Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous 112 rejections are withdrawn due to applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11,13,14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christiansen(US 2011/0177202) in view of He(Insights into interaction of chlophylls with sodium caseinate in aqueous nanometre-scale dispersion: color stability, spectroscopic, electrostatic, and morphological properties).
Regarding claims 1,2,4,6,7,10, Christiansen teaches a natural green liquid coloring composition comprising
a)an oil phase comprising a chlorophyll oleosein in an amount of 1-20% that is derived from spinach(example 1, [0019-0020], [0029]), which overlaps the claimed ranges in 1, 3, and 4 and renders them obvious.
b)a continuous water phase comprising an emulsifier(example 1, abstract)
wherein the natural green liquid coloring composition is an emulsion(abstract, example 1; the composition is homogenized and stabilized to form an emulsion without clots or oil rings, [0045-0046].
Christiansen does not specifically teach that the continuous water phase comprises casein. However, He teaches chlorophyll dispersions comprising sodium caseinate showing reduced storage decomposition(abstract). He teaches 2% casein and 3% chlorophyll, for a 1.5:1 ratio of chlorophyll oleoresin to casein(p.4531, 2.2). It would have been obvious to add 2% casein in the composition of Christiansen as taught in He in order to stabilize the emulsion and prevent storage decomposition.
While Christiansen and He may not specifically teach that casein is a microencapsulating agent, He renders obvious dispersing casein in with chlorophyll and how casein can stabilize chlorophyll in aqueous compositions. As such, the instant spec teaches forming the composition by merely dispersing chlorophyll oleoresin in with an aqueous composition comprising casein(p.3, line 14-20). Since Christiansen and He teach this same method, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect casein to act as a microencapsulating agent as claimed.
Regarding claim 3, Christiansen teaches that the chlorophyll oleoresin is present in an amount of 1-20%([0029]), which overlaps the amounts in claim 4. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the chlorophyll to be present in the same amounts as recited in claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, He teaches sodium caseinate(abstract) and not native casein as claimed. However, since the casein component is the stabilizer, it would have been obvious to provide it in various forms including in native form.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Christiansen teaches the coloring composition comprises a tocopherol antioxidant(example 1).
Regarding claim 11, Christiansen does not specifically teach that the emulsifier is lecithin. However, it would have been obvious to use conventional emulsifiers such as lecithin in order to provide a stable emulsion.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Christiansen teaches that the coloring composition is included in beverages in an amount of 0.05 to 0.3wt%([0040[), which overlaps the broad claimed range and renders it obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Christiansen does not teach the presence of casein and or the presence of a microencapsulating agent. However, He teaches chlorophyll dispersions comprising sodium caseinate showing reduced storage decomposition(abstract). He teaches 2% casein and 3% chlorophyll, for a 1.5:1 ratio of chlorophyll oleoresin to casein(p.4531, 2.2). It would have been obvious to add 2% casein in the composition of Christiansen as taught in He in order to stabilize the emulsion and prevent storage decomposition.
While Christiansen and He may not specifically teach that casein is an encapsulating agent, He renders obvious dispersing casein in with chlorophyll and how casein can stabilize chlorophyll. As such, the instant spec teaches forming the composition by merely dispersing chlorophyll oleoresin in with an aqueous composition comprising casein(p.3, line 14-20). Since Christiansen and He teach this same method, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect casein to act as a microencapsulating agent.
The applicant argues that He is different from Christiansen because Christiansen teaches a chlorophyll oleoresin and He teaches an aqueous composition of chlorophyll. However, He specifically teaches that casein is an effective stabilizer for chlorophyll in aqueous dispersions since it has both hydrophilic and hydrophobic groups(p.4530, last paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to include casein in with the aqueous phase in Christiansen in order to stabilize the hydrophobic chlorophyll oleoresin in with the continuous water phase.
The applicant argues that there is no predictability in pigment formulation. However, Christiansen specifically teaches a stabilized chlorophyll oleoresin in a continuous aqueous phase as claimed. He renders obvious including casein as a stabilizer/encapsulating agent. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the present invention.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE D LEBLANC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791