DETAILED ACTION
Non Final
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/01/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 33 recites the limitation "the internal strip" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-32, 34-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kawasaki (WO 2021/182519);
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected (as indefinitely understood) under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawasaki as applied to claim 23 and 32 above.
Kawasaki discloses in claim 23: Recyclable packaging (541 figures 23-25, 30) comprising parts (139, 137, 132, 536b, 133, 134, 135) assembled to one another so as to form said packaging, at least one of said parts of the packaging comprising a structural layer (132/133 paper/film layer) made of a first type of material and a functional layer (132/133 paper/film layer) made of a second type of material, said structural and functional layers being attached to one another by a peelable interface (536a easy peelable layer), said interface (536a) making it possible to ensure sufficient adhesion between said structural and functional layers to maintain the integrity of the packaging during its use and to separate said structural and functional layers (as 536a is interposed there between, and easily peelable to separate the body) so that they can be recycled in their appropriate recycling channels after they have been separated (as discussed in the second embodiment, or ph 216) wherein at least a part of the packaging comprises an external strip (paper layer strip “A” figure 30 which is a layer that separates from layer 501, and “A” layer includes 132/137/139 for peeling away after…) secured to the structural layer (133 film layer) by a peelable interface (from 507) in such a way that the external strip is used to facilitate the separation between the structural layer (133) and the functional layer (132) of said part.
Kawasaki discloses in claim 24: Packaging according to claim 23, wherein said parts of the packaging comprise a tubular body (5100/6100) and/or (the use of and/or indicates an alternative grouping under MPEP 2131) additional parts (602/611.)
Kawasaki discloses in claim 25: Packaging according to claim 23, wherein said additional parts comprise a head and/or a base and/or a cap (602/611.)
Kawasaki discloses in claim 26: Packaging according to claim 25, wherein the external strip (“A”) is at least partially separated from the structural layer (133) upon separation of the structural layer (133) and the functional layer (132 as discussed above).
Kawasaki discloses in claim 27: Packaging according to claim 23, wherein the external strip (132 paper paper) is made of the first type of material.
Kawasaki discloses in claim 28: Packaging according to claim 23, wherein the first type of material is based on cellulose (paper is cellulose.)
Kawasaki discloses in claim 29: Packaging according to claim 23, wherein at least a part of the packaging comprises an internal strip (134/135) secured to the functional layer (via film layer 133 and adhesive 536), said internal strip making it possible to keep the packaging sealed after separation of the structural and functional layers (from each other as shown…)
Kawasaki discloses in claim 30: Packaging according to claim 29, wherein the internal strip (134) is made of the second type of material (film such as GL-RD which is a barrier film.)
Kawasaki discloses in claim 31: Packaging according to claim 23, wherein the second type of material is based on polyethylene, and/or based on polypropylene (133 is polypropylene) and/or based on bio-based and/or biodegradable resin.
Kawasaki discloses in claim 32: Packaging according to claim 23, said packaging forming, after separation, two recyclable pieces of waste comprising a first piece of waste (501) comprising at least one structural layer (133) and a second piece of waste (“A”) comprising at least one functional layer (132).
Kawasaki discloses in claim 33: Packaging according to claim 32, wherein the [second] piece of waste comprises the external strip and/or the [first] piece of waste comprises the internal strip; Kawasaki does not disclose: the external strip is the first piece of waste, the internal strip as the second piece of waste, but considering one of ordinary skill in the packaging art would consider: the reversibility of parts when ordering disposability of parts as a routine and obvious matter of design choice;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to arrange Kawasaki so that the external strip can be the first piece of waste and the internal strip can be the second piece of waste (i.e. by ordering the disposal thereof) especially considering that placement or rearrangement of parts has been held to involve only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Kawasaki discloses in claim 34: Packaging according to claim 23, wherein the structural layer (132/137/139) is monolayer or multilayer and the functional layer (501 is inclusive of 133/134/135) is monolayer or multilayer.
Kawasaki discloses in claim 35: Packaging according to claim 23, wherein the packaging forms a tube (as shown 5100/6100) and the additional parts are a tube head (602) and a cap (611).
Kawasaki discloses in claim 36: Packaging according to claim 23, wherein the packaging forms a bottle (6100/601) and the additional parts are a tube head (602), a cap (611) and a base (605a).
Kawasaki discloses in claim 37: Packaging according to claim 23, wherein the packaging forms a cartridge (6100 is a substance holding tubular unitary cartridge container) and the additional parts are a tube head (602), a cap (611) and a base (605a).
Kawasaki discloses in claim 38: [An apparatus that results in a]… Method for recycling packaging (541 figures 23-25, 30) comprising parts (139, 137, 132, 536b, 133, 134, 135) assembled to one another so as to form said packaging, at least one of said parts of the packaging comprising a structural layer (132/133 paper/film layer) made of a first type of material and a functional layer (132/133 paper/film layer) made of a second type of material, said structural and functional layers being attached to one another by a peelable interface (536a easy peelable layer), said interface (536a) making it possible to ensure sufficient adhesion between said structural and functional layers to maintain the integrity of the packaging during its use thereof, in which method the structural and functional layers are separated at their peelable interface (as 536a is interposed there between, and easily peelable to separate the body) in such a way that they can be recycled in their appropriate recycling channel after they have been separated (as discussed in the second embodiment, or ph 216).
Kawasaki discloses in claim 39: Method according to claim 38, wherein separation of the layers is started during the use or after the use of the packaging (as seen in figure 30.)
Kawasaki discloses in claim 40: Method according to claim 38, wherein the packaging comprises an external strip (paper layer strip “A” figure 30 which is a layer that separates from layer 501, and “A” layer includes 132/137/139 for peeling away after…) secured to a structural layer (133 film layer) by a peelable interface (from 507) in such a way that the external strip is used to facilitate the separation between the structural layer (133) and the functional layer (132) at the peelable interface.
Kawasaki discloses in claim 41: Method according to one of claim 38, wherein the packaging comprises an internal strip (134/135) secured to the functional layer (via film layer 133 and adhesive 536) in such a way that sealing of the packaging is maintained after separation of the structural and functional layers (from each other as shown.)
Kawasaki discloses in claim 42: Method according to one of claim 38, wherein the external strip (“A”) is least partially separated from the structural layer (133.)
Kawasaki discloses in claim 43: Method according to one of claim 38, wherein at least two recyclable pieces of waste (waste piece 501 an waste piece “A”) are formed from the packaging by separation (figure 30.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Matthew W Jellett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753