DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 (filed 07/31/2024) have been considered in this action. Claims 1-2, 6-13 and 17-20 have been filed in the same format as originally filed. Claims 3-5 and 14-16 have been amended.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR SCHEDULING A HEATING, VENTILATION AND AIR-CONDITIONING SYSTEM THAT MEETS ZONE SET-POINTS FOR A PLURALITY OF ZONES.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “zone module”, “input module” and “scheduler” in claims 12-20.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Based upon the provided specification, multiple exemplary embodiments are conceivable including a processor, circuits, software only, or any other embodiment described in specification paragraph [0017-0020].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, encompass software per se.
Claims 12-20 are directed towards elements that invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation, including scheduler, zone module and input module. As noted in the provided specification at paragraph [0018], “A processor, scheduler, controller, and/or circuit detailed herein may be implemented in software, hardware, and/or as a hybrid implementation including software and hardware.”. Based upon this statement, and the fact that the invention does not positively recite the exact structural elements that are executing the functional language of claims 12-20, it is considered that a valid interpretation of the claims is in a software-only embodiment. Accordingly, the claims are considered to invoke software-only solution in the form of system that comprise various modules and schedulers that are software per se. Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed to software per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception in the form of an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims are directed to the statutory category of invention of a method.
Step 2A Prong One:
Claim(s) 1-11 are method claims directed to process that are encompassed by Mathematical concepts and which further are capable of being considered Mental processes. The acts of determining a minimum conditioned air supply rate and a return air ratio based on a conditioned air function from claim 1 are directed to abstract ideas. The scope of the claimed concepts are described in paragraphs [0070]-[0090] as mathematical concepts in the form of mathematical formulas, thus directing the invention towards mathematical concepts. Alternatively, the claims are recited in such as that the general variables associated with the solution to the problem are recited, but no particular solution for using those variables is actually claimed. Simply saying what parameters are included in a solution does not relate to any particular solution, and can broadly be considered a solution that encompasses all solutions that utilize those parameters. Because the claim is so broad in terms of how that solution is obtained (i.e. the parameters that are obtained, but no particular method for using those parameters) it can be considered that the claim recites processes that inherently are capable of being performed in the human mind.
Step 2A Prong Two:
The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered individually and in combination because the additional elements, which are recited at a high level of generality, provide conventional functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea.
Claim 1 recites, in part, structural elements in the preamble that do not positively limit a method claim and merely indicate a field of use, obtaining zone environmental information, and obtaining conditioned air temperature, quality indicators, and fresh air temperature. These limitations describe the concept of which corresponds to the concepts identified as abstract ideas by the courts is extra solution activity and amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application”, (see MPEP 2106.05(h): “..vi. Limiting the abstract idea of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis to data related to the electric power grid, because limiting application of the abstract idea to power-grid monitoring is simply an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, Electric Power Group”) The identified limitations only recite the idea of a solution or outcome without claiming details of how a solution is accomplished (see MPEP 2106.05(f): “…The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it". See Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1743-44 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec, 838 F.3d 1307, 1327, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Internet Patents Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2015)”. These elements fail to afford a practical application because the claims merely makes a determination without using the result of that determination for an practical affect or improvement.
The abstract idea described in claim 1 is not meaningfully different than those abstract ideas found by the courts, therefor the claim is considered to be directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim recites the additional elements of structural elements in the preamble that do not positively limit a method claim and merely indicate a field of use, obtaining zone environmental information, and obtaining conditioned air temperature, quality indicators, and fresh air temperature. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves another technology. When looking at the claims as a whole, it attempts to cover every solution that utilizes the claimed parameters, and thus does not specify any particular process for improving the functioning of an HVAC system.
Dependent claims 2-11 are drawn to further concepts that are either process that further define a mathematical concept or processes that are capable of being performed mentally due to the claiming of every solution that encompasses the use of the claimed parameters. These limitations are considered to be drawn to the abstract idea without adding significantly more. None of the claims require the actual use of the minimum air supply rate and return air ratio in the control of the HVAC system, and thus the none of the claims can be considered to form a practical application, nor an improvement to the field of HVAC control, as there is never any control action claimed.
Claims 1-11 are therefore not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 12-20 are directed towards identical subject matter as claims 1-9, albeit in a different statutory category of invention of a system/machine. Accordingly, claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for similar reasoning as being directed towards an abstract idea without significantly more as applied to claims 1-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 12, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong et al. (Published WIPO document WO 2016148651, hereinafter Rong) in view of Barooah et al. (US 20170030603, hereinafter Barooah).
In regards to Claim 1, Rong teaches “A method for scheduling a heating, ventilation and air- conditioning (HVAC) system, wherein the HVAC system comprises an air conditioning plant, at least one air handling unit (AHU) in connection with the air conditioning plant, and the at least one AHU is configured to serve a plurality of zones, the method comprising:” ([0010] Thus, embodiments of present invention provide a novel, computationally efficient and scalable air distribution scheduling and control approach. [0063] Figure 1 B shows information flow within an architecture of the HVAC system. The architecture comprises individual zone modules 12, a centralised scheduler 14 and a communication network 16. The zone modules 12 each comprise a processor 18 and sensors 20. Advantageously, the centralised scheduler 14 may be configured to control an existing HVAC system comprising a chiller or heater by providing appropriate input signals to an existing air handling unit (AHU) 22. [0073] A zone 34 may be regarded as an area inside a building that is controlled by a single thermostat. It could be a part of a large room or might comprise several small rooms. The VAV system 30 in Figure 2 has a duct 32 servicing multiple of such zones 34 numbered 1 , 2...n. The VAV system 30 includes a chiller 36 that comprises units of various capacities that produce chilled water 38 at a fixed temperature (typically 4-7°C) and with a fixed flow rate. These units are staged based on typical daily cooling load patterns that the building experiences. The VAV system 30 further comprises a VAV Air Handling Unit 40 (VAV AHU) that receives chilled water 38 from the chiller 36 and fresh outside air 44 filtered through external duct 42. This means that air supplied to the VAV AHU 40 is a mix of the fresh outside air 44 plus re-circulated air 46) “obtaining zone environmental information including a zone temperature, a zone air quality indicator and zone set-points for the plurality of zones, the zone set-points for the plurality of zones comprising zone temperature set-points and zone air quality set-points;” ([0013] The zone set-points may comprise pre-determined values or acceptable ranges for the environmental sensor data. These may be pre-programmed or determined by user input. [0026] A zone module (ZM) takes zone environmental sensor data and zone set-points (such as temperature, humidity and a fresh air/returned air ratio) determined by a (given) human input or comfort model or an Indoor Environment Quality model, and computes a request for the minimum cooling/heating air supply rate (e.g. in term of the number of tokens) that may meet the zone set-points, while having a potential of minimising the BEMS energy consumption. [0065] In the present embodiment, the zone modules 12 are configured to compute service (i.e. token) requests on the basis of zone environmental sensor data (e.g. temperature, humidity, insolation, occupancy) and zone set-points, which may comprise a user-defined comfort range; wherein humidity or indoor environment quality can be considered a zone quality indicator; [0073] The fresh outside air 44 is used to keep C0.sub.2 levels within mandated levels; wherein the mandated levels are setpoints for co2 levels (i.e. cannot be violated, so activates controls when they are)) “obtaining conditioned air temperature and conditioned air quality indicator of conditioned air associated with the at least one AHU and fresh air temperature of fresh air configured to mix with return air of the conditioned air to form pre-conditioned air; and” ([0021] The BEMS may further comprise zone sensors for obtaining the environmental sensor data which may comprise one or more of temperature, air pressure, carbon dioxide (C0.sub.2) concentration, humidity, occupancy and condition or status of windows and/or doors (e.g. open or closed). [0034] To explicitly respect IEQ and occupant comfort constraints inexpensive C0.sub.2 sensors may be employed as a surrogate monitor for environment comfort, together with IEQ models. Combining sensors and models allows computation of IEQ constraints on return-to-fresh air ratios for each AHU (e.g. in step CS3).Chiller/heater coefficient-of-performance factors may be used from look-up tables to update energy cost functions. These may drive the token allocation optimisation of the Centralised Scheduler (e.g. in step CS4). Token allocation may be realised by issuing control commands to BEMS components such as the dampers, fans, chillers/heaters in the BEMS (e.g. in step CS5). [0073] The VAV system 30 in Figure 2 has a duct 32 servicing multiple of such zones 34 numbered 1 , 2...n. The VAV system 30 includes a chiller 36 that comprises units of various capacities that produce chilled water 38 at a fixed temperature (typically 4-7°C) and with a fixed flow rate. These units are staged based on typical daily cooling load patterns that the building experiences. The VAV system 30 further comprises a VAV Air Handling Unit 40 (VAV AHU) that receives chilled water 38 from the chiller 36 and fresh outside air 44 filtered through external duct 42. This means that air supplied to the VAV AHU 40 is a mix of the fresh outside air 44 plus re-circulated air 46. The fresh outside air 44 is used to keep C0.sub.2 levels within mandated levels, and re-circulated air 46 is used because it has lower humidity and is already cooled. [0078] The following nomenclature is used throughout.... Tc Temperature of cool air...T~oa Temperature of fresh outside air 44 [0083] In addition, the local model has access to forecasts of ambient temperature T.sub.oa and cooling load profiles Q.sub.lt which are used to predict a random process V.sub.j (/ ). paragraphs [0080]-[0082] and [0086]-[0089] show formulas used for determining/obtaining conditioned air tempearture, fresh air tempearture, etc.) “determining, for the at least one AHU and for a prediction horizon, a minimum conditioned air supply rate and a return air ratio based on a conditioned air function of parameters including the zone temperature, the conditioned air temperature, the fresh air temperature, the zone air quality indicator and the conditioned air quality indicator so as to collectively meet the zone set-points for the plurality of zones” ([0009] In accordance with a first aspect of the invention there is provided a method of operating a building environment management system (BEMS) comprising: a) obtaining zone environmental sensor data and zone set-points for two or more zones in a building; b) computing, for each zone, a request for a minimum cooling/heating air supply rate to meet the zone set-points; [0017] The requests may be determined for multiple time periods (i.e. horizons). The multiple time periods may comprise periods with a common start time and different end times. Thus, the cooling/heating air supply rate required for the next 30 minutes, next hour, next 2 hours etc. may be calculated and communicated to the scheduler. [0026] A zone module (ZM) takes zone environmental sensor data and zone set-points (such as temperature, humidity and a fresh air/returned air ratio) determined by a (given) human input or comfort model or an Indoor Environment Quality model, and computes a request for the minimum cooling/heating air supply rate (e.g. in term of the number of tokens) that may meet the zone set-points, while having a potential of minimising the BEMS energy consumption. During this process, a complex thermal dynamics model in the form of a local model for each zone, an ideal BEMS energy consumption model and a zone human comfort model may be considered in order to ensure that the minimum cooling/heating air supply rate requested is properly chosen, which can save energy for the BEMS while ensuring zone comfort. [0027] Stage 2 (relating to the air supply rate allocation) takes place in a centralised scheduler (CS). The CS takes all zone requests (i.e. the requested amount of cooling/heating air supply rate from each zone, as opposed to the amount of cooling/heating air itself), and its knowledge on actual BEMS component (e.g. air handling unit or chiller/heater) power efficiencies into account, and calculates a cooling/heating air supply strategy (i.e. token allocation) for each individual zone, which would lead to minimum energy consumption of the BEMS, while satisfying all zone set- point requirements.[0034] To explicitly respect IEQ and occupant comfort constraints inexpensive C0.sub.2 sensors may be employed as a surrogate monitor for environment comfort, together with IEQ models. Combining sensors and models allows computation of IEQ constraints on return-to-fresh air ratios for each AHU (e.g. in step CS3)).
Rong fails to explicitly teach “determining, for the at least one AHU and for a prediction horizon…a conditioned air function of parameters including…the fresh air temperature”.
Barooah teaches “determining, for the at least one AHU and for a prediction horizon…a conditioned air function of parameters including…the fresh air temperature” ([0017] As a specific example, in a VAV HVAC system for commercial buildings, a building may be divided into a number of zones, where a zone may be a room or a collection of rooms. The air leaving the zones may be mixed with outside air based on the value of a return air ratio (which may be a control input), and the mixed air may be sent to one or more AHUs. [0043] To solve the problem described above, the controller may need (i) predictions of the exogenous input v(k) over the time horizon of solving, and (ii) a model of the zone hygro-thermal dynamics as well as its initial state. Predictions of T.sup.OA, W.sup.OA, and Q.sup.s (part of v(k)) may be assumed available from weather forecasts. It may be assumed that the instantaneous occupancy measurements are available at the time index k. The predicted occupancy over the prediction horizon K may be assumed to be the same as the measured occupancy at the k-th time period: n.sup.p (i)=n.sup.p(k), i≧k. The models for energy consumption and hygro-thermal dynamics used by the controller may be the ones presented above. An EKF (Extended Kalman Filter)-based state observer may be employed to estimate the state of the plant. [0024] A control algorithm may have the task to determine the control inputs—SA temperature (T.sup.SA), SA flow rate (m.sup.SA), CA temperature (T.sup.CA), and RA ratio (R.sup.RA)—in such a way that thermal comfort and IAQ are maintained in the zone. The simulation experiments performed by the inventors (as discussed below) use a hygro-thermal (humidity and temperature) dynamics model and an energy consumption model as a function of control signals and exogenous inputs….the exogenous inputs vector v(k) may consist of the outside temperature, outside humidity ratio, solar heat gain, and occupancy, i.e., v(k)=[T.sup.OA(k),W.sup.OA(k),Q.sup.s(k),n.sup.p(k)].sup.T.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of determining parameters for meeting zone temperature set points and air quality set points for a zone using a predictive method as taught by Rong, to also include the use of outside air temperature in a determination of control inputs for performing an optimization of energy usage within an HVAC system serviced by many zones as taught by Barooah, because both inventions are in the related fields of HVAC optimization that minimizes an energy usage while maintaining user comfort. Furthermore, the instant invention is claimed in such a way that no specific series of steps are required, only certain parameters are required, and thus the use of additional parameters such as outside air temperature would be expected to offer a more complete model of the particular HVAC system being modeled and controlled through predictive control, thus improving its ability to accurately model the current control situation and make better optimization choices that minimize energy usage. In other words, as noted by Barooah “[0003] Though it is possible to retrofit buildings with high efficiency HVAC equipment, doing so requires a substantial amount of investment [3]. In contrast, improving the control algorithms (that operate the HVAC system) to reduce energy usage is far more cost effective. Therefore, many researchers have recently focused on developing advanced control algorithms to reduce energy usage in the buildings;”. By combining these elements, it can be considered taking the known use of outside air temperature as a variable for predictive control in an optimized HVAC control system as taught by Barooah, and using it to improve the known techniques of Rong in a similar way to afford similar improvements in the same way.
In regards to Claim 4, the combination of Rong and Barooah teaches the method of HVAC scheduling as incorporated by claim 1 above. Rong further teaches “The method of claim 1,wherein the zone temperature of a succeeding time period is defined as a temperature linear function of the zone temperature of a present time period within the prediction horizon, a zone air conditioning load, a mass flow rate of conditioned air supply in a respective zone of the plurality of zones and the conditioned air temperature” ([0092] The local model of Equation (2) for zone i is a bilinear dynamic model as the input m, multiplies the state T,. Forecasts of an exogenous noise process x?.sub.£(/e) on forward time windows are used and a critical transformation of the input variables is introduced as per Equation (8)...[0094] Regarding #j(/e) as the new decision variables, the constraints on the acceptable temperature ranges in Equation (3) become linear inequalities. The objective function remains nonlinear (and non-convex). The dominant term in the objective function is the cooling energy, and when the return air to mixed air ratio d.sub.r «1 , this leads to:...[0095] Each zone 34 calculates its cooling energy requirements individually. These are computed over several future time horizons (or window) to obtain a cooling energy profile for each zone 34. For a fixed planning horizon H.sub.p, for each zone i, an associated zone module 12 solves Equation (10) subject to Equations (1 1 ), (12) and (13): [0097] It is possible to interpret J, (H.sub.p) as a minimum cooling energy or minimum number of tokens needed by zone i on the planning horizon H.sub.p to meet local temperature constraints. For a single planning horizon, J, (H.sub.P) does not convey an urgency of the token request. To capture this, the zone module 12 solves the local model for various planning horizons H.sub.p = 1 , 2 W. Note that //(tf.sub.p) is monotone increasing in H.sub.p such that J,(1 ) is the minimum number of tokens needed in the first sample period, J,(2) in the first two periods, and so on. Thus the token request profile J, (H.sub.p) of computed requests captures the urgency of the cooling requirements for zone).
In regards to Claim 5, the combination of Rong and Barooah teaches the method of HVAC scheduling as incorporated by claim 1 above. Rong further teaches “The method of claim 1,wherein the at least one AHU comprises a damper opening configured to vary the return air ratio by adjusting positions of the damper opening” (Fig. 2 shows damper on return air line [0023] In some embodiments, the BEMS may be configured to adjust damper or fan settings to regulate a flow of cool/warm air to the zones. [0025] A goal of the present scheduling approach is to minimise energy consumption for the BEMS, for example, through more efficient operation of the air handling unit AHU (which may comprise one or more fans and/or dampers) and/or the chiller/heater system, while providing for a user-specified zone comfort level.). Barooah also teaches ([0017] The conditioned air goes to the VAV box of each zone, where the conditioned air may be heated up by using the heating coils before being supplied to the zone. The air supplied to the zone may be called supply air. The flow rate of the supply air may be controlled through dampers inside the VAV box. In some embodiments, four control inputs may be decided for these multi-zone VAV systems. Two of the control).
In regards to Claim 12, Rong teaches “A system for scheduling a heating, ventilation and air-conditioning (HVAC) system, wherein the HVAC system comprises an air conditioning plant, at least one air handling unit (AHU) in connection with the air conditioning plant, the at least one AHU is configured to serve a plurality of zones, the system comprising:” ([0010] Thus, embodiments of present invention provide a novel, computationally efficient and scalable air distribution scheduling and control approach. [0063] Figure 1 B shows information flow within an architecture of the HVAC system. The architecture comprises individual zone modules 12, a centralised scheduler 14 and a communication network 16. The zone modules 12 each comprise a processor 18 and sensors 20. Advantageously, the centralised scheduler 14 may be configured to control an existing HVAC system comprising a chiller or heater by providing appropriate input signals to an existing air handling unit (AHU) 22. [0073] A zone 34 may be regarded as an area inside a building that is controlled by a single thermostat. It could be a part of a large room or might comprise several small rooms. The VAV system 30 in Figure 2 has a duct 32 servicing multiple of such zones 34 numbered 1 , 2...n. The VAV system 30 includes a chiller 36 that comprises units of various capacities that produce chilled water 38 at a fixed temperature (typically 4-7°C) and with a fixed flow rate. These units are staged based on typical daily cooling load patterns that the building experiences. The VAV system 30 further comprises a VAV Air Handling Unit 40 (VAV AHU) that receives chilled water 38 from the chiller 36 and fresh outside air 44 filtered through external duct 42. This means that air supplied to the VAV AHU 40 is a mix of the fresh outside air 44 plus re-circulated air 46) “a zone module configured to obtain zone environmental information including a zone temperature, a zone air quality indicator and zone set-points for the plurality of zones, the zone set-points for the plurality of zones comprising zone temperature set-points and zone air quality set-points;” ([0013] The zone set-points may comprise pre-determined values or acceptable ranges for the environmental sensor data. These may be pre-programmed or determined by user input. [0026] A zone module (ZM) takes zone environmental sensor data and zone set-points (such as temperature, humidity and a fresh air/returned air ratio) determined by a (given) human input or comfort model or an Indoor Environment Quality model, and computes a request for the minimum cooling/heating air supply rate (e.g. in term of the number of tokens) that may meet the zone set-points, while having a potential of minimising the BEMS energy consumption. [0065] In the present embodiment, the zone modules 12 are configured to compute service (i.e. token) requests on the basis of zone environmental sensor data (e.g. temperature, humidity, insolation, occupancy) and zone set-points, which may comprise a user-defined comfort range; wherein humidity or indoor environment quality can be considered a zone quality indicator; [0073] The fresh outside air 44 is used to keep C0.sub.2 levels within mandated levels; wherein the mandated levels are setpoints for co2 levels (i.e. cannot be violated, so activates controls when they are)) “an input module configured to obtain conditioned air temperature and conditioned air quality indicator of conditioned air associated with the at least one AHU and fresh air temperature of fresh air configured to mix with return air of the conditioned air to form pre- conditioned air; and” ([0021] The BEMS may further comprise zone sensors for obtaining the environmental sensor data which may comprise one or more of temperature, air pressure, carbon dioxide (C0.sub.2) concentration, humidity, occupancy and condition or status of windows and/or doors (e.g. open or closed). [0034] To explicitly respect IEQ and occupant comfort constraints inexpensive C0.sub.2 sensors may be employed as a surrogate monitor for environment comfort, together with IEQ models. Combining sensors and models allows computation of IEQ constraints on return-to-fresh air ratios for each AHU (e.g. in step CS3).Chiller/heater coefficient-of-performance factors may be used from look-up tables to update energy cost functions. These may drive the token allocation optimisation of the Centralised Scheduler (e.g. in step CS4). Token allocation may be realised by issuing control commands to BEMS components such as the dampers, fans, chillers/heaters in the BEMS (e.g. in step CS5). [0073] The VAV system 30 in Figure 2 has a duct 32 servicing multiple of such zones 34 numbered 1 , 2...n. The VAV system 30 includes a chiller 36 that comprises units of various capacities that produce chilled water 38 at a fixed temperature (typically 4-7°C) and with a fixed flow rate. These units are staged based on typical daily cooling load patterns that the building experiences. The VAV system 30 further comprises a VAV Air Handling Unit 40 (VAV AHU) that receives chilled water 38 from the chiller 36 and fresh outside air 44 filtered through external duct 42. This means that air supplied to the VAV AHU 40 is a mix of the fresh outside air 44 plus re-circulated air 46. The fresh outside air 44 is used to keep C0.sub.2 levels within mandated levels, and re-circulated air 46 is used because it has lower humidity and is already cooled. [0078] The following nomenclature is used throughout.... Tc Temperature of cool air...T~oa Temperature of fresh outside air 44 [0083] In addition, the local model has access to forecasts of ambient temperature T.sub.oa and cooling load profiles Q.sub.lt which are used to predict a random process V.sub.j (/ ). paragraphs [0080]-[0082] and [0086]-[0089] show formulas used for determining/obtaining conditioned air tempearture, fresh air tempearture, etc.) “a scheduler, for the at least one AHU and for a prediction horizon, configured to determine a minimum conditioned air supply rate and a return air ratio based on a conditioned air function of parameters including the zone temperature, the conditioned air temperature, the fresh air temperature, the zone air quality indicator and the conditioned air quality indicator so as to collectively meet the zone set-points for the plurality of zones.” ([0009] In accordance with a first aspect of the invention there is provided a method of operating a building environment management system (BEMS) comprising: a) obtaining zone environmental sensor data and zone set-points for two or more zones in a building; b) computing, for each zone, a request for a minimum cooling/heating air supply rate to meet the zone set-points; [0017] The requests may be determined for multiple time periods (i.e. horizons). The multiple time periods may comprise periods with a common start time and different end times. Thus, the cooling/heating air supply rate required for the next 30 minutes, next hour, next 2 hours etc. may be calculated and communicated to the scheduler. [0026] A zone module (ZM) takes zone environmental sensor data and zone set-points (such as temperature, humidity and a fresh air/returned air ratio) determined by a (given) human input or comfort model or an Indoor Environment Quality model, and computes a request for the minimum cooling/heating air supply rate (e.g. in term of the number of tokens) that may meet the zone set-points, while having a potential of minimising the BEMS energy consumption. During this process, a complex thermal dynamics model in the form of a local model for each zone, an ideal BEMS energy consumption model and a zone human comfort model may be considered in order to ensure that the minimum cooling/heating air supply rate requested is properly chosen, which can save energy for the BEMS while ensuring zone comfort. [0027] Stage 2 (relating to the air supply rate allocation) takes place in a centralised scheduler (CS). The CS takes all zone requests (i.e. the requested amount of cooling/heating air supply rate from each zone, as opposed to the amount of cooling/heating air itself), and its knowledge on actual BEMS component (e.g. air handling unit or chiller/heater) power efficiencies into account, and calculates a cooling/heating air supply strategy (i.e. token allocation) for each individual zone, which would lead to minimum energy consumption of the BEMS, while satisfying all zone set- point requirements.[0034] To explicitly respect IEQ and occupant comfort constraints inexpensive C0.sub.2 sensors may be employed as a surrogate monitor for environment comfort, together with IEQ models. Combining sensors and models allows computation of IEQ constraints on return-to-fresh air ratios for each AHU (e.g. in step CS3)).
Rong fails to explicitly teach “determining, for the at least one AHU and for a prediction horizon…a conditioned air function of parameters including…the fresh air temperature”.
Barooah teaches “a scheduler, for the at least one AHU and for a prediction horizon…a conditioned air function of parameters including…the fresh air temperature” ([0017] As a specific example, in a VAV HVAC system for commercial buildings, a building may be divided into a number of zones, where a zone may be a room or a collection of rooms. The air leaving the zones may be mixed with outside air based on the value of a return air ratio (which may be a control input), and the mixed air may be sent to one or more AHUs. [0043] To solve the problem described above, the controller may need (i) predictions of the exogenous input v(k) over the time horizon of solving, and (ii) a model of the zone hygro-thermal dynamics as well as its initial state. Predictions of T.sup.OA, W.sup.OA, and Q.sup.s (part of v(k)) may be assumed available from weather forecasts. It may be assumed that the instantaneous occupancy measurements are available at the time index k. The predicted occupancy over the prediction horizon K may be assumed to be the same as the measured occupancy at the k-th time period: n.sup.p (i)=n.sup.p(k), i≧k. The models for energy consumption and hygro-thermal dynamics used by the controller may be the ones presented above. An EKF (Extended Kalman Filter)-based state observer may be employed to estimate the state of the plant. [0024] A control algorithm may have the task to determine the control inputs—SA temperature (T.sup.SA), SA flow rate (m.sup.SA), CA temperature (T.sup.CA), and RA ratio (R.sup.RA)—in such a way that thermal comfort and IAQ are maintained in the zone. The simulation experiments performed by the inventors (as discussed below) use a hygro-thermal (humidity and temperature) dynamics model and an energy consumption model as a function of control signals and exogenous inputs….the exogenous inputs vector v(k) may consist of the outside temperature, outside humidity ratio, solar heat gain, and occupancy, i.e., v(k)=[T.sup.OA(k),W.sup.OA(k),Q.sup.s(k),n.sup.p(k)].sup.T.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of determining parameters for meeting zone temperature set points and air quality set points for a zone using a predictive method as taught by Rong, to also include the use of outside air temperature in a determination of control inputs for performing an optimization of energy usage within an HVAC system serviced by many zones as taught by Barooah, because both inventions are in the related fields of HVAC optimization that minimizes an energy usage while maintaining user comfort. Furthermore, the instant invention is claimed in such a way that no specific series of steps are required, only certain parameters are required, and thus the use of additional parameters such as outside air temperature would be expected to offer a more complete model of the particular HVAC system being modeled and controlled through predictive control, thus improving its ability to accurately model the current control situation and make better optimization choices that minimize energy usage. In other words, as noted by Barooah “[0003] Though it is possible to retrofit buildings with high efficiency HVAC equipment, doing so requires a substantial amount of investment [3]. In contrast, improving the control algorithms (that operate the HVAC system) to reduce energy usage is far more cost effective. Therefore, many researchers have recently focused on developing advanced control algorithms to reduce energy usage in the buildings;”. By combining these elements, it can be considered taking the known use of outside air temperature as a variable for predictive control in an optimized HVAC control system as taught by Barooah, and using it to improve the known techniques of Rong in a similar way to afford similar improvements in the same way.
In regards to Claim 15, the combination of Rong and Barooah teaches the HVAC scheduling system as incorporated by claim 12 above. Rong further teaches “The system of claim 12,wherein the zone temperature of a succeeding time period is defined as a temperature linear function of the zone temperature of a present time period within the prediction horizon, a zone air conditioning load, a mass flow rate of conditioned air supply in a respective zone of the plurality of zones and the conditioned air temperature.” ([0092] The local model of Equation (2) for zone i is a bilinear dynamic model as the input m, multiplies the state T,. Forecasts of an exogenous noise process x?.sub.£(/e) on forward time windows are used and a critical transformation of the input variables is introduced as per Equation (8)...[0094] Regarding #j(/e) as the new decision variables, the constraints on the acceptable temperature ranges in Equation (3) become linear inequalities. The objective function remains nonlinear (and non-convex). The dominant term in the objective function is the cooling energy, and when the return air to mixed air ratio d.sub.r «1 , this leads to:...[0095] Each zone 34 calculates its cooling energy requirements individually. These are computed over several future time horizons (or window) to obtain a cooling energy profile for each zone 34. For a fixed planning horizon H.sub.p, for each zone i, an associated zone module 12 solves Equation (10) subject to Equations (1 1 ), (12) and (13): [0097] It is possible to interpret J, (H.sub.p) as a minimum cooling energy or minimum number of tokens needed by zone i on the planning horizon H.sub.p to meet local temperature constraints. For a single planning horizon, J, (H.sub.P) does not convey an urgency of the token request. To capture this, the zone module 12 solves the local model for various planning horizons H.sub.p = 1 , 2 W. Note that //(tf.sub.p) is monotone increasing in H.sub.p such that J,(1 ) is the minimum number of tokens needed in the first sample period, J,(2) in the first two periods, and so on. Thus the token request profile J, (H.sub.p) of computed requests captures the urgency of the cooling requirements for zone).
In regards to Claim 16, the combination of Rong and Barooah teaches the HVAC scheduling system as incorporated by claim 12 above. Rong further teaches “The system of claim 12,wherein the at least one AHU comprises a damper opening configured to vary the return air ratio by adjusting positions of the damper opening.” (Fig. 2 shows damper on return air line [0023] In some embodiments, the BEMS may be configured to adjust damper or fan settings to regulate a flow of cool/warm air to the zones. [0025] A goal of the present scheduling approach is to minimise energy consumption for the BEMS, for example, through more efficient operation of the air handling unit AHU (which may comprise one or more fans and/or dampers) and/or the chiller/heater system, while providing for a user-specified zone comfort level.). Barooah also teaches ([0017] The conditioned air goes to the VAV box of each zone, where the conditioned air may be heated up by using the heating coils before being supplied to the zone. The air supplied to the zone may be called supply air. The flow rate of the supply air may be controlled through dampers inside the VAV box. In some embodiments, four control inputs may be decided for these multi-zone VAV systems. Two of the control).
Claim(s) 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong and Barooah as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Janu et al. (US 5292280, hereinafter Janu).
In regards to Claim 1, the combination of Rong and Barooah teaches the method of HVAC scheduling as incorporated by claim 1 above.
The combination of Rong and Barooah fail to teach “The method of claim 1, wherein the conditioned air quality indicator is determined by an air quality indicator of the return air, an air quality indicator of the fresh air and the return air ratio”.
Janu teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein the conditioned air quality indicator is determined by an air quality indicator of the return air, an air quality indicator of the fresh air and the return air ratio” ([col 4 line 44] the method and apparatus of the present invention indirectly determine the flow rate of outside (or makeup) air from the ratio of the difference between the concentration or a tracer gas in the return air and the concentration in the supply air to the difference between the concentration of tracer gas in the return air and the concentration in the outside air. To ensure accurate and consistent measurement, an automatic calibration method and apparatus is also disclosed; wherein supply air is conditioned air and the amounnt of tracer gas is a quality indicator [col 7 line 17] the concentration of the trace gas within supply duct 204 is indicative of the ratio of outdoor air to (recycled) return air within supply conduit 204. The following equation sets forth this relationship: ##EQU2## where CFM.sub.oa and CFM.sub.sa correspond to the volume flow rates (in cubic feet per minute) of the outside air (oa) and supply air (sa), respectively; G.sub.ra corresponds to the trace gas concentration of the return air; G.sub.sa corresponds to the trace gas concentration in the supply air; and G.sub.oa corresponds to the concentration of the trace gas in the outdoor air; wherein co2 is the trace gas/quality indicator).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of HVAC scheduling to further utilize a quality indicator that uses return air and fresh/outside air indicators along with a return air ratio as taught by Janu, because it would gain the stated benefit of Janu, namely it would ensure consistent and accurate measurement. By combining these elements, it can be considered taking the known use of an air quality indicator as taught by Janu, and using it to improve the HVAC methods of Rong and Barooah by incorporating those features in a known way that achieves predictable results.
In regards to Claim 13, the combination of Rong and Barooah teaches the system for HVAC scheduling as incorporated by claim 12 above.
The combination of Rong and Barooah fail to teach “The system of claim 12, wherein the conditioned air quality indicator is determined by an air quality indicator of the return air, an air quality indicator of the fresh air and the return air ratio”.
Janu teaches “The system of claim 12, wherein the conditioned air quality indicator is determined by an air quality indicator of the return air, an air quality indicator of the fresh air and the return air ratio.” ([col 4 line 44] the method and apparatus of the present invention indirectly determine the flow rate of outside (or makeup) air from the ratio of the difference between the concentration or a tracer gas in the return air and the concentration in the supply air to the difference between the concentration of tracer gas in the return air and the concentration in the outside air. To ensure accurate and consistent measurement, an automatic calibration method and apparatus is also disclosed; wherein supply air is conditioned air and the amounnt of tracer gas is a quality indicator [col 7 line 17] the concentration of the trace gas within supply duct 204 is indicative of the ratio of outdoor air to (recycled) return air within supply conduit 204. The following equation sets forth this relationship: ##EQU2## where CFM.sub.oa and CFM.sub.sa correspond to the volume flow rates (in cubic feet per minute) of the outside air (oa) and supply air (sa), respectively; G.sub.ra corresponds to the trace gas concentration of the return air; G.sub.sa corresponds to the trace gas concentration in the supply air; and G.sub.oa corresponds to the concentration of the trace gas in the outdoor air; wherein co2 is the trace gas/quality indicator).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of HVAC scheduling to further utilize a quality indicator that uses return air and fresh/outside air indicators along with a return air ratio as taught by Janu, because it would gain the stated benefit of Janu, namely it would ensure consistent and accurate measurement. By combining these elements, it can be considered taking the known use of an air quality indicator as taught by Janu, and using it to improve the HVAC methods of Rong and Barooah by incorporating those features in a known way that achieves predictable results.
Claim(s) 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong and Barooah as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Turney et al. (US 20220214656, hereinafter Turney).
In regards to Claim 3, the combination of Rong and Barooah teaches the method of HVAC scheduling as incorporated by claim 1 above.
Rong further teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein the zone air quality indicator includes zone carbon dioxide (C02) concentration data…” ([0021] The BEMS may further comprise zone sensors for obtaining the environmental sensor data which may comprise one or more of temperature, air pressure, carbon dioxide (C0.sub.2) concentration, humidity, occupancy and condition or status of windows and/or doors (e.g. open or closed)).
The combination of Rong and Barooah fail to teach “…wherein the zone carbon dioxide (C02) concentration data at a succeeding time period within the prediction horizon is determined by a carbon dioxide (C02) concentration dynamic model as a multi-component function including a plurality of components relating to zone parameters selected from a group of air volume, air density, carbon dioxide (CO2) generation rate of occupant(s) and/or equipment(s) of a respective zone of the plurality of zones”.
Turney teaches “…wherein the zone carbon dioxide (C02) concentration data at a succeeding time period within the prediction horizon is determined by a carbon dioxide (C02) concentration dynamic model as a multi-component function including a plurality of components relating to zone parameters selected from a group of air volume, air density, carbon dioxide (CO2) generation rate of occupant(s) and/or equipment(s) of a respective zone of the plurality of zones.” ([0014] The zone model defines a first relationship between a first environmental condition of the environmental conditions and the first input provided to the zone by the first building device, according to some embodiments. The zone model defines a second relationship between a second environmental condition of the environmental conditions, the first input provided to the zone by the first building device, and the second input provided to the zone by the second building device, according to some embodiments. [0015] In some embodiments, the environmental conditions include at least one of a temperature, a humidity, a particular matter concentration, or a carbon dioxide concentration. [0105] In some embodiments, asset allocator 402 is configured to optimally dispatch all campus energy assets in order to meet the requested heating, cooling, and electrical loads of the campus for each time step within an optimization horizon or optimization period of duration h. [0213] In some embodiments, a state-space representation of airside dynamics can be used to describe the predicted evolution of airside optimization units (e.g., building mass). Such a model may have the form: x(k+1)=A.sub.x(k)+Bu(k) where x(k) is the airside optimization unit state vector, u(k) is the airside optimization unit input vector, and A and B are the system matrices. In general, an airside optimization unit or the control volume that the dynamic model describes may represent a region (e.g., multiple HVAC zones served by the same air handling unit) or an aggregate of several regions (e.g., an entire building). [0345] It should be noted that when using volume concentrations with the above equations for determining rate of changes for environmental conditions, the equations are not exact as no mass balance is implied. However, given a density of air inside is generally less than 1% different than outside and the density of air changes by less than 5% in a given day, volume balance may be used with negligible error. [0346] Using zone models 2404, asset allocator 402 can incorporate how environmental conditions in a zone will be affected due to operation of assets and other factors leading to disturbances when solving an optimization problem).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of scheduling HVAC system which optimizes an energy usage that achieves zone air targets using air quality readings of CO2 as taught by Rong and Barooah with the use of a CO2 model that models CO2 at various timepoints on the basis of the volume of air in the zones as taught by Turney, because it would offer the obvious benefit of having more information, including future CO2 data, for optimizing the energy usage of the HVAC system. Furthermore, all inventions are in the related fields of HVAC control for optimizing energy usage, thus motivating PHOSITA to combine these references. By combining these references, it can be considered taking the known use of a CO2 model for modeling future CO2 levels as taught by Turney, and using it to improve the HVAC control system of Rong and Barooah in a known way that achieves predictable results.
In regards to Claim 14, the combination of Rong and Barooah teaches the method of HVAC scheduling as incorporated by claim 1 above.
Rong further teaches “The system of claim 12, wherein the zone air quality indicator includes zone carbon dioxide (CO2) concentration data…” ([0021] The BEMS may further comprise zone sensors for obtaining the environmental sensor data which may comprise one or more of temperature, air pressure, carbon dioxide (C0.sub.2) concentration, humidity, occupancy and condition or status of windows and/or doors (e.g. open or closed)).
The combination of Rong and Barooah fail to teach “…wherein the zone carbon dioxide (CO2) concentration data at a succeeding time period within the prediction horizon is determined by a carbon dioxide (CO2) concentration dynamic model as a multi-component function including a plurality of components relating to zone parameters selected from a group of air volume, air density, carbon dioxide (CO2) generation rate of occupant(s) and/or equipment(s) of a respective zone of the plurality of zones.”.
Turney teaches “…wherein the zone carbon dioxide (C02) concentration data at a succeeding time period within the prediction horizon is determined by a carbon dioxide (C02) concentration dynamic model as a multi-component function including a plurality of components relating to zone parameters selected from a group of air volume, air density, carbon dioxide (CO2) generation rate of occupant(s) and/or equipment(s) of a respective zone of the plurality of zones.” ([0014] The zone model defines a first relationship between a first environmental condition of the environmental conditions and the first input provided to the zone by the first building device, according to some embodiments. The zone model defines a second relationship between a second environmental condition of the environmental conditions, the first input provided to the zone by the first building device, and the second input provided to the zone by the second building device, according to some embodiments. [0015] In some embodiments, the environmental conditions include at least one of a temperature, a humidity, a particular matter concentration, or a carbon dioxide concentration. [0105] In some embodiments, asset allocator 402 is configured to optimally dispatch all campus energy assets in order to meet the requested heating, cooling, and electrical loads of the campus for each time step within an optimization horizon or optimization period of duration h. [0213] In some embodiments, a state-space representation of airside dynamics can be used to describe the predicted evolution of airside optimization units (e.g., building mass). Such a model may have the form: x(k+1)=A.sub.x(k)+Bu(k) where x(k) is the airside optimization unit state vector, u(k) is the airside optimization unit input vector, and A and B are the system matrices. In general, an airside optimization unit or the control volume that the dynamic model describes may represent a region (e.g., multiple HVAC zones served by the same air handling unit) or an aggregate of several regions (e.g., an entire building). [0345] It should be noted that when using volume concentrations with the above equations for determining rate of changes for environmental conditions, the equations are not exact as no mass balance is implied. However, given a density of air inside is generally less than 1% different than outside and the density of air changes by less than 5% in a given day, volume balance may be used with negligible error. [0346] Using zone models 2404, asset allocator 402 can incorporate how environmental conditions in a zone will be affected due to operation of assets and other factors leading to disturbances when solving an optimization problem).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of scheduling HVAC system which optimizes an energy usage that achieves zone air targets using air quality readings of CO2 as taught by Rong and Barooah with the use of a CO2 model that models CO2 at various timepoints on the basis of the volume of air in the zones as taught by Turney, because it would offer the obvious benefit of having more information, including future CO2 data, for optimizing the energy usage of the HVAC system. Furthermore, all inventions are in the related fields of HVAC control for optimizing energy usage, thus motivating PHOSITA to combine these references. By combining these references, it can be considered taking the known use of a CO2 model for modeling future CO2 levels as taught by Turney, and using it to improve the HVAC control system of Rong and Barooah in a known way that achieves predictable results.
Claim(s) 6-7 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong and Barooah as applied to claims 5 and 16 above, and further in view of Norrell et al. (US 20120253524, hereinafter Norrell).
In regards to Claim 6, the combination of Rong and Barooah teaches the method of HVAC scheduling as incorporated by claim 5 above.
The combination of Rong and Barooah fails to teach “The method of claim 5, further comprising: determining an average return air ratio across the positions of the damper opening, and determining differences between the return air ratio when the damper opening is at each of the positions and the average return air ratio”.
Norrell teaches “The method of claim 5, further comprising: determining an average return air ratio across the positions of the damper opening, and determining differences between the return air ratio when the damper opening is at each of the positions and the average return air ratio.” ([0011] The bypass damper has an open position, a closed position, and a plurality of partially open positions; [0026] the position of bypass damper 41 may be controlled to (a) completely block bypass air flow through bypass duct 40 in a closed position, (b) allow a maximum flow of bypass air through bypass duct 40 in a fully opened position, or (c) allow a limited flow of bypass air through bypass duct 40 in a partially opened position. As will be described in more detail below, the flow rate of bypass air flowing through bypass duct is limited to either (a) a predetermined maximum bypass air flow rate (CFM), or (b) a predetermined maximum recirculation percentage (i.e., a predetermined maximum percentage of the nominal air flow rate generated by HVAC unit 20)[0035] Moving now to block 207, control device 120 compares the actual flow rate of bypass air flowing through bypass duct 40 calculated in block 205 to the bypass air flow rate threshold input in block 203. If the bypass air flow rate threshold is a recommended maximum bypass air flow rate, control device 120 simply compares the actual flow rate of bypass air flowing through bypass duct 40 to the recommended maximum bypass air flow rate. However, if the bypass air flow rate threshold is a recommended maximum recirculation percentage, control device 120 must (a) calculate an "actual" recirculation percentage equal to the ratio of the actual flow rate of bypass air flowing through duct 40 to the nominal air flow rate generated by HVAC unit 20 input in block 202 (.times.100%); and then, (b) compare the actual recirculation percentage to the maximum recirculation percentage; wherein a nominal value of air flow is an average).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the method for scheduling HVAC as taught by Rong and Barooah, with the use of a method for determining an average return air ratio and differences at each positions of a damper using the average return air ratio as taught by Norell, because it can be considered taking a known method to improve a similar device in the same way. The claim does not utilize incorporate itself into features of the parent claim in a direct way, such that the methods of this dependent claim are detached from the other claimed features. As such, a use of a method like that of Norell would be obvious in light of the fact that this dependent claim is wholly disassociated from other steps in the parent claims. It can be considered the use of a known method to improve another method in a known way that achieves predictable results.
In regards to Claim 7, the combination of Rong, Barooah and Norrell teaches the method as incorporated by claim 6 above. Barooah further teaches “The method of claim 6, further comprising: setting a lower bound and an upper bound for an air conditioning load associated with the at least one AHU” ([0032] The choice of design variables T.sub.RTG.sup.unocc, T.sub.RTG.sup.occ, T.sub.low.sup.unocc, T.sub.low.sup.occ, T.sub.high.sup.unocc, T.sub.high.sup.occ may involve a tradeoff between energy savings and thermal comfort. It may be preferable that the range [T.sub.low.sup.occ, T.sub.high.sup.occ] be chosen to ensure that occupants are comfortable if the zone temperature is within this range. A wider range may in general reduce energy consumption, since the controller may be able to reduce reheating during low thermal load conditions and reduce the airflow during high thermal load conditions. Too wide a range may, however, lead to discomfort on the occupants' part. As a general rule, it may be preferable for the parameters for the unoccupied periods to be chosen so that [T.sub.low.sup.occ,T.sub.high.sup.occ]⊂[T.sub.low.sup.unocc,T.sub.high.sup.unocc] Similarly, choosing the reheating set-points (T.sub.RTG.sup.unocc,T.sub.RTG.sup.occ) far from the heating set-points (T.sub.low.sup.unocc,T.sub.low.sup.occ) may lead to not only more energy savings but also more discomfort.]; wherein the energy consumed is defined by a range that is from the chosen temperature ranges, which are for different maximum/minimum loading conditions that switches between different operation modes to optimally balance energy savings with comfort (i.e. temperature range is load range)) “wherein the lower bound is set when the return air ratio is at a maximum and the upper bound is set when the return air ratio is zero,” ([0036] In step 2, the RA ratio may be searched in the range [max(R.sup.RA(k)−R.sub.rate.sup.RAΔt,R.sub.min.sup.RA),min(R.sup.RA(k)+R.sub.rate.sup.RAΔt,R.sub.max.sup.RA)] due to the actuator constraints. The damper position may not change quickly, and the RA ratio may also be limited in its rate of change. In some embodiments, the maximum allowable rate at which the RA ratio can change (increase/decrease) may be R.sub.rate.sup.RA. The maximum and minimum allowable values of the RA ratio may be represented by R.sub.max.sup.RA and R.sub.min.sup.RA, respectively. [0046] The first two constraints may specify the range in which the zone temperature and humidity ratio are allowed to vary. The third constraint may simply take into account actuator capabilities. The fourth constraint may mean that there is a lower and upper bound on the flow rate entering the zone (m.sup.SA). The lower bound on the flow rate may be the same as for (4), while the upper bound m.sub.high.sup.SA may reflect the maximum flow rate possible when the dampers in the VAV box are completely open. The last four constraints may correspond to the upper and lower bounds on the RA ratio and CA temperature due to the limitation on the maximum rate at which the RA ratio and CA temperature can change from their current values, which may be the same constraints as for the Z-FC controller) “wherein the air conditioning load is set between the lower bound and the upper bound” ([0042] The control inputs over K time indices may be obtained by solving a constrained problem: minimize total energy consumption over that period while maintaining thermal comfort and IAQ. The control inputs may be applied at the current time index k. The problem may be solved again at time index k+1 to compute the control inputs for the next K time instants.The control inputs over K time indices may be obtained by solving a constrained problem: minimize total energy consumption over that period while maintaining thermal comfort and IAQ. The control inputs may be applied at the current time index k. The problem may be solved again at time index k+1 to compute the control inputs for the next K time instants).
In regards to Claim 17, the combination of Rong and Barooah teaches the method of HVAC scheduling as incorporated by claim 16 above.
The combination of Rong and Barooah fails to teach “The system of claim 16, wherein the scheduler is further configured to: determine an average return air ratio across the positions of the damper opening and determining differences between the return air ratio when the damper opening is at each of the positions and the average return air ratio”.
Norrell teaches “The system of claim 16, wherein the scheduler is further configured to: determine an average return air ratio across the positions of the damper opening and determining differences between the return air ratio when the damper opening is at each of the positions and the average return air ratio.” ([0011] The bypass damper has an open position, a closed position, and a plurality of partially open positions; [0026] the position of bypass damper 41 may be controlled to (a) completely block bypass air flow through bypass duct 40 in a closed position, (b) allow a maximum flow of bypass air through bypass duct 40 in a fully opened position, or (c) allow a limited flow of bypass air through bypass duct 40 in a partially opened position. As will be described in more detail below, the flow rate of bypass air flowing through bypass duct is limited to either (a) a predetermined maximum bypass air flow rate (CFM), or (b) a predetermined maximum recirculation percentage (i.e., a predetermined maximum percentage of the nominal air flow rate generated by HVAC unit 20)[0035] Moving now to block 207, control device 120 compares the actual flow rate of bypass air flowing through bypass duct 40 calculated in block 205 to the bypass air flow rate threshold input in block 203. If the bypass air flow rate threshold is a recommended maximum bypass air flow rate, control device 120 simply compares the actual flow rate of bypass air flowing through bypass duct 40 to the recommended maximum bypass air flow rate. However, if the bypass air flow rate threshold is a recommended maximum recirculation percentage, control device 120 must (a) calculate an "actual" recirculation percentage equal to the ratio of the actual flow rate of bypass air flowing through duct 40 to the nominal air flow rate generated by HVAC unit 20 input in block 202 (.times.100%); and then, (b) compare the actual recirculation percentage to the maximum recirculation percentage; wherein a nominal value of air flow is an average).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the method for scheduling HVAC as taught by Rong and Barooah, with the use of a method for determining an average return air ratio and differences at each positions of a damper using the average return air ratio as taught by Norell, because it can be considered taking a known method to improve a similar device in the same way. The claim does not utilize incorporate itself into features of the parent claim in a direct way, such that the methods of this dependent claim are detached from the other claimed features. As such, a use of a method like that of Norell would be obvious in light of the fact that this dependent claim is wholly disassociated from other steps in the parent claims. It can be considered the use of a known method to improve another method in a known way that achieves predictable results.
In regards to Claim 18, the combination of Rong, Barooah and Norrell teaches the method as incorporated by claim 17 above. Barooah further teaches “The system of claim 17, wherein the scheduler is further configured to: set a lower bound and an upper bound for an air conditioning load associated with the at least one AHU” ([0032] The choice of design variables T.sub.RTG.sup.unocc, T.sub.RTG.sup.occ, T.sub.low.sup.unocc, T.sub.low.sup.occ, T.sub.high.sup.unocc, T.sub.high.sup.occ may involve a tradeoff between energy savings and thermal comfort. It may be preferable that the range [T.sub.low.sup.occ, T.sub.high.sup.occ] be chosen to ensure that occupants are comfortable if the zone temperature is within this range. A wider range may in general reduce energy consumption, since the controller may be able to reduce reheating during low thermal load conditions and reduce the airflow during high thermal load conditions. Too wide a range may, however, lead to discomfort on the occupants' part. As a general rule, it may be preferable for the parameters for the unoccupied periods to be chosen so that [T.sub.low.sup.occ,T.sub.high.sup.occ]⊂[T.sub.low.sup.unocc,T.sub.high.sup.unocc] Similarly, choosing the reheating set-points (T.sub.RTG.sup.unocc,T.sub.RTG.sup.occ) far from the heating set-points (T.sub.low.sup.unocc,T.sub.low.sup.occ) may lead to not only more energy savings but also more discomfort.]; wherein the energy consumed is defined by a range that is from the chosen temperature ranges, which are for different maximum/minimum loading conditions that switches between different operation modes to optimally balance energy savings with comfort (i.e. temperature range is load range)) “wherein the lower bound is set when the return air ratio is at a maximum and the upper bound is set when the return air ratio is zero,” ([0036] In step 2, the RA ratio may be searched in the range [max(R.sup.RA(k)−R.sub.rate.sup.RAΔt,R.sub.min.sup.RA),min(R.sup.RA(k)+R.sub.rate.sup.RAΔt,R.sub.max.sup.RA)] due to the actuator constraints. The damper position may not change quickly, and the RA ratio may also be limited in its rate of change. In some embodiments, the maximum allowable rate at which the RA ratio can change (increase/decrease) may be R.sub.rate.sup.RA. The maximum and minimum allowable values of the RA ratio may be represented by R.sub.max.sup.RA and R.sub.min.sup.RA, respectively. [0046] The first two constraints may specify the range in which the zone temperature and humidity ratio are allowed to vary. The third constraint may simply take into account actuator capabilities. The fourth constraint may mean that there is a lower and upper bound on the flow rate entering the zone (m.sup.SA). The lower bound on the flow rate may be the same as for (4), while the upper bound m.sub.high.sup.SA may reflect the maximum flow rate possible when the dampers in the VAV box are completely open. The last four constraints may correspond to the upper and lower bounds on the RA ratio and CA temperature due to the limitation on the maximum rate at which the RA ratio and CA temperature can change from their current values, which may be the same constraints as for the Z-FC controller) “wherein the air conditioning load is set between the lower bound and the upper bound” ([0042] The control inputs over K time indices may be obtained by solving a constrained problem: minimize total energy consumption over that period while maintaining thermal comfort and IAQ. The control inputs may be applied at the current time index k. The problem may be solved again at time index k+1 to compute the control inputs for the next K time instants.The control inputs over K time indices may be obtained by solving a constrained problem: minimize total energy consumption over that period while maintaining thermal comfort and IAQ. The control inputs may be applied at the current time index k. The problem may be solved again at time index k+1 to compute the control inputs for the next K time instants).
Allowable Subject Matter
In terms of prior art, it is found that claims 8-12 and 19-20 contain subject matter novel to the invention. It is noted that should a practical application be incorporated into any of claims 8-12 or 19-20, such as by utilizing the determinations of the invention to perform a control of an HVAC system, these claims would be found allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Goyal et al. “Energy-efficient control of an air handling unit for a single-zone VAV system” – teaches a method for controlling a VAV AHU while maintaining thermal comfort and indoor air quality
/JONATHAN MICHAEL SKRZYCKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2116