CTNF 18/834,971 CTNF 85737 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 1-8, 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claims 1-8, 10-19 mention “one or more baseband processors” however, from the way the claims are written (lack of any hardware part, hardware component for such one or more baseband processors), such one or more baseband processors can be considered as purely software (for example, virtual processors) which is non-statutory subject matter, and not a machine (statutory subject matter). Applicants are reminded that MPEP 2106 describes a “machine” as “Machine – a concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices. Burr v. Duryee, 68 U.S. (1 Wall.) 531, 570, 17 L. Ed. 650 (1863). This includes every mechanical device or combination of mechanical powers and devices to perform some function and produce a certain effect or result. Corning v. Burden, 56 U.S. 252, 267, 14 L. Ed. 683 (1854).” Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 AIA Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 33 is indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for the following limitation: “the base station one or more processors” (claim 33) Examiner recommends Applicants to amend it to “the one or more processors”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 5-8, 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada, US 20210029572 in view of Zhang, WO 2020038215 A1 . For claim 1 . Harada teaches: One or more baseband processors configured to perform operations comprising: (Harada, fig 6, paragraph 141-159, “The baseband signal processing section 204 of the user terminal 20 includes at least a control section 401, a transmission signal generating section 402, a mapping section 403, a received signal processing section 404 and a measurement section 405.”) receiving first signaling information from a first base station (BS), (Harada, paragraph 140, “When, for example, the first carrier includes the serving cell, each transmitting/receiving section 203 may receive the measurement instruction for instructing inter-frequency measurement in the second carrier”; fig 6, paragraph 141-159, “The received signal processing section 404 performs reception processing (e.g., demapping, demodulation and decoding) on the received signal input from each transmitting/receiving section 203. In this regard, the received signal is, for example, a downlink signal (such as a downlink control signal, a downlink data signal or a downlink reference signal) transmitted from the radio base station 10.”; also see fig 4, paragraph 117-133 for perspective of base station, “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating one example of a function configuration of the radio base station according to the one embodiment of the present disclosure… The control section (scheduler) 301 controls the entire radio base station 10… When a first carrier includes a serving cell of the user terminal 20, the control section 301 may perform control to transmit to the user terminal 20 a measurement instruction for instructing inter-frequency measurement in a second carrier.”) wherein the first signaling information indicates that a user equipment (UE) is to determine an index of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) transmitted by a second BS to the UE on a second component carrier, based on timing information regarding a first component carrier associated with the first BS; (Harada, fig 6, paragraph 141-159, “When the first carrier includes the serving cell, the control section 401 may perform control to perform inter-frequency measurement in the second carrier based on the measurement instruction obtained from the received signal processing section 404. In this regard, the above second carrier is a carrier different from the above first carrier. The above measurement instruction may be a MeasObjectNR information element. When specific information is included in the above measurement instruction, the control section 401 may control processing related to a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) in a measurement target cell corresponding to the above measurement instruction based on the specific information. In this regard, the above specific information may be information (useServingCellTimingForSync) indicating whether or not an index of an SSB to be transmitted by a neighbour cell can be derived based on a timing of the serving cell, or may be information different from use. When, for example, the above specific information is included in the above measurement instruction, the control section 401 may derive the SSB index of the measurement target cell in the above second carrier by using the frame timing of the serving cell in the above first carrier.”) Harada doesn’t teach: determining a first measurement window for measuring one or more characteristics of the first SSB, wherein the first measurement window is determined based on a first time offset value Δt.sub.1 and an expected length of the first SSB; and measuring the one or more characteristics of the first SSB on the second carrier during the first measurement window. Zhang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: determining a first measurement window for measuring one or more characteristics of the first SSB, wherein the first measurement window is determined based on a first time offset value Δt.sub.1 and an expected length of the first SSB; and measuring the one or more characteristics of the first SSB on the second carrier during the first measurement window. (Zhang, translation, paragraph 87-105, “Step S501: The network side sends the first indication information; In this embodiment, the first indication information includes one or more of the following: 1) SSB transmission cycle of the serving cell; 2) SSB transmission cycle of other cells at the same frequency and/or different frequencies, wherein the SSB transmission cycle of other cells may be one SSB transmission cycle per frequency point, or one transmission cycle per cell; 3) The offset between the SSB transmission of other cells at the same frequency and/or different frequencies and the SBB transmission of the serving cell, for example, the difference between cell1 and the SSB of the serving cell is 10ms; the difference between cell2 and the SBB of the serving cell is 20ms, etc… An indication of the relationship between the SSB transmission period and the SMTC (SSB measurement timing configuration) period of other cells on the same frequency and/or different frequencies. There can be multiple indications, one for each frequency point or one for each cell. For example, it indicates that the SSB transmission period of other cells on the same frequency is longer than the SMTC period… Step S502: The network side sends a second indication message, which includes SMTC configuration information; In this embodiment, the second indication information is: the SMTC configuration information of the serving cell and/or the SMTC configuration information of the neighboring cells. The SMTC configuration information of the neighboring cells can be one SMTC configuration information corresponding to each frequency point, or one SMTC configuration information corresponding to each cell. In this embodiment, the SMTC configuration information includes: SMTC duration, period, and offset… In step S503, the terminal receives the first and second indication information from the network, performs the measurement, and calculates the starting position of the measurement according to the SMTC configuration information, as follows: SFN mod T = floor(Offset/10); subframe = Offset mod 10; with T = Periodicity/1; Where floor represents floor, SFN represents system frame number, mod represents modulo function, subframe represents subframe encoding, periodicity is the SMTC period in the second indication information, and offset is the SMTC offset in the second indication information… Step S504: When the SSB transmission period and SMTC period are different in the first indication information, when the terminal performs a measurement on a certain cell, it performs the measurement according to the larger of the SSB transmission period and SMTC period, and the measurement needs to meet the index requirement of max (SSB transmission period, SMTC period)”) Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Zhang into Harada, since Harada suggests a technique for performing measurement of other cell on different carrier (frequency), and Zhang suggests the beneficial way of performing such measurement according to the larger of an SSB transmission period and SMTC period so that when the SMTC period and SSB period are inconsistent, the terminal can avoid including invalid measurements in the measurement results, thereby avoiding the additional power consumption and complexity caused by the terminal performing invalid measurements (Zhang, translation, paragraph 21) in the analogous art of communication. For claim 5 . Harada and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and Zhang further teaches: wherein the first time offset value Δt.sub.1 represents a difference in synchronization between (i) first wireless signals transmitted by the first BS to the UE using the first component carrier, and (ii) second wireless signals transmitted by the second BS to the UE using the second component carrier. (Zhang, translation, paragraph 87-105, “Step S501: The network side sends the first indication information; In this embodiment, the first indication information includes one or more of the following: 1) SSB transmission cycle of the serving cell; 2) SSB transmission cycle of other cells at the same frequency and/or different frequencies, wherein the SSB transmission cycle of other cells may be one SSB transmission cycle per frequency point, or one transmission cycle per cell; 3) The offset between the SSB transmission of other cells at the same frequency and/or different frequencies and the SBB transmission of the serving cell, for example, the difference between cell1 and the SSB of the serving cell is 10ms; the difference between cell2 and the SBB of the serving cell is 20ms, etc… An indication of the relationship between the SSB transmission period and the SMTC (SSB measurement timing configuration) period of other cells on the same frequency and/or different frequencies. There can be multiple indications, one for each frequency point or one for each cell. For example, it indicates that the SSB transmission period of other cells on the same frequency is longer than the SMTC period… Step S502: The network side sends a second indication message, which includes SMTC configuration information; In this embodiment, the second indication information is: the SMTC configuration information of the serving cell and/or the SMTC configuration information of the neighboring cells. The SMTC configuration information of the neighboring cells can be one SMTC configuration information corresponding to each frequency point, or one SMTC configuration information corresponding to each cell. In this embodiment, the SMTC configuration information includes: SMTC duration, period, and offset… In step S503, the terminal receives the first and second indication information from the network, performs the measurement, and calculates the starting position of the measurement according to the SMTC configuration information, as follows: SFN mod T = floor(Offset/10); subframe = Offset mod 10; with T = Periodicity/1; Where floor represents floor, SFN represents system frame number, mod represents modulo function, subframe represents subframe encoding, periodicity is the SMTC period in the second indication information, and offset is the SMTC offset in the second indication information… Step S504: When the SSB transmission period and SMTC period are different in the first indication information, when the terminal performs a measurement on a certain cell, it performs the measurement according to the larger of the SSB transmission period and SMTC period, and the measurement needs to meet the index requirement of max (SSB transmission period, SMTC period)”) For claim 6 . Harada and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and Harada further teaches: wherein the first component carrier is associated with a first subcarrier spacing (SCS), and wherein the second component carrier is associated with a second SCS different from the first SCS. (Harada, paragraph 35-36, “The UE may perform communication (transmission and reception, and measurement of a signal) by using at least one frequency range (carrier frequency) of a first frequency range (FR 1: Frequency Range 1) and a second frequency range (FR 2: Frequency Range 2). For example, the FR 1 may be a frequency range equal to or less than 6 GHz (sub-6 GHz), and the FR 2 may be a frequency range higher than 24 GHz (above-24 GHz). The FR 1 may be defined as a frequency range that uses at least one of 15, 30 and 60 kHz as a Sub-Carrier Spacing (SCS), and the FR 2 may be defined as a frequency range that uses at least one of 60 and 120 kHz as the SCS. In addition, the frequency ranges and the definitions of the FR 1 and the FR 2 are not limited to these, and, for example, the FR 1 may be a frequency range higher than that of the FR 2.”) For claim 7 . Harada and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and Harada further teaches: wherein the first signaling information indicates that a value of an information element deriveSSB-IndexFromCell-inter is true. (Harada, fig 6, paragraph 141-159, “When the first carrier includes the serving cell, the control section 401 may perform control to perform inter-frequency measurement in the second carrier based on the measurement instruction obtained from the received signal processing section 404. In this regard, the above second carrier is a carrier different from the above first carrier. The above measurement instruction may be a MeasObjectNR information element. When specific information is included in the above measurement instruction, the control section 401 may control processing related to a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) in a measurement target cell corresponding to the above measurement instruction based on the specific information. In this regard, the above specific information may be information (useServingCellTimingForSync) indicating whether or not an index of an SSB to be transmitted by a neighbour cell can be derived based on a timing of the serving cell, or may be information different from use. When, for example, the above specific information is included in the above measurement instruction, the control section 401 may derive the SSB index of the measurement target cell in the above second carrier by using the frame timing of the serving cell in the above first carrier.”) For claim 8 . Harada and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and Zhang further teaches: wherein the expected length of the first SSB is determined based on second signaling information transmitted by the first BS to the UE, and wherein the second signaling information comprises an information element SSB-ToMeasure (Zhang, translation, paragraph 87-105, “Step S501: The network side sends the first indication information; In this embodiment, the first indication information includes one or more of the following: 1) SSB transmission cycle of the serving cell; 2) SSB transmission cycle of other cells at the same frequency and/or different frequencies, wherein the SSB transmission cycle of other cells may be one SSB transmission cycle per frequency point, or one transmission cycle per cell; 3) The offset between the SSB transmission of other cells at the same frequency and/or different frequencies and the SBB transmission of the serving cell, for example, the difference between cell1 and the SSB of the serving cell is 10ms; the difference between cell2 and the SBB of the serving cell is 20ms, etc… An indication of the relationship between the SSB transmission period and the SMTC (SSB measurement timing configuration) period of other cells on the same frequency and/or different frequencies. There can be multiple indications, one for each frequency point or one for each cell. For example, it indicates that the SSB transmission period of other cells on the same frequency is longer than the SMTC period… Step S502: The network side sends a second indication message, which includes SMTC configuration information; In this embodiment, the second indication information is: the SMTC configuration information of the serving cell and/or the SMTC configuration information of the neighboring cells. The SMTC configuration information of the neighboring cells can be one SMTC configuration information corresponding to each frequency point, or one SMTC configuration information corresponding to each cell. In this embodiment, the SMTC configuration information includes: SMTC duration, period, and offset… In step S503, the terminal receives the first and second indication information from the network, performs the measurement, and calculates the starting position of the measurement according to the SMTC configuration information, as follows: SFN mod T = floor(Offset/10); subframe = Offset mod 10; with T = Periodicity/1; Where floor represents floor, SFN represents system frame number, mod represents modulo function, subframe represents subframe encoding, periodicity is the SMTC period in the second indication information, and offset is the SMTC offset in the second indication information… Step S504: When the SSB transmission period and SMTC period are different in the first indication information, when the terminal performs a measurement on a certain cell, it performs the measurement according to the larger of the SSB transmission period and SMTC period, and the measurement needs to meet the index requirement of max (SSB transmission period, SMTC period)”) For claim 32 . Harada teaches: A method comprising: receiving first signaling information from a first base station (BS), (Harada, paragraph 140, “When, for example, the first carrier includes the serving cell, each transmitting/receiving section 203 may receive the measurement instruction for instructing inter-frequency measurement in the second carrier”; fig 6, paragraph 141-159, “The received signal processing section 404 performs reception processing (e.g., demapping, demodulation and decoding) on the received signal input from each transmitting/receiving section 203. In this regard, the received signal is, for example, a downlink signal (such as a downlink control signal, a downlink data signal or a downlink reference signal) transmitted from the radio base station 10.”; also see fig 4, paragraph 117-133 for perspective of base station, “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating one example of a function configuration of the radio base station according to the one embodiment of the present disclosure… The control section (scheduler) 301 controls the entire radio base station 10… When a first carrier includes a serving cell of the user terminal 20, the control section 301 may perform control to transmit to the user terminal 20 a measurement instruction for instructing inter-frequency measurement in a second carrier.”) wherein the first signaling information indicates that a user equipment (UE) is to determine an index of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) transmitted by a second BS to the UE on a second component carrier, based on timing information regarding a first component carrier associated with the first BS; (Harada, fig 6, paragraph 141-159, “When the first carrier includes the serving cell, the control section 401 may perform control to perform inter-frequency measurement in the second carrier based on the measurement instruction obtained from the received signal processing section 404. In this regard, the above second carrier is a carrier different from the above first carrier. The above measurement instruction may be a MeasObjectNR information element. When specific information is included in the above measurement instruction, the control section 401 may control processing related to a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) in a measurement target cell corresponding to the above measurement instruction based on the specific information. In this regard, the above specific information may be information (useServingCellTimingForSync) indicating whether or not an index of an SSB to be transmitted by a neighbour cell can be derived based on a timing of the serving cell, or may be information different from use. When, for example, the above specific information is included in the above measurement instruction, the control section 401 may derive the SSB index of the measurement target cell in the above second carrier by using the frame timing of the serving cell in the above first carrier.”) Harada doesn’t teach: determining a first measurement window for measuring one or more characteristics of the first SSB, wherein the first measurement window is determined based on a first time offset value Δt.sub.1 and an expected length of the first SSB; and measuring the one or more characteristics of the first SSB on the second carrier during the first measurement window. Zhang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: determining a first measurement window for measuring one or more characteristics of the first SSB, wherein the first measurement window is determined based on a first time offset value Δt.sub.1 and an expected length of the first SSB; and measuring the one or more characteristics of the first SSB on the second carrier during the first measurement window. (Zhang, translation, paragraph 87-105, “Step S501: The network side sends the first indication information; In this embodiment, the first indication information includes one or more of the following: 1) SSB transmission cycle of the serving cell; 2) SSB transmission cycle of other cells at the same frequency and/or different frequencies, wherein the SSB transmission cycle of other cells may be one SSB transmission cycle per frequency point, or one transmission cycle per cell; 3) The offset between the SSB transmission of other cells at the same frequency and/or different frequencies and the SBB transmission of the serving cell, for example, the difference between cell1 and the SSB of the serving cell is 10ms; the difference between cell2 and the SBB of the serving cell is 20ms, etc… An indication of the relationship between the SSB transmission period and the SMTC (SSB measurement timing configuration) period of other cells on the same frequency and/or different frequencies. There can be multiple indications, one for each frequency point or one for each cell. For example, it indicates that the SSB transmission period of other cells on the same frequency is longer than the SMTC period… Step S502: The network side sends a second indication message, which includes SMTC configuration information; In this embodiment, the second indication information is: the SMTC configuration information of the serving cell and/or the SMTC configuration information of the neighboring cells. The SMTC configuration information of the neighboring cells can be one SMTC configuration information corresponding to each frequency point, or one SMTC configuration information corresponding to each cell. In this embodiment, the SMTC configuration information includes: SMTC duration, period, and offset… In step S503, the terminal receives the first and second indication information from the network, performs the measurement, and calculates the starting position of the measurement according to the SMTC configuration information, as follows: SFN mod T = floor(Offset/10); subframe = Offset mod 10; with T = Periodicity/1; Where floor represents floor, SFN represents system frame number, mod represents modulo function, subframe represents subframe encoding, periodicity is the SMTC period in the second indication information, and offset is the SMTC offset in the second indication information… Step S504: When the SSB transmission period and SMTC period are different in the first indication information, when the terminal performs a measurement on a certain cell, it performs the measurement according to the larger of the SSB transmission period and SMTC period, and the measurement needs to meet the index requirement of max (SSB transmission period, SMTC period)”) Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Zhang into Harada, since Harada suggests a technique for performing measurement of other cell on different carrier (frequency), and Zhang suggests the beneficial way of performing such measurement according to the larger of an SSB transmission period and SMTC period so that when the SMTC period and SSB period are inconsistent, the terminal can avoid including invalid measurements in the measurement results, thereby avoiding the additional power consumption and complexity caused by the terminal performing invalid measurements (Zhang, translation, paragraph 21) in the analogous art of communication. For claim 33 . Harada teaches: A user equipment (UE) comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station one or more processors to perform operations comprising: (Harada, fig 7, paragraph 160-172) receiving first signaling information from a first base station (BS), (Harada, paragraph 140, “When, for example, the first carrier includes the serving cell, each transmitting/receiving section 203 may receive the measurement instruction for instructing inter-frequency measurement in the second carrier”; fig 6, paragraph 141-159, “The received signal processing section 404 performs reception processing (e.g., demapping, demodulation and decoding) on the received signal input from each transmitting/receiving section 203. In this regard, the received signal is, for example, a downlink signal (such as a downlink control signal, a downlink data signal or a downlink reference signal) transmitted from the radio base station 10.”; also see fig 4, paragraph 117-133 for perspective of base station, “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating one example of a function configuration of the radio base station according to the one embodiment of the present disclosure… The control section (scheduler) 301 controls the entire radio base station 10… When a first carrier includes a serving cell of the user terminal 20, the control section 301 may perform control to transmit to the user terminal 20 a measurement instruction for instructing inter-frequency measurement in a second carrier.”) wherein the first signaling information indicates that the UE is to determine an index of a first synchronization signal block (SSB) transmitted by a second BS to the UE on a second component carrier, based on timing information regarding a first component carrier associated with the first BS; (Harada, fig 6, paragraph 141-159, “When the first carrier includes the serving cell, the control section 401 may perform control to perform inter-frequency measurement in the second carrier based on the measurement instruction obtained from the received signal processing section 404. In this regard, the above second carrier is a carrier different from the above first carrier. The above measurement instruction may be a MeasObjectNR information element. When specific information is included in the above measurement instruction, the control section 401 may control processing related to a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) in a measurement target cell corresponding to the above measurement instruction based on the specific information. In this regard, the above specific information may be information (useServingCellTimingForSync) indicating whether or not an index of an SSB to be transmitted by a neighbour cell can be derived based on a timing of the serving cell, or may be information different from use. When, for example, the above specific information is included in the above measurement instruction, the control section 401 may derive the SSB index of the measurement target cell in the above second carrier by using the frame timing of the serving cell in the above first carrier.”) Harada doesn’t teach: determining a first measurement window for measuring one or more characteristics of the first SSB, wherein the first measurement window is determined based on a first time offset value Δt.sub.1 and an expected length of the first SSB; and measuring the one or more characteristics of the first SSB on the second carrier during the first measurement window. Zhang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: determining a first measurement window for measuring one or more characteristics of the first SSB, wherein the first measurement window is determined based on a first time offset value Δt.sub.1 and an expected length of the first SSB; and measuring the one or more characteristics of the first SSB on the second carrier during the first measurement window. (Zhang, translation, paragraph 87-105, “Step S501: The network side sends the first indication information; In this embodiment, the first indication information includes one or more of the following: 1) SSB transmission cycle of the serving cell; 2) SSB transmission cycle of other cells at the same frequency and/or different frequencies, wherein the SSB transmission cycle of other cells may be one SSB transmission cycle per frequency point, or one transmission cycle per cell; 3) The offset between the SSB transmission of other cells at the same frequency and/or different frequencies and the SBB transmission of the serving cell, for example, the difference between cell1 and the SSB of the serving cell is 10ms; the difference between cell2 and the SBB of the serving cell is 20ms, etc… An indication of the relationship between the SSB transmission period and the SMTC (SSB measurement timing configuration) period of other cells on the same frequency and/or different frequencies. There can be multiple indications, one for each frequency point or one for each cell. For example, it indicates that the SSB transmission period of other cells on the same frequency is longer than the SMTC period… Step S502: The network side sends a second indication message, which includes SMTC configuration information; In this embodiment, the second indication information is: the SMTC configuration information of the serving cell and/or the SMTC configuration information of the neighboring cells. The SMTC configuration information of the neighboring cells can be one SMTC configuration information corresponding to each frequency point, or one SMTC configuration information corresponding to each cell. In this embodiment, the SMTC configuration information includes: SMTC duration, period, and offset… In step S503, the terminal receives the first and second indication information from the network, performs the measurement, and calculates the starting position of the measurement according to the SMTC configuration information, as follows: SFN mod T = floor(Offset/10); subframe = Offset mod 10; with T = Periodicity/1; Where floor represents floor, SFN represents system frame number, mod represents modulo function, subframe represents subframe encoding, periodicity is the SMTC period in the second indication information, and offset is the SMTC offset in the second indication information… Step S504: When the SSB transmission period and SMTC period are different in the first indication information, when the terminal performs a measurement on a certain cell, it performs the measurement according to the larger of the SSB transmission period and SMTC period, and the measurement needs to meet the index requirement of max (SSB transmission period, SMTC period)”) Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Zhang into Harada, since Harada suggests a technique for performing measurement of other cell on different carrier (frequency), and Zhang suggests the beneficial way of performing such measurement according to the larger of an SSB transmission period and SMTC period so that when the SMTC period and SSB period are inconsistent, the terminal can avoid including invalid measurements in the measurement results, thereby avoiding the additional power consumption and complexity caused by the terminal performing invalid measurements (Zhang, translation, paragraph 21) in the analogous art of communication . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada, US 20210029572 in view of Zhang, WO 2020038215 A1 and Lin, US 20230224026 . For claim 3 . Harada and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Harada and Zhang don’t teach: the operations further comprising at least one of: transmitting data to the first BS outside of the first measurement window, or receiving data from the first BS outside of the first measurement window. Lin from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: transmitting data to the first BS outside of the first measurement window, or receiving data from the first BS outside of the first measurement window. (Lin, fig 4, paragraph 34-35, “Scenario 400 involves at least one UE and a plurality of network nodes (e.g., satellites), which may be a part of a wireless communication network (e.g., an LTE network, a 5G/NR network, an IoT network or a 6G network). Similarly, the UE needs to determine whether to perform a measurement outside the measurement gap for the neighboring satellite. The neighboring satellite measurement may be an intra-frequency measurement and an inter-frequency measurement without measurement gap. Once the UE determines that it needs to perform the neighboring satellite measurement outside the measurement gap, it may apply the scheduling restriction within a given/pre-defined time period. In scenario 400, the time period may comprise the SMTC window duration. The SMTC is associated to the neighboring satellites. Thus, the UE shall not transmit/receive control and/or data on the OFDM symbols or slots/subframes with scheduling restriction. The serving satellite is also not expected to schedule UL/DL data within the SMTC window (i.e., the serving satellite shall also apply the scheduling restriction within the SMTC window). Outside the SMTC window, the UE can transmit UL symbols or receive DL symbols on the symbols with scheduling availability (i.e., without scheduling restriction). The serving satellite is allowed to schedule UL/DL data outside the SMTC window.”; also see paragraph 27-28 for more details) Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Lin into Harada and Zhang, since Harada suggests a technique for performing measurement of other cell on different carrier (frequency), and Lin suggests the beneficial way of only transmit/receive data with the serving cell outside of the measurement window and not transmit/receive data with the serving cell during the measurement window since it’s well-known in the art to only transmit/receive data with the serving cell outside of the measurement window and not transmit/receive data with the serving cell during the measurement window (Lin, fig 4, paragraph 34-35) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication. For claim 4 . Harada and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Harada and Zhang don’t teach: the operations further comprising: refraining from transmitting data to the first BS or receiving data from the first BS during the first measurement window. Lin from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: the operations further comprising: refraining from transmitting data to the first BS or receiving data from the first BS during the first measurement window. (Lin, fig 4, paragraph 34-35, “Scenario 400 involves at least one UE and a plurality of network nodes (e.g., satellites), which may be a part of a wireless communication network (e.g., an LTE network, a 5G/NR network, an IoT network or a 6G network). Similarly, the UE needs to determine whether to perform a measurement outside the measurement gap for the neighboring satellite. The neighboring satellite measurement may be an intra-frequency measurement and an inter-frequency measurement without measurement gap. Once the UE determines that it needs to perform the neighboring satellite measurement outside the measurement gap, it may apply the scheduling restriction within a given/pre-defined time period. In scenario 400, the time period may comprise the SMTC window duration. The SMTC is associated to the neighboring satellites. Thus, the UE shall not transmit/receive control and/or data on the OFDM symbols or slots/subframes with scheduling restriction. The serving satellite is also not expected to schedule UL/DL data within the SMTC window (i.e., the serving satellite shall also apply the scheduling restriction within the SMTC window). Outside the SMTC window, the UE can transmit UL symbols or receive DL symbols on the symbols with scheduling availability (i.e., without scheduling restriction). The serving satellite is allowed to schedule UL/DL data outside the SMTC window.”; also see paragraph 27-28 for more details) Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Lin into Harada and Zhang, since Harada suggests a technique for performing measurement of other cell on different carrier (frequency), and Lin suggests the beneficial way of only transmit/receive data with the serving cell outside of the measurement window and not transmit/receive data with the serving cell during the measurement window since it’s well-known in the art to only transmit/receive data with the serving cell outside of the measurement window and not transmit/receive data with the serving cell during the measurement window (Lin, fig 4, paragraph 34-35) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication. Allowable Subject Matter 07-43-02 Claims 2, 10-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KHOA B HUYNH whose telephone number is (571)270-7185. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 1:00 PM - 9:35 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached at (571) 272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KHOA HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/834,971 Page 2 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/834,971 Page 3 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/834,971 Page 4 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/834,971 Page 5 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/834,971 Page 6 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/834,971 Page 7 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/834,971 Page 8 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/834,971 Page 9 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/834,971 Page 10 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/834,971 Page 11 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/834,971 Page 12 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/834,971 Page 13 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/834,971 Page 14 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/834,971 Page 15 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/834,971 Page 16 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/834,971 Page 17 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/834,971 Page 19 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/834,971 Page 20 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/834,971 Page 21 Art Unit: 2462