DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements filed 08/01/2024 and 12/17/2025 have all been considered and made of record.
Joint Inventors
Claim Objections
Claims 12-15 are not currently objected to. However, the claims each recite one of “…wherein the second side of the housing is a front side of the housing…” or “…wherein the first side of the housing is a bottom side of the housing…”. The terms “front” and “bottom” are dependent on the current orientation of the device and do not further limit the structure of the claimed device. Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claims 12-15 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 12-15, 17-23, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dannoux (US 20200057224 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Dannoux discloses a telecommunication enclosure comprising:
a housing including a first side and an adjacent second side oriented at an angle relative to the first side (Figs84-85/Housing 210, first and second sides [Sides defined by elements 100 and 300 respectively]);
a first row of first connector ports provided at the first side (Figs84-85/First connector ports [Instances of 233 within element 210a]);
a second row of second connector ports provided at the first side, the second row of second connector ports being spaced from the first row of first connector ports such that the first row of first connector ports is positioned between the second row of second connector ports and the second side (Figs84-85/Second connector ports [Instances of 233 within element 210a’]);
the first and second connector ports being configured for receiving fiber optic connectors from outside the housing (Figs84-85);
first slide latches for securing the fiber optic connectors in the first connector ports; second slide latches for securing the fiber optic connectors in the second connector ports (Figs86-87/First and second side latches 310m);
the first and second slide latches being movable between retaining positions in which the first and second slide latches are adapted to secure the fiber optic connectors in the first and second connector ports, respectively, and release positions in which the first and second slide latches allow the fiber optic connectors to be removed from the first and second connector ports, respectively (Figs86-87; Paragraphs 170&197);
first latch actuation locations at the second side for allowing the first slide latches to be manually moved from the retaining positions to the release positions (Fig85/First latch actuation locations [Instances of 300 within 210a]); and
second latch actuation locations for allowing the second slide latches to be manually moved from the retaining positions to the release positions (Fig85/Second latch actuation locations [Instances of 300 within 210a’]).
Dannoux does not disclose the second latch actuation locations as being at the second side. However, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to move the second latch actuation locations of Dannoux to the second side since doing so would allow both first and second latch actuation locations to be operated from the same side, thereby facilitating the act of accessing all actuation locations at once (I.E, without flipping the device over, while the device is resting on a surface, etc.).
With regards to claim 2, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication enclosure of claim 1. Dannoux does not disclose the first slide latches as being positioned a first distance inwardly from the first side and the second slide latches are positioned a second distance inwardly from the first side, the second distance being larger than the first distance in the embodiment relied upon above. However, Dannoux does disclose the first slide latches as being positioned a first distance inwardly from the first side and the second slide latches are positioned a second distance inwardly from the first side, the second distance being larger than the first distance in different embodiments (Figs89&92). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to stagger the first and second slide latches since doing so would facilitate locating both first and second connector release members such that they could be operated from the same side.
With regards to claim 3, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication enclosure of claim 1, wherein the first and second latch actuation locations respectively include first actuation buttons and second actuation buttons (Fig85).
With regards to claim 4, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication enclosure of claim 3, wherein the first actuation buttons are arranged in a first button row and the second actuation buttons are arranged in a second button row, the first and second button rows being parallel to the first row of first connector ports and the second row of second connector ports (Fig85).
With regards to claim 5, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication enclosure of claim 2, further comprising first latch actuators for moving the first slide latches from the retaining positions to the release positions and second latch actuators for moving the second slide latches from the retaining positions to the release positions, the first latch actuators being accessible at the first latch actuation locations and the second latch actuators being accessible at the second latch actuation locations (Fig87/Latch actuators 310m).
With regards to claim 6, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication enclosure of claim 5, wherein the first latch actuators include first buttons at the first actuation locations that can be depressed to move the first slide latches from the retaining positions to the release positions, and the second latch actuators include second buttons at the second actuation locations that can be depressed to move the second slide latches from the retaining positions to the release positions (Figs84-86/Buttons 310a).
With regards to claim 7, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication device of claim 6, further comprising a membrane positioned over the first buttons and the second buttons for providing sealing that prevents moisture from entering the housing at the first latch actuation locations and the second latch actuation locations (Fig86/Membrane 310s).
With regards to claim 8, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication device of claim 6, wherein the first latch actuators each include first and second spaced-apart legs coupled to the first buttons for transferring force from the first buttons to the first slide latches for moving the first slide latches from the retaining positions to the release positions, the first and second spaced-apart legs of each first latch actuator being positioned to straddle a corresponding one of the first connector ports (Fig87/First and second spaced apart legs [Left and right sides of element 310m]).
With regards to claim 12, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication device of claim 1, wherein the second side of the housing is a front side of the housing (Fig84).
With regards to claim 13, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication device of claim 12, wherein the first side of the housing is a bottom side of the housing (Fig84).
With regards to claim 14, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication device of claim 1, wherein the first side of the housing is a front side of the housing (Fig84).
With regards to claim 15, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication device of claim 14, wherein the second side of the housing is a top side of the housing (Fig84).
With regards to claim 17, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication device of claim 1, wherein the first slide latches and the second slide latches are spring biased toward the retaining positions (Paragraph 170/Lines 9-18).
With regards to claim 18, Dannoux discloses a telecommunication enclosure comprising:
a housing including a first side and an adjacent second side oriented at an angle relative to the first side (Figs84-85/Housing 210, first and second sides [Sides defined by elements 100 and 300 respectively]);
a first row of first connector ports provided at the first side (Figs84-85/First connector ports [Instances of 233 within element 210a]);
a second row of second connector ports provided at the first side, the second row of second connector ports being spaced from the first row of first connector ports such that the first row of first connector ports is positioned between the second row of second connector ports and the second side (Figs84-85/Second connector ports [Instances of 233 within element 210a’]);
the first and second connector ports being configured for receiving fiber optic connectors from outside the housing, the fiber optic connectors being latchable within the first and second connector ports (Figs84-85);
first connector release members accessible at the second side that can be actuated to unlatch the fiber optic connectors with respect to the first connector ports or to allow the fiber optic connectors to be unlatched with respect to the first connector ports (Figs84-85/First connector release members [Instances of 300 within 210a]); and
second connector release members that can be actuated to unlatch the fiber optic connectors with respect to the second connector ports or to allow the fiber optic connectors to be unlatched with respect to the second connector ports (Figs84-85/Second connector release members [Instances of 300 within 210a’]).
Dannoux does not disclose the second connector release members as being accessible at the second side. However, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to move the second connector release members of Dannoux to the second side since doing so would allow both first and second connector release members to be operated from the same side, thereby facilitating the act of accessing all actuation locations at once (I.E, without flipping the device over, while the device is resting on a surface, etc.).
With regards to claim 19, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication enclosure of claim 18, wherein latches for latching the fiber optic connectors within the first connector ports and the second connector ports are provided on the fiber optic connectors (Fig87/Latches [as indicated below]).
With regards to claim 20, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication enclosure of claim 18, wherein latches for latching the fiber optic connectors within the first connector ports and the second connector ports are included with the housing (Fig87/Latches 310m).
With regards to claim 21, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication enclosure of claim 18. Dannoux does not disclose the first slide latches as being positioned a first distance inwardly from the first side and the second slide latches are positioned a second distance inwardly from the first side, the second distance being larger than the first distance in the embodiment relied upon above. However, Dannoux does disclose the first slide latches as being positioned a first distance inwardly from the first side and the second slide latches are positioned a second distance inwardly from the first side, the second distance being larger than the first distance in different embodiments (Figs89&92). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to stagger the first and second slide latches since doing so would facilitate locating both first and second connector release members such that they could be operated from the same side.
With regards to claim 22, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication enclosure of claim 18, wherein the first and second connector release members respectively include first actuation buttons and second actuation buttons accessible at the second side of the housing (Actuation buttons 310a).
With regards to claim 23, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication enclosure of claim 22, wherein the first actuation buttons are arranged in a first button row and the second actuation buttons are arranged in a second button row, the first and second button rows being parallel to the first row of first connector ports and the second row of second connector ports (Figs84-85).
With regards to claim 26, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication enclosure of claim 18, wherein each of the second connector release members has a bifurcated configuration that straddles a corresponding one of the first connector ports (Fig87/Bifurcated configuration [Left and right sides of element 310m]).
With regards to claim 27, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication enclosure of claim 18, further comprising springs for pushing the fiber optic connectors outwardly when the fiber optic connectors are unlatched from the first connector ports and the second connector ports (Fig87/Springs 230RM).
With regards to claim 28, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication enclosure of claim 20, wherein the latches are movable between latching positions and release positions, wherein the first and second release members are each actuatable between first positions and second positions, wherein when the first and second release members are in the first positions, the first and second release members each prevent a corresponding one of the latches from moving from the latching position to the release position, and wherein when the first and second release members are in the second positions, the first and second release members each allow a corresponding one of the latches to move from the latching position to the release position (Paragraph 179).
With regards to claim 29, Dannoux discloses the telecommunication enclosure of claim 28, wherein the latches are unitarily formed with the housing and are biased by inherent elasticity of the latches toward the latching positions (Figs84-87; Paragraph 170).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11, 16, and 24-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With regards to claim 9, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest the telecommunication device of claim 8, wherein the second latch actuators each include first and second spaced-apart legs coupled to the second buttons for transferring force from the second buttons to the second slide latches for moving the second slide latches from the retaining positions to the release positions, the first and second spaced-apart legs of each second latch actuator being positioned to straddle a corresponding one of the first connector ports and a corresponding one of the second connector ports, the first and second spaced-apart legs of the second latch actuators being longer than the first and second spaced-apart legs of the first latch actuators. The limitations of claim 9 describe additional structure that specifies significant structural differences between the claimed device and that of the closest prior art.
Claims 10, 11, and 16 inherit the allowability of claim 9 on which they depend.
With regards to claim 24, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest the telecommunication enclosure of claim 23, wherein the housing includes a row selector slidably mounted on a main body of the housing, the row selector being movable to a first position, a second position, and a third position, wherein the row selector blocks access to the first and second button rows when in the first position, wherein the row selector allows the first actuation buttons to be accessed and prevents the second actuation buttons from being accessed when in the second position, and wherein the row selector allows the second actuation buttons to be accessed and prevents the first actuation buttons from being accessed when in the third position. The closest prior art was relied upon in the rejection set forth above.
Claim 25 inherits the allowability of claim 24 on which it depends.
Conclusion
/MARC E MANHEIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874