DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
“Boskovich and the present invention implement interactive technologies distinct from each other. The claimed invention implements video content enriching by integrating video capsules containing additional information and/or services. In the claimed invention, a video capsule is a self-contained, interactive content unit that is embedded within the main video stream to provide additional information without interrupting the user's viewing experience.”, Remarks, page 6. To this matter, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Claim language calls for ‘creating one or more capsules associated with each recognized and classified predetermined element, the capsules containing the selected resources and/or services’ and ‘integrating the created one or more capsules into the initial video content to form enriched video content for transmission via a communication network…’.
Boskovich teaches, after recognizing and classifying elements on the video (602-606, Fig. 6; [0183]; [0185]; [0204]-[0209]), the system finds secondary information -capsules of information- and integrates it (links it) to the video ([0208]-[0210]; [0304]-[[0307])).
Although applicant argues that “a video capsule is a self-contained, interactive content unit that is embedded within the main video stream to provide additional information without interrupting the user’s viewing experience”, it is not part of the claim language.
To start with, a capsule is not a video capsule as argued. It’s information that is integrated to the video content that provides additional information. Boskovic, after detecting elements on the video, -associates/relates those elements to additional information, that when interacted with through different methods, presents information that enriches user’s viewing experience.
Additionally, claim language does not include ‘embedding or displaying’ the capsules, as seemed to be argued by applicant. By associating/linking or presenting a link to access additional information, Boskovich makes the additional information (capsule of information) integral or a part of the interactive video.
Finally, applicant argues that additional information is provided ‘without interrupting the user’s viewing experience’. This also is not part of the claimed language. However, even if it was, Boskovich teaches that in one of the many ways to present the additional data, it can be presented without interrupting viewing experience ([0185]; [0329]). Applicant shows Fig. 3 on the present invention as the example of the ‘providing additional information without interrupting the user’s viewing experience’; however, the presented additional information 5 (50, 51, 52) interrupts viewing experience.
“The capsule acts as an extension of the video player. It serves as a receptacle for various media such as high-definition images, PDF documents, real-time data streams, or transactional objects (buy buttons). Its function is to provide specific "micro-content" related to an object, character, or location appearing on the screen.
Boskovich does not implement video capsules in this way, but instead implements a video overlay technique, as recited in Boskovich at [0181], [0183], [0237], and [0367]. Video overlay is an additional visual layer placed on top of the video image, without necessarily having any structural link to the video content itself. Graphic elements (text, logos, timers, match scores) are superimposed on the video player or directly onto the video stream during editing”, Remarks, page 6. To this matter, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Boskovich teaches, after recognizing and classifying elements on the video (602-606, Fig. 6; [0183]; [0185]; [0204]-[0209]), the system finds secondary information -capsules of information- and integrates it (links it) to the video ([0208]-[0210]; [0304]-[0307])). Additional information, includes links to buy assets, present additional information, etc. ([0373]; [0379]). Making elements selectable or presenting an icon or carrousel that allows obtaining additional information, makes the video interactive. Those elements are not mere video overlays (text, logos, timers, match scores, etc.), as argued.
Therefore, the examiners respectfully believes that the art of record still covers applicant’s invention, including newly added limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boskovich (Pub. No. 2019/0238952).
Regarding claim 1, Boskovich teaches a method for enriching initial video content ([0028]; [0044]), comprising the following steps:
- playing the initial video content and recognizing predetermined elements in the initial video content ([0037]);
- classifying the recognized predetermined elements ([0183]; [0253]; [0254]);
- searching for and selecting digital resources and/or services associated with the recognized and classified predetermined elements ([0304]);
- creating one or more capsules associated with each recognized and classified predetermined element, the capsules containing the selected digital resources and/or services ([0201]; [0371]; [0185], where the capsules are the information related to each of the recognized elements); and
- integrating the created one or more capsules into the initial video content to form enriched video content for transmission via a communication network to electronic communication equipment equipped with a touchscreen ([0025]; [0028]; [0046]; [0157]; [0160]; [0185]);
the one or more capsules being designed so as to:
- display an icon associated with the capsule, in response to a selection of a recognized element from the enriched video content being viewed on the touch screen ([0185]; or Figs. 11-13, where an icon can be presented upon element selection; [0323]-[0329]); and
- display digital resources or services associated with the selected element on the touch screen in response to selection of the -capsule icon, the digital resources and/or services being integrated into the video ([0185]; Figs. 11-13; [0327]-[0331], where the information related to each of the recognized elements -capsules-, which include secondary information, are displayed upon selection).
Regarding claim 2, Boskovich teaches wherein each of recognizing the predetermined elements and the classifying of the recognized predetermined elements implement artificial intelligence ([0230]; [0301]).
Regarding claim 3, Boskovich teaches of further creating tactile selection zones in the enriched video content, each tactile selection zone being associated with one or more selected elements to which one or more capsules have been associated, so that a tactile action on one of the tactile selection zones causes a capsule associated with the one of the tactile selection zones to be displayed ([0185]).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Boskovich teaches wherein creating the one or more capsules comprises including an additional video in the one or more capsules ([0160]).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Boskovich teaches wherein creating the one or more capsules comprises including an online store in the one or more capsules ([0201]; [0327]).
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Boskovich teaches wherein creating the one or more capsules comprises including a viewable document in the one or more capsules (1208; 1210, Fig. 12; [0327]).
Regarding claim 7, Boskovich teaches a service platform for video content creators (Fig. 1), implementing the method according to claim 1, the service platform comprising a video player equipped with an identification/authentication device and connected to a database (121, fig. 1; [0125]; [0130]; [0168]), the video player implementing a set of artificial intelligence algorithms designed to recognize elements in an initial video content, classify the elements thus recognized ([0183]; [0230]; [0253]; [0254]) and create capsules associated with each recognized element, each capsule containing information or service related to the recognized element ([0201]; [0371]; [0185], where the capsules are the information related to each of the recognized elements) and being designed to be inserted into the initial video content to get an enriched video content, the platform service being connected via a communication network to electronic communication equipment equipped with a touch screen ([0025]; [0028]; [0046]; [0157]; [0160]; [0185]), wherein the capsules are designed to be selectively displayed on touch screens equipping one or more electronic equipment in response to selecting an icon displayed on the touch screen ([0185]; or Figs. 11-13, where an icon can be presented upon element selection; [0323]-[0329]) in response to selecting a recognized element viewed within an enriched video content displayed on the touch screen ([0185]; Figs. 11-13; [0327]-[0331], where the information related to each of the recognized elements -capsules-, which include secondary information, are displayed upon selection).
Regarding claim 8, Boskovich teaches wherein the content of the capsules thus created are retrieved by accessing a Cloud ([0022]-[0027]; [0045]; [0239]) or, via digital networks or the Web, marketplaces as well as content platforms.
Regarding claim 9, Boskovich teaches wherein the service platform is a service as a software application ([0239]; [0240]).
Regarding claim 13, Boskovich teaches wherein the icon representative of a capsule associated with a recognized element is displayed in the corner of the touch screen (the clickable element or the icon that will bring the additional information is located where the element is displayed. Therefore, the element could be presented on any portion of the video).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR S PARRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421