Status of the Claims
The examiner acknowledges the amended claims filed on 08/28/2026.
Claim 32 is canceled.
Claims 1,3,5,7-8,10-13,18-19,21-24,27-29 and 31 are pending.
Claims 1,3,5, 13,18-19,21-24,27-28 and 31 are withdrawn.
Claims 7-8,10-12 and 29 are examined herein.
Withdrawn Objection and Rejections
The examiner acknowledges the claim amendments filed on 08/28/2026.
Claim Objections as well as 35 USC §, 112 (a) and 103 rejections on Claim 32 are moot due to cancelation of the claims.
The Claim Objections and 35 USC § 112 (b) rejections on Claims 7-8,10-13 and 29 are withdrawn due to amendments to the claims.
Information Disclosure Statements
The IDS documents filed on 09/04/2026 and 08/28/2026 have been considered by the Examiner.
Examiner’s note: While the IDS documents filed on 09/04/2026 and 08/28/2026 have been considered, the examiner notes that the “Sawada” reference in IDS filed on 08/28/2026 and “SHOJI” reference filed on 09/04/2026 appear to use the same document. This indicates one reference is incorrect on an IDS. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding References 42 and 58 from IDS filed 01/22/2025, they have still not been considered by the examiner as they were not provided by the applicant. Regardless if these references are well-known standard references widely available to one of ordinary skill in the art, Applicant is required to upload a legible copy according to MPEP 609.04(a) II.
Claim Interpretation
The phrase “modified” in Claims 7-8, is interpreted by the examiner to mean any possible genetic or non-genetic modification, alteration, or change that may alter flavin adenine dinucleotide (FAD) synthetase activity or expression in a tobacco plant (see the paragraph bridging page 10 and 11 in the specification).
“Modulate” is interpreted to mean increase or decrease as described on page 53 line 19 of the specification.
Claims 7-8 and 10-12 recite “tobacco plant” are interpreted to mean “a plant in the genus Nicotiana that is used in the production of tobacco industry products” as was stated on page 75 line 34 of the specification.
The “Plant” in Claim 29 is broad and is not explicitly defined in the specification. The “Plant” in Claim 29 is interpreted by the examiner to be synonymous to “Tobacco plant” as this disclosure is not directed to any other species and the abstract recites “plant (i.e. a tobacco plant)” on page 54 line 16.
Claim 29 recites “wherein the nucleic acid molecule comprises a mutation in a nucleotide sequence encoding a fad synthetase protein”. This is interpreted by the examiner to indicate the mutation is present in the gene encoding a FAD synthetase protein and not another region of the nucleic acid molecule (i.e. other region of the chromosome).
FAD synthetase is given the broadest interpretation of:
An enzyme which catalysis the adenylation of flavin mononucleotide (FMN) to form flavin adenine dinucleotide (FAD) coenzyme (See page 11 line 21) or with a FAD synthase binding domain (Page 11 line 34).
In one embodiment, a FAD synthetase comprises an amino acid or nucleotide sequence shown as SEQ ID NOs.1-3, or a sequence which has at least 80% identity thereto, or a homologue thereof (See page 12 line 11, Page 12 line 31, and Page 13 line 15 )
Any sequence with at least 80% identify to sequences found in table 1 of the specification. (See page 12 line 14, Page 12 line 33, and Page 13 line 18 )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b) - Indefiniteness
The text of these sections of Title 35 U.S. Code, not included in this action, can be found in a prior Office action.
Initially, it is noted that this is a new rejection necessitated by the claim amendments.
Amended Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Amended Claim 29 recites a decreased alkaloid content and/or modulated content of TSNA or TSNA precursor. This is indefinite because alkaloids are TSNA precursors (see page 2 line 5 of the specification) and it is unclear if the tobacco plants can have an increased alkaloid content.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (a)
The text of these sections of Title 35 U.S. Code, not included in this action, can be found in a prior Office action.
Written Description
Amended Claims 7-8, 10-12, and 29 are still rejected under 35 USC § U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are broadly drawn to a tobacco plant or any part thereof having been modified in any way to decrease the activity or expression of a FAD synthetase and comprising decreased alkaloid and/or TSNA precursor content (or modulated TSNA or TSNA precursor content as recited in Claim 29) as compared to an unmodified plant.
Applicant describes:
Virus-induced gene silencing (VIGS) of a FAD synthetase gene (i.e. Nitab4.5_0005997g0050.2) with genomic sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, the coding sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2, and the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3 using the 300-nucleotide cDNA fragment with SEQ ID NO: 43. The TRV vector comprising both (TRV RNA 1 SEQ ID No. 34) and (TRV RNA2) comprising the targeted nucleotide sequence separately propagated in A. tumefaciens.
VIGS silencing Nitab4.5_0005997g0050.2 leading to a significant reduction of nicotine, anabasine, PON, and anatabine.
Applicant does not describe:
Modification of the activity or expression of a FAD synthetase peptide or nucleotide or amino acid sequence with at least 80% identity to SEQ ID NO:1-3, or a functional variants, functional fragments, orthologues, or homologue thereof, other than SEQ ID NOs: 1-3.
If alkaloid content can be increased and TSNA precursors maintained or reduced (i.e., the plant comprising decreased alkaloid and/or TSNA precursor content).
Modulation of a FAD synthetase’s activity in a plant.
Modification of any kind to modulate or decrease the activity or expression of a FAD synthetase, other than VIGS.
Any plant propagation material obtained from the tobacco plant comprising modulated or decreased activity or expression of a FAD synthetase from the heritable modification.
Any plant part with modulated FAD synthetase activity or expression and decreased alkaloid and/or TSNA precursor content, other than tobacco leaves.
Independent and Amended Claims 7, 8 and 29 encompass a vast genus of all possible FAD synthetase orthologues of said genes/proteins (i.e. SEQ ID NOs:1-3). A related FAD synthetase orthologue is a broad term for any character, gene, or structure that shares a common ancestral origin. Homologous/orthologous genes among different plants may perform similar or equivalent genes according to Xu, Zilong, et al. "Phylogenetic Inference of Homologous/Orthologous Genes Among Distantly Related Plants." Bio-protocol 13.23 (2023) on page 2 paragraph 1(See form 892 mailed on 05/28/2026). However, Xu et al 2023 also recites “the definition of homology/orthology has nothing to do with biological functions”. Despite applicant describing how to test a protein’s catalytic ability to synthesize FAD and due to the functional unpredictability of all orthologs sequences to carry out the same biological process, undue experimentation would be required to ensure that all presently claimed sequences still maintained the functionality of synthesizing FAD and reducing the alkaloid and/or TSNA precursor content (or modulated TSNA or TSNA precursor content as recited in Claim 29). Additionally, the applicant only lists homologs identified in Table 1. Thus, A representative number of species was not described to represent the entire genus of FAD synthetase orthologs of SEQ ID NOs: 1-3.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
The examiner acknowledges applicants’ arguments filed on 08/28/2026. The examiner’s arguments over functional variants or fragments is moot as this limitation is removed from the claims. The examiner also agrees that the specification provides adequate written description supporting methods for determining the levels of alkaloids and TSNA precursors as well as methods for genetic modifications, transformation methods, and methods for detecting mutations.
In regards to orthologs, while many orthologs do retain the same function (i.e. enzyme which catalyzes the adenylation of flavin mononucleotide (FMN) to form flavin adenine dinucleotide (FAD) coenzyme (ATP+ FMN -> diphosphate + FAD)), it is not necessarily true for all orthologs according to Xu et al 2023. The complexity in identifying orthologues is further emphasized by the teachings of Lynch, Joseph H., and Sanja Roje. "A higher plant FAD synthetase is fused to an inactivated FAD pyrophosphatase." Journal of Biological Chemistry 298.12 (2022) (See form 892 mailed on 05/28/2026) who identified a FAD synthetase with very low sequence homology to SEQ ID NO:3 but is still classified as a FAD synthetase (see prior office action mailed on 05/28/2026). Thus, it would take undue trial and error testing to determine if any gene or protein sequence encodes a FAD synthetase.
Scope of Enablement
The scope of enablement rejection is maintained for Amended Claim 29 as it recites “wherein the mutant plant has decreased alkaloid content and/or modulated content of tobacco specific nitrosamine (TSNA) or a precursor of a TSNA”. The Applicant’s disclosure shows that TSNA precursors (i.e. alkaloids) are decreased upon a decrease in activity or expression of a FAD synthetase (see example 1 of the specification). Thus, the disclosure does not provide adequate working examples to enable one with ordinary skill in the art to increase (encompassed by “modulate”) TSNA precursors upon decreasing the activity or expression of FAD synthetase.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
The examiner acknowledges applicants’ arguments filed on 08/28/2026. The examiner also agrees that the specification provides adequate enablement for decreasing alkaloids, TSNA, and TSNA precursors (see figure 1), but not modulation which includes increase in metabolite content (i.e. Claim 29). The examiner agrees that the specification further teaches multiple methods by which a person of ordinary skill in the art may reduce or eliminate expression of a gene encoding FAD synthetase for decreasing the activity of FAD synthetase, including microRNA silencing, RNAi antisense, tDNA insertions, dominant negative constructs, as well as gene editing techniques such as TALENs, CRISPR, and TILLING.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The text of these sections of Title 35 U.S. Code, not included in this action, can be found in a prior Office action.
Claims 7-8, 10-12, and 29 are directed to a tobacco plant, plant part, cell, cell culture, propagation material, or tobacco crop from a plant where a FAD synthetase gene is modified/mutated for decreased activity or expression which results in reduced alkaloid and/or TSNA precursor (i.e. nicotine) content. The FAD synthetase has a protein sequence of SEQ ID NO:3 and is encoded by nucleotide sequences of SEQ ID NO:1-2 or have 80% similarity to SEQ ID NOs:1-3 or be an ortholog.
Claims 7-8, 10-12, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020069142 A1 (see IDS filed 1/22/2025) in view of Kajikawa, Masataka, et al. "Vacuole-localized berberine bridge enzyme-like proteins are required for a late step of nicotine biosynthesis in tobacco." Plant physiology 155.4 (2011): 2010-2022 (See form 892 mailed on 05/28/2026).
WO 2020069142 A1 is directed to modified host cells comprising one or more heterologous nucleic acids comprising a nucleotide sequence encoding a Berberine Bridge Enzyme (BBE) or BBE-like polypeptide. Paragraph 28 teaches “In some embodiments described herein, the BBE or BBE-like polypeptide is a BBE-like nicotine bridge enzyme polypeptide from Nicotiana tabacum”. Paragraph 86 teaches “BBE and BBE-like polypeptides often contain disulfide bonds, glycosylations, and are the only polypeptides known to contain a bi-covalently attached FAD cofactor-thought to increase the enzyme's catalytic potential over the more common mono-covalent FAD”. Paragraph 154 teaches “In some embodiments, the modified host cells of the disclosure comprise a deletion or downregulation of one or more genes encoding one or more FAD synthetase polypeptides, reducing or eliminating the expression of the one or more FAD synthetase polypeptides.” The same limitation of decreasing the expression of a FAD synthetase is present in Claims 7-8, 10-12, and 29. Claim 29 is also directed to a plant wherein the nucleic acid molecule comprises a mutation in a nucleotide sequence encoding a FAD synthetase protein that is heritable and modulates or decreases the activity or expression of FAD synthetase. Paragraph 453 of WO 2020069142 A1 teaches “downregulation of a gene can be accomplished in several ways… the introduction of mutations that destabilize the protein or reduce catalytic activity achieve a similar goal”. WO 2020069142 A1 also provides orthologs of FAD synthetases in SEQ ID NOs: 25-26 on page 197.
While reduction of FAD synthetase expression and its relationship to BBE and BBE-like polypeptides is taught in WO 2020069142 A1, it is not explicitly directed to a tobacco plant, plant part, cell, cell culture, propagation material, or tobacco crop from a plant with reduced alkaloid and/or TSNA precursors or a FAD synthetase with at least 80% sequence similarity to the peptide sequence in SEQ ID NO: 3 or encoded by the nucleotide sequence with at least 80% sequence similarity to SEQ ID NOs:1-2 (limitations recited in Claims 7-8, 10-11, and 29). It also does not teach plant propagation material obtained from a modified plant (Claim 8) or a plant or crop bred or grown from such a plant (Claim 12) .
Kajikawa et al 2010 is also directed to berberine bridge enzyme family and their role in nicotine biosynthesis in tobacco plants. It recites “In this study, we identified vacuole-localized tobacco flavoproteins, berberine bridge enzyme-like proteins (BBLs), that were required for the synthesis of nicotine, anatabine, anabasine, and anatalline” on page 2 paragraph 3. It also teaches “These tobacco BBLs constitute a distinct clade in the FAD-containing oxidoreductase family that includes berberine bridge enzymes (BBEs)” on page 2 paragraph 4. This reference also teaches mutant tobacco plant lines where BBL expression was decreased (i.e. modulated) using RNAi on page 5 paragraph 2. In the leaves, the amounts of nicotine and nornicotine (i.e. alkaloids of Claims 7-8, 10-12, and 29) were much lower in the mutant plants when compared to unmodified plants. This is depicted in Figure 6 B and C. Applicant’s Claims 7-8, 10-11, and 29 were also directed to modified/mutated tobacco plants with decreased alkaloid content while Claim 10 is directed to decreased nicotine, nornicotine, PON, anabasine, myosmine, and anatabine content while Claim 11 is just directed to nicotine. Additionally, the “Plant and Genetic Transformation” section in the materials and methods section on page 10 describe how mutant plants were generated. The transgenic T1 plants used for the experiment were generated from a transgenic T0 plant. Because plants with the heritable mutation were propagated from an already transgenic plant, these plants read upon Applicant’s Claim 8 (i.e. a plant propagation material obtained from an already modified plant) and Claim 12 (i.e. a plant or crop bred from or grown from the modified plant). Because the transgenes (i.e. mutations) were heritable, the plants in the T1 reads upon the limitation of Claim 29. Other disclosed modified mutant systems with reduced alkaloid and/or TSNA precursor content were hairy roots and BY-2 cells which were described on page 4 paragraph 3 and page 5 paragraph 3. Because they are a plant part, propagation material, and cell culture derived from Nicotiana tabacum, they read upon limitations recited in Claims 7-8 and 10-11.
Regarding the limitations of SEQ ID NOs: 1-3, Kajikawa et al 2010 and WO 2020069142 A1 use the same species of tobacco (i.e. Nicotiana tabacum) used in the specification said to comprise the SEQ ID NOs: 1-3 (see Example 2 in Applicant’s specification). A NCBI Blast of SEQ ID NO: 2 indicates tobacco FAD synthetase sequences with 80% sequence similarity and orthologs are known in the art and one with ordinary skill in the art would have been able to easily identify this sequence as a FAD synthetase (see NCBI blast results below).
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of WO 2020069142 A1 and Kajikawa et al 2010 to generate tobacco plants with reduced alkaloid and/or reduced or modulated TSNA or TSNA precursor content by decreasing the expression or activity of a FAD synthetase. While both references teach that BBL enzymes require the cofactor FAD, Kajikawa et al 2010 teaches that BBL enzymes are required for synthesizing alkaloids in tobacco and WO 2020069142 A1 teaches that FAD is synthesized by FAD synthetase and teaches engineering1 an organism with reduced activity and expression of FAD synthetase along with a BBL gene. Furthermore, Kajikawa et al 2010 teaches methods on reducing gene expression in tobacco plants resulting in reduced alkaloid and/or TSNA content. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the concept of reducing the expression of FAD synthetase from WO 2020069142 A1 and using the methods of Kajikawa et al 2010 to reduce its expression in tobacco. They would also have a reasonably high expectation of success as FAD is a known cofactor used in the biosynthesis of alkaloids in tobacco and because gene silencing for reduce alkaloid and TSNA precursors is already known in the art regarding this pathway. Finally, Applicant’s sequences are also obvious as one with ordinary skill in the art would have known to identify the FAD synthetase in Nicotiana tabacum (as it was specifically referenced by WO 2020069142 A1 and Kajikawa et al 2010) and would have inherently identified SEQ ID NOs: 1-3, absent evidence to the contrary. One having ordinary skill in the art would also have been motivated to reduce the expression or activity of FAD synthetase to generate tobacco plants with reduced alkaloids, as these plants would have increased value as a biomass resource and for the generation of tobacco plants and products with reduced nicotine in view of potential regulation of nicotine ceilings.2
The use of VIGS, quantifying metabolites, and performing in vitro enzyme assays were known and were routinely used in the art at the time the instant application was filed. Similarly, modifications to the polynucleotide, plant, or bacterial compositions, or methods of practice using these compositions, would be mere design choice and routine optimizations of the methods taught by the cited references and the general state of the art, absent evidence to the contrary.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
The examiner acknowledges applicants’ arguments filed on 08/28/2026 and has considered them.
Applicant argues the claim amendments now reciting the specific sequences of SEQ ID NOs:1-3, a sequence with 80% similarity, or an ortholog, and the cited references do not teach these specific sequences. The examiner disagrees and believes the Applicant’s sequences are obvious as one with ordinary skill in the art would have known to identify the FAD synthetase in Nicotiana tabacum (as this species was specifically referenced by WO 2020069142 A1 and Kajikawa et al 2010) and would have inherently identified SEQ ID NOs: 1-3, absent evidence to the contrary.
Applicant argues WO 2020069142 A1 teaches away from the present invention as it appears to be directed for increased production of alkaloids for economical production of high-value bioactive compounds. While paragraphs 95-96 do recite this technology can be used in producing alkaloids, it does not recite the invention can exclusively be used for such purposes. Furthermore, WO 2020069142 Al does teach the limitation of reduced expression or activity (i.e. downregulation) of a FAD synthetase in Claims 1-3, 25, 34, and 45.
Regarding applicants argument that SEQ ID NO: 23048 of WO 2020069142 A1 teaches a sequence with 93.5% identity to instant SEQ ID No. 3, the examiner was unable to locate this sequence in WO 2020069142 A1, making the argument moot.
Applicant argues that WO 2020/069142 does not disclose tobacco plants or parts thereof or tobacco cells or cell cultures with reduced alkaloid or TSNA precursor content and Kajikawa is directed to BBL genes and provides results in plants that accumulate DMN in the roots. Thus, there is no motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to target FAD synthetase to achieve a broad decrease in alkaloid and TSNA precursor content. The examiner disagrees and argues one of ordinary skill in the art would have had been able to identify reducing activity or expression of FAD synthetase is a way to modulate alkaloid content as both references teach that BBL enzymes require the cofactor FAD, Kajikawa et al 2010 teaches that BBL enzymes are required for synthesizing alkaloids in tobacco and WO 2020069142 A1 teaches that FAD is synthesized by FAD synthetase and teaches engineering an organism with reduced activity and expression FAD synthetase. This also responds to Applicant’s argument that the Examiner has not articulated reasoning with a rational underpinning for why a skilled person would have combined these references to arrive at the claimed invention. Simply put, a person with ordinary skill in the art would have known that reducing the activity of an enzyme that synthesizes a cofactor (i.e. FAD synthetase) required by an enzyme that synthesizes alkaloids (i.e. BBL and BBE enzymes) would inherently reduce the efficiency of the enzymes that synthesize the alkaloids and result in a plant with less alkaloids. This is also why the examiner disagrees with the applicant’s argument that their results were surprising and unexpected.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office
action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded
of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR § 1.136(a).
the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing
date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH
shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action
is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be
calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for
reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Contact Information
/GEORGE W MEYER/Examiner, Art Unit 1662
/BRATISLAV STANKOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Units 1661 & 1662
1 Including mutations in gene sequences encoding FAD synthetase (i.e. Claim 29)
2 See page 4 lines 23-31 of WO 2018/237107 A1 of IDS filed 01/22/2025