DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted between 02 August 2024 and 27 February 2026 were considered by the examiner. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH09316537A (machine translation) of Komatsubara in view of US20130160897A1 of Abbruzzzese.
Regarding Claim 1, Komatsubara discloses the production of grain oriented silicon steel sheet excellent in magnetic property in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Komatsubara teaches a method for producing a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet (method of producing a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet), Para[0001]. Komatsubara discloses a chemical composition of C: 0.075 wt% (0.020 mass% to 0.100 mass%) Si: 3.34% (2.00 mass% to 5.00 mass%), Mn: 0.069% (0.01 mass% to 1.00 mass%), S:0.003% (one or two elements selected from S and Se totaling 0.0020 mass% to 0.0400 mass%), Al: 0.025% (Al: 0.010 mass% to 0.040 mass%), Se: 0.019% (one or two elements selected from S and Se totaling 0.0020 mass% to 0.0400 mass%) and N: 0.0085% (0.0040 mass% to 0.0250 mass%), Para[0031]. Therefore, Komatsubara teaches weight percentages that fall within the claimed ranges for every element of claim 1. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05.
Komatsubara also discloses that the steel slabs were heated at 1420 ° C (heating a steel slab to a temperature of 1300 °C or more and hot rolling to obtain a hot-rolled sheet), Para[0031], and is followed by hot-rolled sheet annealing (hot-rolled sheet annealing the hot-rolled sheet), Para[0012]. This overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05.
Komatsubara teaches two cold rollings with intermediate annealing interposed therebetween (cold rolling two or more times with intermediate annealing therebetween), as well as primary recrystallization annealing (primary recrystallization annealing) and secondary recrystallization annealing (secondary recrystallization annealing), Para[0012]. Komatsubara also discloses an MgO annealing separator (applying an annealing separator that is mainly MgO) applied between the primary and secondary recrystallization annealing, Para[0120].
Komatsubara teaches that after the rough rolling, one slab has a finishing rolling start temperature of 1100 to 1180 ° C (temperature at the end of rough rolling of the hot rolling is T-r 0C), Para[0031]. This range satisfies expression 2 of claim 1 (1100 ≤ T-r ≤ 1300). Komatsubara also discloses that the temperature increase rate between 600-800 ° C in the temperature process is 5-30 ° C / s (time to reach 900 0C from 600 0C in a heating process of the hot-rolled sheet annealing is 50 s or less), Para[0012]. This overlaps with the claimed range of 600-900 °C and would correspond to a time to reach the desired temp of 6.7-40 s. Considering the range of 600-900 °C, one of ordinary skill in the art could select within the heating rate range taught by Komatsubara, such as 20 °C/s, and achieve the full temperature increase in 15 s which falls within the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05.
While Komatsubara discloses that the time from the start of rough rolling to the end of finish rolling is less than 450 seconds, Para[0012], Komatsubara does not specifically disclose the time from the end of rough rolling to the start of finishing rolling.
Abbruzzzese discloses a process for the production of grain-oriented magnetic sheets in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Abbruzzzese teaches that the transfer time of the bar between the end of the roughcast rolling and the start of the finishing rolling (time from the end of the rough rolling to the start of finishing rolling is t-rf) has to be at least of 5 s. Such a minimum time is necessary for activating in the metallic matrix the phenomena of static recrystallisation before the second hot rolling. Such transfer time however does not have to exceed 60 s so as to limit the unwanted precipitation and growing of second phases particles such as sulphurs and nitrides, Para[0033]. This range overlaps with the range of expression 3 of claim 1 (t-rf ≤ 200). Komatsubara’s range for T-r would result in a range for T-r – 950 of 150-230. Therefore, Abbruzzzese’s range of 5-60 s would satisfy expression 1 of claim 1 (t-rf ≤ T-r – 950) at the T-r range disclosed by Komatsubara. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to limit the time from the end of rough rolling to the start of finishing rolling, in the process of Komatsubara, to the range taught by Abbruzzese in order to limit the unwanted precipitation and growing of second phases particles such as sulphurs and nitrides. Thus, Komatsubara in view of Abbruzzzese teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3, Komatsubara discloses that it is a matter of course that Sn, P, Bi, As, B, Ge, V, Nb, Cr, Te, etc., which are known as inhibitor reinforcing components, may be contained. For this purpose, Sn and Cr are contained in the range of 0.03 to 0.30% (Cr: 0.01 mass% to 0.50 mass%, Sn: 0.010 mass% to 0.400 mass%), Bi is 0.005 to 0.020% (Bi: 0.005 mass% to 0.500 mass%), P, Ge, V, Nb, As and Te are contained in the range of 0.005 to 0.030% (P: 0.010 mass% to 0.150 mass%, Nb: 0.0010 mass% to 0.0100 mass%, . In addition, it is possible to contain 0.005 to 0.020% of Mo (Mo: 0.010 mass% to 0.200 mass%) in order to prevent cracking in hot rolling that is characteristic of grain-oriented electrical steel, Para[0075]. Komatsubara’s ranges overlap for Cr, Bi, Nb, Sn, Mo and P. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, Komatsubara teaches the additional limitation of claim 3. Thus, Komatsubara in view of Abbruzzzese covers all limitations of claim 3.
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH09316537A (machine translation) of Komatsubara in view of US20130160897A1 of Abbruzzzese as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO2017154929A1 of Imamura.
Regarding Claim 2, Komatsubara and Abbruzzzese do not teach a heating rate in a temperature range from room temperature to 400 °C.
Imamura teaches a method for manufacturing grain-oriented electrical steel sheet in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Imamura discloses that during the heating process, the average heating rate from room temperature to 400°C was 75°C/s (during the heating process of the hot-rolled sheet annealing, heating rate in a temperature range from room temperature to 400 0C is 50 °C/s or more), Para[0011]. This falls within the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Imamura teaches that the faster the average heating rate to 400°C, the better the magnetic properties, Para[0010]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the heating rate from room temperature to 400 °C as taught by Imamura in the method of Komatsubara and Abbruzzzese in order to achieve better magnetic properties. Thus, Komatsubara in view of Abbuzzzese and Imamura covers all limitations of claim 2.
Regarding Claim 4, Komatsubara discloses that it is a matter of course that Sn, P, Bi, As, B, Ge, V, Nb, Cr, Te, etc., which are known as inhibitor reinforcing components, may be contained. For this purpose, Sn and Cr are contained in the range of 0.03 to 0.30% (Cr: 0.01 mass% to 0.50 mass%, Sn: 0.010 mass% to 0.400 mass%), Bi is 0.005 to 0.020% (Bi: 0.005 mass% to 0.500 mass%), P, Ge, V, Nb, As and Te are contained in the range of 0.005 to 0.030% (P: 0.010 mass% to 0.150 mass%, Nb: 0.0010 mass% to 0.0100 mass%, . In addition, it is possible to contain 0.005 to 0.020% of Mo (Mo: 0.010 mass% to 0.200 mass%) in order to prevent cracking in hot rolling that is characteristic of grain-oriented electrical steel, Para[0075]. Komatsubara’s ranges overlap for Cr, Bi, Nb, Sn, Mo and P. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, Komatsubara teaches the additional limitation of claim 4. Thus, Komatsubara in view of Abbruzzzese and Imamura covers all limitations of claim 4.
Conclusion
/JACOB BENJAMIN STILES/Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/VANESSA T. LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733