DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2022-018061, filed on 2/8/2022.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 11, 15 and 17 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 6, 11, 15 and 17 recite the chemical formula “(Li[Lix (Ni(1-y-z-w)CoyMnzMw)(1-x)]O2” with an open parenthesis before the first Li. Kindly, delete the first open parenthesis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Independent Claim 1 claims Element A selected from 10 disparate elements: Nb, Ta, Ti, Al, B, P, W, Zr, La, and Ge.
Breadth of Claims vs. Working Examples: The 10 listed elements possess vastly different atomic radii, surface energies, oxidation states, and precursor chemistries (e.g., peroxy complexes vs. alkoxides vs. organic salts).
Lack of Representative Support: The specification provides working examples strictly for Nb (Examples 1–5, 10 [pars. 0392-0403,0522-0535]), W (Example 6), and B (Example 7 [pars. 0498-0502]). There are zero working examples or technical guidance for Ta, Ti, Al, P, Zr, La, or Ge showing that spray-coating under two-fluid nozzle conditions (0.6<Qg/Ql ≤25.0) achieves a surface presence rate ≥70% while simultaneously satisfying Condition (2).
Undue Experimentation: Under the In re Wands factors (MPEP 2164.01(a)), given the unpredictable nature of surface-coating complex cathode active materials for solid-state batteries, practicing the full breadth of Claim 1 across unexemplified elements like Ge, La, Ta, or P without undue experimentation is not enabled by the disclosure.
Claims 2-6 and 13-15 are rejected by virtue for directly depending from independent claim 1.
Claims 1-6 and 13-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites Condition (2): 0.10<(Va0.9)/SN × (Vd0.5 - Va0.5)/Va0.9 < 2.80.
The variable Va0.9 appears simultaneously in the numerator of the first term (Va0.9)/SN) and the denominator of the second term (Vd0.5 - Va0.5)/Va0.9. Mathematically, Va0.9 cancels out completely, reducing the formula to (Vd0.5 - Va0.5)/SN. Reciting an expanded formula containing redundant terms that algebraically cancel without providing any structural or physical justification in the claim for including Va0.9 creates ambiguity regarding the true mathematical boundary of the claim.
SN is defined in units of m2/g, whereas Va0.5, Va0.9, and Vd0.5 are defined in volumetric units of cm3 (STP)/g. Evaluating the quotient yields physical dimensions of cm3 (STP)/m2. However, the claim sets bare numerical boundary constants (0.10 and 2.80) without stating whether these constants are dimensionless scalars or tied to explicit unit conversion factors. Under MPEP 2173.05(c), omitting unit conversion rules or dimensional definitions for mathematical claim parameters renders the claim scope indefinite.
Claim 1 recites Limitation (1): "a surface presence rate of the coating material is 70% or more". "Surface presence rate" is a non-standard parameter in the battery and chemical arts. While the specification describes an X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy (XPS) intensity calculation in [PgPublication – pars. 0087-0103], Claim 1 fails to recite XPS as the mandatory measuring technique, nor does it define photoelectron energy levels, probe beam penetration depths, or empirical sensitivity factors. Under MPEP 2173.05(t), where a claimed numerical parameter relies on a non-standard measurement technique omitted from the claim body, a person having ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) cannot ascertain the scope boundaries of the limitation.
Claim 1 requires Element A in the coating selected from Nb, Ta, Ti, Al, B, P, W, Zr, La, and Ge. Claim 6 (Formula I) permits Element M in the core composite oxide to be selected from Fe, Cu, Mg, Al, W, B, P, Mo, Zn, Sn, Zr, Ga, La, Ti, Nb, Ta, Ge, and V. Element M in the core particle overlaps directly with Element A in the coating (e.g., Ti, Zr, Al, Nb, W). Neither Claim 1 nor Claim 6 clarifies whether the XPS "surface presence rate" of 70% or more measures Element A residing strictly in the surface coating layer, or the aggregate total of that element residing in both the coating and the underlying core surface. In fact, paragraph [par. 0098] of the specification acknowledges that when an element is present in both the core and coating, it "is handled without distinguishing whether the element is an element contained in the coating material or an element contained in the LiMO." This creates antecedent and scope ambiguity under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as to whether an uncoated core containing surface-segregated Ti/Zr satisfies Claim 1.
Claims 2-6 and 13-15 are rejected by virtue for directly depending from independent claim 1.
Claim 7 recites a method of manufacturing comprising a coating step using a two-fluid nozzle jetting a liquid coating raw material and carrier gas, wherein the lithium metal composite oxide satisfies Condition (A): 0.10 < Vl0.9/LN <6.80, and the flow rates satisfy Condition (B): 0.6 < Qg/Ql ≤ 25.0. Under MPEP 2173.05(p), process claims that define the method merely by the end result achieved rather than by positive operational parameters can be indefinite. Claim 7 recites Condition (A) as an inherent property of the starting material without reciting positive treatment steps, temperatures, or reaction conditions required to produce a starting composite oxide possessing that exact water vapor adsorption ratio Vl0.9/LN.
Claims 8-12 and 16-18 are rejected by virtue for directly depending from independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US20240006586A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Wu discloses a cathode active material for a solid lithium secondary battery [pars. 0001-03,0120; Fig. 1], comprising:
a lithium metal composite oxide having a layered crystal structure (particulate electrode active material of general formula Li1+xTM1-xO2 wherein TM is Ni and optionally Co/Mn, having a layered crystal structure) [pars. 0003,0014,0120]; and
a coating material which coats at least a part of the lithium metal composite oxide (a continuous surface layer coating the particulate active material) [pars. 0003,0014,0042,0120],
wherein the coating material contains an element A, wherein element A is one or more elements selected from the group consisting of Nb, Ta, Ti, Al, B, P, W, Zr, La, and Ge (disclosing continuous coating containing oxides of W, Mo, Nb, or Zr) [pars. 0003,0042-43,0120]; and
(1) a surface presence rate of the coating material is 70% or more (disclosing a "continuous layer" completely surrounding the core particle, inherently satisfying a surface presence rate ≥70%) [pars. 0003,0014,0120; Fig. 1].
Wu fails to explicitly recite Condition (2):
0.10<(Va0.9)/SN × (Vd0.5 - Va0.5)/Va0.9 < 2.80
However, Wu discloses identical core active materials (LiMO2, Ni-rich layered oxides), identical coating oxide compositions (W, Mo, Nb, Zr oxides), and identical continuous coating coverage [pars. 0003,0014,0042-43,0120]. Under MPEP 2112, a reference that discloses structural and chemical identity inherently possesses the physical surface properties resulting therefrom. Moreover, controlling moisture content and water adsorption hysteresis on cathode active materials for solid-state batteries is a recognized result-effective variable (MPEP 2144.05) to prevent sulfide electrolyte degradation (H2S gas evolution) [pars. 0001-03,0060]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to prepare the coated active material of Wu under routine moisture-control conditions such that the resulting material satisfies Condition (2) in order to minimize interfacial water retention and prevent degradation when brought into contact with solid electrolytes.
Regarding Claim 3, Wu discloses the cathode active material of Claim 1, wherein the cathode active material is used by being brought into contact with a solid electrolyte [pars. 0001,0060,0117-18,0120,0149].
Regarding Claim 4, Wu discloses the cathode active material of Claim 3, wherein the solid electrolyte is a sulfide-based solid electrolyte (disclosing solid electrolyte comprising lithium, sulfur, and phosphorus, specifically Li3PS4 or Li6PS5Cl) [pars. 0001,0060-63,0120,0130].
Regarding Claim 5, Wu discloses the cathode active material of Claim 1, wherein the element A is Nb [par. 0048].
Regarding Claim 6, Wu discloses the cathode active material of Claim 1, wherein the lithium metal composite oxide satisfies Chemical Formula (I): Li[Lix(Ni(1-y-z-w)CoyMnzMw)1-x]O2 (disclosing Li1+x(NiaCobMncM1d)1-xO2 where M1 is selected from Al, Mg, Ti, Mo, W, Nb; a≥0.50, b≤0.40, c≤0.40, d≤0.10) [pars. 0014-28,0120].
Claims 2, 13, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Wu, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aida (US20190036112A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Wu discloses the cathode active material of Claim 1 [pars. 0001-03,0120], but fails to explicitly recite Condition (3):
0.10 < SH/SN × (Vd0.5 - Va0.5)/(Va0.9) < 3.10
Aida discloses a particulate layered lithium transition metal composite oxide (LisNi(1-x-y-z)CoxMnyMzO(2+α)) coated on primary/secondary particle surfaces with a lithium-containing compound formed from oxoanions of W, Mo, Nb, Ti, Al, B, or P [pars. 0022-23,0050,0068,0078; Fig. 6]. Aida teaches controlling the surface water content, surface hydroxyl density (SH), and Karl Fischer moisture content (measured at 300oC) to establish a water vapor adsorption balance that prevents paste gelling and interfacial resistance growth [pars. 0023,0118; Fig. 6]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to modify Wu by controlling the surface hydroxyl density (SH) and moisture balance as taught by Aida [pars. 0023,0118] in order to optimize surface wetting, reduce slurry gelling during processing, and satisfy Condition (3).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Wu discloses the cathode active material of Claim 2, used by being brought into contact with a solid electrolyte [Wu – pars. 0001,0060,0117-20].
Regarding Claim 14, Wu discloses the cathode active material of Claim 1, wherein the element A is Nb [par. 0048].
Regarding Claim 15, modified Wu discloses the cathode active material of Claim 2, satisfying Formula (I) [Wu – pars. 0014-28; Aida – pars. 0023,0068].
Claim(s) 7-11 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US20240006586) in view of Asai (US20240429396A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Wu discloses a method for manufacturing a cathode active material for a solid lithium secondary battery, including coating at least a part of a surface of a lithium metal composite oxide with a coating raw material containing Element A (selected from Nb, Ta, Ti, Al, B, P, W, Zr, La, Ge) [pars. 0001-03,0042-43,0090-96,0120].
Wu does not explicitly detail two-fluid nozzle jetting conditions or flow rate ratio Condition (B) 0.6<Qg/Ql≤25.0.
Asai discloses a two-fluid nozzle spray-coating process for applying liquid coatings onto active material particles using a carrier gas, wherein the carrier gas to liquid flow rate ratio Qg/Ql is controlled in the range of 1.30 to 1.80 (falling within the claimed range) to control atomized droplet size and ensure uniform surface distribution [pars. 0090,0362; Figs. 1,2]. Regarding Condition (A) 0.10<Vl0.9/LN<6.80, the starting lithium metal composite oxides of Wu possess identical layered crystal structures and BET surface areas LN, inherently satisfying Condition (A) under MPEP 2112. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to combine the active material coating process of Wu with the two-fluid nozzle spray-coating apparatus and gas-to-liquid flow rate ratio Qg/Ql as taught by Asai in order to achieve optimal droplet atomization, prevent particle agglomeration, and satisfy Condition (B).
Regarding Claim 8, Wu discloses the method of Claim 7, further comprising, after the coating step: a heating step of heating the lithium metal composite oxide coated with the coating raw material at a temperature of 100oC to 500 oC for 1 hour or longer [pars. 0094-96,0141].
Regarding Claim 9, Asai discloses the method of Claim 7, wherein the carrier gas is a gas having nitrogen as a main component [pars. 0167,0367].
Regarding Claim 10, Wu discloses the method of Claim 7, wherein Element A is Nb [pars. 0003,0042].
Regarding Claim 11, Wu discloses the method of Claim 7, wherein the starting material satisfies Formula (I) [pars. 0014-28].
Regarding Claim 16, Wu and Asai disclose the method of Claim 8, wherein the carrier gas is nitrogen [Wu – pars. 0094-96; Asai – pars. 0167,0367].
Regarding Claim 17, Wu discloses the method of Claim 8, wherein the starting material satisfies Formula (I) [pars. 0014-28,0094-96].
Claim(s) 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 7 and 8 as applied to claims 7 and 8, respectively, and further in view of Jiminez (US20200411837A1).
Regarding Claims 12 and 18, Wu [pars. 0001-03,0042-43] and Asai [pars. 0090,0362] disclose the method of Claim 7, but do not explicitly disclose performing the coating step using a roll-to-roll flow coating device.
Jimenez discloses continuous flow coating and fluid-bed roll-to-roll active material particle coating systems for battery active materials [pars. 0063,0067-70]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to combine the two-fluid nozzle coating process of Wu and Asai with the continuous roll-to-roll flow coating apparatus taught by Jimenez in order to enable high-throughput continuous manufacturing of coated cathode active materials.
Conclusion
HAROON S. SHEIKH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751