect in one or more batteries e.g., batteries of given battery types, battery models, etc.), various scanning environments, defect modes and original equipment manufacturers (OEMs) of batteries.
/PHUOC TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668