DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crossley et al. (Pub No US 2020/0134320) in view of Chesson (Pub No US 2021/0127170). Hereinafter, referenced as Crossley and Chesson, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Crossley discloses a method for accessing remote resources and services from video content viewed on the screen of an electronic device held by a user, the video content having been previously enriched from initial content with additional information and/or services embedded in a video stream, which additional information and/or services are accessible in response to the user selecting an element of the initial video content being viewed, the additional information and/or services being displayed inside the video content, the method comprising:
detecting a selection, by the user of an electronic communication equipment provided with a touch screen (e.g. smartphone, tablet touchscreen, etc.) designed for watching enriched video content (Figure 10A), of the element (e.g. object) within the video stream being displayed on this screen (Paragraph [0116] figure 10A; tapping an object of the screen on a smartphone or tablet touchscreen causes a playbar 1001 and product metadata 1003 to appear while the video continues playing as shown in FIG. 10B);
in response to the detecting of the selection of the element (e.g. object), generating on the screen an icon representative of a capsule (e.g. product bubbles) associated with the selected element, the capsule containing information and/or services associated with the selected element (Paragraphs [0116] [0117] figure 10B; product metadata 1003 includes information about products shown on the screen at the current time in the form of bubbles that the viewer may select);
detecting a user selection of the capsule icon (Paragraph [0117] figures 10B and 10C; tapping a product bubble);
in response to the detecting of the user selection of the capsule icon, displaying a window (e.g. product detailed view 1007) on the touch screen showing one or more options to access information and/or services (Paragraph [0117] figures 10B and 10C; tapping a product bubble invokes product detail view 1007 with detailed product information);
detecting a user selection of information and/or a service offered in the window (Paragraphs [0116] [0117] figure 10C; the user may elect to buy product, e.g. cardigan shown in video content);
and in response to the detecting of the user selection of information and/or the service offered, displaying the selected information and/or service (Paragraphs [0038] [0116] [0117] figures 1 and 10C; the user may elect to buy product, e.g. cardigan shown in video content, and complete the purchase).
However, it is noted that Crossley is silent to explicitly disclose displaying the selected information and/or service within the video content currently being viewed; and displaying the selected information and/or service within the video content currently being viewed, without any redirection to a site providing information and/or services.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Chesson discloses displaying the selected information and/or service within the video content currently being viewed (Paragraphs [0016] [0025] [0031] figure 7; overlay interactive portion over the video content in order to allow the user to obtain additional information about an item associated with the video content, and purchase the item);
displaying the selected information and/or service within the video content currently being viewed, without any redirection to a site providing information and/or services (Paragraphs [0018] [0023]; a user can elect to purchase an item included in the video content, e.g. an advertised product, and execute the transaction from within the video player itself, without being redirected to a separate third party website or platform).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chesson by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Chesson, for the predictable result of allowing the user to purchase the product without leaving the display screen and using data to redirect to an external website to complete the transaction (Chesson – paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 2, Crossley and Chesson disclose the method of claim 1; moreover, Crossly discloses that the window displayed in response to the detecting of the user selection of the capsule icon comprises a zone for selection of an additional video related to the selected element (Paragraph [0117] figures 10B and 10C; tapping a product bubble invokes product detail view 1007 with detailed product information).
Regarding claim 3, Crossley and Chesson disclose the method of claim 2; moreover, Crossly discloses that the window displayed in response to the detecting of the user selection of the capsule icon comprises an online store selection zone (Paragraphs [0037] [0038] [0117] figures 10B and 10C; product detail view 1007 with detailed product information includes a buy now options from the Content Provider/Retailer website, television studio website, retailer website, etc.).
Regarding claim 10, Crossley and Chesson disclose the method of claim 1; moreover, Crossly discloses that the window displayed in response to the detecting of the user selection of the capsule icon comprises an online store selection zone (Paragraphs [0037] [0038] [0117] figures 10B and 10C; product detail view 1007 with detailed product information includes a buy now options from the Content Provider/Retailer website, television studio website, retailer website, etc.).
Regarding claim 12, Crossley and Chesson disclose the method of claim 1; moreover, Crossly discloses that the video content used by the method has been enriched by artificial intelligence (Paragraph [0069] figure 4A; machine-learning model 303 is trained on training sets of images 401A and associated metadata).
Regarding claim 13, Crossley and Chesson disclose the method of claim 12; moreover, Crossly discloses that creating the capsules contained in the enriched video content from a prior selection of elements in the initial video content and a search for information and/or services associated with the priorly selected elements (Paragraphs [0050] [0082] figure 2; prior to enabling the shopping feature, the relevant product information is added to a database in the Metadata server by the Metadata Provider, wherein object recognition server 200 indexes recognized objects. Accordingly, if a second user requests to watch the same video, the real-time recognition application 210 does not have to analyze the video again, as the product server 207 can retrieve the data from the product metadata database 209; paragraph [0052]).
Claims 4-6, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crossley and Chesson in view of Sun et al. (Pub No US 2020/0107079). Hereinafter, referenced as Sun.
Regarding claim 4, Crossley and Chesson disclose the of claim 3; moreover, Crossly discloses that the window displayed in response to the detecting of the user selection of the capsule icon (e.g. bubble) comprises a zone for the selected element (Paragraph [0117] figures 10B and 10C; tapping a product bubble invokes product detail view 1007 with detailed product information).
However, it is noted that Crossley and Chesson are silent to explicitly disclose that user selection of the capsule icon comprises a zone for selecting a viewable document related to the selected element.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Sun discloses that user selection of the capsule icon comprises a zone for selecting a viewable document related to the selected element (Paragraphs [0013] [0014] [0061] figure 1; the viewer may select interactive indicators 104 and 106 during the presentation of a game, and view enhanced content 116 and 118, which includes textual information, e.g. document, of the rules relevant to the scene).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Crossley and Chesson by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Sun, for the predictable result of allowing viewers to be able to access textual documents relevant to the rules of a sporting event being viewed.
Regarding claim 5, Crossley, Chesson and Sun disclose the method of claim 4; moreover, Crossly discloses that the video content used by the method has been enriched by artificial intelligence (Paragraph [0069] figure 4A; machine-learning model 303 is trained on training sets of images 401A and associated metadata).
Regarding claim 6, Crossley, Chesson and Sun disclose the method of claim 5; moreover, Crossly discloses creating the capsules contained in the enriched video content from a prior selection of elements in the initial video content and a search for information and/or services associated with the priorly selected elements (Paragraphs [0050] [0082] figure 2; prior to enabling the shopping feature, the relevant product information is added to a database in the Metadata server by the Metadata Provider, wherein object recognition server 200 indexes recognized objects. Accordingly, if a second user requests to watch the same video, the real-time recognition application 210 does not have to analyze the video again, as the product server 207 can retrieve the data from the product metadata database 209; paragraph [0052]).
Regarding claim 11, Crossley, Chesson and Sun disclose all the limitations of claim 11; therefore, claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, Crossley, Chesson and Sun disclose the of claim 1; moreover, Crossly discloses that, in response to detecting a selection of an element in the video content, the icon representative of a capsule associated to the element is displayed (Paragraph [0116] figure 10A; tapping an object of the screen on a smartphone or tablet touchscreen causes a playbar 1001 and product metadata 1003 to appear while the video continues playing as shown in FIG. 10B).
However, it is noted that Crossley and Chesson are silent to explicitly disclose that the icon representative of a capsule is displayed in a corner of the screen.
Nevertheless, in a similar field of endeavor Sun discloses that the icon representative of a capsule is displayed in a corner of the screen (Paragraphs [0013] [0014] [0061] figure 1; capsules 104, 016 in a corner of the screen).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Crossley and Chesson by specifically providing the elements mentioned above, as taught by Sun, for the predictable result of applying a design choice to avoid covering up the center of the video image of the displayed content, which usually shows the most important context of the video content.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JUNIOR O. MENDOZA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/JUNIOR O MENDOZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424