DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment submitted on 01 August 2024 has been entered. After entry of the amendment, claims 1-11 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hills et al “Valorisation of agricultural biomass-ash with CO2”.
The reference teaches, in the abstract, the Materials and Methods and Product development and characterization section found on page 3, and Table 6, compositions comprising 10% carbonated biomass, cement and sand.
The instant claims are met by the reference.
As for claims 1-3, the reference teaches a binder comprising 10% carbonated biomass which meets the instant claims.
As for claim 4, it contains up to 45% biomass ashes.
As for claim 5, this is met by Table 2 of the reference which teaches various amounts of carbon in the ash.
As for claims 7 and 8, the reference teaches cement as the binder.
As for claim 9, the reference teaches Portland cement.
As for claim 10, Table 4 teaches that the biomass may contain hydroxylapatite (also known as hydroxyapatite) and since the composition is carbonated it would meet the carbo-hydroxyapatite in the claim.
As for claim 11, the abstract teaches that the compositions may be used as novel low-carbon construction products.
Claims 1-4, 6-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ren et al “CO2 pretreatment of municipal solid waste incineration fly ash and its feasible use as supplementary cementitious material”.
The reference teaches, in the abstract and Table 2, compositions comprising ordinary Portland cement and carbonated municipal solid waste incineration fly ash.
The instant claims are met by the reference.
As for claims 1-3, the reference teaches compositions comprising up to 30 wt% of carbonated fly ash which meets the instant claims.
As for claim 4, it contains up to 45% biomass ashes.
As for claim 6, it contains an amount of Portland cement that falls within the claimed range (see Table 2).
As for claim 7, the reference teaches Portland cement.
As for claim 8, the reference teaches Portland cement.
As for claim 9, the reference teaches Portland cement.
As for claim 11, the compositions may be used in the construction industry (see Section 3.2.7).
Claims 1-4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hills et al (US Patent No. 11,840,481 B2). The reference has an effective filing date that is before that of the instant application.
The reference teaches, om Example 3,
The instant claims are met by the reference.
As for claims 1-3, the reference teaches a binder (Portland cement) which contains carbonated biomass ash in an amount that meets the instant claims.
As for claim 4, it contains up to 45% biomass ashes.
As for claims 7 and 8, the reference teaches cement as the binder.
As for claim 9, the reference teaches Portland cement.
/ANTHONY J GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
ajg
August 18, 2026