DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the Brief Description of the Drawings, at page 7/12, “Fig. 1 to 4 show an example of a dilator 1 according to the present disclosure.” is out of place and it differs from the description already set forth on page 6/12. The description on page 7/12 should be consolidated with the existing brief description of Figs. 1-4 on page 6/12.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7, line 2, before “shield”, --the-- should be inserted.
Claim 7, line 2, before “body”, --the-- should be inserted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Therefore, in clam 7, the limitation “retention means” (of the shield and also of the main body) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, it is unclear if the following two limitations define the same transverse cross section:
Claim 1, line 4: “the main body and the shield define a transverse cross section of the dilator,” apparently defining a combined transverse cross section of the dilator comprising both the cross section of the main body and the cross section of the shield.
Claim 1, lines 8-9: “a combined transverse cross section of the main body and of the shield”, which introduces what appears to be the same cross section already introduced at line 4.
Claim 1, line 7, “a hole” creates inconsistent antecedent basis because a “through-hole” was previously established in the claim.
Claim 2, line 2, “the transverse cross section of the dilator” lacks clear antecedent basis.
Claim 2, line 3, “the transverse cross section” lacks clear antecedent basis.
Claim 4, line 2, “the transverse cross section” lacks clear antecedent basis.
Claim 7, line 4, “the transverse cross section of the shield” lacks clear antecedent basis.
Dependent claims are also rejected because they depend from and include the limitations of their respective parent claim(s).
Claim 12, line 2 recites a “guide cable” in the kit, which depends from claim 1; however, claim 1 includes a through-hole for receiving a “guide rod”. Therefore, claim 12 is unclear. As best understood, and for purposes of examination, claim 12 will be considered as reciting a guide rod, as established in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prado (9,028,522; cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Prado discloses a dilator 100, 200, 300 (Figs. 1-4) capable of being used for percutaneous spinal surgery with a transforaminal approach, if desired, which comprises a main elongate dilator body 100,200 and an elongate nerve shield 300 capable of protecting a nerve root, the main dilator body 100, 200 and the shield 300 each comprising mutually complementary contact surfaces (cf. Figs. 1 and 4) and in which the main body 100, 200 and the shield 300 define a transverse cross section of the dilator (Fig. 5), it being possible for the main body 100, 200 and the shield 300 to slide one relative to each other along an axial axis of the dilator (Figs. 1-4), the dilator also comprising a through-hole 140 (Figs. 4 and 5) for receiving a guide rod 50, wherein the through-hole is placed eccentrically with respect to a combined transverse cross section of the main body 100, 200 and of the shield 300 (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 2, the transverse cross section of the dilator 100, 200, 300 is oblong and elongate in shape (Fig. 5), the shield 300 being arranged on one of elongate faces of the transverse cross section of the main body 100, 200 of the dilator 100, 200, 300 (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, the shield 300 has a curved laminar (i.e., thin and low-profile) shape (Figs. 4C, 5 and 6A).
Regarding claim 4, the transverse cross section of the shield 300 has a central area of constant thickness (e.g., the straight central portion; Fig. 4C).
Regarding claim 5, the shield 300 has no recesses extending into its body for interlocking with the main body 100, 200 (Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 6, the shield 300 has no projections extending from its body for interlocking with the main body 100, 200 (Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 7, both the shield 300 and the main body 100, 200 have retention means 112, 212, 312 to restrict relative movement between the main body 100, 200 and the shield 300 (col. 11, lines 57-63, describing a tool that engages the retention means of the device, which would restrict relative movement), the retention means 312 of the shield 300 being situated at both ends of the transverse cross section of the shield (Fig. 2, at left and right sides; i.e., both ends of the transverse cross section of the shield 300).
Regarding claim 8, the retention means 312 of the shield 300 further comprises a shape of both ends which have a curved shape (Figs. 1 and 6A).
Regarding claim 9, the faces have a curved shape (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Prado discloses a kit of tools (the components provided together) capable of being used for percutaneous spinal operations by a transforaminal approach, if desired, characterized in that it comprises a dilator 100, 200 according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the kit comprises a guide rod12. The kit according to claim 10, further comprising a guide rod 50 (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prado (9,028,522; cited by Applicant), as applied to claim 10 above, in view of Hynes et al. (2015/0265265).
Prado discloses the claimed invention except for the kit comprising a drill bit.
Hynes et al. teaches a similar kit (e.g., Fig. 1 and para. 0001) and discloses that such tools as a drill bit can be included (para. 0073). A drill bit would enable a surgeon to remove bone and/or create access where necessary or desired to facilitate a surgical procedure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the kit of Prado et al. with a drill bit, in view of Hynes et al., to enable a surgeon to remove bone and/or create access where necessary or desired to facilitate a surgical procedure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DAVID C. COMSTOCK
Examiner
Art Unit 3773
/DAVID C COMSTOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773