CTNF 18/834,993 CTNF 98754 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claims 4-5 and 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 4 and 13 recite the term “a FTL movement” without providing a description of the acronym. Examiner suggests amending the first recitation of FTL and rFTL to recite “a follow-the-leader (FTL) movement” and “a reverse follow-the-leader (rFTL) movement”. Claim 5 recites “wherein park mode is used…”. Examiner suggests amending the claim to recite, “wherein a park mode is used…” in order to avoid a lack of antecedent basis and increase clarity. Claim 5 recites “…including but limited to…”. In order to further advance prosecution, Examiner is interpreting the claim as reciting “…including but not limited to…”. Claim 14 recites “wherein park mode is used…”. Examiner suggests amending the claim to recite, “wherein a park mode is used…” in order to avoid a lack of antecedent basis and increase clarity. Claim 14 recites “…including but limited to…”. In order to further advance prosecution, Examiner is interpreting the claim as reciting “…including but not limited to…”. Appropriate correction is respectfully requested. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-2, 6-7, 10-11, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Masaki et al (US 2020/0338743) hereinafter Masaki . Regarding claim 1, Masaki discloses a robotic apparatus comprising: a continuum robot (continuum robot 100) including a first bending section ([0029] continuum robot 100-1 illustrated in FIG. 1 includes a plurality of curved portions 120 to 140 in series) which is bent by at least a first wire ([0034] second curved portion 130 can be curved into a desired curved shape (for example, a circular arc) by driving at least part (or all) of the plurality of wires 101-2 to 103-2); a driver (actuator) that drives the wire ([0053] actuator (not illustrated) for pushing and pulling the wires 101-2 to 103-2 of the second curved portion 130); a base (base unit 110) affixed to the driver and capable of moving the continuum robot in one axis ([0053] base unit 110 has therein an actuator); and an operational console (control apparatus 200) that controls a movement of the driver and a movement of the base ([0074] kinematic operation unit 230 controls the driving of the continuum robot 100-1 on the basis of the set driving displacement amounts l.sub.pna, l.sub.pnb, and l.sub.pnc), based on an input ([0060] system calculates the driving displacement amounts l.sub.pna, l.sub.pnb, and l.sub.pnc on the basis of image information obtained by the imaging apparatus (310); Fig. 4). wherein, the operational console allocates a different motion mode (rearward/forward) for the robotic apparatus based on an advancing motion or a retracting motion of the robotic apparatus ([0081] When the continuum robot 100-1 illustrated in FIG. 6 is moved rearward, the kinematic operation unit 230 performs processing for setting the respective driving displacement amounts l.sub.pna, l.sub.pnb, and l.sub.pnc of the wires 101; kinematic operation unit 230 controls the driving of the continuum robot 100-1 on the basis of the set driving displacement amounts l.sub.pna, l.sub.pnb, and l.sub.pnc.); wherein the motion modes are mappings between the input and the movement of the driver and movement of the base ([0060] system calculates the driving displacement amounts l.sub.pna, l.sub.pnb, and l.sub.pnc on the basis of image information obtained by the imaging apparatus; [0081] kinematic operation unit 230 controls the driving of the continuum robot 100-1 on the basis of the set driving displacement amounts). Regarding claim 2, Masaki discloses second bending section (first curved portion 120) proximal to the first bending section (second curved portion 130), which is bent by at least a second wire (wires 101-2 to 103-2) driven by the driver ([0033] wires 101-2 to 103-2 extend from curved portion 130 through curved portion 120 to the actuator; [0053] and Fig. 2). Regarding claim 6, Masaki discloses a sensor (image DB/torsional-amount acquisition unit 210) to detect a status of the driving wire, wherein the status is a force or a position ([0072] image DB/torsional-amount acquisition unit 210 obtains the torsional amount of the continuum robot 100-1 on the basis of the image information obtained by the imaging apparatus 310 and the coordinate information z.sub.b on the continuum robot 100-1 in the z direction (a predetermined direction) detected by the detection apparatus 320). Regarding claim 7, Masaki discloses an insertion sensor (detection apparatus 320) in communication with the continuum robot, to detect the advancing motion, retracting motion or static motion of the continuum robot in a cavity ([0069] detection apparatus 320 detects the coordinate information z.sub.b in the z direction on the upper surface 114 of the base unit 110, as described with reference to FIG. 4, and outputs the detected coordinate information z.sub.b to the continuum-robot control apparatus 200). Regarding claim 10, Masaki discloses a method for controlling a robotic apparatus: the robotic apparatus comprising: a continuum robot (continuum robot 100) having a first bending section ([0029] continuum robot 100-1 illustrated in FIG. 1 includes a plurality of curved portions 120 to 140 in series) which is bent by at least a first wire ([0034] second curved portion 130 can be curved into a desired curved shape (for example, a circular arc) by driving at least part (or all) of the plurality of wires 101-2 to 103-2); a driver (actuator) that drives the wire ([0053] actuator (not illustrated) for pushing and pulling the wires 101-2 to 103-2 of the second curved portion 130); a base (base unit 110) affixed to the driver and capable of moving the continuum robot in one axis ([0053] base unit 110 has therein an actuator); and an operational console (control apparatus 200) that controls a movement of the driver and a movement of the base ([0074] kinematic operation unit 230 controls the driving of the continuum robot 100-1 on the basis of the set driving displacement amounts l.sub.pna, l.sub.pnb, and l.sub.pnc), based on an input ([0060] system calculates the driving displacement amounts l.sub.pna, l.sub.pnb, and l.sub.pnc on the basis of image information obtained by the imaging apparatus (310); Fig. 4), wherein the method comprises: receiving an input from a user or from a sensor (imaging apparatus 310) to the operational console ([0060] system calculates the driving displacement amounts l.sub.pna, l.sub.pnb, and l.sub.pnc on the basis of image information obtained by the imaging apparatus); sending a signal from the operational console to the driver and/or to the base ([0074] kinematic operation unit 230 controls the driving of the continuum robot 100-1 on the basis of the set driving displacement amounts l.sub.pna, l.sub.pnb, and l.sub.pnc), wherein, the operational console allocates a different motion mode (rearward/forward) for the robotic apparatus based on: an advancing motion or a retracting motion of the robotic apparatus, and the signals sent from the operation console ([0081] When the continuum robot 100-1 illustrated in FIG. 6 is moved rearward, the kinematic operation unit 230 performs processing for setting the respective driving displacement amounts l.sub.pna, l.sub.pnb, and l.sub.pnc of the wires 101; kinematic operation unit 230 controls the driving of the continuum robot 100-1 on the basis of the set driving displacement amounts l.sub.pna, l.sub.pnb, and l.sub.pnc.), wherein the motion modes are mappings between input and the movement of the driver and movement of the base ([0060] system calculates the driving displacement amounts l.sub.pna, l.sub.pnb, and l.sub.pnc on the basis of image information obtained by the imaging apparatus; [0081] kinematic operation unit 230 controls the driving of the continuum robot 100-1 on the basis of the set driving displacement amounts); advancing or retracting the base based on a signal from the operational console ([0081] kinematic operation unit 230 controls the driving of the continuum robot 100-1 on the basis of the set driving displacement amounts); advancing or retracting the robotic apparatus based on a signal from the operational console ([0081] kinematic operation unit 230 controls the driving of the continuum robot 100-1 on the basis of the set driving displacement amounts). Regarding claim 11, Masaki discloses wherein the continuum robot further comprises a second bending section (first curved portion 120) proximal to the first bending section (second curved portion 130), which is bent by at least a second wire (wires 101-2 to 103-2) driven by the driver ([0033] wires 101-2 to 103-2 extend from curved portion 130 through curved portion 120 to the actuator; [0053] and Fig. 2). Regarding claim 15, Masaki discloses a sensor (image DB/torsional-amount acquisition unit 210) to detect a status of the driving wire, wherein the status is a force or a position ([0072] image DB/torsional-amount acquisition unit 210 obtains the torsional amount of the continuum robot 100-1 on the basis of the image information obtained by the imaging apparatus 310 and the coordinate information z.sub.b on the continuum robot 100-1 in the z direction (a predetermined direction) detected by the detection apparatus 320). Regarding claim 16, Masaki discloses an insertion sensor (detection apparatus 320) in communication with the continuum robot, to detect the advancing motion, retracting motion or static motion of the continuum robot in a cavity ([0069] detection apparatus 320 detects the coordinate information z.sub.b in the z direction on the upper surface 114 of the base unit 110, as described with reference to FIG. 4, and outputs the detected coordinate information z.sub.b to the continuum-robot control apparatus 200) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masaki (US 2020/0338743) in view of Ninni (US 2022/0016394) . Regarding claim 5, Masaki discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein park mode is used as a transition from any other modes, including but limited to: a FTL mode, a rFTL mode, a Target mode, a Pause mode, and a relax mode. However, Ninni discloses park mode is used as a transition from any other modes, including but limited to: a FTL mode, a rFTL mode, a Target mode, a Pause mode, and a relax mode ([0069] controller is also capable of switching the modes between the targeting mode and the leader following mode when in another mode (for example, a parking mode)). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Masaki with park mode is used as a transition from any other modes, including but limited to: a FTL mode, a rFTL mode, a Target mode, a Pause mode, and a relax mode as taught by Ninni. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of allowing any moving parts to settle before switching modes in order to avoid causing sudden mechanical stress on the robot). Regarding claim 14, Masaki discloses the method of claim 10 as discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein park mode is used as a transition from any other modes, including but limited to: a FTL mode, a rFTL mode, a Target mode, a Pause mode, and a relax mode. However, Ninni discloses park mode is used as a transition from any other modes, including but limited to: a FTL mode, a rFTL mode, a Target mode, a Pause mode, and a relax mode ([0069] controller is also capable of switching the modes between the targeting mode and the leader following mode when in another mode (for example, a parking mode)). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Masaki with park mode is used as a transition from any other modes, including but limited to: a FTL mode, a rFTL mode, a Target mode, a Pause mode, and a relax mode as taught by Ninni. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of allowing any moving parts to settle before switching modes in order to avoid causing sudden mechanical stress on the robot) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3, 8, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masaki (US 2020/0338743) in view of Takagi et al (US 2019/0015978) hereinafter Takagi . Regarding claim 3, Masaki discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, but fails to disclose a park mode based on a stopping of advance or retraction motion of the robotic apparatus, wherein the mapping between input and movement of the base is suspended and the mapping between input and movement of the driver is allowed. However, Takagi discloses a park mode (look-around motion) based on a stopping of advance or retraction motion of the robotic apparatus (temporarily stopping the base), wherein the mapping between input and movement of the base is suspended and the mapping between input and movement of the driver is allowed ([0006] a motion of temporarily stopping the base and looking around while continuously propagating the bending posture of the most distal end to the following bending section). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Masaki with a park mode based on a stopping of advance or retraction motion of the robotic apparatus, wherein the mapping between input and movement of the base is suspended and the mapping between input and movement of the driver is allowed as taught by Takagi. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of allowing the device to acquire images from different angles/views. Regarding claim 8, Masaki discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, but fails to disclose a pause mode that suspends the operational console from moving the base and the at least first wire. However, Takagi discloses a pause mode that suspends the operational console from moving the base and the at least first wire ([0006] a motion of temporarily stopping the base and looking around while continuously propagating the bending posture of the most distal end to the following bending section). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Masaki with a pause mode that suspends the operational console from moving the base and the at least first wire as taught by Takagi. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of allowing the device to acquire images from different angles/views. Regarding claim 12, Masaki discloses the method of claim 10 as discussed above, but fails to disclose a park mode based on a stopping of the advancing motion or retraction motion of the robotic apparatus, wherein the mapping between input and movement of the base is suspended and the mapping between input and movement of the driver is allowed. However, Takagi discloses a park mode (looking-around motion) based on a stopping of the advancing motion or retraction motion of the robotic apparatus (temporarily stopping the base), wherein the mapping between input and movement of the base is suspended and the mapping between input and movement of the driver is allowed ([0006] a motion of temporarily stopping the base and looking around while continuously propagating the bending posture of the most distal end to the following bending section). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Masaki with a park mode based on a stopping of advance or retraction motion of the robotic apparatus, wherein the mapping between input and movement of the base is suspended and the mapping between input and movement of the driver is allowed as taught by Takagi. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of allowing the device to acquire images from different angles/views. Regarding claim 17, Masaki discloses the method of claim 10 as discussed above, but fails to disclose a pause mode that suspends the operational console from moving the base and the at least first wire. However, Takagi discloses a pause mode that suspends the operational console from moving the base and the at least first wire ([0006] a motion of temporarily stopping the base and looking around while continuously propagating the bending posture of the most distal end to the following bending section). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Masaki with a pause mode that suspends the operational console from moving the base and the at least first wire as taught by Takagi. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of allowing the device to acquire images from different angles/views . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masaki (US 2020/0338743) in view of Takagi (US 2019/0015978) and further in view of Kose et al (US 2018/0296282) . Regarding claim 4, the modified Masaki discloses the system of claim 3 as discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein, the operational console allocates: a FTL movement mode based on an advancing motion; a rFTL movement mode or a relax movement mode based on a retracting motion; and the park mode based on a stopping of advance or retraction motion. However, Takagi discloses an operational console allocates: a park mode based on a stopping of advance or retraction motion ([0006] a motion of temporarily stopping the base and looking around while continuously propagating the bending posture of the most distal end to the following bending section; [0058] operation command given by an operator to perform a rotational motion of one or more rotations around the z axis at the base displacement a is, for example, a motion of looking around at the position by using an image-capturing device disposed at the distal end of the robot). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Masaki with an operational console allocates: a park mode based on a stopping of advance or retraction motion as taught by Takagi. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of allowing the device to acquire images from different angles/views. Kose discloses an operational console allocates: a FTL movement mode based on an advancing motion; and a rFTL movement mode or a relax movement mode based on a retracting motion ([0035] control apparatus 4 uses those relationships defined through use of the model to perform the follow-the-leader control of the continuum robot 1 and the speed control of the advancing/reversing action of the drive unit 2). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Masaki with an operational console allocates: a FTL movement mode based on an advancing motion; and a rFTL movement mode or a relax movement mode based on a retracting motion as taught by Kose. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of reducing a burden imposed on the user when the continuum robot is inserted or extracted (Kose, [0002]). Regarding claim 13, the modified Masaki discloses the method of claim 12 as discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein, the operational console allocates: a FTL movement mode based on an advancing motion; a rFTL movement mode or a relax movement mode based on a retracting motion; and the park mode based on a stopping of advance or retraction motion. However, Takagi discloses an operational console allocates: a park mode based on a stopping of advance or retraction motion ([0006] a motion of temporarily stopping the base and looking around while continuously propagating the bending posture of the most distal end to the following bending section; [0058] operation command given by an operator to perform a rotational motion of one or more rotations around the z axis at the base displacement a is, for example, a motion of looking around at the position by using an image-capturing device disposed at the distal end of the robot). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Masaki with an operational console allocates: a park mode based on a stopping of advance or retraction motion as taught by Takagi. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of allowing the device to acquire images from different angles/views. Kose discloses an operational console allocates: a FTL movement mode based on an advancing motion; and a rFTL movement mode or a relax movement mode based on a retracting motion ([0035] control apparatus 4 uses those relationships defined through use of the model to perform the follow-the-leader control of the continuum robot 1 and the speed control of the advancing/reversing action of the drive unit 2). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Masaki with an operational console allocates: a FTL movement mode based on an advancing motion; and a rFTL movement mode or a relax movement mode based on a retracting motion as taught by Kose. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of reducing a burden imposed on the user when the continuum robot is inserted or extracted (Kose, [0002]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masaki (US 2020/0338743) in view of Kincaid et al (US 2020/0375682) hereinafter Kincaid . Regarding claim 9, Masaki discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, but fails to disclose a relax mode that releases a force on the at least first wire. However, Kincaid discloses a relax mode that releases a force on the at least first wire ([0093] Under the passive mode, system controller makes the pose of the catheter “relaxed”). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Masaki with a relax mode that releases a force on the at least first wire as taught by Kincaid. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of allowing the catheter to get out from the “stuck” condition (Kincaid, [0093]). Regarding claim 18, Masaki discloses the method of claim 10 as discussed above, but fails to disclose a relax mode that releases a force on the at least first wire. However, Kincaid discloses a relax mode that releases a force on the at least first wire ([0093] Under the passive mode, system controller makes the pose of the catheter “relaxed”). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Masaki with a relax mode that releases a force on the at least first wire as taught by Kincaid. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of allowing the catheter to get out from the “stuck” condition (Kincaid, [0093]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WILLOW GRACE WELCH whose telephone number is (703)756-1596. The examiner can normally be reached Usually M-F 8:00am - 4:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Benjamin Klein can be reached at 571-270-5213. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /WILLOW GRACE WELCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3792 /William J Levicky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796 Application/Control Number: 18/834,993 Page 2 Art Unit: 3792 Application/Control Number: 18/834,993 Page 3 Art Unit: 3792 Application/Control Number: 18/834,993 Page 4 Art Unit: 3792 Application/Control Number: 18/834,993 Page 5 Art Unit: 3792 Application/Control Number: 18/834,993 Page 6 Art Unit: 3792 Application/Control Number: 18/834,993 Page 7 Art Unit: 3792 Application/Control Number: 18/834,993 Page 8 Art Unit: 3792 Application/Control Number: 18/834,993 Page 9 Art Unit: 3792 Application/Control Number: 18/834,993 Page 10 Art Unit: 3792 Application/Control Number: 18/834,993 Page 12 Art Unit: 3792 Application/Control Number: 18/834,993 Page 13 Art Unit: 3792 Application/Control Number: 18/834,993 Page 14 Art Unit: 3792