DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-23 are pending.
Priority
Instant application 18/835,559, filed 08/02/2024 claims priority as follows:
Information Disclosure Statement
All references from IDS(s) received 07/21/2025 have been considered unless marked with a strikethrough.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “fat reduction approximately 40%” has a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “about” in claims 15-18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The specification states at para [0029] that:
The above passage provides multiple definitions for the term “about” which, depending on the definition applied to the claims, result in different claim scope. For example, if “about” means +/- 10%, that results in different claim scope than when “about” means +/- 2%, or when “about” means the specified value. Accordingly, the term “about” in claims 15-18 renders these claims indefinite.
The term “approximately” in claim 21 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “approximately” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
It is unclear what range of percentages is intended to be covered by the recitation of “approximately 40%”. And because claim 21 has a typographical error (“experiences fat reduction approximately 40%”) it is even more unclear how “approximately” should be interpreted. Does the claim intend to recite fat reduction greater than approximately 40%? Fat reduction less than approximately 40%? Fat reduction equal to approximately 40%? It is unclear and the Specification does not provide guidance because the same typographical error is present there (see, e.g. para. [0062]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11, 19, 20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KHAN (US 20190337903 A1; cited in IDS).
Khan discloses a method of reducing adiposity…in a mammal comprising administering to the mammal an effective amount of 5-[(2,4-dinitrophenoxy)methyl]-1-methyl-2-nitro-1H-imidazole (“Compound 1”) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (Khan, claims 1 and 10).
With respect to claim 1, Khan’s patient population for “reducing adiposity” is being interpreted as reading on the patient population for “preserving skeletal muscle mass during bodyweight reduction”. The phrase “reducing adiposity” specifically means reducing body fat which is in contrast to reducing body weight (which includes body fat as well as muscle mass, bone mass, and water weight). Therefore, Khan anticipates claim 1 because it discloses administering Compound 1 to the same patient population.
With respect to claim 2, Khan’s method specifically recites “reducing adiposity” which is bodyweight reduction attributed to fat reduction.
With respect to claims 3 and 4, Khan discloses that Compound 1 is useful for treating obesity or reducing adiposity in a mammal in need thereof ([0097]); and discloses a method of treating obesity or excess body fat comprising administering Compound 1 (claim 5). Khan discloses the treatment of dyslipidemia (claim 6). Khan therefore anticipates claims 3 and 4.
With respect to claims 5 and 6, Khan also discloses the treatment of diabetes (claim 3) and type 2 diabetes (T2DM) with Compound 1 (claims 3 and 5). Khan therefore anticipates claims 5 and 6.
With respect to claim 7, Khan also discloses the treatment of NAFLD and NASH with Compound 1 (claim 4). Therefore, Khan anticipates claim 7.
With respect to claim 11, Khan discloses “controlling or preventing of weight gain” which is being interpreted as reading on “slows the progression of obesity”. Khan therefore anticipates claim 11.
With respect to claim 19, Khan discloses administering Compound 1 once daily and discloses administering Compound 1 once daily to diabetic fatty rats (e.g., [0109], [0141], [0149]). Khan therefore anticipates claim 19.
Claims 20 and 22-23 recite limitations which are expressions of the intended result of a process step positively recited. As noted in MPEP 2111.04, “a ‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’” In the instant case, the results (fat reduction greater than 5%, 10%, 20%, 30%, or 40%; or reduction of lipids, blood pressure, or liver fat) are the biological consequence of administering Compound 1 to the claimed patient population. They do not distinguish from the prior art because the prior art teaches the same active step(s) of administering Compound 1 to the same patient population. Therefore, Khan anticipates claims 20 and 22-23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11, 19, 20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHAN (US 20190337903 A1; cited in IDS) in view of AXELROD (The FASEB Journal, vol. 35, no. S1, May 2021).
While Khan’s patient population for “reducing adiposity” is being interpreted as reading on the patient population for “preserving skeletal muscle mass during bodyweight reduction”, Khan does not explicitly state that the method preserves muscle mass during bodyweight reduction as recited by the claims. Therefore, should it be found that Khan does not anticipate claims 1-7, 11, 19, 20, and 22-23 as set forth in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 above, the present rejection is also being applied in the alternative to those claims, and additionally includes claims 8-9.
The teachings of Khan are disclosed above and at least those teachings are incorporated herein by reference. Khan discloses the mitochondrial uncoupler 5-[(2,4-dinitrophenoxy)methyl]-1-methyl-2-nitro-1H-imidazole (hereinafter “Compound 1”) (Khan, abstract, paras. [0005], [0006]); and the use of the compound for treating obesity, diabetes, or insulin resistance or intolerance (claim 3); non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD), non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH), hepatic steatosis, or type 2 diabetes (T2DM) (Khan, claim 4); obesity, or excess body fat (claim 5); dyslipidemia (claim 6); and for reducing adiposity, controlling or preventing of weight gain in a mammal (claim 10).
While Khan does not explicitly state that Compound 1 “preserves muscle mass during bodyweight reduction”, it was known in the prior art that mitochondrial uncouplers (a class of compounds that includes Compound 1) were effective for reducing body fat while preserving muscle mass.
For example, AXELROD teaches that the mitochondrial uncoupling reverses sarcopenic obesity while enhancing glucose homeostasis and muscle function in aged C57BL/6J mice (Axelrod, title, abstract). In particular, Axelrod teaches that administering the mitochondrial uncoupler BAM15 to 80-week old male C57BL/6J mice resulted in a reduction in body weight by increasing energy expenditure without altering food intake; and that BAM15 reduced body fat while preserving lean mass, increasing muscle strength, and locomotor activity (Axelrod, abstract). As stated in Axelrod, “Taken together, these data indicate that reducing mitochondrial coupling efficiency protects against age-related decline in muscle function while improving peripheral metabolic health” (Axelrod, abstract).
Finding of prima facie obviousness
The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. See MPEP 2143.
Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Applying KSR example rationale (A) and/or (G), it would have been prima facie obvious to administer Compound 1 to preserve skeletal muscle mass during bodyweight reduction in a subject in need thereof, including subjects suffering from obesity, excess body fat, diabetes, high blood pressure, dyslipidemia, hypertriglyceridemia, lipodystrophy, metabolic syndrome, diabetes, T2DM, NAFLD, NASH, sarcopenia, and/or sarcopenic obesity. A skilled artisan would have enjoyed a reasonable expectation of success in view of Khan’s teachings that Compound 1 is a metabolic uncoupler useful for reducing adiposity and treating obesity, diabetes, etc.; and in view of Axelrod’s teachings that mitochondrial uncouplers are useful for reversing sarcopenic obesity while preserving lean muscle mass.
Accordingly, claims 1-9, 11, 19, 20, and 22-23 are obvious over Khan in view of Axelrod.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHAN in view of AXELROD, further in view of CRUZ-JENTOFT (Age and Ageing, vol. 48, no. 1, Jan. 2019, pp. 16–31.).
The teachings of Khan in view of Axelrod are disclosed above and at least those
teachings are incorporated herein by reference. Khan in view of Axelrod teaches the method of claim 1.
With respect to claim 10, Khan in view of Axelrod teaches treating sarcopenia but does not specifically teach that the subject suffers from decreased muscle mass, loss of muscle mass, muscle weakness, decline in muscle strength, slow walking speed, or difficulty performing normal daily activities.
However, it was known in the prior art that the criteria recited in claim 10 are diagnostic criteria for sarcopenia. See, for example, Cruz-Jentoft, page 19, Table 2, which lists gait speed, skeletal muscle strength, skeletal muscle mass, and short physical performance battery, as indicators for sarcopenia case finding; and Table 1 which lists low muscle strength, low muscle quantity or quality, and low physical performance as an operational definition of sarcopenia.
Applying KSR example rationale (G), it would have been prima facie obvious to administer Compound 1 to preserve skeletal muscle mass during bodyweight reduction in a subject in need thereof, including subjects suffering from sarcopenia or sarcopenic obesity having decreased muscle mass, loss of muscle mass, muscle weakness, etc. A skilled artisan would have enjoyed a reasonable expectation of success in view of Khan’s teachings that Compound 1 is a metabolic uncoupler useful for reducing adiposity and treating obesity; and in view of Axelrod’s teachings that mitochondrial uncouplers are useful for reversing sarcopenic obesity while preserving lean muscle mass.
Accordingly, claim 10 is obvious over Khan in view of Axelrod and Cruz-Jentoft.
Claims 12-13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHAN in view of AXELROD, further in view of ADA (Diabetes Care, vol. 37, no. Supplement_1, Jan. 2014, pp. S81–90).
The teachings of Khan in view of Axelrod are disclosed above and at least those
teachings are incorporated herein by reference. Khan in view of Axelrod teaches the method of claim 1.
With respect to claims 12-13, Khan teaches treating diabetes but does not specifically disclose that the subject has an abnormal or elevated HbA1c (also known as “A1C”) level.
However, it was known in the prior art that an abnormal, elevated A1C level was a diagnostic criterion for diabetes patients. See, for example, ADA, Table 3, titled “Criteria for the diagnosis of diabetes”:
Applying KSR example rationale (G), it would have been prima facie obvious to administer Compound 1 to preserve skeletal muscle mass during bodyweight reduction in a subject in need thereof, including subjects suffering from diabetes having an abnormal or elevated A1C level. A skilled artisan would have enjoyed a reasonable expectation of success in view of Khan’s teachings that Compound 1 is a metabolic uncoupler useful for reducing adiposity and treating obesity and diabetes; and in view of Axelrod’s teachings that mitochondrial uncouplers are useful for reversing sarcopenic obesity while preserving lean muscle mass.
Claim 21 recites limitations which are expressions of the intended result of a process step positively recited. As noted in MPEP 2111.04, “a ‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’” In the instant case, the results (“fat reduction approximately 40%”) are the biological consequence of administering Compound 1 to the claimed patient population. They do not distinguish from the prior art because the prior art teaches the same active step(s) of administering Compound 1 to the same patient population.
Accordingly, claims 12-13 and 21 are obvious over Khan in view of Axelrod and ADA.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHAN in view of AXELROD, further in view of JIA (US 20190285656 A1).
The teachings of Khan in view of Axelrod are disclosed above and at least those
teachings are incorporated herein by reference. Khan in view of Axelrod teaches the method of claim 1.
With respect to claim 14, Khan teaches treating obesity but does not specifically disclose that the subject has a BMI greater than 28 kg/m2.
However, it was known in the prior art that a BMI greater than 28 kg/m2 was a diagnostic criterion for obesity patients. See, for example, JIA, para. [0222], under “Diagnostic Criteria”:
Applying KSR example rationale (G), it would have been prima facie obvious to administer Compound 1 to preserve skeletal muscle mass during bodyweight reduction in a subject in need thereof, including subjects suffering from obesity having BMI greater than 28 kg/m2. A skilled artisan would have enjoyed a reasonable expectation of success in view of Khan’s teachings that Compound 1 is a metabolic uncoupler useful for reducing adiposity and treating obesity; and in view of Axelrod’s teachings that mitochondrial uncouplers are useful for reversing sarcopenic obesity while preserving lean muscle mass.
Accordingly, claims 14 is obvious over Khan in view of Axelrod and Jia.
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHAN in view of AXELROD, further in view of NAIR (Journal of Basic and Clinical Pharmacy, vol. 7, no. 2, 2016, p. 27).
The teachings of Khan in view of Axelrod are disclosed above and at least those
teachings are incorporated herein by reference. Khan in view of Axelrod teaches the method of claim 1.
With respect to claims 15-18, Khan teaches dosing amounts in units of mg/kg rather than mg. For example, Khan teaches amounts of about 0.01 mg/kg, about 0.1 mg/kg, about 1 mg/kg, about 10 mg/kg, and about 100 mg/kg (Khan, [0117]).
Khan and Axelrod do not teach doses in mg as required by the instant claims.
However, NAIR is drawn to a guide for dose conversion between species; and provides in Table 1 a reference body weight for various species. In particular, the reference body weight in humans provided by Nair is 60 kg (Nair, Table 1).
Applying KSR example rationale (G), it would have been prima facie obvious to convert the doses contemplated by Khan (in mg/kg) into milligrams using adult human reference weight taught by Nair. The doses resulting from the conversion of Nair’s 1 mg/kg and 10 mg/kg include 60 mg and 600 mg, which read on claims 15-18.
Moreover, differences in result-effective variables will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating the value of the result-effective variable is critical. See MPEP 2144.05. In the instant case, the dose of Compound 1 is considered a result-effective variable that impacts, for example, the occurrence of undesired side effects in a patient. Absent a showing that the recited doses are critical, optimizing result-effective variables is deemed routine optimization.
Accordingly, claims 15-18 are obvious over Khan in view of Axelrod and Nair.
Double Patenting
US 10,618,875
Claims 1-7, 11, 19, 20, and 22-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,618,875 (“the reference patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The reference patent recites a method of reducing adiposity…in a mammal comprising administering to the mammal an effective amount of 5-[(2,4-dinitrophenoxy)methyl]-1-methyl-2-nitro-1H-imidazole (“Compound 1”) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (Reference patent, claims 1 and 11).
With respect to claim 1, the reference patent patient population for “reducing adiposity” is being interpreted as reading on the patient population for “preserving skeletal muscle mass during bodyweight reduction”. The phrase “reducing adiposity” specifically means reducing body fat which is in contrast to reducing body weight (which includes body fat as well as muscle mass, bone mass, and water weight). Therefore, the reference patent anticipates claim 1 because it discloses administering Compound 1 to the same patient population.
With respect to claim 2, the reference patent’s method specifically recites “reducing adiposity” which is bodyweight reduction attributed to fat reduction.
With respect to claims 3 and 4, the reference patent recites a method for treating obesity or reducing adiposity in a mammal in need thereof (claim 11) and recites a method of treating obesity or excess body fat comprising administering Compound 1 (claim 6). The reference patent also recites the treatment of dyslipidemia (claim 7).
With respect to claims 5 and 6, the reference patent also recites the treatment of diabetes (claim 4) and type 2 diabetes (T2DM) with Compound 1 (claims 4 and 5).
With respect to claim 7, the reference patent also discloses the treatment of NAFLD and NASH with Compound 1 (claim 5).
With respect to claim 11, the reference patent recites “controlling or preventing of weight gain” which is being interpreted as reading on “slows the progression of obesity”.
With respect to claim 19, support for the term “effective amount” recited in the claims of the reference patent includes Example 6 (col 24, lines 14-22), which discloses administering Compound 1 once daily to diabetic fatty rats.
Claims 20 and 22-23 recite limitations which are expressions of the intended result of a process step positively recited. As noted in MPEP 2111.04, “a ‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’” In the instant case, the results (fat reduction greater than 5%, 10%, 20%, 30%, or 40%; or reduction of lipids, blood pressure, or liver fat) are the biological consequence of administering Compound 1 to the claimed patient population. They do not distinguish from the reference patent because the reference patent teaches the same active step(s) of administering Compound 1 to the same patient population.
Claims 1-9, 11, 19, 20, and 22-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,618,875 in view of AXELROD (The FASEB Journal, vol. 35, no. S1, May 2021).
While the reference patent’s patient population for “reducing adiposity” is being interpreted as reading on the patient population for “preserving skeletal muscle mass during bodyweight reduction”, the reference patent does not explicitly state that the method preserves muscle mass during bodyweight reduction as recited by the claims. Therefore, should it be found that the reference patent does not anticipate claims 1-7, 11, 19, 20, and 22-23 as set forth in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 above, the present rejection is also being applied in the alternative to those claims, and additionally includes claims 8-9.
The recitations of the reference patent are disclosed above and at least those teachings are incorporated herein by reference. The reference patent recites administering 5-[(2,4-dinitrophenoxy)methyl]-1-methyl-2-nitro-1H-imidazole (hereinafter “Compound 1”) to treat obesity, diabetes, or insulin resistance or intolerance (claim 4); non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD), non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH), hepatic steatosis, or type 2 diabetes (T2DM) (Khan, claim 5); obesity, or excess body fat (claim 6); dyslipidemia (claim 7); and for reducing adiposity, controlling or preventing of weight gain in a mammal (claim 11).
While the reference patent does not explicitly recite that Compound 1 “preserves muscle mass during bodyweight reduction”, it was known in the prior art that mitochondrial uncouplers (a class of compounds that includes Compound 1) were effective for reducing body fat while preserving muscle mass.
For example, AXELROD teaches that the mitochondrial uncoupling reverses sarcopenic obesity while enhancing glucose homeostasis and muscle function in aged C57BL/6J mice (Axelrod, title, abstract). In particular, Axelrod teaches that administering the mitochondrial uncoupler BAM15 to 80-week old male C57BL/6J mice resulted in a reduction in body weight by increasing energy expenditure without altering food intake; and that BAM15 reduced body fat while preserving lean mass, increasing muscle strength, and locomotor activity (Axelrod, abstract). As stated in Axelrod, “Taken together, these data indicate that reducing mitochondrial coupling efficiency protects against age-related decline in muscle function while improving peripheral metabolic health” (Axelrod, abstract).
Applying KSR example rationale (A) and/or (G), it would have been prima facie obvious to administer Compound 1 to preserve skeletal muscle mass during bodyweight reduction in a subject in need thereof, including subjects suffering from obesity, excess body fat, diabetes, high blood pressure, dyslipidemia, hypertriglyceridemia, lipodystrophy, metabolic syndrome, diabetes, T2DM, NAFLD, NASH, sarcopenia, and/or sarcopenic obesity. A skilled artisan would have enjoyed a reasonable expectation of success in view of the recitations of the reference patent that Compound 1 is useful for reducing adiposity and treating obesity, diabetes, etc.; and in view of Axelrod’s teachings that mitochondrial uncouplers are useful for reversing sarcopenic obesity while preserving lean muscle mass.
Accordingly, claims 1-9, 11, 19, 20, and 22-23 are unpatentable over the reference patent in view of Axelrod.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,618,875 in view of AXELROD (The FASEB Journal, vol. 35, no. S1, May 2021), further in view of CRUZ-JENTOFT (Age and Ageing, vol. 48, no. 1, Jan. 2019, pp. 16–31.).
The recitations and teachings of the reference patent in view of Axelrod are disclosed above and at least those recitations and teachings are incorporated herein by reference. The reference patent in view of Axelrod teaches the method of claim 1.
With respect to claim 10, the reference patent in view of Axelrod teaches treating sarcopenia but does not specifically teach that the subject suffers from decreased muscle mass, loss of muscle mass, muscle weakness, decline in muscle strength, slow walking speed, or difficulty performing normal daily activities.
However, it was known in the prior art that the criteria recited in claim 10 are diagnostic criteria for sarcopenia. See, for example, Cruz-Jentoft, page 19, Table 2, which lists gait speed, skeletal muscle strength, skeletal muscle mass, and short physical performance battery, as indicators for sarcopenia case finding; and Table 1 which lists low muscle strength, low muscle quantity or quality, and low physical performance as an operational definition of sarcopenia.
Applying KSR example rationale (G), it would have been prima facie obvious to administer Compound 1 to preserve skeletal muscle mass during bodyweight reduction in a subject in need thereof, including subjects suffering from sarcopenia or sarcopenic obesity having decreased muscle mass, loss of muscle mass, muscle weakness, etc. A skilled artisan would have enjoyed a reasonable expectation of success in view of the reference patent’s recitation that Compound 1 is useful for reducing adiposity and treating obesity; and in view of Axelrod’s teachings that mitochondrial uncouplers are useful for reversing sarcopenic obesity while preserving lean muscle mass.
3. Claims 12-13 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,618,875 in view of AXELROD (The FASEB Journal, vol. 35, no. S1, May 2021), further in view of ADA (Diabetes Care, vol. 37, no. Supplement_1, Jan. 2014, pp. S81–90).
The recitations and teachings of the reference patent in view of Axelrod are disclosed above and at least those recitations and teachings are incorporated herein by reference. The reference patent in view of Axelrod teaches the method of claim 1.
With respect to claims 12-13, the reference patent in view of Axelrod teaches treating diabetes but does not specifically teach that the subject has an abnormal or elevated HbA1c (also known as “A1C”) level.
However, it was known in the prior art that an abnormal, elevated A1C level was a diagnostic criterion for diabetes patients. See, for example, ADA, Table 3, titled “Criteria for the diagnosis of diabetes”:
Applying KSR example rationale (G), it would have been prima facie obvious to administer Compound 1 to preserve skeletal muscle mass during bodyweight reduction in a subject in need thereof, including subjects suffering from diabetes having an abnormal or elevated A1C level. A skilled artisan would have enjoyed a reasonable expectation of success in view of the reference patent’s recitation that Compound 1 is a metabolic uncoupler useful for reducing adiposity and treating obesity and diabetes; and in view of Axelrod’s teachings that mitochondrial uncouplers are useful for reversing sarcopenic obesity while preserving lean muscle mass.
Claim 21 recites limitations which are expressions of the intended result of a process step positively recited. As noted in MPEP 2111.04, “a ‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’” In the instant case, the results (“fat reduction approximately 40%”) are the biological consequence of administering Compound 1 to the claimed patient population. They do not distinguish from the prior art because the prior art teaches the same active step(s) of administering Compound 1 to the same patient population.
4. Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,618,875 in view of AXELROD (The FASEB Journal, vol. 35, no. S1, May 2021), further in view of JIA (US 20190285656 A1).
The recitations and teachings of the reference patent in view of Axelrod are disclosed above and at least those recitations and teachings are incorporated herein by reference. The reference patent in view of Axelrod teaches the method of claim 1.
With respect to claim 14, the reference patent in view of Axelrod teaches treating obesity but does not specifically teach that the subject has a BMI greater than 28 kg/m2.
However, it was known in the prior art that a BMI greater than 28 kg/m2 was a diagnostic criterion for obesity patients. See, for example, JIA, para. [0222], under “Diagnostic Criteria”:
Applying KSR example rationale (G), it would have been prima facie obvious to administer Compound 1 to preserve skeletal muscle mass during bodyweight reduction in a subject in need thereof, including subjects suffering from obesity having BMI greater than 28 kg/m2. A skilled artisan would have enjoyed a reasonable expectation of success in view of the reference patent’s recitation that Compound 1 is a metabolic uncoupler useful for reducing adiposity and treating obesity; and in view of Axelrod’s teachings that mitochondrial uncouplers are useful for reversing sarcopenic obesity while preserving lean muscle mass.
5. Claims 15-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,618,875 in view of AXELROD (The FASEB Journal, vol. 35, no. S1, May 2021), further in view of NAIR (Journal of Basic and Clinical Pharmacy, vol. 7, no. 2, 2016, p. 27).
The recitations and teachings of the reference patent in view of Axelrod are disclosed above and at least those recitations and teachings are incorporated herein by reference. The reference patent in view of Axelrod teaches the method of claim 1.
With respect to claims 15-18, the reference patent in view of Axelrod teaches dosing amounts in units of mg/kg rather than mg. For example, support for the term “effective amount” in the reference patent includes amounts of about 0.01 mg/kg, about 0.1 mg/kg, about 1 mg/kg, about 10 mg/kg, and about 100 mg/kg (Col. 20, lines 1-5).
The reference patent and Axelrod do not teach doses in mg as required by the instant claims.
However, NAIR is drawn to a guide for dose conversion between species; and provides in Table 1 a reference body weight for various species. In particular, the reference body weight in humans provided by Nair is 60 kg (Nair, Table 1).
Applying KSR example rationale (G), it would have been prima facie obvious to convert the doses of the reference patent into milligrams using adult human reference weight taught by Nair. The doses resulting from the conversion of Nair’s 1 mg/kg and 10 mg/kg include 60 mg and 600 mg, which read on claims 15-18.
Moreover, differences in result-effective variables will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating the value of the result-effective variable is critical. See MPEP 2144.05. In the instant case, the dose of Compound 1 is considered a result-effective variable that impacts, for example, the occurrence of undesired side effects in a patient. Absent a showing that the recited doses are critical, optimizing result-effective variables is deemed routine optimization.
18/835,578
Claims 1-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 10-13, 16, 19-21, 23, 29-30, 32-33, 38, 42-43, and 48 of copending Application No. 18/835,578 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claims of the reference application are directed to a method for weight loss in a subject who has an abnormal HbA1c level, comprising administering Compound 1. The described subject population corresponds to prediabetic and diabetic individuals. The method also describes treatment of obesity and excess body fat. A skilled artisan would have found it obvious to treat the currently claimed disease by administering compound 1 in view of the claims of the reference application. The claims of the reference application also recite clinical endpoints recited by the instant claims, such as reduction of body weight, reduction of lipids, reduction of blood pressure, etc.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
18/562,560
Claims 1-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8-9, 13-14, 16, 18, 31-35, 130-131, 136, 138-139, 146-147, 156, and 161-163 of copending Application No. 18/562,560 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claims of the reference application are directed to a method for treating heart failure with preserved ejection fraction in a subject, comprising administering Compound 1. The described subject population corresponds to individuals with cardiovascular disease. The method also describes treatment of obesity, excess body fat, diabetes, lipodystrophy, high blood pressure, etc. A skilled artisan would have found it obvious to treat the currently claimed disease by administering compound 1 in view of the claims of the reference application. The claims of the reference application also recite clinical endpoints recited by the instant claims, such as reduction of body weight, reduction of lipids, reduction of blood pressure, etc.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-23 are rejected.
/K.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621