Applicant's election with traverse of the Species I and Applicant indicates that the Species I encompasses all pending claims 1, 2, 6-21 and 23-35 (due to the amendment to the claims) is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that “all pending claims are generic to the alleged species” is noted, but not persuasive because the species forms from the combination of claims 1 and 2, or claims 1 and 6 is not the same as the species forms from the combination of claims 1 and 7-8, and also is not the same as the species forms from the combination of claims 1 and 9. Also, the instant patent applicant has support for the combination of claims 1 and 7-8? Which comprises an article carrier as claimed comprising at least one engaging panel, a pair of side panels as claimed, a plurality of end panels as claimed, with the pair of side panels hingedly connected to each other along a fold line to form a ridge, the carrier also comprising at least a pair of top-receiving devices struck in part from each of the pair of side panels so as to be disposed along the ridge, and the end panel as claimed. Applicant further argues that “the Office Action fails to complete as of the items (1) and (2) …” is noted, this is not persuasive because the Office Action is clearly listed the different groups of claims (as originally filed) as per item (1) and as per item (2), MPEP 1893.03(d) further states “A group of inventions is considered linked to form a single general inventive concept where there is a technical relationship among the inventions that involves at least one common or corresponding special technical feature.” and the Office Action is also indicated the technical relationship that is common in each independent claim (as originally filed) among species such as an article carrier or a blank for forming an article carrier comprising at least one engaging panel as claimed are not the special technical features since these features do not avoid the prior art of The United States Patent No. 5,390,784 to Sutherland because Sutherland discloses an article carrier for packaging at least one article or a blank for forming an article carrier (40) comprising at least one engaging panel (26). Applicant indicates “and the Office Action’s determination solely based on the figures is improper” is noticed but not correct because the claims are listed in the Requirement for Unity of Invention, not the Figures. Applicant further argues that Sutherland fails to disclose or suggest “a corner panel hingedly connected to each of the pair of opposed side edges; a securing panel hingedly … as recited in independent carrier claims 1 and 20 and their corresponding independent blank claims 10 and 15 respectively” is also not persuasive because these features are not the common special technical features among all the independent claims since the independent claims 3, 6, 7, 9 and 22-25 (as originally filed) have not such features. The Office Action is also listed that examination of each species will necessitate disparate searches which would clearly pose a burden as clearly shown by the Examiner in the Requirement. Therefore, claims 7-9 and 24-25 have been withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 C.F.R. § 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention since these claims are not encompassed by the species I.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 2, the phrase “the at least one of pair of side panels” lacks proper antecedent basis. It should be replaced with --at least one of the pair of side panels--. In claim 21, the phrase “at least one of pair of side panels” is a double recitation of claim 15 and should be replaced with --at least one of the pair of side panels--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10-11, 14-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Graser (4,304,329; hereinafter Graser'329).
As to claim 1, Graser'329 discloses an article carrier (Fig. 2) for packaging at least one article, the article carrier comprising at least one engaging panel (12), a pair of side panels (22, 26) hinged (24) to opposed edges of the at least one engaging panel, a plurality of end panels (30, 34) hinged (32) to a first end of the at least one engaging panel, the plurality of end panels including a first end panel (30) having a pair of opposed side edges (along a fold line 44), a corner panel (48, 50) hingedly connected (42; 44) to each of the pair of opposed side edges, a securing panel (52) hingedly connected (56) to each corner panel, and a flap (58) hingedly connected (60) to an upper edge of each securing panel, the flap having a free upper edge having a rounded, arcuate or curvilinear shape (Fig. 1).
As to claim 10, Graser'329 discloses a blank (10; Fig. 1) for forming the article carrier as above.
As to claims 15 and 20, Graser'329 discloses a blank (10; Fig. 1) for forming the article carrier as above.
As to claims 11 and 16, Graser'329 further discloses the flap extends between the securing panel to which it is hinged (60) and a side edge of one of the pair of side panels.
As to claims 14 and 19, Graser'329 further discloses the free upper edge forms an inner edge facing towards a portion of the first end panel and is separated therefrom by an aperture (the aperture defines between panels (22, 26, 58, 52, 50; 30, 34, 50, 52, 58)).
Claim(s) 1, 10-11, 14-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sutherland (5,390,784).
As to claim 1, Sutherland discloses an article carrier (10, 12; Fig. 1) for packaging at least one article (B), the article carrier comprising at least one engaging panel (26), a pair of side panels (58, a panel defines between fold lines 64, 68; Fig. 3) hinged (34) to opposed edges of the at least one engaging panel, a plurality of end panels (16, 42; 16, 44) hinged (22) to a first end of the at least one engaging panel, the plurality of end panels including a first end panel (16) having a pair of opposed side edges (along a fold line 34), a corner panel (32) hingedly connected (34) to each of the pair of opposed side edges, a securing panel (a panel disposed between two fold lines 22, 24) hingedly connected (38) to each corner panel, and a flap (62) hingedly connected (24) to an upper edge of each securing panel, the flap having a free upper edge having a rounded, arcuate or curvilinear shape (Fig. 2).
As to claim 10, Sutherland discloses a blank (40; Fig. 2) for forming the article carrier as above.
As to claims 15 and 20, Sutherland discloses a blank (40; Fig. 2) for forming the article carrier as above.
As to claims 11 and 16, Sutherland further discloses the flap (62) extends between the securing panel to which it is hinged (24) and a side edge of one of the pair of side panels.
As to claims 14 and 19, Sutherland further discloses the free upper edge forms an inner edge facing towards a portion of the first end panel and is separated therefrom by an aperture (Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 1, 10-11, 15-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Merzeau (2018/0297744).
As to claim 1, Merzeau discloses an article carrier (90; Fig. 2) for packaging at least one article (B), the article carrier comprising at least one engaging panel (16), a pair of side panels (30a, 60; 30b, 60) hinged (31a; 31b) to opposed edges of the at least one engaging panel, a plurality of end panels (14a, 14b; 18a, 18b) hinged (17; 19) to a first end of the at least one engaging panel, the plurality of end panels including a first end panel (14b) having a pair of opposed side edges (along a fold line 29a, 29b), a corner panel (40a, 42a; 40b, 42b) hingedly connected (27a, 29a; 27b, 29b) to each of the pair of opposed side edges, a securing panel (26a; 26b) hingedly connected (41a; 41b) to each corner panel, and a flap (28a; 28b) hingedly connected (44a; 44b) to an upper edge of each securing panel, the flap having a free upper edge having a rounded, arcuate or curvilinear shape (Fig. 1).
As to claim 10, Merzeau discloses a blank (10; Fig. 1) for forming the article carrier as above.
As to claims 15 and 20, Merzeau discloses a blank (10; Fig. 1) for forming the article carrier as above.
As to claims 11 and 16, Merzeau further discloses the flap extends between the securing panel to which it is hinged and a side edge of one of the pair of side panels (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 12-13, 17-18 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graser'329 or Sutherland or Merzeau in view of Graser (4,378,878; hereinafter Graser'878).
As to claims 6 and 23, Graser'329 or Sutherland or Merzeau discloses the article carrier and the blank as above and further discloses at least a pair of top-receiving devices struck from the at least one engaging panel and other limitations of the claims except for the at least one engaging panel comprises a pair of engaging panels hingedly connected to each other along a fold line to form a ridge, and the at least a pair of top-receiving devices struck in part from each of the pair of engaging panels so as to be disposed along the ridge as claimed. Graser'878 teaches an article carrier (10; 12; Figs. 1 & 4) for packaging at least one article (14), the article carrier comprising a pair of engaging panels (46, 48) hingedly connected to each other along a fold line (50) to form a ridge (Fig. 1), and at least a pair of top-receiving devices (16) struck in part from each of the pair of engaging panels so as to be disposed along the ridge. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of Graser'878 to modify the article carrier and the blank of Graser'329 or Sutherland or Merzeau so the article carrier and the blank is constructed with the at least one engaging panel comprises a pair of engaging panels hingedly connected to each other along a fold line to form a ridge, and the at least a pair of top-receiving devices struck in part from each of the pair of engaging panels so as to be disposed along the ridge as claimed because the selection of the specific type of the article carrier and the blank for forming the article carrier for carrying various numbers of articles such as six articles as taught by Graser'329 or eight articles as taught by Sutherland or two articles or six articles as taught by Graser'878 would have been an obvious matter of design choice based upon conventional design considerations, such as for better protecting the articles.
As to claims 12-13 and 17-18, it appears that each of Graser'329 and Merzeau discloses the flap is separated from the side edge of the one of the pair of side panels by a cutline line and Sutherland discloses the flap is separated from the side edge of the one of the pair of side panels by a score line (68). To the extent that the carrier or the blank of Graser'329 or Sutherland or Merzeau fails to disclose the flap is separated from the side edge of the one of the pair of side panels by a cutline line or a severable line as claimed, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the article carrier or the blank of Graser'329 or Sutherland or Merzeau so the article carrier or the blank is constructed with the flap is separated from the side edge of the one of the pair of side panels by a cutline line or a severable line to facilitate forming the article carrier.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LUAN K BUI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736