Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 28 – 35 and 42 in the reply filed on 10/21/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 42 is allowable. The restriction requirement regarding Group III, as set forth in the Office action mailed on 8/22/2025, has been reconsidered in view of the allowability of claims to the elected invention pursuant to MPEP § 821.04(a). The restriction requirement is hereby withdrawn as to any claim that requires all the limitations of Claim 42. Specifically, the restriction of Claims 43-47 is withdrawn. Claims 43-47, directed to physical structure of the inspection system are no longer withdrawn from consideration because the claim(s) requires all the limitations of Claim 42. However, claims 36-41, directed to timing, are still withdrawn from consideration because they do not require all the limitations of an allowable claim.
In view of the above noted withdrawal of the restriction requirement, applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Once a restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 50 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 42-44, 46-47, 51-53 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28-35, 48-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaufmann (US PG Publication 2020/0260013) in view of Smart (GB 2580639), Tremblay (US 20210080260 A1), and Alley (US PG Publication 2009/0015674).
Regarding Claim 28, Kaufmann (US PG Publication 2020/0260013) discloses a method for imaging (optically monitoring [0039], Fig. 1) the moving (moving components [0039]) blades (rotor blades [0039]) of a wind turbine (rotor star [0039]) using an imaging system comprising a wider field-of-view (WFOV)camera (second camera 12 has an image capture region 120, image capture region 120 has a larger image angle [0044]) and a narrower field of view (NFOV) camera (first camera 11 having image capture region 110 is comparatively narrow, i.e., the first camera 11 can represent a comparatively small area with a high resolution [0040]), wherein the NFOV camera has a narrower field of view than the WFOV camera (inherent, definition), and wherein the method comprises:
using the WFOV (second camera 12 is also mounted on a tripod and has an image capture region 120, image capture region 120 has a larger image angle [0044]) and the NFOV camera (first camera 11 having image capture region 110 is comparatively narrow, i.e., the first camera 11 can represent a comparatively small area with a high resolution [0040]) to image a plurality of regions of each of the moving blades (horizontally displacing the image capture region 110 by the tracking device 2 so that the surface of the component 3 can be completely captured, [0048], Fig. 2) by:
sequentially scanning the FOV of the NFoV camera across a plurality of radial positions relative to an axis of rotation of the moving blades (horizontally displacing the image capture region 110 by the tracking device 2, [0048], Fig. 2);
and using the WFoV and NFoV cameras to image, for each radial position, a corresponding region of each moving blade (the surface of the component 3 can be completely captured [0048]), wherein using the WFoV and NFoV cameras to image, at any one of the radial positions (the second camera 12 catches a larger section of the component 3 [0044]; horizontally displacing the image capture region 110 by the tracking device 2. If such recordings are captured on both the upstream and downstream sides of the wind turbine, the surface of the component 3 can be completely captured [0048]), the corresponding region of any one of the moving blades comprises:
directing the FOV of the NFOV camera toward the radial position (swivel the image capture region from a first position 115a through an angle 116 into a second position 115b, along the entire length of the component 3 [0055]-[0056]);
using the WFoV camera (second camera 12 having image capture region 120 [0044]) to capture a plurality of WFoV (image capture region 120 having a larger image angle [0044]) images (image data of the second camera 12 [0045]) of at least part of the moving blade in the FoV of the WFoV camera (the second camera 12 catches a larger section of the component 3 [0044]);
using the captured plurality of WFoV images (image data of the second camera 12 [0045]) of at least part of (the second camera 12 catches a larger section of the component 3 [0044]) the moving blade (moving rotor blades of the rotor star [0039]) to determine a trigger time (calculates a movement prediction for the component 3 to be monitored [0045]; directs the image capturing region of the first camera 11 at predetermined times [0045]) when an edge (the leading edge of the rotor blade is visible in the image capture region 110a; the trailing edge is visible in the image capturing region 110b in addition to the outer surface of the rotor blade [0047]) of the moving blade is, or will be, in a triggering region (knows where the component 3 to be monitored or the portion of the component 3 currently to be captured will be located at the recording time [0045]);
using the determined trigger time (at the recording time [0045]) and a known spatial relationship between the triggering region and a FoV of the NFoV camera (inherent: tracking device 2 [0041] is controlled to move the image capturing region 110 of first camera 11 [0040] to the portion of rotor star 3 to be captured [0045]; this is impossible if the spatial relationship between the camera and rotor star is unknown) to calculate one or more NFoV image capture times (output a control signal to the tracking device, which directs the image capturing region of the first camera 11 at predetermined times to the respective portion of the component 3 to be monitored [0045]) when the edge of the moving blade, or a body of the moving blade, is, or will be (the leading edge of the rotor blade is visible in the image capture region 110a; the trailing edge is visible in the image capturing region 110b in addition to the outer surface of the rotor blade [0047]), in the FoV of the NFoV camera (horizontally displacing the image capture region 110 by the tracking device 2 so that the surface of the component 3 can be completely captured, [0048], Fig. 2);
continuing to direct the FOV of the NFOV camera toward the radial position (swivel the image capture region from a first position 115a through an angle 116 into a second position 115b, along the entire length of the component 3 [0055]-[0056], capturing each image/FOV 110, Fig. 2; plurality of individual image combined to for a high-resolution recording of the component 3 to be monitored by horizontally displaying the image capture region 110 [0048]) until the calculated one or more NFOV image capturing times (direct the camera 11 at predetermined times to the portion of component 3 to be monitored [0045]);
and using the NFoV camera (first camera 11 having image capture region 110 [0040]) to capture one or more NFoV images of the region (horizontally displacing the image capture region 110 by the tracking device 2 so that the surface of the component 3 can be completely captured, [0048], Fig. 2) of the moving blade (moving rotor blades of the rotor star [0039]) at the calculated one or more NFoV image capture times (at the recording time [0045]).
Kaufmann does not disclose, but Smart (GB 2580639) teaches wherein the method further comprises:
translating (helicopter 6 transports the system 10 around the wind turbine 2 quickly, page 11 lines 1-6) the WFoV and NFoV cameras together (system 10 has a housing 12 and first and second imaging arrangements 20, 30 are within and fixed to the housing 12, page 9 line 31 – page 10 line 10) along a path (wind turbine can be circled, page 11 lines 6) around the wind turbine (mounting the system 10 on an airborne platform of any kind and using the airborne platform to fly the system 10 by, or around, the wind turbine 2, P. 15 lines 20-25) and using the WFoV and NFoV cameras (first, wider field-of view (FOV), lower resolution, imaging arrangement generally designated 20 and a second, higher resolution, narrower FOV, imaging arrangement generally designated 30. a body in the form of a housing 12. The first and second imaging arrangements 20, 30 are each located within, and fixed to, the housing 12, P. 9 line 30 – P. 10 line 5) to image each moving blade (moving blades 4a, 4b. 4c on the image sensor, page 11 lines 25-26) from one or more predetermined different vantage points on the path (the wind turbine 2 can be circled quickly, during which time all imagery is captured, P. 11 lines 5-6; high resolution imaging arrangement 30 images regions of interest during motion of the helicopter 6 relative to moving blades 4a, 4b, 4c, page 11 lines 10-15; historical image position of depends on the movement of helicopter 6, page 11 lines 25-30; future image position of tips 5a, 5b, 5c on image sensor at a future instant in times takes into account the rotation of blades and movement of helicopter 6, page 11 line 34 – page 12 line 3).
Kaufmann does not disclose, but Tremblay (US 20210080260 A1) teaches stabilizing the WFOV and NFOV cameras against the motion of the imaging system (Inside housing 1224 are mechanical stabilizer 1230 and imaging module 1232. Mechanical stabilizer 1230 may be configured to provide mechanical roll stabilization [0127]).
Although Kaufmann can be interpreted to disclose, Alley (US PG Publication 2009/0015674) teaches continuing to direct the FOV of the NFOV camera… until (Step Stare Mode, which focuses on a particular ROI for a few seconds [0088]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to carry the cameras of Kauffman by a drone, as in Smart, so that the cameras can be used for off-shore turbines without requiring crew members and engineers to risk their safety to inspect the turbine, improving the system (P. 1 lines 19-35).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supply the cameras of Kaufmann as modified for drone-flight with the stabilization of Tremblay because it is known that stabilization can assist with vision systems as it can reduce smear and blur in captured images and improve feature tracking between images of moving objects.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to operate the NFOV camera of Kaufmann in step-stare mode because Alley teaches that this tracking mode enables stabilization, pointing, and greater information content without increasing the communication bandwidth [0087].
Regarding Claim 29, Kaufmann (US PG Publication 2020/0260013) discloses the method as claimed in claim 28, wherein using the WFoV and NFoV cameras to image the plurality of regions of each moving blade comprises using the WFoV and NFoV cameras to image the plurality of regions of one of the moving blades (from the image data of the second camera 12, calculates a movement prediction for the component 3 and knows where the portion of component 3 to be captured will be at the recording time, and controls the first camera 11 [0045]; horizontally displacing the image capture region 110, of the first camera 11, by the tracking device 2 so that the surface of the component 3 can be completely captured, [0048], Fig. 2;) and then using the WFoV and NFoV cameras to image the plurality of regions of a different one of the moving blades until the plurality of different regions of each of the moving blades have been imaged (component to be monitored is the entire rotor star [0009]).
Regarding Claim 30, Kaufmann (US PG Publication 2020/0260013) discloses the method as claimed in claim 28, wherein using the WFoV and NFoV cameras to image the plurality of regions of each moving blade comprises using the WFoV and NFoV cameras to image the corresponding regions of each of the moving blades at one radial position and then using the WFoV and NFoV cameras to image the corresponding regions of each of the moving blades at a different one of the radial positions until the plurality of regions of each of the moving blades have been imaged (horizontally displacing the image capture region 110, of the first camera 11, by the tracking device 2 so that the surface of the component 3 can be completely captured, [0048], Fig. 2; both on the leading edge and trailing edge side [0047]).
Regarding Claim 31, Kaufmann (US PG Publication 2020/0260013) discloses the method as claimed in claim 28, wherein sequentially scanning the FoV of the NFoV camera across the plurality of radial positions comprises sequentially re-orienting the NFoV camera so as to sequentially scan the FoV of the NFoV camera across the plurality of radial positions (horizontally displacing the image capture region 110, of the first camera 11 [0048]).
Regarding Claim 32, Kaufmann (US PG Publication 2020/0260013) discloses the method as claimed in claim 28, comprising performing the sequential scanning of the field-of-view of the NFoV camera and the imaging of the plurality of regions of each moving blade autonomously according to a pre-programmed sequence (the open/closed loop control device will output a control signal to the tracking device, which directs the image capturing region of the first camera 11 at predetermined times to the respective portion of the component 3 to be monitored [0045] to horizontally displac[e] the image capture region 110, of the first camera 11, by the tracking device 2 so that the surface of the component 3 can be completely captured, [0048], Fig. 2; both on the leading edge and trailing edge side [0047]).
Regarding Claim 33, Kaufmann (US PG Publication 2020/0260013) discloses the method as claimed in claim 28.
Kaufmann does not disclose, but Smart (GB 2580639) teaches wherein the imaging system comprises an enclosure (a body in the form of a housing 12, P. 9 line 30 – P. 10 line 5), wherein the WFoV (wider field-of view (FOV), lower resolution, imaging arrangement generally designated 20, P. 9 line 30 – P. 10 line 5) and NFoV (second, higher resolution, narrower FOV, imaging arrangement generally designated 30, P. 9 line 30 – P. 10 line 5) cameras are both located within, and fixed to, the enclosure (a body in the form of a housing 12. The first and second imaging arrangements 20, 30 are each located within, and fixed to, the housing 12, P. 9 line 30 – P. 10 line 5).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to install the cameras of Kaufmann together and construct them to be carried by a drone, as in Smart, so that the cameras can be used for off-shore turbines and improve their usability (P. 1 lines 19-23).
Regarding Claim 34, Kaufmann (US PG Publication 2020/0260013) discloses the method as claimed in claim 28, comprising using the WFoV and NFoV cameras to image one or both sides of each moving blade… and/or to image one or both edges of each moving blade (both on the leading edge and trailing edge side [0047]).
Kaufmann does not disclose, but Smart (GB 2580639) teaches using the WFoV and NFoV cameras to image … from the one or more predetermined different vantage points on the path (the wind turbine 2 can be circled quickly, during which time all imagery is captured, P. 11 lines 5-6) and/or to image … from the one or more predetermined different vantage points on the path (the wind turbine 2 can be circled quickly, during which time all imagery is captured, P. 11 lines 5-6).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to carry the cameras of Kauffman by a drone, as in Smart, so that the cameras can be used for off-shore turbines without requiring crew members and engineers to risk their safety to inspect the turbine, improving the system (P. 1 lines 19-23).
Regarding Claim 35, Kaufmann (US PG Publication 2020/0260013) discloses the method as claimed in claim 28, wherein… vantage point is located at a position at or around a same level as a base of the wind turbine (see the height of the tripod relative to the height of the wind turbine, Fig. 1), wherein the position defines an acute angle relative to a plane of rotation of the moving blades of the wind turbine (the camera 11 with the tracking device 2 has a lower height than the hub height of the wind turbine [0047]) and, optionally, wherein the acute angle is in the region of 45-degrees (since this is optional, it has no patentable weight—assuming the option is not exercised).
Kaufmann does not disclose, but Smart (GB 2580639) teaches wherein each predetermined different vantage point is located at a position at or around … the wind turbine (mounting the system 10 on an airborne platform of any kind and using the airborne platform to fly the system 10 by, or around, the wind turbine 2, P. 15 lines 20-25; the wind turbine 2 can be circled quickly, during which time all imagery is captured, P. 11 lines 5-6).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to carry the cameras of Kauffman by a drone, as in Smart, so that the cameras can be used for off-shore turbines without requiring crew members and engineers to risk their safety to inspect the turbine, improving the system (P. 1 lines 19-23).
Regarding Claim 48, Kaufmann (US PG Publication 2020/0260013) discloses the method as claimed in claim 33.
Kaufmann does not disclose, but Smart (GB 2580639) teaches wherein the enclosure is sealed so as to isolate the WFoV and NFoV cameras from an environment external to the enclosure (see Figs. 3A and 3B, the housing 12 is sealed and has an aperture, page 8 lines 10-15).
Kaufmann does not disclose, but Tremblay (US 20210080260 A1) teaches and wherein the method comprises stabilising the enclosure against motion of the imaging system (inside housing 1224 are mechanical stabilizer 1230 and imaging module 1232. Mechanical stabilizer 1230 may be configured to provide mechanical roll stabilization [0127]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to carry the cameras of Kauffman by a drone, as in Smart, so that the cameras can be used for off-shore turbines without requiring crew members and engineers to risk their safety to inspect the turbine, improving the system (P. 1 lines 19-23).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supply the cameras of Kaufmann as modified for drone-flight with the stabilization of Tremblay because it is known that stabilization can assist with vision systems as it can reduce smear and blur in captured images and improve feature tracking between images of moving objects.
Regarding Claim 49, Kaufmann (US PG Publication 2020/0260013) discloses the method as claimed in claim 34.
Kaufmann does not disclose, but Smart (GB 2580639) teaches translating the WFoV and NFoV cameras together along a path around the wind turbine (mounting the system 10 on an airborne platform of any kind and using the airborne platform to fly the system 10 by, or around, the wind turbine 2, P. 15 lines 20-25).
Kaufmann does not disclose, but Tremblay (US 20210080260 A1) teaches autonomously (fully autonomous navigation of a mobile structure [0123]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to carry the cameras of Kauffman by a drone, as in Smart, so that the cameras can be used for off-shore turbines without requiring crew members and engineers to risk their safety to inspect the turbine, improving the system (P. 1 lines 19-23).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supply the cameras of Kaufmann as modified for drone-flight with the stabilization of Tremblay because it is known that stabilization can assist with vision systems as it can reduce smear and blur in captured images and improve feature tracking between images of moving objects.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks filed 7/31/2026 have been considered but are unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that Smart does not teach “‘using the WFoV and NFoV cameras to image each moving blade from one or more predetermined different vantage
points on the path’ as claimed in amended claim 28.” Applicant argues that because Smart is “silent on the nature of the position(s) from which the system 10 captures images… it is inaccurate to assert that Smart discloses” using the cameras to image each moving blade from predetermined different vantage points. Remarks at 15. This is not persuasive because it argues limitations that are not claimed, and because it contradicts the disclosure of Smart.
Applicant argues that Smart is silent on the “nature of the positions from which the system 10 captures images.” The claim does not limit the nature of positions from which the cameras capture images. The claim does not define where the vantage points are, how many vantage points there are, in which direction the cameras move. It does not define the order of imaging the blades. It defines only that each blade is captured, the vantage points are different, and there is a path. Smart teaches these.
Smart states,
helicopter 6 transports system 10 … during which time all imagery is captured, page 11 lines 5-6;
the turbine is circled, page 11 lines 5-6;
image during rotation of blades 4a, 4b, and 4c and during motion of helicopter 6, page 11 lines 12-14;
historical positions of the blades 4a, 4b, and 4c on the image depends on the movement of helicopter 6, page 11 lines 25-30; and
future positions of the tips 5a, 5b, and 5a of blades 4a, 4b, and 4c depend on the movement of the blades and movement of the helicopter 6, page 11 line 34 – page 12 line 3.
Smart captures each moving blade 4a, 4b, and 4c. The helicopter is moving in a circle around the turbine (path). Every time the helicopter moves, the vantage point from which the image is captured has changed (inherent). This covers all the claimed features. No extra specificity is required by the claims.
Applicant argues that Smart does not provide a motivation to image the blades from different vantage points on a path flown by helicopter 6, and Examiner’s reasoning is hindsight. Remarks at 15-16. This is unpersuasive. Smart includes a teaching/suggestion/motivation to modify Kauffman pre-dating the invention, as Smart is prior art. Smart teaches that using a drone-carried camera system to inspect turbines improves the inspection process because offshore turbines can be inspected without interruption of service and without endangering crew, engineers, and equipment. Page 1 lines 19-35. Capturing images from different vantage points is naturally made possible by having a moving camera, as in Smart; there is no reason for persons of ordinary skill in the art to specifically exclude teachings of Smart from consideration after having been motivated to modify Kauffman with Smart.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20160063350 A1 – inspecting turbine blades at multiple radial angles
/SHADAN E HAGHANI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2485