DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed Sept. 4, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-19, and 21 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome most objections, and 112(b) and 101 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed June 5, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Drawings:
Applicant amended drawings and addressed all previous drawing objections and the objections have been withdrawn.
Specification:
Applicant amended specification and addressed all previous objections related to the drawings.
Claim Objections:
Applicant amended claims and addressed most previous objections and those objections have been withdrawn. Applicable objections remain below.
35 U.S.C. § 112:
Applicant amended claims and addressed all previous USC 112 rejections and the rejections have been withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. § 101:
Applicant amended claims and addressed all previous USC 101 rejections and the rejections have been withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. § 102/103:
Applicant's arguments filed Sept. 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 14 of Applicant’s response, applicant argues that Kincaid does not teach a relax mode initiated based on the at least one sensor detecting at least one force threshold and/or predetermined metric and in the relax mode both the compression force and the tensile force on the at least one wire are released. Examiner disagrees as Kincaid teaches in ¶[0093] “according to description above automatic a change from an actively controlled modes to a passively controlled mode and vice versa occurs based on the external force (e.g., due patient movement) monitored by strain and/or positions sensors and certain thresholds thereof.” Therefore, in “relax mode” the wires are being neither pushed nor pulled and therefore would read on both compressive and tensile forces being released.
Claim Objections
Claims 14-19 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: “The control system of” in line 1 should be changed to -- The method of --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Independent claims 1 and 13 recite the limitation of “detecting at least one force threshold and/or a pre-determined metric”. When the alternative of a “pre-determined metric” is read, claims 5-8 and 16-17 are not required. When the alternative of “at least one force threshold” is read, claims 5-8 and 16-17 can occur. Therefore, for examination purposes, if prior art can be applied for “pre-determined metric”, claims 5-8 and 16-17 would not require prior art mapping.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 1 and 13 recite the broad recitation that a relax mode reduces “at least one of” tensile and compression (this only requires one of compression OR tensile to be reduced), and the claim also recites the relax mode both compression and tensile force are released (this requires both compression AND tensile to be released) which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 2, 4-12, 14-19, and 21 depend from claims 1 and 13 and are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 13.
Claim 5 and 16 recites the limitation “a first force threshold of the at least one force threshold applies to the distal bending section, a second force threshold of the at least one force threshold applies to the proximal bending section”. This limitation is further limiting functional language from the independent claims and it is unclear what is structurally required from the limitation.
Claim 17 depends on claim 16 and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 16.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the first force threshold" and “the second force threshold” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is noted that this rejection would be overcome if dependency changed to claim 5. For the purposes of examination, "the first force threshold" will be interpreted as “a first force threshold of the at least one force threshold” and “the second force threshold” will be interpreted as “a second force threshold of the at least one force threshold”.
Claims 7 and 8 depend from claim 6 and are rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 9, 12-15, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kincaid et al. (US 20200375682 A1, published Dec. 3, 2020, previously cited on the IDS, hereinafter referred to as “Kincaid”).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Kincaid teaches a method for controlling a robotic apparatus and the robotic apparatus (Fig. 1A “continuum robot system 1000” ¶[0031]) comprising: a continuum robot (Fig. 1A and 2A “the steerable instrument 100 can be a wire-driven continuum robot” ¶[0039]) including a plurality of bending sections including a distal bending section and a proximal bending section (FIG. 2A “steerable section 103 divided into a plurality of bending segments or sections 106a and 106b” ¶[0039] and “FIG. 1A shows a robotically controlled steerable instrument 100 having the steerable section 103 divided into multiple bending segments or sections (1, 2, 3 . . . N) arranged along a longitudinal axis Ax and configured to bend at least one of the steerable sections at an angle β with respect to the longitudinal axis Ax” ¶[0031]; in Fig. 1A, section 1 of element 103 would be a distal bending section and section N would be proximal) wherein at least one bending section of the plurality of bending sections is bent by at least one wire (“the steerable instrument 100 is controlled with a plurality of control wires 110 which are arranged inside wire conduits 104… the steerable instrument 100 can have at least two (i.e., two or more) steerable sections controlled by 3 pairs of antagonistic control wires 110 each running through a separate conduit 104.” ¶[0036]); a driver that includes at least one motor configured to drive the at least one wire (Fig. 1B “control system 300… an actuator system 310 can mechanically operate each control wire 310. A controller 320 is used to electronically control the operation of each control wire 110 based on the tension or torsional state of each control wire” ¶[0037]; Fig. 1A/1B “as part of the actuator system 310, a plurality of actuating motors (or actuators) 1 through M, where M is an integer greater than zero and equal to the number of control wires 110.” ¶[0038]); an operational console that controls at least one motor for moving the at least one wire (Fig. 1A “The control system 300 generally includes a controller or is connected to a computer system 400” ¶[0032]; Fig. 1A “the control system 300 and computer system 400 can provide a surgeon or other operator with an image display 420 and a graphical user interface (GUI) 422 to interact and operate the steerable instrument 100. The handle interface 200 provides electromechanical interconnection between the steerable instrument 100 and the control system 300… The handle interface 200 may also provide an access port 250 to insert medical tools, one or more mechanical dials or knobs 252 that an operator can use to manually control operations of end effectors and/or steering of the instrument, and a user interface 254 having one or more control buttons and status indicators” ¶[0032]), and at least one sensor for detecting a force on the at least one wire (Fig. 3 “each control wire 110 is also connected to a strain sensor and a position sensor… strain sensor 221 and 222” ¶[0057]), wherein a relax mode reduces at least one of a tensile force and a compression force in the at least one wire of at least one bending section of the plurality of bending sections (“Under the passive mode, system controller makes the pose of the catheter “relaxed” and allows the catheter to get out from the “stuck” condition.” ¶[0093]; fig. 2C: forces F1 and F2 can be tensile or compressive in ¶[0043]), wherein the relax mode is initiated based on the at least one sensor detecting at least one force threshold and/or a pre-determined metric (“FIG. 8, at step 1706, the system transitions from active shape control (an actively controlled mode: steps 1702-1704) to a mode of passive bending (a passively controlled mode: 1708-1712)… if the user sets a 5% or 10% or a 15% as threshold difference between desired and measured values, the system controller software triggers a change between actively controlled mode and passively controlled mode only when the error exceeds the threshold.” ¶[0087] and “according to description above automatic a change from an actively controlled modes to a passively controlled mode and vice versa occurs based on the external force (e.g., due patient movement) monitored by strain and/or positions sensors and certain thresholds thereof.” ¶[0093]), and wherein, in the relax mode, both the compression force and the tensile force on the at least one wire are released (“it is possible to use both tension and compression in the control wires, and the steerable instrument does not have a backbone. Instead, in the present disclosure we create a pure bending moment in a bending section using multiple control wires in a symmetric configuration using force couples. A pure bending moment creates zero longitudinal force along the instrument; this allows to not only accurately control the tension and compression forces, but also to reduce the size of the instrument by not incorporating a backbone” ¶[0055]; Fig. 8-9 “The process of FIG. 8 includes namely the steps of: (a) determining if catheter is bent by external forces; (b) reading the Tension/Compression force which is sensed by a strain or position sensor at the proximal end of the catheter; (c) executing a control algorithm to determine how to move the driving wire actuator to reduce the bending force” ¶[0085] and ¶[0088]; “The control wires can be actively controlled in pull as well as push mode (tension and compression)” in ¶[0097]).
Further, regarding the limitation of wherein, in the relax mode, both the compression force and the tensile force on the at least one wire are released, the recitation of functional language must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional language, then it meets the claim. In this case, the device of Kincaid contains all of the structural components of the claim and when a user is not controlling the wires, i.e. the wires are being neither pushed nor pulled, this would seemingly read on both compression and tensile forces being released. Basically, if the wires are neither pushed nor pulled by the user, seemingly the wires are in the claimed relaxed mode; see MPEP 2114: "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Kincaid also teaches the additional claim 13 limitations of wherein the method comprises: receiving an input from a user to the operational console (Fig. 1A “The handle interface 200 may also provide an access port 250 to insert medical tools, one or more mechanical dials or knobs 252 that an operator can use to manually control operations of end effectors and/or steering of the instrument, and a user interface 254 having one or more control buttons and status indicators” ¶[0032]); sending a signal from the operational console to the driver to drive the at least one wire to manipulate the continuum robot (Fig. 1A ““the control system 300 and computer system 400 can provide a surgeon or other operator with an image display 420 and a graphical user interface (GUI) 422 to interact and operate the steerable instrument 100. The handle interface 200 provides electromechanical interconnection between the steerable instrument 100 and the control system 300” ¶[0032]); monitoring the at least one sensor to detect a force on the sensor (Fig. 3 “each control wire 110 is also connected to a strain sensor and a position sensor… strain sensor 221 and 222” ¶[0057]; Fig. 8-9; ¶[0085] and ¶[0088] “actively-controlled passive bending mode”); engaging a relax mode for reducing at least one of a tensile and a compression force in the at least one wire of the at least one bending section of the plurality of bending sections (“Under the passive mode, system controller makes the pose of the catheter “relaxed” and allows the catheter to get out from the “stuck” condition.” ¶[0093]).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Kincaid teaches further comprising: an encoder for calculating a position of the at least one wire, wherein the operational console is configured to receive input from the encoder to detect a change of pose of at least one section of the plurality of bending sections (“a control loop is used to maintain each control wire completely passive (compliant and able to be moved by external forces, as if the wire were disconnected from any driving actuator), while still maintaining encoder position feedback, and force feedback, on the driving wires” ¶[0051]; “Strain sensors can be strain-gauge based, optical based, or encoder based sensors, and position sensors can be encoder based, electromagnetic based, or Hall effect based sensors; encoder based sensors include optical encoder, magnetic encoder, potentiometer, etc” ¶[0057]; “an encoder which measures the amount of displacement of the control wire independently from the actively controlled mode and the passively controlled mode” claim 8).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Kincaid teaches wherein the pre-determined metric is computed from force measurement data (“according to description above automatic a change from an actively controlled modes to a passively controlled mode and vice versa occurs based on the external force (e.g., due patient movement) monitored by strain and/or positions sensors and certain thresholds thereof.” ¶[0093]).
Regarding claim 9, Kincaid teaches wherein the at least one wire comprises a first wire and a second wire (“the steerable instrument 100 is controlled with a plurality of control wires 110 which are arranged inside wire conduits 104… the steerable instrument 100 can have at least two (i.e., two or more) steerable sections controlled by 3 pairs of antagonistic control wires 110 each running through a separate conduit 104.” ¶[0036], as shown in Fig. 1B there are four wires 110), and the at least one sensor comprises: a first sensor associated with the first wire (“In FIG. 3, the first control wire 110a is connected to a strain sensor 221 and to a position sensor 231 (displacement sensor)” ¶[0057]), the first sensor applied to the distal bending section (“In some embodiments, strain, position, and/or orientation sensors (e.g., EM sensors 115) may also be provided at the distal end of the steerable instrument 100” ¶[0086]); and a second sensor associated with the second wire (“Similarly, the second control wire 110b is connected to a strain sensor 222 and to a position sensor 232” ¶[0057]), the second sensor applied to the proximal bending section (“one or more strain sensor and one or more position sensor located at the proximal end of the device” ¶[0086]), and wherein in the relax mode, the operational console is configured to move the first wire independently of the second wire (“the postures of each bending section (1, 2, 3 . . . N) may be independently and selectively controlled to bend with a snake-like movement, depending of the driving amounts of the individual control wires driven by actuators of the actuator system 310 (drive unit)” ¶[0044]; “a bending section may be first bent in a desirable direction by driving only one control wire 110” ¶[0044]), without considering kinematics to create a continuum robot pose (“Forces on the control wire and displacement of the control wire can be measured independently from each other and independently from the control mode of the motor, and these forces are not disrupted by the mode change because the strain and position sensors are continuously active even when the driving force is negligible” ¶[0074] – using sensors does not consider kinematics).
Regarding claims 12 and 21, Kincaid teaches wherein inserting and/or removing the plurality of bending sections is performed in the relax mode (“The actively-controlled passive bending mode is particularly advantageous in controlling smooth and accurate bending of the steerable medical instrument during insertion and retraction through tortuous pathways of a patient's anatomy.” In ¶[0050]; ¶[0096]).
Regarding claim 18, Kincaid teaches further comprising a button to activate and/or deactivate the relax mode (“FIG. 10B illustrates an exemplary algorithm which can similarly lower the tension force by releasing actuation (or adjusting displacement) of one or more control wires 110 in step 1710 of FIG. 8 or step 1810 of FIG. 9 based on a user's input… when the physician operator determines that the catheter gets stuck, the user can switch the active mode to the passive mode by, for example, pressing a button on the controller to stop the actively controlled mode and enter the passively controlled mode.”¶[0093]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kincaid in view of Noonan et al. (US 20180177383 A1, published June 28, 2016, hereinafter referred to as “Noonan 383”).
Regarding claims 5-6 and 16-17, Kincaid teaches the method and apparatus of claims 1, 4, and 14. Kincaid does not disclose a first force threshold of the at least one force threshold applies to the distal bending section, a second force threshold of the at least one force threshold applies to the proximal bending section, and the first force threshold is different from the second force threshold, wherein the first force threshold is larger than the second force threshold.
Noonan 383’s invention relates to surgical robotics, and particularly to controlling insertion of a surgical instrument into an anatomical lumen of a patient (¶[0002]). A second type of status change is a force change above a threshold in response to a command that is detected at the tip of the leader, a portion of the distal leader section, the end of sheath, a portion of the distal sheath section (¶[0092]). As shown in FIGS. 16B-16C, the insertion force threshold to allow insertion of the endoscope while preventing injury may not be a value that can be precisely determined based on available data. Consequently, the system may instead determine an insertion force threshold with size determined based on any of the techniques described previously. An insertion force threshold region indicates a probability distribution (e.g., a cluster or density) of a likelihood of insertion force threshold being safe (i.e., not harming the patient) relative to a location of the endoscope (e.g., a location proximal to the operative site), or statistical data of insertion force threshold relative to the location of the endoscope. In some embodiments, the insertion force threshold region indicates a plurality of possible insertion force thresholds relative to a plurality of possible locations during a navigation to an operative site (¶[0134]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have force thresholds at varying parts of the apparatus as taught by Noonan 383 in the apparatus and method of Kincaid in order to change the status of the insertion and ensure that the force is sufficient for insertion. One of ordinary skill in the art would choose or try different thresholds for each section, based on the fact that the reference explicitly teaches different detection sections. If each section can be separately detected, they could each have different thresholds and is capable of having a distal force threshold larger than the proximal region.
Regarding claim 7, Kincaid teaches further comprising a button to activate and/or deactivate the relax mode (“FIG. 10B illustrates an exemplary algorithm which can similarly lower the tension force by releasing actuation (or adjusting displacement) of one or more control wires 110 in step 1710 of FIG. 8 or step 1810 of FIG. 9 based on a user's input… when the physician operator determines that the catheter gets stuck, the user can switch the active mode to the passive mode by, for example, pressing a button on the controller to stop the actively controlled mode and enter the passively controlled mode.”¶[0093]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kincaid in view of Noonan ‘383 (hereinafter referred to as “modified Kincaid”), as applied to claim 6 above, in further view of Noonan et al. (US 20220361968 A1, published Nov. 17, 2022, effective filing in 2021, hereinafter referred to as “Noonan”).
Regarding claim 8, Kincaid teaches the method of claim 6. Kincaid teaches relax mode is automatically deactivated (“automatic change from an actively controlled modes to a passively controlled mode and vice versa occurs based on the external force (e.g., due patient movement) monitored by strain and/or positions sensors and certain thresholds thereof” ¶[0093]).
Although Kincaid disclose the device automatically returning to active mode after reaching a threshold level of force, modified Kincaid does not teach relax mode is automatically deactivated after a predetermined time interval.
Noonan’s invention relates to co-manipulation robotic systems for assisting with laparoscopic surgical procedures (¶[0002]). As the operator manipulates a robot arm of the co-manipulation surgical robot system by applying movement to the surgical instrument coupled to the robot arm, the system may automatically transition the robot arm between various operational modes upon determination of predefined conditions. For example, the system may transition the robot arm to a passive mode responsive to determining that movement of the robot arm due to movement at the handle of the surgical instrument is less than a predetermined amount for at least a predetermined dwell time period, such that in the passive mode, the robot arm maintains a static position, e.g., to prevent damage to the equipment and/or injury to the patient (¶[0082]). Therefore, the device is capable of inputting predetermined time intervals in order to switch modes of operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to change modes (such as deactivating relax mode) after a predetermined amount of time as taught by Noonan in the method of modified Kincaid in order to prevent damage to the equipment and/or injury to the patient.
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kincaid in view of Chopra et al. (US 20120289843 A1, published Nov. 11, 2012, hereinafter referred to as “Chopra”).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Kincaid teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 13. Although Kincaid teaches the capability of relaxing for changes in the breathing cycle (“it is sometimes necessary to allow the shape of the instrument to conform to external forces applied to the instrument externally, such as the forces from a tortuous pathway wall, or the unexpected change of navigation path due to, for example, the patient's breathing movement. To apply force feedback, the present disclosure includes force sensors on each of the control wires. When tension or compression is sensed on the control wires, the controller can measure the tension or compression or control wire displacement based on the signal from the sensors. Then, an algorithm is provided to take a corrective action to reduce the measured force towards zero; this will reduce the overall forces acting between the tortuous pathway wall and the instrument” ¶[0054]), Kincaid does not explicitly teach wherein the operational console is configured to enter the relax mode during detected breathing cycle extremes.
Chopra’s invention relates to monitoring periodic expansions and contractions of an object and in particular, to a method and system for determining information of extrema during expansion and contraction cycles of an object for image guided surgery and other applications (¶[0002]). FIG. 5 where the lung expands from a maximum exhalation state 501 (solid lines) to a maximum inhalation state 502 (dotted lines) (¶[0042]). In block 1603, the shape of the flexible device is compared against shapes of the linked passages in the 3-D computer model for each extremum type (e.g., maximum inhalation or inspiration and maximum exhalation or expiration when the object is a lung) to determine a measure of how close the shape of the flexible device is to the 3-D model of each extremum type (¶[0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to enter the relax mode during detected breathing cycle extremes as taught by Chopra in the apparatus and method of Kincaid in order to allow the shape of the instrument to conform to external forces applied to the instrument externally and the extrema of the breathing cycle would produce the most extreme differences in the shape of the tortuous path.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kincaid in view of Chopra, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Sharon et al. (US 20220071723 A1, published Mar. 10, 2022, filed Nov. 15, 2021, hereinafter referred to as “Sharon”).
Regarding claim 11, Kincaid and Chopra teach the apparatus of claim 10. Kincaid teaches further comprising: a base stage (Fig. 3 “To ensure accurate positioning (to avoid slack), the linear motor 311 is secured to a structural base 311a, and the linear motor 312 is secured to a similar base 312a. The base 311a/312a can be, for example, the housing or chassis of a patient interface unit (PIU), which encloses the interface 200 and at least part of control system 300.” ¶[0056]).
Kincaid and Chopra do not disclose the base stage is configured to move the continuum robot and a driving unit in a longitudinal direction, wherein movement of the base stage is controlled by user input.
Sharon’s invention relates to automated actuation of surgical tools inserted into a bodily lumen (¶[0002]). FIGS. 9A-9B illustrate moving units for linear advancement and/or rotational movement of a medical instrument ¶[0201]. The insertion device is configured to allow the linear advancement of the medical instrument within the bodily lumen along with the rotational movement thereof, by utilizing one or more actuators that further advantageously enable the smooth movement of the medical instrument, without deforming the medical instrument ¶[0273]. Operation is performed by controlling, via a user interface of the device, movement of the surgical tools received within the units (Fig. 14 element 1407). Exemplary manipulation of tools controlled by the device may include: linear advancement and/or retraction of a tool (¶[0342]). The medical device 20 includes one or more actuators/elements configured to allow the linear and/or rotation movement/advancement of the medical instrument/s. In some embodiments, as illustrated in FIG. 2A, device 20 includes a first movement control unit 26 configured to allow linear and/or rotational movement (¶[0277]). As shown in FIG. 11, movement control unit 500 includes a first movement control element 502 (such as a piezoelectric motor) configured to allow linear motion (advancement) of a medical instrument (such as guidewire 510), in any linear desired direction 505 (¶[0311]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have a base/insertion tool that move the continuum robot and driving unit in a longitudinal direction that is controlled by the operational console by instructions from the end user as taught by Sharon in the robotic apparatus of Kincaid and Chopra in order to advance or retract the tool into/out of the patient smoothly and without deforming the medical instrument.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cohen et al. (US 12245808 B1, filed Jul. 15, 2019) – “A potential advantage of the ability of the laser to slide being reduction in one or more force (e.g. tensile force and/or compressive force and/or torque) on laser 450 as the arm is moved into different configurations e.g. by bending at flexible portions 404, 406 and/or rotation of portions about portion long axes.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.N.C./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/LYNSEY C Eiseman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796