DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 11, 16, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abdelghaffar et al. (US 2023/0198725 A1, hereinafter “Abdelghaffar”).
Regarding independent claim 1:
Abdelghaffar discloses a method of operating a user equipment (UE) (e.g., 104 in Fig. 1) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving a channel state information (CSI) configuration message, wherein the CSI configuration message includes starting resource block information informing a physical resource block (PRB) from which CSI resource starts with respect to a common resource block #0 (CRB #0) of a common resource block grid, and information for a number of resource blocks (e.g., [0118], CSI resource configuration including a start RB index and a number of RBs associated with the CSI reference resource, 842 and 844 in Fig. 8, 1042 in Fig. 10),
receiving a full duplex (FD) configuration message, wherein the FD configuration message informs an FD time resource operating as full duplex and at least one of a downlink (DL) frequency resource used for a downlink and an uplink (UL) frequency resource used for an uplink in the FD time resource (e.g., [0105], UE being configured with downlink channel 834 and 836, and uplink channel 835 in a slot 824 in Fig. 8, [0113], FD indication 924 in Fig. 9 indicating full duplex or non-full duplex for a slot),
measuring a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) within the CSI resource (e.g., [0107], [0110], 914 in Fig. 9; and
transmitting a measurement result of the CSI-RS (e.g., [0110], [0114], 916 in Fig. 9, 1414 in Fig. 14),
wherein, a boundary measurement result of measuring the CSI-RS at a boundary frequency resource related to a frequency resource located at an edge of the DL frequency resource among the CSI resource is omitted from the measurement result of the CSI-RS (e.g., [0126], [0150], when CSI-RS is received on the second CSI reference resource (1142 in Fig. 11), which includes resources of the FD downlink channel and the second FD channel, discarding a portion of the CSI-RS received on the second FD channel (1152 in Fig.11 for guard band or uplink), and CSI report is based on only CSI-RS received on the FD downlink channel (1151 and 1153 in Fig. 11 for downlink), 1412 and 1414 in Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 6:
Abdelghaffar further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein based on only some frequency resources in the FD time resource being used as the DL frequency resource, a measurement result of the CSI-RS in a subband set related to the UL frequency resource or in a subband set not related to the DL frequency resource is also omitted (e.g., [0126], [0150], 1412 in Fig. 14).
Regarding independent claim 11:
Abdelghaffar discloses a user equipment (UE) (e.g., 350 in Fig. 3), the UE comprising: a transceiver (354 in Fig. 3); at least one memory (360 in Fig. 3); and at least one processor (359 in Fig. 3) operably coupled to the at least one memory and the transceiver, wherein the processor is adapted to: receive a channel state information (CSI) configuration message, wherein the CSI configuration message includes starting resource block information informing a physical resource block (PRB) from which CSI resource starts with respect to a common resource block #0 (CRB #0) of a common resource block grid, and information for a number of resource blocks, receive a full duplex (FD) configuration message, wherein the FD configuration message informs an FD time resource operating as full duplex and at least one of a downlink (DL) frequency resource used for a downlink and an uplink (UL) frequency resource used for an uplink in the FD time resource, measure a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) within the CSI resource; and transmit a measurement result of the CSI-RS, wherein, a boundary measurement result of measuring the CSI-RS at a boundary frequency resource related to a frequency resource located at an edge of the DL frequency resource among the CSI resource is omitted from the measurement result of the CSI-RS. (See rejection for similar limitations with respect to independent claim 1.)
Regarding claim 16:
Abdelghaffar further discloses the wherein based on only some frequency resources in the FD time resource being used as the DL frequency resource, a measurement result of the CSI-RS in a subband set related to the UL frequency resource or in a subband set not related to the DL frequency resource is also omitted (e.g., [0126], [0150], 1412 in Fig. 14).
Regarding independent claim 23:
Abdelghaffar discloses a method of operating a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting a channel state information (CSI) configuration message, wherein the CSI configuration message includes starting resource block information informing a physical resource block (PRB) from which CSI resource starts with respect to a common resource block #0 (CRB #0) of a common resource block grid, and information for a number of resource blocks, transmitting a full duplex (FD) configuration message, wherein the FD configuration message informs an FD time resource operating as full duplex and at least one of a downlink (DL) frequency resource used for a downlink and an uplink (UL) frequency resource used for an uplink in the FD time resource, transmitting a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) within the CSI resource; and receiving a measurement result of the CSI-RS, wherein, a boundary measurement result of measuring the CSI-RS at a boundary frequency resource related to a frequency resource located at an edge of the DL frequency resource among the CSI resource is not included in the measurement result of the CSI-RS. (See rejection for similar limitations with respect to independent claim 1.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelghaffar in view of Ibrahim et al. (US 2022/0014954 A1, hereinafter “Ibrahim”).
Regarding claims 4 and 14:
Abdelghaffar is silent regarding wherein the boundary frequency resource is a subband or a set of subbands whose channel quality value is less than or equal to a second threshold.
Ibrahim teaches the boundary frequency resource is a subband or a set of subbands whose channel quality value is less than or equal to a second threshold (e.g., [0105], UE may drop a CLI report if the measured CLI falls below a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Abdelghaffar based on the teaching by Ibrahim to include the feature wherein the boundary frequency resource is a subband or a set of subbands whose channel quality value is less than or equal to a second threshold, in order to reduce reporting overhead and improve uplink resource efficiency.
Regarding claims 5 and 15:
Abdelghaffar is silent regarding wherein the UE omits a CSI reporting for K (K being a natural number) subbands with lower priority according to a priority determined for each subband, and wherein a priority of a subband included in the boundary frequency resource is lowered so that the subband is included in the K subbands.
Ibrahim teaches the UE omits a CSI reporting for K (K being a natural number) subbands with lower priority according to a priority determined for each subband, and wherein a priority of a subband included in the boundary frequency resource is lowered so that the subband is included in the K subbands (e.g., [0111]-[0112], CLI measurement are ordered by priority, sub-band CLI measurement with low priority may be dropped).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Abdelghaffar based on the teaching by Ibrahim to include the feature the UE omits a CSI reporting for K (K being a natural number) subbands with lower priority according to a priority determined for each subband, and wherein a priority of a subband included in the boundary frequency resource is lowered so that the subband is included in the K subbands, in order to reduce reporting overhead and improve uplink resource efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 7-10, 12, 13, 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BO HUI A ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465