DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 18-35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/910,400 in view of Morlot et al. (U.S. 8,528,758). Copending Application No. 18/910,400 discloses the claimed invention except for the cam extending from the upper plate. Morlot et al. teaches that it is known to provide a cam on an upper plate (see element 31). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of copending Application No. 18/910,400 with the cam extending from the upper surface, as taught by Morlot et al., in order to engage the closure.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-30 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morlot et al. (U.S. 8,528,758). Morlot et al. teaches a closure assembly for a package with a flexible thin-walled bag for containing fruit juices and puree, yogurt, and energy drinks (col. 1 lines 13-18), comprising a spout unit 5 extending along a spout axis (figure 1), comprising a connection portion 7 suitable for being hermetically applied to the flexible thin-walled bag, a spout 12 and at least one spout cam portion 31, and a closure 3 applicable to the spout unit (figure 1), comprising a cap 3 engageable with the spout (figure 2) and extending along a cap axis, wherein the cap 3 comprises a cap wall 43 comprising a lower edge in which at least one cap cam portion 73 is formed, wherein the at least one cap cam portion 73 is at least partially complementary to the at least one spout cam portion (figure 2), wherein, in a disengagement configuration, by rotating the cap about the cap axis with respect to the spout (figures 1 and 2), an interaction between the at least one cap cam portion 73 and the at least one spout cam portion 31 causes an axial lifting of the cap with respect to the spout, wherein the spout unit 5 is made of plastics material in a single piece by injection molding and comprises an upper plate 21 orthogonal to the spout axis, and wherein the at least one spout cam portion 31 extends from said upper plate 21.
Regarding the limitation that the spout unit is made by injection molding, this limitation is a process limitation within a product claim. It has been held that "even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 19, the at least one spout cam portion 31 comprises an upper cam surface inclined with respect to the spout axis (figure 2), the upper cam surface being arch-shaped with a raised center so as to define two opposite slopes (figure 2).
Regarding claim 20, the spout unit 5 comprises two spout cam portions arranged symmetrically to the spout axis (figure 10).
Regarding claim 21, the spout unit comprises a spout locking element 23.
Regarding claim 22, the spout locking element 23 comprises a stem 25 extending from the upper plate 21, and a tooth 27 positioned at an axial end of the stem that is distal from the upper plate, and wherein said tooth protrudes radially from the stem defining a housing with the stem (figures 8 and 10).
Regarding claim 23, the spout unit 5 comprises two spout locking elements 23 arranged symmetrically to the spout axis (figure 10).
Regarding claim 24, the at least one cap cam portion 73 defines a lower cam surface inclined with respect to the cap axis, the lower cam surface being arch-shaped with a raised center so as to define two opposite slopes (upper surface of 77; figure 2).
Regarding claim 25, two diametrically opposite cap cam portions 73 are formed in the lower edge (figure 5).
Regarding claim 26, the closure 3 comprises an engagement element 73.
Regarding claim 27, the engagement element 73 is arranged close to the lower edge (figure 5).
Regarding claim 28, the spout unit 5 comprises a spout locking element 23, and wherein the engagement element 73, in a closing configuration, is suitable for engaging the spout locking element so that the spout unit and the closure are integrally engaged with each other (figure 2).
Regarding claim 29, the spout locking element 23 comprises a stem 25 extending from the upper plate 21, and a tooth 27 positioned at an axial end of the stem that is distal from the upper plate (figure 8), wherein said tooth protrudes radially from the stem defining a housing with the stem, and wherein the engagement element 73 comprises an engagement ramp close to the cap wall, suitable for being housed in the housing (figure 2).
Regarding claim 30, the closure 3 comprises two diametrically opposite engagement elements 73 (figure 5).
Regarding claim 35, a package comprising a flexible thin-walled bag (col. 1 lines 33-39), and the closure assembly of claim 18 (as described above), wherein the spout unit 5 of the closure assembly is hermetically applied to the flexible thin-walled bag (col. 1 lines 40-53).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morlot et al. (U.S. 8,528,758) in view of Van Der Molen (WO 2018/194454).
Regarding claim 31, Morlot et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the handle. Van Der Molen teaches that it is known to provide a closure with a handle (see element 24). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the closure assembly of Morlot et al. with the handle, as taught by Van Der Molen, in order to allow the user to easily grasp the closure for application and removal from the spout.
Further regarding claim 31, the closure 3 further comprises a handle, as modified above, comprising two wing portions (24 of Van Der Molen) extending from the cap wall, substantially on an imaginary plane containing the cap axis, in two opposite directions (figure 1 of Van Der Molen).
Regarding claim 32, said two wing portions (24 of Van Der Molen) comprise a panel portion (24a of Van Der Molen) and a reinforcement rib (24b of Van Der Molen) integral with said panel portion.
Regarding claim 33, Morlot et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the handle. Van Der Molen teaches that it is known to provide a closure with a handle (see element 24). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the closure assembly of Morlot et al. with the handle, as taught by Van Der Molen, in order to allow the user to easily grasp the closure for application and removal from the spout.
Further regarding claim 33, the closure 3 further comprises a handle comprising a gripping blade (24a of Van Der Molen) and a peripheral edge (24b of Van Der Molen) that is enlarged with respect to said gripping blade.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morlot et al. (U.S. 8,528,758) in view of Andrey et al. (U.S. 2022/0062104).
Regarding claim 34, Morlot et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the overcap. Andrey et al. teaches that it is known to provide a closure with an overcap (see element 70). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the closure assembly of Morlot et al. with the overcap, as taught by Andrey et al., in order to protect the cap from tampering.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 24, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the primary reference of Morlot et al. does not teach “in a disengagement configuration, by rotation the cap about the cap axis with respect to the spout, the interaction between the at least one cap cam portion and the at least one spout cam portion causes an axial lifting of the cap with respect to the spout”. It is the examiner’s position that Morlot et al. meets this limitation of claim 18. Specifically, Morlot et al. teaches a cap cam portion 73 and a spout cam portion 31. In a disengagement configuration, by rotating the cap about the cap axis with respect to the spout (figures 1 and 2), an interaction between the at least one cap cam portion 73 and the at least one spout cam portion 31 causes an axial lifting of the cap with respect to the spout because in order for the cap cam portion 73 to move into and out of the recess defined by 23, the cap cam portion 73 must ride up and over spout cam portion 73. When the cap cam portion rides up and over spout cam portion 31, the ramp provides and upwardly directed force onto the cam cap portion causing the cap cam portion and cap to move upwardly.
Applicant states that ramp 31 acts to tighten not lift the cap. It is the examiner’s position that that the spout cam portion 31 can tighten the cap and lift the cap depending on the relative location of the cap cam portion. When the cap cam portion is located in the position shown in figure 2 the spout cam portion 31 secures the cap cam portion in the recess defined by 23. However, when the cap cam portion rides over the spout cam portion, the spout cam portion provides a lifting force to the cap.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIKI M ELOSHWAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736