DETAILED ACTION
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “the precursor” (cl 8:3,4, and 5) lack antecedent basis in the claim.
Corrections are required.
Claim(s) 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP2219842.
1. (Currently Amended) A method for forming a fibre article, the method comprising:
providing a former (EP2219842: tool 100) having a contoured forming surface, the forming surface comprising a plurality of concavities (EP2219842: figs 4A-4B and 5A-5D; cavities) each surrounded by a prominence (EP2219842: lip 17 and landing outside of the lip) and a part of the prominence of one concavity is shared with a part of the prominence of another cavity (EP2219842: figs 4A-4B and 5A-5D; some lips 17 and landings outside of the lips are shared with an adjacent lip and landing);
locating a fibre preform between a first diaphragm and a second diaphragm (EP2219842: [0004]);
drawing a vacuum between the first and second diaphragms so as to hold the preform captive between the diaphragms (EP2219842: [0004]);
displacing the second diaphragm towards the former so as to bring the second diaphragm into contact with the prominences of the former to seal against the prominences to form respective first regions defined by the respective concavity and a portion of the second diaphragm and a second region defined by the forming surface outside of the concavities and the second diaphragm (EP2219842: [0020-0022 and 0028]; fig 4A-4B and 5A-5D);
drawing a vacuum in each first region in turn so as to bring part of the second diaphragm into conformity with the concavities (EP2219842: [0020-0022 and 0028]; fig 5A-5B);
subsequent to drawing the vacuum in the first region, drawing a vacuum in the second region so as to bring part of the second diaphragm into conformity with the forming surface outside of the concavities (EP2219842: [0020-0022 and 0028]; fig 5B-5C); and
setting the preform in its configuration (EP2219842: [0020-0022 and 0028]; fig 5D).
2. (Currently Amended) [[A ]]Themethod according to claim 1, wherein the former comprises a base and the prominences are further from the base than the concavity (EP2219842: figs 4B and 5A).
3. (Currently Amended) [[A ]]Themethod according to claim 1[[ or 2]]-wherein the prominences have a profile which varies in distance from the concavities (EP2219842: figs 4B and 5A; the profile of lip 17 varies in distance from the cavity).
4. (Currently Amended) [[A ]]Themethod according to any preceding claim 1,wherein bringing the second diaphragm into contact with the prominences of the former causes the second diaphragm to bridge over the concavities to form the first regions (EP2219842: figs 5B-5D).
5. (Currently Amended) [[A ]]Themethod according to any preceding claim 1,wherein the former comprises at least one channel running through the former from each respective concavity, and drawing a vacuum in each respective first region comprises drawing the vacuum through the at least one channel (EP2219842: [0020-0022, and 0028]; figs 5B).
6. (Currently Amended) [[A ]]Themethod according to claim 5, the method comprising locating the former on a forming platform, the forming platform comprising at least one orifice, so that the at least one channel is in fluid communication with the at least one orifice; wherein drawing a vacuum in each respective first region comprises drawing the vacuum through the at least one orifice (EP2219842: [0026]; figs 4C, 4D, and 4E).
7. (Currently Amended) [[A ]]Themethod according to any preceding claim 1,wherein at the locating step the first diaphragm is offset from the forming surface (EP2219842: fig 5A; diaphragm 3B is offset from the forming surface).
9. (Currently Amended) [[A ]]Themethod according to any preceding claim 1,wherein the fibre preform comprises multiple sheets of fibre material laminated into a stack (EP2219842: [000]; composite stack of fiber).
11. (Currently Amended) [[A ]]Themethod according to any preceding claim 1,wherein the diaphragms are elastic (EP2219842: [0004]; flexible diaphragm 3A/3B).
Claim(s) 8, 10, 12, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2219842 as applied to claim 1 above. The above teachings of EP2219842 are incorporated hereinafter.
Regarding claim 8, EP2219842 teaches the preform having a heat-activatable binder (EP2219842: [0039]; resin constitutes the binder); and heat is applied to the preform between the diaphragms (EP2219842: [0002]). However, EP2219842 does not teach ceasing the heat prior to the displacing step. Since it is well-known in the vacuum thermoforming art to stop heat before forming in order to allow for impregnation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to stop the heating of the preform before the displacing step of EP2219842 in order to allow for sufficient resin impregnation of the fibers.
Regarding claim 10, EP2219842 does not teach the fiber material being a sheet of woven fiber material. Since it is well-known in the fiber impregnation art to impregnate sheets of woven fiber material, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a sheet of woven fiber material in the process of EP2219842 in order to form diverse products.
Regarding claim 12, EP2219842 does not teach the preform being a structural part of a vehicle. Since fibrous structural vehicle parts are well-known in the resin impregnated fiber part for their weight and strength, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to efficiently mold fibrous structural vehicle parts by the process of EP2219842.
Regarding claim 13, EP2219842 does not teach the preform being an automobile tub. Since fibrous structural vehicle parts like automobile tubs are well-known in the resin impregnated fiber part for their weight and strength, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to efficiently mold automobile tubs by the process of EP2219842.
Regarding claim 12, EP2219842 does not teach the preform being a structural part of an aircraft. Since fibrous structural vehicle parts like for an aircraft are well-known in the resin impregnated fiber part for their weight and strength, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to efficiently mold fibrous structural aircraft parts by the process of EP2219842.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teach vacuum forming processes for forming a resin impregnated fibrous material using diaphragms: US2019/0016063; USPN9259859; GB2452298; EP0410599; and WO02/02299.
EHL
/EDMUND H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744