DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on 08/02/2024.
Claims 1-11 and 13 are currently pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rahman et al. (US 2023/0337250 A1; hereafter RAHMAN).
With respect to claim 1, RAHMAN discloses a method (Abstract; Title) performed by a user equipment (UE) (114, 115, 116 UEs in FIG. 1) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving configuration information on one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (2100 in FIG. 21; 2202, 2204, 2206, 2208, 2210 in FIG. 22);
receiving information related to activation or deactivation of at least one TCI state among the one or more TCI states (2100 in FIG. 21; 2202, 2204, 2206, 2208, 2210 in FIG. 22); and
receiving a specific value through downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (2100 in FIG. 21; 2202, 2204, 2206, 2208, 2210 in FIG. 22),
wherein, based on the TCI state mapped to the specific value being activated, the PDSCH is received based on the TCI state (2100 in FIG. 21; 2202, 2204, 2206, 2208, 2210 in FIG. 22), and
wherein, based on the TCI state mapped to the specific value being deactivated, the DCI is ignored (paragraph [0146], see the UE using the default beam when no configuration is ready) by the UE (2100 in FIG. 21; 2202, 2204, 2206, 2208, 2210 in FIG. 22).
With respect to claim 2, RAHMAN further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
based on the TCI state mapped to the specific value being deactivated, transmitting negative acknowledgment (NACK) information for the PDSCH (paragraph [0085])
With respect to claim 3, RAHMAN further discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the PDSCH corresponds to a group common-based PDSCH for one or more UEs (paragraph [0085]).
With respect to claim 4, RAHMAN further discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the DCI corresponds to a DCI format scrambled by a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) (paragraphs [0176] and [0177]).
With respect to claim 5, RAHMAN further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the specific value indicates one of codepoints of the TCI field in the DCI (paragraphs [0176] and [0177]).
With respect to claim 6, RAHMAN further discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the codepoints of the TCI field are set to be UE-specific (paragraphs [0176] and [0177]).
With respect to claim 7, RAHMAN further discloses the method of claim 5,
wherein the codepoints of the TCI field are determined based on whether a specific bit (paragraph [0154]) in the DCI is toggled (paragraphs [0176] and [0177]).
With respect to claim 8, RAHMAN further discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein information related to activation or deactivation of the at least one TCI state is received through a UE-specific medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) (paragraph [0110]).
With respect to claim 9, RAHMAN further discloses the method of claim 8,
wherein the mapping between the specific value and a TCI state is applied after a pre- defined time interval based on the transmission timing of hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information (paragraph [0085]) for the UE-specific MAC-CE (paragraph [0110]).
With respect to claim 10, RAHMAN further discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the configuration information is received through a UE-specific radio resource control (RRC) message (paragraph [0106]).
With respect to claim 11, RAHMAN discloses a user equipment (UE) (114, 115, 116 UEs in FIG. 1) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising:
at least one transceiver (325, 315 in FIG. 3) for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal (305 in FIG. 3); and
at least one processor (340 in FIG. 3) for controlling the at least one transceiver (325, 315 in FIG. 3),
wherein the at least one processor configured to:
receive configuration information on one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (2100 in FIG. 21; 2202, 2204, 2206, 2208, 2210 in FIG. 22);
receive information related to activation or deactivation of at least one TCI state among the one or more TCI states (2100 in FIG. 21; 2202, 2204, 2206, 2208, 2210 in FIG. 22); and
receive a specific value through downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (2100 in FIG. 21; 2202, 2204, 2206, 2208, 2210 in FIG. 22),
wherein, based on the TCI state mapped to the specific value being activated, the PDSCH is received based on the TCI state (2100 in FIG. 21; 2202, 2204, 2206, 2208, 2210 in FIG. 22), and
wherein, based on the TCI state mapped to the specific value being deactivated, the DCI is ignored (paragraph [0146], see the UE using the default beam when no configuration is ready) by the UE (2100 in FIG. 21; 2202, 2204, 2206, 2208, 2210 in FIG. 22).
With respect to claim 13, RAHMAN discloses a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising:
at least one transceiver (210b in FIG. 2) for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal (205b in FIG. 2); and
at least one processor (225 in FIG. 2) for controlling the at least one transceiver,
wherein the at least one processor (225 in FIG. 2) configured to:
transmit configuration information on one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (2100 in FIG. 21; 2202, 2204, 2206, 2208, 2210 in FIG. 22);
transmit information related to activation or deactivation of at least one TCI state among the one or more TCI states (2100 in FIG. 21; 2202, 2204, 2206, 2208, 2210 in FIG. 22); and
transmit a specific value through downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (2100 in FIG. 21; 2202, 2204, 2206, 2208, 2210 in FIG. 22),
wherein, based on the TCI state mapped to the specific value being activated, the PDSCH is received based on the TCI state (2100 in FIG. 21; 2202, 2204, 2206, 2208, 2210 in FIG. 22), and
wherein, based on the TCI state mapped to the specific value being deactivated, the DCI is (paragraph [0146], see the UE using the default beam when no configuration is ready) ignored (2100 in FIG. 21; 2202, 2204, 2206, 2208, 2210 in FIG. 22).
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 June 23, 2026