CTNF 18/835,439 CTNF 90869 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED OFFICE ACTION 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims Claims 1-14 are pending examination. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b) (2) (C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21 AIA 1. Claim s 1,5,6,10,11,13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jia et al. ( USPUB 20160020857) in view of Dar ( USPUB 20180287712) in further view of SHAHID U. H. QURESHI ( NPL Doc: “Adaptive Equalization,” 30th September 1985, Proceedings of the IEEE ( Volume: 73, Issue: 9 , September 1985),Pages 1349-1383) . As per claim 1 , Jia et al. teaches An equalization signal processing circuit ( FIG.1 and Paragraph [0008]- “…0008] FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an example of a pre-filtering wavelength division multiplexing (WDM) transmission system with coherent detection employing both post digital filter and an ISI equalizer DSP (digital signal processing) module…”) comprising: a filter group including a plurality of filters being connected in series along a signal path of a reception signal being acquired by coherent-receiving a signal being transmitted from a transmitter via a transmission path ( FIG. 1 and 2 teaches Digital Filter groups and Paragraph [0006]- “…, a filter that filters the processed digitized signal operation using a finite impulse response digital post-filter comprising a number of filter coefficients to generate a filter output, and an inter-symbol-interference (ISI) equalizer that performs equalization on the filter output to produce estimates of the information bits….” AND Paragraphs [0031-0032]- “… a DSP can utilize finite-impulse-response (FIR) post digital filter s and multi-symbol detection algorithms to suppress enhanced noise and to compensate the ISI distortions. Besides the typical DSP flow, the post digital filter , in some embodiments, is added after the carrier frequency and phase recovery. A function of the post filter is to suppress the enhanced noise by other equalization process before it, hence leading to a significant signal-to-noise ratio improvement…”) ; at least one memory storing instructions ( Paragraph [0076]- “… Computer readable media suitable for storing computer program instructions and data include all forms of non-volatile memory , media and memory devices, including by way of example semiconductor memory devices, e.g., EPROM, EEPROM, and flash memory devices; …” ) ; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions ( Paragraph [0076]- “ Processor s suitable for the execution of a computer program include, by way of example, both general and special purpose micro processor s, and any one or more processor s of any kind of digital computer….”) t o adaptively control filter coefficients of at least some filters of the plurality of filters ( Paragraph [0064-0065]- “… the filter coeffici ents are adaptively adjusted using the estimates of timing information. For example, in some embodiments, an error criterion, such as minimum least square error, may be used to adjust filter coeffici ents by formulating them filter coeffici ents as a function of time, and using an adaptive step size to iteratively adjust filter coeffici ents to reduce timing error. In some embodiments, performance of the estimates of the information bits is evaluated. The performance may be based on, e.g., a match between the estimates and known values of information bits. The adaptively adjusting the filter coeffici ents comprises providing a feedback signal to change the filter coeffici ents to optimize the performance…”) , Jia et al. does not explicitly teach by using an error back propagation method, based on a difference between an output signal being output from the filter group and a predetermined value of the output signal, wherein, among the plurality of filters included in the filter group, at least some of one or more filters before a final stage filter convolve the filter coefficients with respect to an input signal vector, and output a calculation result of the convolution and a calculation result of the convolution that is acquired by calculation at a previous time, to a filter in a following stage. However, within analogous art, Dar teaches by using an error back propagation method ( Paragraph [0019]- “…electronic backward-propagation (BP) processing; (vii) data recovery; and (viii) forward error correction based on the encoding (if any) applied at the corresponding optical transmitter 110….”) , based on a difference between an output signal being output from the filter group and a predetermined value of the output signal, wherein, among the plurality of filters included in the filter group ( Paragraphs [0058-0059]- “…two or more serially connected equalization stages are configured to apply a back- propaga tion algorithm to the first equalized digital signal…. an equalizer (e.g., 470, FIG. 4C) configured to perform the equalization processing applied to the dispersed digital signal; a decision circuit (e.g., 430, FIG. 4B) configured to map complex values carried by the first equalized digital onto a constellation”) , One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Dar within the modified teaching of the Adaptive post digital filter and inter-symbol interference equalizer for optical communication mentioned by Jia et al. because the Optical communication with some compensation of nonlinear distortions mentioned by Dar provides a method and system for implementation of dispersion-compensation processing within optical signal processing within optical communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Optical communication with some compensation of nonlinear distortions mentioned by Dar within the modified teaching of the Adaptive post digital filter and inter-symbol interference equalizer for optical communication mentioned by Jia et al. for implementation of dispersion-compensation processing within optical signal processing within optical communication. Combination of Jia et al. and Dar does not explicitly teach at least some of one or more filters before a final stage filter convolve the filter coefficients with respect to an input signal vector, and output a calculation result of the convolution and a calculation result of the convolution that is acquired by calculation at a previous time, to a filter in a following stage. However, within analogous art, SHAHID U. H. QURESHI teaches at least some of one or more filters before a final stage filter convolve the filter coefficients with respect to an input signal vector ( Page 1360- Col. 1-2- Fig. 16 AND “…five-tap adaptive transversal filter has been fabricated on a single integrated circuit (IC) using an all-analog implementation approach combining switched capacitor and charge-coupled device (CCD) technologies. The IC consists of a five-tap CCD delay line, a convolver, five correlators (one for each tap gain), an offset error canceler, and an error signal generator. Integrators and four-quadrant analog multipliers are implemented in switched capacitor technology. The IC can be configured for use as an echo canceler, a linear equalizer, or a decision- feedback equalizer …” ) , and output a calculation result of the convolution and a calculation result of the convolution that is acquired by calculation at a previous time, to a filter in a following stage ( Page 1380- Col. 1- “…the input correlation matrix A, for a T-spaced periodic equalizer is Toeplitz and circulant. The inverse Pof the circulant matrix NAP is also circulant. For periodic input, the transformation performed by P is equivalent to a non recursive filtering operation (or periodic convolution) with coefficients equal to the elements of the first row of P. The fast settling periodic equalizer structure with a single inverse filter is also applicable when the equalizer coefficients are updated symbol-by-symbol….” AND Page 1351- Col. 2- “…re the filter coefficients are updated once per block, and the output samples are computed a block at a time using transform-domain “highspeed convolution.” Such implementations generally reduce the number of arithmetic operations at the expense of a more complex control structure, additional memory requirements, and a greater processing delay….” ) . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of SHAHID U. H. QURESHI within the combined modified teaching of the Adaptive post digital filter and inter-symbol interference equalizer for optical communication mentioned by Jia et al. and the Optical communication with some compensation of nonlinear distortions mentioned by Dar because the Adaptive Equalization mentioned by SHAHID U. H. QURESHI provides a method and system for implementation of optimum receiver filter within communication receiver system. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Adaptive Equalization mentioned by SHAHID U. H. QURESHI within the combined modified teaching of the Adaptive post digital filter and inter-symbol interference equalizer for optical communication mentioned by Jia et al. and the Optical communication with some compensation of nonlinear distortions mentioned by Dar for implementation of optimum receiver filter within communication receiver system. As per claim 5 , Combination of Jia et al. and Dar and SHAHID U. H. QURESHI teach claim 1, Jia et al. teaches wherein the filter group includes at least one of an in-receiver distortion compensating filter ( Paragraph [0004]- “… post digital filter with adaptive coefficients is used to compensate for distortions in the received signals caused by channel conditions that change over time and result in narrow-band filtering of the modulated signal,…”) , a chromatic dispersion compensating filter, a polarization demultiplexing filter, a carrier phase compensating filter, and an in-transmitter distortion compensating filter ( Paragraphs [0065-0066]- “…during the conversion of the digitized signals, polarization-domain demultiplexing to recover polarization-domain multiplexed components of the modulated signal in the analog format is performed….” ) . As per claim 6 , Combination of Jia et al. and Dar and SHAHID U. H. QURESHI teach claim 1, Jia et al. teaches A receiver comprising: a receiving circuit configured to coherent-receive a signal being transmitted from a transmitter via a transmission path ( Paragraphs [0033-0034]- “…for receiving modulated optical signals in a coherent optical receiver employing both post digital filter and inter-symbol-interference (ISI) equalizer such as a maximum likelihood sequence estimation (MLSE) …”) ; As per claim 10 , Combination of Jia et al. and Dar and SHAHID U. H. QURESHI teach claim 6, Jia et al. teaches wherein the filter group includes at least one of an in-receiver distortion compensating filter ( Paragraph [0004]- “… post digital filter with adaptive coefficients is used to compensate for distortions in the received signals caused by channel conditions that change over time and result in narrow-band filtering of the modulated signal,…”) , a chromatic dispersion compensating filter, a polarization demultiplexing filter, a carrier phase compensating filter, and an in-transmitter distortion compensating filter ( Paragraphs [0065-0066]- “…during the conversion of the digitized signals, polarization-domain demultiplexing to recover polarization-domain multiplexed components of the modulated signal in the analog format is performed….” ) . As per claim 11 , Combination of Jia et al. and Dar and SHAHID U. H. QURESHI teach claim 6, Jia et al. teaches A communication system comprising: a transmitter configured to transmit a signal via a transmission path ( Paragraph [0070]- “…an optical communication system includes an optical signal transmitter, an optical transmission network (e.g., including a glass or plastic fiber) that can carry an optical signal and an optical signal receiver. The optical signal receiver is configured to receive, over the optical transmission medium, the modulated signal in the analog format, convert the modulated signal in the analog format into a digitized signal, estimate, by processing the digitized signal, a channel impairment in the modulated signal and a modulation carrier used for the coherent modulation technique,…”) ; As per claim 13 , Jia et al. teaches An equalization signal processing ( FIG.1 and Paragraph [0008]- “…0008] FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an example of a pre-filtering wavelength division multiplexing (WDM) transmission system with coherent detection employing both post digital filter and an ISI equalizer DSP (digital signal processing) module…”) method comprising: performing equalization signal processing with respect to a reception signal by using a filter group including a plurality of filters being connected in series along a signal path of the reception signal being coherent-received ( FIG. 1 and 2 teaches Digital Filter groups and Paragraph [0006]- “…, a filter that filters the processed digitized signal operation using a finite impulse response digital post-filter comprising a number of filter coefficients to generate a filter output, and an inter-symbol-interference (ISI) equalizer that performs equalization on the filter output to produce estimates of the information bits….” AND Paragraphs [0031-0032]- “… a DSP can utilize finite-impulse-response (FIR) post digital filter s and multi-symbol detection algorithms to suppress enhanced noise and to compensate the ISI distortions. Besides the typical DSP flow, the post digital filter , in some embodiments, is added after the carrier frequency and phase recovery. A function of the post filter is to suppress the enhanced noise by other equalization process before it, hence leading to a significant signal-to-noise ratio improvement…”) ; at least one memory storing instructions ( Paragraph [0076]- “… Computer readable media suitable for storing computer program instructions and data include all forms of non-volatile memory , media and memory devices, including by way of example semiconductor memory devices, e.g., EPROM, EEPROM, and flash memory devices; …” ) ; adaptively controlling filter coefficients of at least some filters of the plurality of filters ( Paragraph [0064-0065]- “… the filter coeffici ents are adaptively adjusted using the estimates of timing information. For example, in some embodiments, an error criterion, such as minimum least square error, may be used to adjust filter coeffici ents by formulating them filter coeffici ents as a function of time, and using an adaptive step size to iteratively adjust filter coeffici ents to reduce timing error. In some embodiments, performance of the estimates of the information bits is evaluated. The performance may be based on, e.g., a match between the estimates and known values of information bits. The adaptively adjusting the filter coeffici ents comprises providing a feedback signal to change the filter coeffici ents to optimize the performance…”) , Jia et al. does not explicitly teach by using an error back propagation method, based on a difference between an output signal being output from the filter group and a predetermined value of the output signal; and convolving the filter coefficients with respect to an input signal vector by at least some of one or more filters before a final stage filter among the plurality of filters included in the filter group, and outputting, to a filter in a following stage, a calculation result of the convolution and a calculation result of the convolution that is acquired by calculation at a previous time. However, within analogous art, Dar teaches by using an error back propagation method ( Paragraph [0019]- “…electronic backward-propagation (BP) processing; (vii) data recovery; and (viii) forward error correction based on the encoding (if any) applied at the corresponding optical transmitter 110….”) , based on a difference between an output signal being output from the filter group and a predetermined value of the output signal ( Paragraphs [0058-0059]- “…two or more serially connected equalization stages are configured to apply a back- propaga tion algorithm to the first equalized digital signal…. an equalizer (e.g., 470, FIG. 4C) configured to perform the equalization processing applied to the dispersed digital signal; a decision circuit (e.g., 430, FIG. 4B) configured to map complex values carried by the first equalized digital onto a constellation”) ; Combination of Jia et al. and Dar does not explicitly teach convolving the filter coefficients with respect to an input signal vector by at least some of one or more filters before a final stage filter among the plurality of filters included in the filter group, and outputting, to a filter in a following stage, a calculation result of the convolution and a calculation result of the convolution that is acquired by calculation at a previous time. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Dar within the modified teaching of the Adaptive post digital filter and inter-symbol interference equalizer for optical communication mentioned by Jia et al. because the Optical communication with some compensation of nonlinear distortions mentioned by Dar provides a method and system for implementation of dispersion-compensation processing within optical signal processing within optical communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Optical communication with some compensation of nonlinear distortions mentioned by Dar within the modified teaching of the Adaptive post digital filter and inter-symbol interference equalizer for optical communication mentioned by Jia et al. for implementation of dispersion-compensation processing within optical signal processing within optical communication. However, within analogous art, SHAHID U. H. QURESHI teaches convolving the filter coefficients with respect to an input signal vector by at least some of one or more filters before a final stage filter among the plurality of filters included in the filter group ( Page 1360- Col. 1-2- Fig. 16 AND “…five-tap adaptive transversal filter has been fabricated on a single integrated circuit (IC) using an all-analog implementation approach combining switched capacitor and charge-coupled device (CCD) technologies. The IC consists of a five-tap CCD delay line, a convolver, five correlators (one for each tap gain), an offset error canceler, and an error signal generator. Integrators and four-quadrant analog multipliers are implemented in switched capacitor technology. The IC can be configured for use as an echo canceler, a linear equalizer, or a decision- feedback equalizer …” ) , and outputting, to a filter in a following stage, a calculation result of the convolution and a calculation result of the convolution that is acquired by calculation at a previous time ( Page 1380- Col. 1- “…the input correlation matrix A, for a T-spaced periodic equalizer is Toeplitz and circulant. The inverse Pof the circulant matrix NAP is also circulant. For periodic input, the transformation performed by P is equivalent to a non recursive filtering operation (or periodic convolution) with coefficients equal to the elements of the first row of P. The fast settling periodic equalizer structure with a single inverse filter is also applicable when the equalizer coefficients are updated symbol-by-symbol….” AND Page 1351- Col. 2- “…re the filter coefficients are updated once per block, and the output samples are computed a block at a time using transform-domain “highspeed convolution.” Such implementations generally reduce the number of arithmetic operations at the expense of a more complex control structure, additional memory requirements, and a greater processing delay….” ) . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of SHAHID U. H. QURESHI within the combined modified teaching of the Adaptive post digital filter and inter-symbol interference equalizer for optical communication mentioned by Jia et al. and the Optical communication with some compensation of nonlinear distortions mentioned by Dar because the Adaptive Equalization mentioned by SHAHID U. H. QURESHI provides a method and system for implementation of optimum receiver filter within communication receiver system. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Adaptive Equalization mentioned by SHAHID U. H. QURESHI within the combined modified teaching of the Adaptive post digital filter and inter-symbol interference equalizer for optical communication mentioned by Jia et al. and the Optical communication with some compensation of nonlinear distortions mentioned by Dar for implementation of optimum receiver filter within communication receiver system. As per claim 14 , Jia et al. teaches A non-transitory computer readable medium configured to store a program for causing a processor to execute processing ( Paragraph [0073]- “…one or more modules of computer program instructions encoded on a computer readable medium for execution by, or to control the operation of, data processing apparatus. The computer readable medium can be a machine- readable storage device, a machine- readable storage substrate, a memory device, a composition of matter effecting a machine- readable propagated signal, ….”) of: performing equalization signal processing with respect to a reception signal by using a filter group including a plurality of filters being connected in series along a signal path of the reception signal being coherent-received ( FIG. 1 and 2 teaches Digital Filter groups and Paragraph [0006]- “…, a filter that filters the processed digitized signal operation using a finite impulse response digital post-filter comprising a number of filter coefficients to generate a filter output, and an inter-symbol-interference (ISI) equalizer that performs equalization on the filter output to produce estimates of the information bits….” AND Paragraphs [0031-0032]- “… a DSP can utilize finite-impulse-response (FIR) post digital filter s and multi-symbol detection algorithms to suppress enhanced noise and to compensate the ISI distortions. Besides the typical DSP flow, the post digital filter , in some embodiments, is added after the carrier frequency and phase recovery. A function of the post filter is to suppress the enhanced noise by other equalization process before it, hence leading to a significant signal-to-noise ratio improvement…”) ; adaptively controlling filter coefficients of at least some filters of the plurality of filters ( Paragraph [0064-0065]- “… the filter coeffici ents are adaptively adjusted using the estimates of timing information. For example, in some embodiments, an error criterion, such as minimum least square error, may be used to adjust filter coeffici ents by formulating them filter coeffici ents as a function of time, and using an adaptive step size to iteratively adjust filter coeffici ents to reduce timing error. In some embodiments, performance of the estimates of the information bits is evaluated. The performance may be based on, e.g., a match between the estimates and known values of information bits. The adaptively adjusting the filter coeffici ents comprises providing a feedback signal to change the filter coeffici ents to optimize the performance…”) , Jia et al. does not explicitly teach by using an error back propagation method, based on a difference between an output signal being output from the filter group and a predetermined value of the output signal; and convolving the filter coefficients with respect to an input signal vector by at least some of one or more filters before a final stage filter among the plurality of filters included in the filter group, and outputting, to a filter in a following stage, a calculation result of the convolution and a calculation result of the convolution that is acquired by calculation at a previous time. However, within analogous art, Dar teaches by using an error back propagation method ( Paragraph [0019]- “…electronic backward-propagation (BP) processing; (vii) data recovery; and (viii) forward error correction based on the encoding (if any) applied at the corresponding optical transmitter 110….”) , based on a difference between an output signal being output from the filter group and a predetermined value of the output signal ( Paragraphs [0058-0059]- “…two or more serially connected equalization stages are configured to apply a back- propaga tion algorithm to the first equalized digital signal…. an equalizer (e.g., 470, FIG. 4C) configured to perform the equalization processing applied to the dispersed digital signal; a decision circuit (e.g., 430, FIG. 4B) configured to map complex values carried by the first equalized digital onto a constellation”) ; One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Dar within the modified teaching of the Adaptive post digital filter and inter-symbol interference equalizer for optical communication mentioned by Jia et al. because the Optical communication with some compensation of nonlinear distortions mentioned by Dar provides a method and system for implementation of dispersion-compensation processing within optical signal processing within optical communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Optical communication with some compensation of nonlinear distortions mentioned by Dar within the modified teaching of the Adaptive post digital filter and inter-symbol interference equalizer for optical communication mentioned by Jia et al. for implementation of dispersion-compensation processing within optical signal processing within optical communication. Combination of Jia et al. and Dar does not explicitly teach convolving the filter coefficients with respect to an input signal vector by at least some of one or more filters before a final stage filter among the plurality of filters included in the filter group, and outputting, to a filter in a following stage, a calculation result of the convolution and a calculation result of the convolution that is acquired by calculation at a previous time. However, within analogous art, SHAHID U. H. QURESHI teaches convolving the filter coefficients with respect to an input signal vector by at least some of one or more filters before a final stage filter among the plurality of filters included in the filter group ( Page 1360- Col. 1-2- Fig. 16 AND “…five-tap adaptive transversal filter has been fabricated on a single integrated circuit (IC) using an all-analog implementation approach combining switched capacitor and charge-coupled device (CCD) technologies. The IC consists of a five-tap CCD delay line, a convolver, five correlators (one for each tap gain), an offset error canceler, and an error signal generator. Integrators and four-quadrant analog multipliers are implemented in switched capacitor technology. The IC can be configured for use as an echo canceler, a linear equalizer, or a decision- feedback equalizer …” ) , and outputting, to a filter in a following stage, a calculation result of the convolution and a calculation result of the convolution that is acquired by calculation at a previous time ( Page 1380- Col. 1- “…the input correlation matrix A, for a T-spaced periodic equalizer is Toeplitz and circulant. The inverse Pof the circulant matrix NAP is also circulant. For periodic input, the transformation performed by P is equivalent to a non recursive filtering operation (or periodic convolution) with coefficients equal to the elements of the first row of P. The fast settling periodic equalizer structure with a single inverse filter is also applicable when the equalizer coefficients are updated symbol-by-symbol….” AND Page 1351- Col. 2- “…re the filter coefficients are updated once per block, and the output samples are computed a block at a time using transform-domain “highspeed convolution.” Such implementations generally reduce the number of arithmetic operations at the expense of a more complex control structure, additional memory requirements, and a greater processing delay….” ) . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of SHAHID U. H. QURESHI within the combined modified teaching of the Adaptive post digital filter and inter-symbol interference equalizer for optical communication mentioned by Jia et al. and the Optical communication with some compensation of nonlinear distortions mentioned by Dar because the Adaptive Equalization mentioned by SHAHID U. H. QURESHI provides a method and system for implementation of optimum receiver filter within communication receiver system. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Adaptive Equalization mentioned by SHAHID U. H. QURESHI within the combined modified teaching of the Adaptive post digital filter and inter-symbol interference equalizer for optical communication mentioned by Jia et al. and the Optical communication with some compensation of nonlinear distortions mentioned by Dar for implementation of optimum receiver filter within communication receiver system . 07-21 AIA 2. Claim s 3,4,8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jia et al. ( USPUB 20160020857) in view of Dar ( USPUB 20180287712) in further view of SHAHID U. H. QURESHI ( NPL Doc: “Adaptive Equalization,” 30th September 1985, Proceedings of the IEEE ( Volume: 73, Issue: 9 , September 1985),Pages 1349-1383) and Matsui et al. ( USPUB 20130302041) . As per claim 3 , Combination of Jia et al. and Dar and SHAHID U. H. QURESHI teach claim 1, Within analogous art, Matsui et al. teaches wherein at least some of the one or more filters include one or more delay elements that delay ( Paragraph [0098]- “… the time domain equalization filter includes a delay unit, a multiplication unit and an addition unit which are shown in FIG. 3….”) the calculation result of the convolution ( Paragraph [0083]- “…The coefficient operating unit 231 can perform the above-mentioned complex multiplication or a nonlinear operation (e.g. squared operation or Log operation) usually performed in the convo lution operation or various conversion processes….”) . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Matsui et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Adaptive post digital filter and inter-symbol interference equalizer for optical communication mentioned by Jia et al. and the Optical communication with some compensation of nonlinear distortions mentioned by Dar and the Adaptive Equalization mentioned by SHAHID U. H. QURESHI because the Optical receiver and method for optical reception mentioned by Matsui et al. provides a method and system for implementation of improvement the degradation in an optical receiver. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Optical receiver and method for optical reception mentioned by Matsui et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Adaptive post digital filter and inter-symbol interference equalizer for optical communication mentioned by Jia et al. and the Optical communication with some compensation of nonlinear distortions mentioned by Dar and the Adaptive Equalization mentioned by SHAHID U. H. QURESHI for implementation of improvement the degradation in an optical receiver. As per claim 4 , Combination of Jia et al. and Dar and SHAHID U. H. QURESHI teach claim 3, Within analogous art, Matsui et al. teaches wherein at least some of the one or more filters include a plurality of the delay elements, and the plurality of delay elements are connected to one another in series ( Paragraphs [0050-0051]- “The FIR filter includes, for example, a delay unit 71 including a plurality of delay circuits connected in series, a multiplication unit 72 comprising a plurality of complex multipliers and an addition unit 73 consisting of a complex adder. Each delay circuit delay s an inputted complex signal equals to a sampling time T and then outputs the delay ed signal to a later stage…”) . As per claim 8 , Combination of Jia et al. and Dar and SHAHID U. H. QURESHI teach claim 6, Within analogous art, Matsui et al. teaches wherein at least some of the one or more filters include one or more delay elements that delay ( Paragraph [0098]- “… the time domain equalization filter includes a delay unit, a multiplication unit and an addition unit which are shown in FIG. 3….”) the calculation result of the convolution ( Paragraph [0083]- “…The coefficient operating unit 231 can perform the above-mentioned complex multiplication or a nonlinear operation (e.g. squared operation or Log operation) usually performed in the convo lution operation or various conversion processes….”) . As per claim 9 , Combination of Jia et al. and Dar and SHAHID U. H. QURESHI and Matsui et al. teach claim 8, Within analogous art, Matsui et al. teaches wherein at least some of the one or more filters include a plurality of the delay elements, and the plurality of delay elements are connected to one another in series ( Paragraphs [0050-0051]- “The FIR filter includes, for example, a delay unit 71 including a plurality of delay circuits connected in series, a multiplication unit 72 comprising a plurality of complex multipliers and an addition unit 73 consisting of a complex adder. Each delay circuit delay s an inputted complex signal equals to a sampling time T and then outputs the delay ed signal to a later stage…”) . It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123 . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 3. Claim s 2,7 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 4. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for objecting the claims as allowable subject matter: As to claim 2, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 2: “…control the coefficients by calculating gradients with respect to the filter coefficients in such a way as to minimize magnitude of the difference, and update the filter coefficients by using a sum of gradients with respect to the coefficients at a previous time as a gradient with respect to a coefficient at a current time in reverse calculation for at least some filters of the one or more filters. ” As to claim 7, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 7: “…control the coefficients by calculating gradients with respect to the filter coefficients in such a way as to minimize magnitude of the difference, and update the filter coefficients by using a sum of gradients with respect to the coefficients at a previous time as a gradient with respect to a coefficient at a current time in reverse calculation for an intermediate filter. ” As to claim 12, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 12: “…control the coefficients by calculating gradients with respect to the filter coefficients in such a way as to minimize magnitude of the difference, and update the filter coefficients by using a sum of gradients with respect to coefficients at a previous time as a gradient with respect to a coefficient at a current time in reverse calculation for an intermediate filter.” 13-03 Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Examiner’s Notes 5. The Examiner acknowledges the following prior arts below as pertinent to the current applications claim limitations and inventive concept, although the following prior arts shown below were not relied upon to address the limitations within the claim , they are analogous art mentioning the inventive concept key points on (coherent receiver, optical digital communication, multiple filters, Equalizer processing , filter coefficient, receiver and transmission devices etc). 1) BERTOLD IAN BITACHON et al.," Deep learning based digital backpropagation demonstrating SNR gain at low complexity in a 1200 km transmission link,"17 th September 2020, Optics Express, Vol. 28, No. 20 / 28 September 2020,Pages 29318- 29327. 2) Seb J. Savory," Digital filters for coherent optical receivers," 9th Jan 2008, OPTICS EXPRESS, 13, 21 January 2008,Vol. 16, No. 2,Pages 804-816. 3) MANABU ARIKAWA et al.," Adaptive multi-layer filters incorporated with Volterra filters for impairment compensation including transmitter and receiver nonlinearity," 18th August 2021, Optics Express, Vol. 29, No. 18 /30 Aug 2021,Pages 28366- 28385. 4) MANABU ARIKAWA et al.," Adaptive equalization of transmitter and receiver IQ skew by multi-layer linear and widely linear filters with deep unfolding," 23rd Jul 2020, Optics Express, Vol. 28, No. 16 / 3 August 2020,Pages 23478- 23492. 5) Tianhua Xu et al.," Chromatic dispersion compensation in coherent transmission system using digital filters," 16th Jul 2010, OPTICS EXPRESS, 19 July 2010 / Vol. 18, No. 15,Pages 16243-16257. 6) Wolfgang Mack et al.," Deep Filtering: Signal Extraction and Reconstruction Using Complex Time-Frequency Filters," 23 rd January 2020, IEEE SIGNAL PROCESSING LETTERS, VOL. 27, 2020,Pages 61-64. 7) Frank Wefers et al.,”HIGH-PERFORMANCE REAL-TIME FIR-FILTERING USING FAST CONVOLUTION ON GRAPHICS HARDWARE,” Proc. of the 13th Int. Conference on Digital Audio Effects (DAFx-10), Graz, Austria , September 6-10, 2010,Pages DAFX-1- DAFX-6. 8) MANABU ARIKAWA et al.," Transmitter and receiver impairment monitoring using adaptive multi-layer linear and widely linear filter coefficients controlled by stochastic gradient descent," 30 th Mar 2021, Optics Express, Vol. 29, No. 8 / 12 April 2021,Pages 11548- 11560. 9) Nannan Zhang et al., " Joint equalization of linear impairments using two-stage cascade Kalman filter structure in coherent optical communication systems," 21 st August 2019, Optics Communications 453 (2019),Pages 1-9. 10) Francesco Restuccia et al.,” DeepFIR: Channel-Robust Physical-Layer Deep Learning Through Adaptive Waveform Filtering,”1 st July 2021, IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON WIRELESS COMMUNICATIONS, VOL. 20, NO. 12, DECEMBER 2021,Pages 8054-8063. 11) ARIKAWA; Manabu (USPUB 20220385374) 12) Ormston; Jesse D. (USPUB 20220094440) 13) OKAMOTO; Seiji (USPUB 20140032138) 14) Li; Qi (USPUB 20210321212) 15) Haddadin, Osama Sami (USPUB 20050286619) 16) Rakib; Selim Shlomo (USPAT 6665308) 17) ONUMA; Yasuharu (USPUB 20190132051) 18) Yasuda; Wakako ( USPAT 10171177) Conclusion 07-96 AIA 6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art . 7. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OMAR S ISMAIL whose telephone number is (571)272-9799 and Fax # is (571)273-9799. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9:00am-6:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, David C. Payne can be reached on (571) 272-3024. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free)? If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /OMAR S ISMAIL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/835,439 Page 2 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/835,439 Page 3 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/835,439 Page 4 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/835,439 Page 5 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/835,439 Page 6 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/835,439 Page 7 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/835,439 Page 8 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/835,439 Page 9 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/835,439 Page 10 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/835,439 Page 11 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/835,439 Page 12 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/835,439 Page 13 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/835,439 Page 14 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/835,439 Page 15 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/835,439 Page 16 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/835,439 Page 17 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/835,439 Page 18 Art Unit: 2635