DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the communication filed 8/20/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardaway (US 2012/0144871 A1) (cited by Applicant) in view of Park et al. (US 2018/0057996 A1).
Re claim 1, Hardaway discloses method for controlling a laundry treating apparatus (¶ [0002]) therein, a heater (ref. 66) configured to heat the drum, and a sensor (ref. 68) configured to sense foam inside the tub, the method comprising:
a sensing step of sensing (¶ [0025], [0031]-[0032] over-sudsing condition is determined), by the sensor, an amount of foam inside the tub; and
a removal step (¶ [0018]-[0032] apply heat), when the amount of foam inside the tube is equal to or greater than a reference amount (¶ [0020] over-sudsing; see also fig. 3 position of sensor 68), of heating the drum by the heater while the drum rotates to remove the foam in contact with the drum (¶ [0032] surface of the treating chamber 16…or other structure…may be heated…The drum 14 may be rotated…; RE “to remove the foam” is a statement of intended use, which does not patentably distinguish over Hardaway, where Hardaway teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (i.e. a heated drum, rotation and foam in contact with the drum) and is capable of and fully expected to remove the foam, as claimed. See MPEP 2114.).
Hardaway does not explicitly disclose the heater generating an eddy current in the drum. However, Park discloses it is well-known in the laundry treating apparatus art (abstract) to provide a heater (ref. 70) configured to heat a drum (ref. 30) by generating an eddy current in the drum (¶ [0016], [0019] coil 74 capable of generating an eddy current…drum 30 may be heated…)
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heater of Hardaway to further include generating an eddy current in the drum, as suggested by Park, in order to uniformly supply heat (Park ¶ [0005]).
Re claims 2-4, Hardaway further discloses wherein the removal step includes: a rotation step of rotating the drum in only one of a clockwise direction and a counterclockwise direction (¶ [0013] various speeds in either rotational direction; Regarding “only” Examiner notes that a drum may only rotate in one direction at a given time, thus satisfying “only” during the specific direction time period); and a rotation heating step of heating the drum via the heater while the rotation step is in progress (¶ [0032]). Regarding “wherein the rotation step includes rotating the drum with a number of rotations creating a centrifugal force smaller than 1G”, the mere optimization of speed such to generate a centrifugal force less than 1G is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art via routine experimentation, where it is known to provide various speeds (Hardaway ¶ [0013]; see MPEP 2144.05(II) Routine Optimization; moreover, it being inherent that any acceleration of the drum includes rotations at less than 1G). Re claims 4-5, Hardaway further discloses wherein the removal step includes: an oscillation step of alternately rotating the drum in a clockwise direction and a counterclockwise direction; and an oscillation heating step of heating the drum via the heater while the oscillation step is in progress (¶ [0013] various speeds in either rotational direction). Re “1G” see rejection to claim 3 above.
Re claims 6-7, Hardaway further discloses a washing water supplying step of supplying water to the tub while the removal step is in progress (¶ [0033] water…may be provided…to eliminate the over-sudsing condition); and a washing water draining step of draining water inside the tub while the removal step is in progress (¶ [0033] to the drain). wherein the washing water supplying step and the washing water draining step are performed sequentially or simultaneously (¶ [0033] [a]dditional spray of liquid may be provided…to further loosen or rinse out remaining suds to the drain).
Re claims 8-12, Hardaway further discloses a tub water supplying step (¶ [0016], ¶ [0026] normal washing operation…having an operational liquid level) of supplying a preset amount of water to the tub, wherein the tub water supplying step is started before the removal step; and a foreign substance separation step of removing foreign substances from the laundry by rotating the drum with a preset first number of rotations (¶ [0026] tumble the laundry), wherein the sensing step is periodically executed while the foreign substance separation step is in progress (¶ [0031], [0036]). Regarding “wherein the removal step includes: a rotation step of rotating the drum in one of a clockwise direction and a counterclockwise direction with a second number of rotations smaller than the first number of rotations; and a rotation heating step of heating the drum via the heater while the rotation step is in progress”, see rejection to claim 2 above (regarding “rotations smaller than the first number”, this is a prima facie obvious optimization of range, here, it being illogical to make the over-sudsing correction process take longer and for more rotations than the main cycle itself, moreso where the agitation from rotation generates suds in the first place, making it obvious that an corrective action is simply for exposing the suds to the heat, rather than generating more by continued agitation). Re claims 10-12, Hardaway further discloses a tub draining step of discharging water inside the tub to the outside of the tub when the amount of foam inside the tub sensed after completion of the removal step is equal to or greater than the reference amount (¶ [0017], [0033]). Regarding “an oscillation step of alternately rotating the drum in a clockwise direction and a counterclockwise direction with a second number of rotations; and an oscillation heating step of heating the drum via the heater while the oscillation step is in progress”, see rejection to claim 4 above. Regarding “wherein a washing water supplying step of supplying water to the tub; and a washing water draining step of draining water inside the tub are executed after completion of the tub draining step” (the continuation of the washing by adding fresh water and continuing the normal washing operation is prima facie obvious; see also ¶ [0035] method incorporated prior to or part of…a wash phase, rinse phase. Here, either the continuation of the wash phase or the rinse phase, satisfies the claim). Hardaway discloses “wherein the washing water supplying step is started before the oscillation step and the oscillation heating step are executed, wherein the washing water draining step is started after the oscillation step and the oscillation heating step are completed” (supply the water…rotate after the water is supplied….to the drain conduit; regarding the draining step after the oscillation, Hardaway discloses the liquid includes bio-reducer ¶ [0034] it therefore being prima facie obvious to avoid draining the bio-reducer until after the reduction process; see fig. 3 showing ref. 94 wash liquid).
Re claims 13-18, Regarding “a dehydration step of separating water from the laundry by rotating the drum with a number of rotations for dehydration creating a centrifugal force equal to or greater than 1G”, Hardaway further discloses a drying phase (¶ [0035]; here, the use of a spin-dry/dewatering/dehydration/extraction cycle at high speeds is simply known in the art), wherein the dehydration step is started before the removal step, wherein the sensing step is periodically executed while the dehydration step is in progress (¶ [0035] any phase…such as…drying phase). Re “a rotation step of rotating the drum in one of a clockwise direction and a counterclockwise direction with a number of rotations creating the centrifugal force equal to or greater than 1G, but smaller than the number of rotations for dehydration; and a rotation heating step of heating the drum via the heater while the rotation step is in progress”, here, it is expected that high speed dehydration will have significantly more rotations than a over-sudsing corrective rotation, where dehydration takes a significant time and rotations and it being prima facie obvious to minimize rotations in a corrective step, where the agitation from rotation generated the sudsing. Regarding “wherein a rotation direction of the drum set in the rotation step is the same as a rotation direction of the drum set in the dehydration step”, the selection of one of two rotational directions is prima facie obvious selection from a known limited number of choices. Re claim 16-18, claims 16-18 recite limitations substantively identical to those rejected above. See rejections to claims 4, 6 and 11-12.
Re claims 19-20, claims 19-20 recited limitations substantively identical to those rejected above. See rejection to claims 6-7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that Hardaway does not disclose “a removal step…of heating the drum by the heater while the drum rotates to remove the foam in contact with drum”, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Here, Applicant appears to agree that Hardaway determines an over-sudsing condition (¶ [0032] “Once the over-sudsing condition is determined”), then heats the drum (¶ [0032] surface of the treating chamber 16….may be heated) and rotates the drum (¶ [0032] “The drum 14 may be rotated”). At issue is Applicant’s intended use “to remove the foam in contact with the drum” in contrast to Hardaway’s stated intended use “to treat for biofilm”. Here, as seen in Hardaway Fig. 3, the suds/foam are in contact with the surface of the treating chamber 16 of the drum 14 and the surface of the drum is heated and rotated (¶ [0032]). As such, Hardaway meets all the structural elements of the claim, i.e. a heated drum, rotation and contact with foam, and is capable of and fully expected to “remove the foam”, as claimed by Applicant.
The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In response to Applicant’s arguments that Hardaway further teaches liquid. Examiner notes the citation in question is “Liquid, such as water or other treating chemistry, may be used, with or without heat, to eliminate the over-sudsing condition” (emphasis added). Applicant’s claims are open-ended “comprising” and does not preclude the additional use of liquid. In fact, Applicant’s invention appears to contemplate the addition of water similar to Hardaway (claim 6). Here, where Hardaway teaches all the structural requirements of the claim, i.e. heat, rotation and suds in contact with the drum, the claim is met.
Nonetheless, solely for Applicant’s convenience, Examiner has cited prior art in the conclusion that explicitly teaches that heat removes suds/foam by making heating the air in the foam bubbles such that the bubbles burst.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DE 4104151 A1 note air in the foam bubbles heat up and the foam bubbles burst.
WO 2016156069 A1 note foam controlled by heating the foam bubbles which are thereby burst.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KEVIN G. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/KEVIN G LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711