Election/Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 17 June 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the proposed combination teaches away. This is not found persuasive because Applicant is merely referring to an optional step in Nozaki to allege incompatibility with Tanaka.
Claims 3-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Objection to the Specification
Formulae (1) and (2) are objected to, as they do not show a dianhydride.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2021/0371594 A1 (“Kudo”).
Considering claim 1, Kudo discloses a laminate structure comprising a cured film and a copper foil, wherein the cured film exhibits high adhesion to the metal foil. (Kudo ¶¶ 0008-0010, 0030, 0108-0109, and 0143). Kudo is analogous art, for it is directed to the same field of endeavor as that of the instant application (adhesive resin based on polyimide and maleimide and used for wiring boards).
Kudo discloses that its cured film is formed from a composition having 15-85 mass% (A) a maleimide terminated compound represented by formula (1) and having multiple imide linkages and molecular mass of 3,000 to 50,000 (viz. a maleimide terminated polyimide), 15-85 mass% (C) a heat curable resin selected from, inter alia, a polyimide resin and various bismaleimides, and (B) a reaction promoter in the form of a radical initiator contained at 0.1 to 5 mass part per 100 part sum of (A) and (C). (Id. ¶¶ 0033, 0082, 0087, 0122, 0123, and 0127). Either (A) or (C) can read on the claimed polyimide resin, with the other ((C) or (A) respectively) reading on the claimed maleimide compound. Specifically, with the values m and n in formula (1) being independently 1 to 100, (A) is a polyimide at sufficiently high values of m and n. Furthermore, each of (A) and (C) contains multiple maleimide moieties.
It is readily apparent that the mass% ratios overlap the various claimed proportions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. (See In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379; MPEP § 2144.05). In specific instances, (A) is contained at 70 mass%, (C) is contained at 30 mass% (ratio of (A) to (C) at 2.33), and the radical initiator is contained at 2 mass% (6.7 parts by mass per 100 parts of (C)). Thus, it readily follows that the claimed mass ratios can be derived in a straightforward manner.
Lastly, Kudo discloses that the thickness of its cured film ranges from 3 to 80 µm. (Kudo ¶ 0108). This overlaps the claimed range.
Kudo renders obvious claim 1.
Considering claim 2, Kudo discloses that its invention is designed to be used with metal foils having low surface roughness, and that foils with low surface roughness exhibits lower transmission loss. (Kudo ¶¶ 0008-0010). With Kudo generally disclosing preference for metal foils having low surface roughness, the range recited in claim 2 is obvious as a workable range. Silence of a reference on a quantitative limitation when the reference discloses the general characteristic is not deemed to support patentability unless there is evidence indicating such quantitative limitation is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”; MPEP 2144.05 II.A.
Furthermore, in its discussion of prior art intended for 5G usage, Kudo mentions JP 2018/095815 A. (Kudo ¶¶ 0006-0008). This reference uses a copper foil by the trade name of Furukawa FV-WS, which is known to have Rz roughness of 1.2 µm. As such, Kudo also recognizes the roughness level for which its invention is intended, and given Kudo’s general aim at using a copper foil having low roughness, usage of a foil having Rz of 1.2 µm would have been obvious.
Double Patenting Rejection
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 18/835,000. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-3 and 5 of the ‘000 Application recites all subject matters recited in claims 1 and 2 of the Instant Application.
Concluding Remarks
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2022/021620 A1 (referenced using its English-language counterpart publication U.S. 2024/0191030 A1) renders obvious claims 1 and 2.
/Z. Jim Yang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781