DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Liao (2022/0303371).
Regarding Claim 1: Liao teaches a rotating shaft assembly, comprising: a base (figs. 13a-13c), wherein the base comprises a first portion (11) and a second portion (10) that are fixedly connected (figs. 13a-13c), and a first sliding groove (area holding 32) is formed between the first portion and the second portion (figs. 13a-13c); and a swing arm (32), wherein the swing arm comprises a rotating part (portion in the groove including 321) and a swinging part (flatter portion not in the grooves in figs. 13a-13c), the rotating part is slidably connected to the first sliding groove (figs. 13a-13c), and when the rotating part slides relative to the first sliding groove (figs. 13a-13c), the swinging part rotates relative to the base (figs. 13a-13c); wherein the rotating part comprises at least one first surface (portion 321 is pointing at in fig. 13a) and at least one second surface (middle section of rotating part in fig. 13b), the at least one first surface is disposed opposite to a side surface of the first portion (figs. 13a-13c), the at least one second surface is disposed opposite to a side surface of the second portion (figs. 13a-13c), and along a rotation axis of the swinging part, at least a portion of the first surface and at least a portion of the second surface are staggered (figs. 13a-13c).
Regarding Claim 2: Liao teaches there are at least two swing arms (figs. 13a-13c), the at least two swing arms comprise a first swing arm (figs. 13a-13c) and a second swing arm (figs. 13a-13c), and a swinging part of the first swing arm and a swinging part of the second swing arm are disposed on two sides of the base (figs. 13a-13c).
Regarding Claim 3: Liao teaches the rotating shaft assembly further comprises a shaft cover (area below 10 in fig. 13c), and the shaft cover is connected to the base (figs. 13a-13c).
Regarding Claim 4: Liao teaches the rotating part comprises two first surfaces (figs. 13a-13c), and the at least one second surface is located between the two first surfaces along the rotation axis of the swinging part (figs. 13a-13c).
Regarding Claim 5: Liao teaches the first portion (11) comprises a first body part (the area where 11 is pointing in fig. 13b) and two connecting parts (the area where 11 is pointing in fig. 13b) located on two sides of the first body part (figs. 13a-13c), each connecting part comprises two pressing blocks (side edges where 111 is pointing in fig. 13b), each first surface is disposed opposite to a third surface of one pressing block (figs. 13a-13c), and the third surface is a side surface that is of the pressing block and that faces the second portion (figs. 13a-13c).
Regarding Claim 6: Liao teaches the connecting part further comprises a connecting member (figs. 13a-13c), and the connecting member is connected to the two pressing blocks (figs. 13a-13c).
Regarding Claim 7: Liao teaches the connecting member is in a strip shape (figs. 13a-13c), a first strip groove is disposed on a side surface that is of the rotating part and that is away from the shaft cover (figs. 13a-13c), the first strip groove extends in a length direction of the connecting member (figs. 13a-13c), and at least a partial structure of the connecting member is disposed in the first strip groove (figs. 13a-13c).
Regarding Claim 8: Liao teaches a first concave part is disposed on a side surface that is of the rotating part and that is away from the rotation axis of the swinging part (figs. 13a-13c), at least a partial structure of the pressing block is disposed in the first concave part (figs. 13a-13c), and a bottom wall of the first concave part comprises the first surface (figs. 13a-13c).
Regarding Claim 12: Liao teaches a swinging part of the first swing arm and a swinging part of the second swing arm are symmetrically disposed on two sides of the base (figs. 13a-13c).
Regarding Claim 13: Liao teaches wherein both the first surface and the second surface are arc-shaped surfaces (figs. 13a-13c).
Regarding Claim 14: Liao teaches wherein both the first surface and the second surface are circular arc surfaces (figs. 13a-13c), and a central axis of the first surface coincides with a central axis of the second surface (figs. 13a-13c).
Regarding Claim 15: Liao teaches wherein a thickness of the rotating part varies in a radial direction (figs. 13a-13c).
Regarding Claim 16: Liao teaches wherein at least a partial structure of the rotating part is disposed in the first sliding groove (figs. 13a-13c).
Regarding Claim 17: Liao teaches wherein the first portion and the second portion are an integral structure (figs. 13a-13c).
Regarding Claim 18: Liao teaches wherein a manner of connecting the first portion and the second portion comprises at least one of a welding connection, a bonding connection, a screw connection, and a nut connection col 35 lines 18-45).
Regarding Claim 19: Liao teaches a terminal device, wherein the terminal device comprises a housing (2000, 3000), a flexible display screen (4000), and a rotating shaft assembly (figs. 13a-13c); the rotating shaft assembly comprises a base (figs. 13a-13c) and a swing arm (32); the base comprises a first portion (11) and a second portion (10) that are fixedly connected (figs. 13a-13c), and a first sliding groove (area holding 32) is formed between the first portion and the second portion (figs. 13a-13c); the swing arm (32) comprises a rotating part (321) and a swinging part (flatter portion not in the grooves in figs. 13a-13c), the rotating part is slidably connected to the first sliding groove (figs. 13a-13c), and when the rotating part slides relative to the first sliding groove (figs. 13a-13c), the swinging part rotates relative to the base (figs. 13a-13c); the rotating part comprises at least one first surface (portion 321 is pointing at in fig. 13a) and at least one second surface (middle section of rotating part in fig. 13b), the at least one first surface is disposed opposite to a side surface of the first portion (figs. 13a-13c), the at least one second surface is disposed opposite to a side surface of the second portion (figs. 13a-13c), and along a rotation axis of the swinging part (figs. 13a-13c), at least a portion of the first surface and at least a portion of the second surface are staggered (figs. 13a-13c); and the flexible display screen is connected to the housing (figs. 1a-3b), the flexible display screen comprises a bending region (area C in fig. 2), the rotating shaft assembly is located on a non-display side of the flexible display screen (figs. 1a-3b), and the rotating shaft assembly is disposed in a correspondence with the bending region (figs. 1a-3b).
Regarding Claim 20: Liao teaches the terminal device is a terminal device with a foldable screen (figs. 1a-3b and paragraph [0185).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao (2022/0303371).
Regarding Claim 9: Liao lacks a specific teaching of wherein a second concave part is disposed on a side surface that is of the rotating part and that faces the rotation axis of the swinging part, a first convex part is disposed on the second portion, at least a partial structure of the first convex part extends into the second concave part, and a bottom wall of the second concave part comprises the second surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Liao by having wherein a second concave part is disposed on a side surface that is of the rotating part and that faces the rotation axis of the swinging part, a first convex part is disposed on the second portion, at least a partial structure of the first convex part extends into the second concave part, and a bottom wall of the second concave part comprises the second surface in order to allow for a better and stronger connection between the hinging portions of the device and the supporting portions of the device which will increase the reliability of the hinging device itself and in turn decrease the chance of damage to the internal components of the hinge or display device which would require repair or replacement of the components. This would be accomplished merely by changing the shape of the already disclosed elements of the apparatus and it has been held that a change in the shape of a component is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao (2022/0303371) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Nguyen (11,340,660).
Regarding Claim 10: Liao lacks a specific teaching of a first limiting block is disposed on the bottom wall of the second concave part, and the first limiting block is located on a side that is of the rotating part and that is away from the swinging part; and a third concave part is disposed on a side surface that is of the first convex part and that faces the second concave part, and at least a partial structure of the first limiting block is disposed in the third concave part.
Nguyen teaches a first limiting block (200) is disposed on the bottom wall of the second concave part (figs. 10-13), and the first limiting block is located on a side that is of the rotating part (figs. 10-13) and that is away from the swinging part (figs. 10-13); and a third concave part (110, 132, 131) is disposed on a side surface that is of the first convex part (figs. 10-13) and that faces the second concave part (figs. 10-13), and at least a partial structure of the first limiting block is disposed in the third concave part (figs. 10-13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Liao by having a first limiting block is disposed on the bottom wall of the second concave part, and the first limiting block is located on a side that is of the rotating part and that is away from the swinging part; and a third concave part is disposed on a side surface that is of the first convex part and that faces the second concave part, and at least a partial structure of the first limiting block is disposed in the third concave part as disclosed by Nguyen in order to allow more control over the device while it is being opened and closed to fold the display wherein the greater control of the swinging movement will lead to an increased reliability of the hinging device and a decreased chance of damage to the internal components of the hinge or display device which would require repair or replacement of the components.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao (2022/0303371) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Hwang (11,809,239).
Regarding Claim 11: Liao lacks a specific teaching of a first through hole is disposed on the swinging part, and when at least two swing arms are in an unfolded state, an end part of the second portion extends into the first through hole in a thickness direction of the rotating shaft assembly.
Hwang teaches a first through hole (212_5) is disposed on the swinging part (fig. 5), and when at least two swing arms are in an unfolded state (fig. 18), an end part (213_3) of the second portion extends into the first through hole (figs. 5-6 and 18) in a thickness direction of the rotating shaft assembly (figs. 5-6 and 18).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Liao by having a first through hole is disposed on the swinging part, and when at least two swing arms are in an unfolded state, an end part of the second portion extends into the first through hole in a thickness direction of the rotating shaft assembly as disclosed by Hwang in order to allow for a better and stronger connection between the hinging portions of the device and the supporting portions of the device which will increase the reliability of the hinging device itself and in turn decrease the chance of damage to the internal components of the hinge or display device which would require repair or replacement of the components.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841