DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-11, 13, 15, 21, 22, and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2022/036640 (cited on IDS) [R1]. For claim 1, R1 discloses receiving, on a first cell, configuration information identifying preconfigured uplink resources for use by the UE in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle state (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6); reselectinq a cell which the UE camps on to a second cell (paragraphs 25-30, 118-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6); verifying whether or not the configuration information is still valid on the second cell in response to the reselectinq the cell (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6); and determining whether to transmit data using the preconfigured uplink resources in accordance with the verifying (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6).
For claim 2, R1 discloses receiving information indicating whether the configuration information is valid, and wherein the verifying is performed using the information (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6).
For claim 3, R1 discloses the information includes cell information identifying a plurality of cells where the configuration information is valid, and wherein the verifying is performed by using the cell information (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6).
For claim 9, R1 discloses the information includes coverage information relating to a coverage provided via at least one non-terrestrial cell operated by the non-terrestrial network, and wherein the verifying is performed by using the coverage information (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6).
For claim 10, R1 discloses the coverage information includes at least one of: ephemeris data relating to the at least one non-terrestrial cell; information identifying a coverage start-time associated with the at least one non- terrestrial cell; information identifying a coverage end-time associated with the at least one non- terrestrial cell; and a timing advance parameter associated with the at least one non-terrestrial cell (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6).
For claim 11, R1 discloses controlling a wake-sleep operation of the UE based on the information relating to the coverage, such that the UE wakes up and applies the configuration information in a case that the UE is determined to be in coverage (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6).
For claim 13, R1 discloses receiving information identifying at least one non-terrestrial node for which the configuration information is applicable (paragraphs 25-30,150-160,Fig 1-2,pages 4-6).
For claim 15, R1 discloses the information includes location information for identifying an area where the configuration information is valid, and wherein the verifying is performed by using the location information (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6).
For claim 21, R1 discloses the information includes control information for controlling a timer for transmission using the preconfigured uplink resources, and wherein the verifying is performed by using the timer controlled by the control information (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6).
For claim 22, R1 discloses controlling a validity of a timing advance value corresponding to the timer, based on whether the UE is in coverage of at least one non-terrestrial cell operated by the non-terrestrial network, and wherein the verifying is performed based on the controlling the validity of the timing advance value (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6).
For claim 33, R1 discloses transmitting, on a first cell, configuration information identifying preconfigured uplink resources for use by the UE in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle state (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6); and transmitting receiving information indicating whether the configuration information is valid, and wherein the information is used by the UE which reselect a cell which the UE camps on to a second cell for verifying whether or not the configuration information is still valid on the second cell (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6).
For claim 34, R1 discloses means for receiving, on a first cell, configuration information identifying preconfigured uplink resources for use by the UE in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle state; means for reselecting a cell which the UE camps on to a second cell (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6); means for verifying whether or not the configuration information is still valid on the second cell in response to the reselecting the cell (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6); and means for determining whether to transmit data using the preconfigured uplink resources in accordance with the verifying (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6).
For claim 35, R1 discloses means for transmitting, on a first cell, configuration information identifying preconfigured uplink resources for use by the UE in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle state (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6); and means for transmitting receiving information indicating whether the configuration information is valid (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6), and wherein the information is used by the UE which reselect a cell which the UE camps on to a second cell for verifying whether or not the configuration information is still valid on the second cell (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 12, 14, 23-25, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by R1 or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over R1.
For claim 4, R1 discloses the information includes cell information identifying a plurality of cells which are identical or replacement to a first cell which corresponds to the configuration information, and the verifying is performed by using the cell information in a case where the UE is out of coverage of the first cell and in coverage of a second cell included in the plurality of cells indicated by the cell information (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of the information includes cell information identifying a plurality of cells which are identical or replacement to a first cell which corresponds to the configuration information, and the verifying is performed by using the cell information in a case where the UE is out of coverage of the first cell and in coverage of a second cell included in the plurality of cells indicated by the cell information was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the R1 to use the information includes cell information identifying a plurality of cells which are identical or replacement to a first cell which corresponds to the configuration information, and the verifying is performed by using the cell information in a case where the UE is out of coverage of the first cell and in coverage of a second cell included in the plurality of cells indicated by the cell information. The technical reasoning to combine would be to increase efficiency and design choice.
For claim 12, R1 discloses applying the configuration information in a case that the UE camps on a cell that belongs to the at least one non-terrestrial cell based on the coverage information; and keeping the configuration information in a case that the UE is out of coverage based on the coverage information (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of applying the configuration information in a case that the UE camps on a cell that belongs to the at least one non-terrestrial cell based on the coverage information; and keeping the configuration information in a case that the UE is out of coverage based on the coverage information was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the R1 to use applying the configuration information in a case that the UE camps on a cell that belongs to the at least one non-terrestrial cell based on the coverage information; and keeping the configuration information in a case that the UE is out of coverage based on the coverage information. The technical reasoning to combine would be to increase efficiency and design choice.
For claim 14, R1 discloses receiving information identifying a number of occasions that the UE is allowed to miss the preconfigured uplink resources before releasing the configuration information, wherein the number of occasions identifies a number of occasions within at least one predetermined period during which the UE is in coverage of the at least one non- terrestrial cell (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of receiving information identifying a number of occasions that the UE is allowed to miss the preconfigured uplink resources before releasing the configuration information, wherein the number of occasions identifies a number of occasions within at least one predetermined period during which the UE is in coverage of the at least one non- terrestrial cell was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the R1 to use receiving information identifying a number of occasions that the UE is allowed to miss the preconfigured uplink resources before releasing the configuration information, wherein the number of occasions identifies a number of occasions within at least one predetermined period during which the UE is in coverage of the at least one non- terrestrial cell. The technical reasoning to combine would be to increase efficiency and design choice.
For claim 23, R1 discloses the controlling the validity of the timing advance value includes ignoring the timer in a case that the UE is using non- terrestrial services or in a case that the UE is camping on one of the at least one non- terrestrial cell (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of the controlling the validity of the timing advance value includes ignoring the timer in a case that the UE is using non- terrestrial services or in a case that the UE is camping on one of the at least one non- terrestrial cell was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the R1 to use the controlling the validity of the timing advance value includes ignoring the timer in a case that the UE is using non- terrestrial services or in a case that the UE is camping on one of the at least one non- terrestrial cell. The technical reasoning to combine would be to increase efficiency and design choice.
For claim 24, R1 discloses controlling the validity of the timing advance value includes: starting the timer, and treating the timing advance value as valid upon expiry of the timer in a case that the UE is using non-terrestrial services or in a case that the UE is camping on one of the at least one non-terrestrial cell (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, 6 [and description of fig 6] pages 4-6). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of controlling the validity of the timing advance value includes: starting the timer, and treating the timing advance value as valid upon expiry of the timer in a case that the UE is using non-terrestrial services or in a case that the UE is camping on one of the at least one non-terrestrial cell was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the R1 to use controlling the validity of the timing advance value includes: starting the timer, and treating the timing advance value as valid upon expiry of the timer in a case that the UE is using non-terrestrial services or in a case that the UE is camping on one of the at least one non-terrestrial cell. The technical reasoning to combine would be to increase efficiency and design choice.
For claim 25, R1 discloses the controlling the validity of the timing advance value includes stopping the timer upon changing a serving cell from a cell in which the configuration information was received to a different cell (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of the controlling the validity of the timing advance value includes stopping the timer upon changing a serving cell from a cell in which the configuration information was received to a different cell was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the R1 to use the controlling the validity of the timing advance value includes stopping the timer upon changing a serving cell from a cell in which the configuration information was received to a different cell. The technical reasoning to combine would be to increase efficiency and design choice.
For claim 28, R1 discloses the controlling the validity of the timing advance value includes not applying a timer associated with the different cell (paragraphs 25-30, 150-160, Fig 1-2, pages 4-6). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of controlling the validity of the timing advance value includes not applying a timer associated with the different cell was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the R1 to use controlling the validity of the timing advance value includes not applying a timer associated with the different cell. The technical reasoning to combine would be to increase efficiency and design choice.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Wu et al (US 2022/0124795) discloses RRC idle state.
/CHRISTOPHER R CROMPTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463