DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. FR2201193, filed on 02/11/2022.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “H4a” in paragraph 0044. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
This application does not contain an abstract of the disclosure as required by 37 CFR 1.72(b). An abstract on a separate sheet is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Rango et al CA2708647 A1, July 02, 2009 (hereinafter “DeRango”) in view of Zewei et al. CN 108993324 A, December 14, 2018 (hereinafter “Zewei”).
Regarding claim 1, DeRango discloses a hydrogen storage reservoir including a plurality of pellets (6) disposed within a within a hydrogen storage container (4) (see fig. 1 below; paragraphs 0003-0004). Each pellet is a solid body formed from a compacted composite material comprising a metal hydride, specifically magnesium hydride, and a matrix formed from expanded natural graphite (ENG) (paragraphs 0003-0006). DeRango further discloses that the pellets are generally cylindrical and possess a peripheral contour (fig. 1, tube 8) corresponding substantially to the internal cross-section of the container (paragraph 0004). The pellets (6) having a defined diameter and height and are intended for incorporation into a hydrogen storage tank. However, DeRango fails to disclose that the expanded natural graphite is arranged as a peripheral ring surrounding a metal hydride wafer as claimed.
Zewei discloses a metal hydride hydrogen-storage reaction bed having multiple concentric annular regions containing differing amounts of expanded graphite in order to improve thermal conductivity and temperature distribution throughout the hydride body. (paragraphs 0008-0013). Zewei discloses that the reaction bed comprises compressed metal hydride/expanded graphite composite layers arranged in annular configurations (paragraph 0013). Zewei further discloses distributing expanded graphite preferentially within selected annular regions of the hydride body according to thermal requirements to improve heat transfer performance (figs. 4-7; paragraphs 0018, 0034-0035).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the compacted metal hydride/ENG pellet of DeRango by arranging the expanded natural graphite component in a peripheral annular region surrounding a central metal hydride portion as taught by Zewei. One would have been motivated to make such modification because Zewei discloses that annular distribution of expanded graphite improves thermal conductivity, heat-transfer efficiency, and temperature uniformity during hydrogen absorption and desorption (paragraphs 0018, 0034-0035).
Regarding claim 2, DeRango discloses a hydrogen storage body comprising a plurality of pellets (6) arranged in an axial stack along longitudinal axis L within the storage container (fig. 1, paragraphs 0003-0004). Each pellet (6) is formed from a compacted composite material comprising metal hydride and a matrix of expanded natural graphite (paragraphs 0003, 0006). The pellets are stacked one upon another along the axis of the reservoir to form a larger hydrogen-storage structure (fig. 1, paragraphs 0013-0014). Thus, DeRango discloses a peripherical ENG-containing structure formed by a plurality of discrete ENG bodies arranged in an axial stack, each individual body having a height that is less than the overall height of the stacked structure.
Regarding claim 3, DeRango discloses a plurality of ENG-containing pellets (6) arranged in an axial stack within the storage reservoir (fig. 1; paragraphs 0003-0004). The pellets comprise compacted expanded graphite and metal hydride material and are configured to provide thermal conductivity throughout the storage medium (paragraphs 0007-0009). Zewei discloses a hydrogen storage bodies formed from multiple annular graphite-containing layers and regions arranged to improve heat-transfer performance and temperature uniformity (paragraphs 0013, 0018). Zewei further discloses that the graphite distribution is selected to improve thermal conductivity and heat transfer within the hydrogen-storage body (paragraphs 0034-0037).
The height of the individual annular ENG sheets constitutes a dimensional characteristic of the known layered ENG structure taught by the combination of DeRango and Zewei. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the dimensions of the individual ENG layers affect thermal conductivity, mechanical compliance, and assembly of the hydrogen-storage body. Hence, it would have been obvious to select the height of the individual annular ENG sheets through routine optimization to achieve desired thermal and mechanical performance characteristics. MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 4, DeRango discloses a hydrogen storage reservoir (2) comprising a cylindrical enclosure or container (4) extending along longitudinal axis L and closes at its ends (fig. 1; paragraphs 0003-0004). DeRango further discloses that the reservoir contains an axial stack of hydrogen-storage pellets (6) separated by thermally conductive plates (40) of a given diameter (figs. 1-2; paragraphs 0013-0014). The plates (40) are rigid thermally conductive members positioned between adjacent pellets to improve heat transfer throughout the storage medium. Figure 2 discloses that each pellet (6) is interposed between adjacent thermally conductive plate (40). The plates (40) are provided with central openings in the pellets, thereby forming a continuous axial passage extending through the stacked structure. DeRango additionally discloses a central tube/pipe (25) extending through the aligned openings of the pellets and plates and communicating with the hydrogen storage system; a removeable cover (12) for sealing the opposite of the pipe (25) (fig. 1; paragraph 0004), the cover comprising a hydrogen inlet/outlet orifice.
Regarding claim 5, DeRango discloses a hydrogen storage tank comprising a hollow cylindrical container (4) housing a stack of hydrogen storage pellets (6) separated by thermally conductive plates or disk (40) (figs. 1-2). DeRango further discloses a tube (25) extending along the longitudinal axis of the storage reservoir through the aligned openings of the stacked elements; and in sealed fluidic communication with the orifice in the removable reversibly-sealing cover (paragraph 0003-0004; claims 12-13).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeRango in view of Zewei as applied to claim 5, in further view of Weickert et al. WO 2016075100 A1, May 19, 2016 (hereinafter “Weickert”).
Regarding claim 6, DeRango fails to disclose that the passive hydrogen diffusion tube is made of a material porous to hydrogen. However, Weickert discloses a hydrogen-storage vessel comprising a porous storage body through which hydrogen is distributed and exchanged. The porous structures permit hydrogen transport through the body and teaches the use of porous materials to improve hydrogen distribution throughout the storage medium (fig. 1, pages 3-6 describe the porous shape body, gas transport through the porous material, and hydrogen distribution within the storage vessel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form the hydrogen distribution tube (25) of DeRango from a hydrogen porous material as taught by Weickert in order to distribute hydrogen more uniformly throughout the storage structure, increase the effective gas-transfer area between the hydrogen conduit and the storage medium, and improve hydrogen absorption/desorption efficiency.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeRango in view of Zewei as applied to claim 4, in further view of Fruchart et al. U.S. Pub. No. 20120061397 A1, March 15, 2012 (hereinafter “Fruchart”).
Regarding claim 7, DeRango fails to disclose that the hydrogen inlet/outlet orifice is in fluidic connection with a closing/opening valve. However, Fruchart discloses a hydrogen storage tank comprising hydrogen inlet (21) and hydrogen outlet (22) ports in fluid communication with the hydrogen storage bodies through tubes (23) (fig. 6; paragraphs 0117-0120). The hydrogen storage system may include a valve associated with the hydrogen circuit for controlling hydrogen flow and maintaining safe operation of the storage tank (paragraph 0121).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the hydrogen inlet/outlet orifice of the hydrogen storage tank of DeRango with the valve arrangement in order to selectively control hydrogen charging and discharging operations, permit isolation of the storage vessel, and improve operational safety.
Regarding claim 8, DeRango discloses a hollow cylindrical container containing a stack of hydrogen storage pellets (6) and thermally conductive disk arranged along the longitudinal axis of the vessel. DeRango discloses an internal volume (5) disposed between the terminal portion of the storage structure and the end closure/removable cover (12) of the vessel (fig. 1; paragraph 0003). The disclosed internal volume constitutes a free axial space within the cylindrical container adjacent the end of the stacked hydrogen-storage elements. Such space provides clearance for dimensional variation and expansion of the storage bodies during hydrogen absorption and desorption cycles.
Fruchart discloses that the container and storage bodies may experience differential expansion and that maintaining proper positioning and contact of the storage bodies requires structures that accommodate dimensional variation (paragraphs 0123-0126). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the internal volume of DeRango as a free axial expansion space between the terminal storage element and the removable cover in order to accommodate expansion of the hydrogen-storage pellets during hydriding cycles, and improve durability and operational reliability of the storage system.
Regarding claim 9, DeRango disclose that the longitudinal axis of the container is horizontal in relation to gravity as shown in figure 1 above. However, DeRango fails to disclose that the tank further comprising a compression spring between the last rigid disk of the stack and the removable reversibly-sealing cover (12).
Fruchart discloses accommodating dimensional changes of hydrogen-storage bodies within a hydrogen-storage vessel and expressly teaches using compression spring means for biasing storage-body components and maintaining contact during operation. Fruchart discloses that the thrusting means may be “a compression spring means” and further teaches the use of a “cushion spring” to compress the storage body portions against surrounding structure (paragraph 0126). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a compression spring between the terminal disk of the stacked storage elements and the removable cover of DeRango in order to maintain compression of the stack, accommodate expansion and contraction of the hydrogen-storage material, and maintain effective thermal and mechanical contact between adjacent elements.
Conclusion
/M.N.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1776 /Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776