DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of claim 7 related to the position of the vertex (as described in par. 0052 of the publication, in relation to Fig. 6) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). They are not adequately depicted in Fig. 6. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeda (US 6396381 B1).
As to claim 1, Takeda discloses: A thermal protector (Fig. 1-11) comprising a thermally actuated element (Fig. 4) having:
a substantially quadrangular non-fixed region (generally left side of vertical line below);
a fixed region 45 (generally right side of vertical line below) that is connected to the non-fixed region along a longitudinal direction of the non-fixed region and is fixed to a stationary body 20 (in Fig. 3); and
a processed portion 42, 46 a center (center region of these combined portions) of which is positioned inside (at least partially) a triangular region formed by a center of the non-fixed region and both end portions of a boundary portion (vertical line below) between the non-fixed region and the fixed region.
As to claim 2, Takeda discloses:
wherein the thermally actuated element includes a constriction portion (between 44 and 44) that is adjacent to the boundary at both end portions of the non-fixed region in a width direction, and a dimension of the constriction portion in the width direction decreases (e.g., to narrowest dimension from 44 to 44), and
the processed portion is a hole portion 42, 46 (both are holes/cuts).
As to claim 4, Takeda discloses:
wherein a number of the processed portion is two 42, 46,
one of the processed portions 42 (alternatively, 46; each of the portions overlaps with both sides of the triangular region) is positioned so as to overlap with one of two sides of the triangular region that extend from the center of the non-fixed region, and
the other of the processed portions 46 (alternatively, 42; each of the portions overlaps with both sides of the triangular region) is positioned so as to overlap with the other of the two sides.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda (US 6396381 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Korczynski (US 5684447 A).
As to claim 6, Takeda does not disclose:
wherein a portion except for the processed portion out of the non-fixed region, and the processed portion, are curved, and have curving directions different from each other.
However, Korczynski discloses:
wherein a portion 10 (Fig. 1, 4) except for the processed portion 42 (in Fig. 1) out of the non-fixed region, and the processed portion, are curved, and have curving directions different from each other (see curve of 10 in Fig. 4, and opposite curve beneath 10 which corresponds to 42; col. 2, lines 61-67);
in order to return the reed/thermally actuated element to its shape when the overload condition and temperature is corrected (col. 2, lines 61-67).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 3, 5, and 7, the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the apparatus as recited in the dependent claims 3, 5, and 7, including all of the limitations of their base claims and intervening claims, and at least in part, because they recite the following limitations:
3. The thermal protector according to claim 1, wherein the processed portion has an oval shape that is long in the longitudinal direction of the non-fixed region.
5. The thermal protector according to claim 1, wherein the thermally actuated element has a further processed portion at a symmetric position with the processed portion with respect to a line that passes through the center of the non-fixed region and extends in a width direction.
7. The thermal protector according to claim 1, wherein the non-fixed region has a curved shape, and a vertex of the non-fixed region is positioned between the center of the non-fixed region and a tip portion of the non-fixed region in the longitudinal direction.
Chung (US 20110102126 A1), Shimada (US 5497286 A), Tanaka (US 20170062167 A1), and Takeda (US 20050174211 A1) disclose conventional thermally actuated elements.
None of the prior art, either alone or in combination, can be reasonably construed as adequately teaching the above claimed elements, in combination with the remaining claim limitations.
Further, Examiner has not identified any double patenting issues.
Conclusion
/JACOB R CRUM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841